De Queen, AR 
Herman Dierks DGC Share
Uploaded By: FallenOak Hole #9 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great beginner course

2-4    5/19/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Luddy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only course for miles. Well manicured and good baskets. Park for kids and family picnics. Practice pin. Elevation changes. 2 concrete pads per pin and marked with colored tiles (red & blue).

The course is great for beginners and those looking to improve their approach game. Alternate tees let you air out arm a little. Only #12 has any distance
Cons: The walk to #9 tee from #8 pin is lengthy, but had to be done because of soccer field and parking lot. Not a hard con.

It's hard to Con a course that's the only one available in a 40mile radius.
Other Thoughts: #1 - Short and downhill. Pin is parked on a dropping roll. A putter or slow midrange disc can reach this pin. It's a wide open lane.

#2 - Short and flat. Basketball court on the left and "creek" on the right. Again, midrange shot and approach practice hole.

#3 - Flat with a slight down slope. Parking lot to the left and "creek" just to the right of basket. Over thrown will land you in the street or weeds of culvert.

#4 - Short hole with a bit rise in elevation. Throwing over creek that is 150-200 in front of tee. A heizer line gets you around the willow that blocks direct line of sight.

#5 - Uphill adds to length of this hole but it's only 240ft to begin with. 4 large trees are in front of tee box but there a 40ft wide lane to manage through them.

#6 - Steep down hill turns this hole into a putter approach. Creek is 20' directly behind basket. 1 tree in direct line of sight.

#7 - Uphill, fence and heavy vegetation to the left. 5 or 6 trees to throw around but there are 2 good lines for approach. A 6' fence is 30' behind the pin to help knock down overthrown discs.

#8 - Shrubbery down entire left side until last 75ft. Creek to the right. Pin is comically raised 2 feet but would only provide more challenge if you're <4' tall. Right handers can approach with an overstable disc. An overthrown disc straight will land you in thick vegetation or OB in the creek.

#9 - To get to 9/18, walk North behind soccer field and across the parking lot. You'll find both tees. There are a lot of trees but a wide line for approach. The pin sits elevated with a tennis court behind it and a small tree directly to it's right.

#10 - Much like #1 but a touch farther and a few trees to line out. Still an approach shot because much more elevation drop.

#11 - Flat line with the creek leading the way along the right side. See #2 info

#12 - The longest hole. A slight roll in the ground can make the hole feel uphill, but it should be played as flat. See #3 info

#13 - A longer version of #4. Weak throws will land you in the creek.

#14 - A longer version of #5. Almost the same line for approach.

#15 - Don't let the distance fool you. A midrange will easily reach the basket because of the elevation drop. See #6.

#16 - Plays like #7 but uphill. Trees can be tricky to find a line because they're near the end of the flight path.

#17 - Exact hole as #8. Right handers should throw a spike heizer if you have the arm.

#18 - More trees than #9, but very approachable.

I'm an intermediate play and shot a 56 1st round and a 51 2nd round. No mulligans or OBs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent 9 holes

2-4    8/24/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: jongoff09
Played: 32  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a nice little park in De Queen. Baskets are new and the teepads are nice large concrete pads that provide a great surface to throw from. An interesting feature is the hole numbers physically in the teepads.

There are good elevation changes. Hole 6 made me empty my bag on it as it is a short downhill hole with the small creek behind it and a few trees to make it interesting.

The park was in great shape while I was there. Grass was cut and there wasn't anything like branches on the ground or any other hazard. Of course, I haven't been to the course too much, so I can't say that it is always like this.

Dual tees are nice. There is enough of a difference to justify playing both sets in an afternoon.
Cons: There is only one hole with any real length, and that is only from one long pad of hole 3. The rest of the course is pretty short, even from the longer pads. There isn't much that could be done in this space to make the course longer however. It is pretty much maxed out without playing too close to other holes.

The walk from 8 to 9 is a long one. It is pretty tough to spot 9 from 8's basket too.

Overall, the course is open. Not too much challenge to many of the holes. Hole 9 is the only hole I would consider "wooded" at all. There are some trees scattered around the property to make the course at least interesting. So, it isn't wide open, but it is far from wooded.
Other Thoughts: It is nice to have a course here. This area is tucked away from many courses as the nearest one to this course is over 40mi away. This is a great one to start off with for the De Queen area.

I was thrown off with the labeling of the teepads. PDGA guidelines say the red tees should be shorter than the blues, but this course is backwards from that.

The creek that meanders through the course was mostly empty while I was there. I don't think it could ever get deep enough to steal discs for good if you happen to throw in it.

This is a decent course overall. I wouldn't travel out of my way for it, but it is great for locals as I said because it is the only one around. If in this remote town for any reason then I would definitely stop by for a round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and Easy

1    7/3/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: texfrost
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very well maintained and is very visually pleasing. For the most part the course is easy to follow from hole to hole. Very simple to play and good for beginners as well. You should not loose any discs and the entire course can be played with just two or three.
Cons: I could not find hole 9. If I had not been on a tight schedule and had someone with me who was not playing, I would have been more dilligent in doing so. Perhaps directional markers could be added on the hole8 tee or at the basket.
Other Thoughts: The course is listed as only a 9hole and in essence is. However, there are two teepads per hole in order to make a whole 18. This is a great way to utilize the limited space here. I understand the climate but I do not feel that the creek poses a water hazard so if you do not have floating discs, do not worry.

If you park by the pool, the Hole1 tee is across the creek towards the large pavillion.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

"The" New 9

1    11/29/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: NPCTour
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: This course will give you a wide variety of shots to try from backhand to forehand. It provides open air shots, uphill shots, downhill shots, and big arm shots. You will be challenged by the pin locations located on downslopes, raised baskets, the #2 surrouned baskets of needle pine trees *awesome feature*. This course is well manicured for the best beauty for courses. There are many neat features on this course that will keep you coming back for more.
Cons: The walk from Hole #8 to #9 is lengthy, but couldn't be avoided. Hole #9/#18 is the wooded hole that became the filler hole to get you back to #1. If an errant disc hits a tree, it could end up in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course in Dequeen and much work has been added to create an awesome design. This course is a must play and fun course to learn on.

4 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.