Columbia, SC 
Southeast Park Share
Uploaded By: rpitt08 Hole #9
3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Over-rated

1    7/22/2014   7/25/2014
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros:
- Good equipment. Quality DisCatchers and concrete tee-pads.

- Convenient location in Columbia at a very nice park.

- Plenty of parking.

- Friendly locals.
Cons:
- Inconsistent layout.

- Ambiguous signage.

- Garbage strewn throughout the course. It's not a dirty course per se, but there was more than "just a few" cans, bottles, and random refuse littered about. One trashcan on the entire course - located prominently on the horizon of the most picturesque hole the course offers, by the way - obviously contributes to this.

- Few benches. There are a few (nice wrought iron ones too) but they're few and far-between.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
Let me begin by saying that Southeast Park could be much better. I only played it because of what was said here and the current ratings were apparently done by locals who are excited about their new course. I wish the rating would've been less biased; I would've skipped it and come back later.

That said and with the perspective of an outsider looking in, Southeast Park DGC ratings here (thus far) are very over-inflated. As of this writing the course is a 3.92 that it does not deserve. Now, your 3.92 may be my 2.65 and my 4.53 may be your 1.47, but that's the great thing about DGCR: everything's subjective. My subjective (objective?) opinion of this course is that it has a lot of potential, but it doesn't come anywhere NEAR a 3.92 at present condition if DGCR ratings are to be taken seriously. And I think we can all agree that the reviews here (whether positive or negative) greatly influence whether or not you choose to play a particular course.

The layout is my biggest gripe and at best it's sporadic. The first few holes make a certain amount of sense and have a true disc golf feel to them, but by the time you get to #6, with its "unique" choice of pin placement on a hill, the fairway over a dam, and ridiculously overgrown green it borders on insanity. Following the signage is also a chore in that it makes you feel like you're playing Tomb Raider or Myst: Looking for clues to the next tee in the form of wooden white arrows nailed to trees a la The Blair Witch Project or an M. Night Shyamalan movie. (Pick one.)

The final two holes are a mirror image of one another as well, which makes them appear to have been placed almost as an afterthought. Starting in the woods and playing through the same wide-open field, they're long seemingly for the sake of being long. Like an old Tracy Lords movie, it doesn't leave a good taste in your mouth and, again, like a more recent Tracy Lords movie, Southeast Park leaves you finishing dissatisfied.

All in all, Southeast Park is decent and has a TON of potential. With a little TLC and a few layout modifications it could really be a great course. However, if you're planning a trip to Columbia you're better off playing Earlewood and driving to Chapin to play Crooked Creek and skipping Southeast Park altogether. It could eventually earn the 3.92 rating it sports as I write this, but right now it does not cut the mustard. Yes, there are 18 more holes to play in Columbia - and that's a great thing - but until more non-Columbians play and review this course I suspect you may end up disappointed by the course and leave feeling duped into playing it because the course rating was that high. Just my two cents….your mileage may vary.

Almost Great!

1    7/8/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really good design and very pretty course overall. Some REALLY scenic holes and clever layouts/pin placements.Good use of elevation, area, and natural obstacles. Tees and baskets are good. Really good design with a couple of exceptions noted below. Next tee taping worked well. Fairly easy to navigate until the holes noted on the map and by all in their reviews.
Cons: Message board with map neeeds to be at #1 tee. The map is critical to avoid getting lost. The course does not flow smoothly in a couple of areas. Tee signs need distances. This is a major oversight for travelers. Course needs benches. No restrooms. Limited trash cans.

#6 is a disaster of a hole because there is no good place to land the disc. I threw it 30 feet short of the basket and was still in overgrown, snakey jungle!.Shorten it to end at the parking lot (or something) and then walk across the dam to play #7. Crossing #13 at basket and tee is not good and was confusing as well. Had it not been for the map, I would have never found the back side of the course.
Other Thoughts: Seemed to be a new and well maintained park. Very enjoyable. Would recommend stopping in to play this course if in the area. Were it not for the design issues listed above, would have given a very high rating.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Every Shot In The Bag

5+    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: ShortBusDiscGolf
Played: 182  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of just about everything. Short touch shots (both left and right). Big boomers. Controlled distance. Placement shots. Water hazards. A bit of elevation. You can tell that this course was NOT designed over-night. It has nice LEVEL cement tee pads that play well even when wet. It has a second set of pin placements that are currently being trimmed and installed. This course is probably the best in Columbia when it comes to a fair test of skill. 900+ rated players will love it. It is pretty easy to find your way around as well (there is only one tricky spot to navigate,.....and that is being fixed). And to top it all off, they have a very friendly group of park Rangers that do a good job of taking care of the land and are more than happy to hold onto lost discs until they can be returned to the owner.
Cons: As a relatively new course, it still needs to be 'played in' a bit. If your disc goes into the pond you can't go in after it (against park rules)......Use a stick or pole. Needs some benches.
Other Thoughts: This course has QUICKLY become one of my favorites!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful park and disc golf

1    5/19/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: ricklev
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This ranks among the top 10% of beautiful courses I've played. It was a pleasure to walk this course, let alone play it.

