Victor, NY 
The Apple Farm - Spartan Course Share
Uploaded By: DRice Hole #9 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Sweet

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: robotmasterdave
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long holes, groomed course, mostly open, beautiful landscape.
Cons: Hilly. Must watch for Farmers and Tractors (not the common anyways).
not a beginner course unless your not keeping score or just want to work on rippers.
Other Thoughts: I will pay $5 per day to play. Plus They have a pro shop and ice cream and such.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

rather play anywhere else

5+    10/20/2013   10/26/2013
Review By: Steveo356
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 5/11/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, very quiet, and not very crowded. Nice snack bar. newly planted trees show's intent to grow and improve the course
Cons: the grass on the fairways is long and the grass in the rough is nearly waste high.
Plays some what long, the back nine spreads out a bit with some walking in between holes making its take around 2 hours to play a round.
This is one of the only pay to play courses in the area, but the price is quite reasonable at either $5 for the day or spend $10 in the store with other options available.
Other Thoughts: In conclusion this is a difficult course which is showing steady improvement from year to year and is quite pleasant to play assuming you are intermediate or more experienced player.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Winds, Hills and nature. Bring a Friend.

2-4    10/1/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: rb106098
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very Challenging
- Peaceful, often didn't hear anything besides the wind and birds
- Wide open in several places allowing for big tosses
- Some really nice views of the local area
Cons: - The winds can really rip over the hills. Often a good throw was smacked down by strong gusts
- Fairways are deep
- Roughs are deeper
- Plays extremely long, one round took almost two hours (walking to and from car included)
- Parking is about a half mile from the 1st tee box
Other Thoughts: - Course can leave you feeling defeated but after looking at all the scorecards of everyone else I'm not feeling too bad.
- Play it while its free
- Bring lots of water
- I see potential in the course but it still needs a lot of shaping to get the course into some place I'd play often
- Look past the bad and maybe you'll really enjoy yourself

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amateurs beware!

1    6/17/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: Schmankster
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful scenery. Very clean - no trash.
-The distance, elevation changes, and tight fairways make this a very tough course.
-Friendly staff at the snack bar area. Nice selection of discs and treats.
-Decent signage to the next hole. A few were a good hike apart
-A pro and a con - the walk to #1 from the shop/parking lot. It's a hike, but it takes you far enough back that you can't hear the cars on 444. All we heard was birds chirping. Very peaceful!

Cons: -Needs hole description signs. I only saw a sign for #1. It looks like they are still trying things out, might not be a permanent layout.
-Be sure to grab a map from the store. Without it, you WILL get confused!
-The ROUGH!!! You are either in fairway or 3 foot+ rough! Very tight fairways. Tough wind will push you into the rough. Lots of thick bushes as well (are machetes allowed?) Perhaps widen the fairways or trim down the rough a bit. Beware of the rabbit holes in the rough!
-No tee pads. Uneven in a lot of places.
-No benches! Ugh! A very long course with no place to sit down.
-Little shade. I could see this being a monster on a hot day. Bring plenty of water.
Other Thoughts: -My friend and I (both of us are amateurs) shot in the mid +20's, and we were pleased with that!
-I have been playing for less than a year, but have played a lot of different courses (Basil, Chili, Parma, Shorewinds, MCC, Ellison, etc.). I spend most of my time playing from the rough. On this course, it seemed like we spent more time looking for our discs, then we did playing. Between the 2 of us, we lost 3 discs, one a bright orange one!! Ugh!
-This would be a GREAT course for someone with a lot more experience (big arms/accuracy). Beginners/amateurs - BEWARE! Make sure your phone number is on your disc!

I realize it is still a new course. Great start! However, they need to fine tune it a bit, especially if they change it to "pay-to-play"

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

beautiful

2-4    5/25/2014   5/8/2013
Review By: jkanick38
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice change to all the current courses. the hills and elevation change create a challenging and fun course. nice store with a nice selections of discs and snack bar at check in. the people there are very nice and courteous to you when your playing. apple trees are beautiful in bloom
new fly pads installed well groomed from last year
Cons: course layout is confusing at first but if u grab a map its very helpful. no tee pads yet. and the grass/weeds were getting long and made it hard to find your discs. tees are uneven. light winds can make this course tricky
RABBIT HOLES watch you step.
pay to play
Other Thoughts: the course has an alternate basket for about half the hole which could be good or bad. bright orange is marked for the standard basket and red for the alternate basket. Great potential. Pay to play is understandable due to all of the maintenance that this course will need Great course lots of fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New Course Type for Rochester

1    4/24/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: JVL13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Hole 14- elevated tee shot, elevated basket tucked in some trees
•Hole 17- new location through the apple trees
•Hot mulled apple cider on a cold April day capped off the round nicely
•Very nice scenery. The rolling hills and apple trees looked great.
•Surprisingly dry course for all of the spring rain. Only hole 9 and 12 were muddy.
Cons: •Very few obstacles- the challenge is more the distance which as many people have said is deceptive due to the hills
•Markings- you will absolutely need to take a course map when you go out. The basket for 10 is not visible from the tee box and is easily confused with 18.
•Three different holes had two baskets within 20 feet of each other making it difficult to determine which basket we were going to play (8,15, and I think 16)
•If this is a pay-to-play course, it will cut down on the number of times I will take my sons with me
•The walk to the first hole was VERY long. Due to some mud, they did not allow cars to the first hole.
Other Thoughts: I like this course as a nice change of pace from Elison where I play primarily. I believe that the rating will go up as they improve the obstacles and markings. Currently, the course was open enough that the majority of my drives were grip-it-and-wrip-it side arms. The course was long enough that I was doing the same thing for many of my second shots. Most approach shots were 100+ feet away, and some played longer due to being uphill.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A nice change of pace

2-4    11/5/2012   3/5/2013
Review By: Tmart
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, no crowding issues, it's fun to drive your car down to the orchard, the bakery has good food, people seem very nice, the setting is very relaxing and when you are on the course you cannot see or hear any road - this is my favorite part of the course as it feels like you are miles away from all the noise and commotion of modern day society.
Cons: Major lack of obstacles, no teepads yet, fairways are more of a weed/dirt combination than grass, too much elevation change(a little elevation change is good but when every hole is either up or down a hill it gets old), will eventually be pay to play
Other Thoughts: This course is a solid addition in Monroe County because the course isn't like any of the courses we already have. In order to be a course that people will continually pay money to play on they will have to add some obstacles, dogleg holes, and teepads. They should probably look into good plants for ground cover and erosion protection because I could see this place getting really muddy and sloppy.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

great start

5+    12/14/2012   12/14/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have really high expectations for this course!! awesome to see that courses in upstate new york are still holding it down for me as being the most challenging as far as the usage of topography. Distance is very decieving on many holes with an almost optacle illusion of Victor new york's rolling hills... makes for some very interesting shots
Cons: i cant really say i have any cons about this course yet only for the fact of its maturity. It is way too new of a course to have anything negative to say about it.
Other Thoughts: cant wait to see what this course transforms into during the summer season.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Spartan Course Thanksgiving

5+    11/27/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: DRice
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is going to be a gem! Checking in at the store down by the road makes that obvious. Pro Shop being put in place and they already have a Deli and Baked Goods. Nice!
The first view of the course from the top of the hill in the orchard is breath taking! Unbelievable. The course is, obviously new and was still being groomed when we were there. This course is definately different with the ever rolling hills. Some holes are deceptively long and the wind is a tricky adventure here. I don't recall too many parallel fariways so it sets up perfectly for lefty's and righty's. We emptied our bag on 15 and 18. Another really cool addition is a "Line-of-site" marker on the hill on #10. Apparently each of the stripes on the black and white pole indicate how many feet the basket is from the pole. Nice! Once this course gets its trees and matures it is going to be a Premium track! This place is fun and definately worth the trip.
I hear that another Pro Course is being put in in the Spring around the pond and through the woods! Awesome!
Cons: Still needs some clean-up but I saw people doing that and a crew putting in the alternate position baskets.
I didn't much like #17, and apparently I was not alone. A crew is moving it up above #16 and through the orchard. Great idea.
Other Thoughts: Once the second course is put in and the Store has a Pro Shop etc. this place pretty much has it all. The visit is worth it just for the view - amazing. What a cool venue - get some tournaments in here!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.