-Very nice concrete tees
-Signage is very good
-Park is clean
-Good shade for hot days, but not so heavily forested that you hit trees everywhere
-Discs thrown astray are likely to be found
-Long holes are a blast, even for an older and average player like me
-A few potential birdie holes for even average players if you can make it through the trees
-Lots of wildlife to see
Cons: It was a little had to find, since i thought Kangaroo was the name of the street. It's not. The turn is at the Kangaroo gas station. Not much else negative to report.
Other Thoughts: Hole #6 isn't the longest, but I feel it's the signature hole since it has a small concrete dam in the middle you have to go over. The dam is exactly where many average players will end up unless they make one of their better or best drives off the tee. I walked down the grass rather than the steep sloping dam, and that made it easier for me to get to my disc for my second shot. It's not only a fun and challenging hole, the view from the tee of the lake is fantastic.

The blue tape (someone else mentioned orange, but I saw blue) on baskets is a great idea for leading you towards the next tee. I had a problem getting to #6, though. The tape points in the right direction, but there is no path through the trees. You go around the trees to get to #6.

I'm in my 60's and I birdied #9 and #16. It's always nice to have some holes where it's possible even if you don't drive it over 300 feet from the tee. I almost went in the lake, though, on #9. Fortunately a small bush stopped it right about 10 feet from the basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great free course

2-4    12/29/2013   1/7/2014
Review By: jonathanwaldo
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm from St. Paul, MN so when I came down to Columbia to visit family over the holidays, I was dead set on getting some disc in that didn't involve trudging through snow. I had heard that this was a new course in the area so I thought I'd check out what Columbia had to offer. The course is free, but it looks like it's got some great folks supporting it which is important for a free course. I liked to see the course map in the parking lot, and a note about found discs.

* Tee pads were great and marked with hole numbered signs and distances, but not pin locations.
* Creative and scenic usage of the land, although the walk from 13-14 is a bit of a haul.
* The pin under the live oak on hole 8 is great.
* Some decent challenging shots and holes longer than 400', which is nice!
* Signature hole for me was probably 13 which is an 800'+ hole down a gulch which is just a blast to throw down if you can flex it out nice and long.
* Course was very clean.
Cons: * This being a new course, the path ways to the next hole were not always evident, but I eventually noticed the orange tape marking the path.
* Would have been nice to have hole maps on the signs. Some of the alternate tees I didn't see anywhere if they exist yet.
Other Thoughts: Was just a blast to play out on this course and I think they've done a great job with making the most out of the land and the terrain. It achieved one of my favorite things about playing disc golf which is that I felt like I had gone on a hike afterward, not just walked around aimlessly in the woods. Highly recommended if you are in the Columbia area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great new course

1    5/10/2013   5/18/2013
Review By: DNewq
Played: 235  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great addition to a neat neighborhood park.
- challenging course with creative holes and plenty of variation
- seems like it would be a great location to host a tournament
Cons: - As it is new it is tough to figure out the sequencing of holes on this course until you have played it once. Be patient your first time.
- Several of the tee signs show multiple distances to the basket. Could only find a 2nd teepad on Hole 4.
- Seems as though regular users of the park arent yet familar with disc golf so there were a few holes that I had to warn folks to watch for my throws.
- I imagine that it would get hot here in the summer months, but a plus is that most of the course is well shaded.
Other Thoughts: This course is going to be exciting for the intermediate to advanced players, definitely bring your A game for this one.
Would have given this course a 4.5 rating, but downrated it slightly because they still need to orient visitors a little better. Overall it is a stellar course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Southeast Splendor

2-4    8/11/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I liked Southeast Park. As is, a quality course. Loved the brand new DiscCatchers with deep baskets. One spoke is wrapped with tape in each of the baskets, pointing in the direction of the next tee. There are white arrows occasionally, also helping to find the next tee. the Park staff was very friendly, and I saw one police car checking the parking lot shortly after we arrived. There are a couple of shorter holes at first, some nice fairways with manageable distance. At the third hole distance begins increasing, and the challenge picks up a level. Six is a cool hole along the slope of a levy, with an interesting pin placement. Eight is a good drive with a low ceiling and a large tree defending the basket location. The water comes into play near the pin on nine as well. Twelve is a shortish hole with a tough line, that I was able to birdie. Thirteen is one of several long par 4s, and takes great placement to make par. Fourteen is another par 4, not as long and reachable in 2 throws. Sixteen is a short ace run next to the road, then the seventeenth and eighteenth holes are the super long distance shots across a large grass field. The course is mostly flat, with moderate elevation change on a couple of holes. I thought the fairways were nicely sculpted with reasonable lines on every hole. The back 9 plays very long.
Cons: The amenities were solid, concrete tees and signs have now been installed. Tees large and level. A few benches and trash cans thrown in would be nice (ideally, not at all imperative). The flow of the course is not super smooth, with some tricky transitions after holes 5, 6, and 13. Park doesn't have restroom facilities, picnic tables and trashcans are near the parking lots.
Other Thoughts: The map under the parking lot kiosk is helpful, but it is closer the the fifth tee than the first. Pay attention to the basket location of hole thirteen as you walk between 6 and 7, because it is not visible from the tee. The grassy clearing is the fairway. A few of the holes are a bit repetitive, but overall fun and challenging. Long, accurate drives are a must to score on this one. This course kicked my butt first time through. Managed to shoot a 2 over, 61 on the third round. A nice addition to the area, and great contrast to Earlewood Park. As it has become more established and better equipped it has really become an excellent course, in my opinion.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.