Columbia, SC 
Southeast Park Share
Uploaded By: JHCourtney Hole #13 (Taken 3/2015)
4 / 627ft.   4 / 627ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    11/15/2015   11/15/2015
Review By: JBryant
Played: 93  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: Great baskets.

Challenging holes/design.

Distances were accurate.

Fairways were just that..fair. Tight and technical but fun.

Accuracy and execution is a must. Stay in the fairway and you are good although most holes didn't punish too bad for errant throws. Some holes will and you'll find those quickly if you aren't accurate.

Concrete pads were nice.
Cons: There could be some more benches and trash cans. I didn't notice a lot of trash so bravo to those who play the course frequently.

There were on overly abundant amount of plus 400 shots. Or at least it felt that way. I put this here in the cons not to slight the course, but more to warn those who don't like longer courses to tread lightly. This course will snag your ego if you aren't careful.

Low scores are tough to come by here, but that seems to be the route disc golf courses are going to these days.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. I don't play Columbia courses very often but I found this to be a nice change from some of the other course Columbia has to offer.

Well done, Columbia.

Columbia's Most Challenging

2-4    8/28/2015   8/30/2015
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 123  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 20.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Already Columbia's most challenging course, Southeast has recently had a ton of work done, greatly extending a number holes, some by an extra throw or two, and cleaning up the fairways.

It's mostly a wooded course, but within one park it runs through a variety of terrains---somewhat open woods where you can create a save from off the fairway, holes cut through dense woods where a bad throw may mean a pitchout, open ground under sprawling live oaks, along with a few open areas where you can let it rip. There's a large pond, in play on 2 holes. All well-used, so that there's a great variety of hole styles and shots required, some of which are pretty creative and unique. In addition to being tough. Except for the last two holes, no 2 holes resemble each other.

Aesthetically it's fairly scenic, with a huge pond and nice woods, but near a major highway so not exactly peaceful. It's a suburban park, not open to surrounding neighborhoods, but the course does share land with walking trails.
Cons: Among the variety of holes and throws required are a few quirky ones. Especially the last 5, which seem a bit of a letdown after what came before. The park road comes into play on 1 or 2 (depending on pin placements), and #14 weaves through the woods with barely a fairway. #17 and #18 are fine, but almost identical, shots.

Navigation is also quirky. The course starts in a separate parking area from the main one (the kiosk you see is at hole 6). It's a long walk from 5 to 6, and 13 to 14. The walk from 7 to 8 goes right past the 13 tee.

It can be a tough place for weak arms. Not just for the pure length, but a lot of holes require a decent throw to get to a landing area for the next dogleg.
Other Thoughts: I'd give this a 3.75 if I could. It's not quite a 4.0, due to the number of minor quirks. But the good parts are very good, and there are a lot of them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beast at Southeast!

1    8/1/2015   8/1/2015
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 65  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -As a challenging blue level course with many par 4s, Southeast is a beast! It's heavily wooded, somewhat long with four holes over 600', and has many trees that will sabotage shots! Just you wait! Anyway, it's also pretty and has a great view of the pond on some of the holes. My father grew up in Columbia and has a picture of him and his youth baseball team in 79'. I didn't know the picture was taken on what would be #9's fairway.
-Course is well maintained. Fairways are well defined, baskets are in good shape (however, I had a suspicious number of spit outs.), there are also nice concrete pads and signs.
-I love the open bomb par 4s! Notably #13, #17 (my fav) and #18! Ends grand for me because I have a big arm. Signature hole(s) would be 13. It's like 627' and plays a good bit downhill and is placed onto a slightly elevated green. My bomber hole here, where I can crack up to 500'!!!!
-#17 is my favorite. It's the longest at 744'. Tee shot starts off in the woods and it takes a clean shot maybe 220' to clear and goes into the open field. I had maybe 280' left on my second shot. It goes back into the woods for the last maybe 80'. Pretty easy 4 for me but a 3 will leave you smilin' the whole way back! I missed a 30 footer for 3.
-#18 ends well! It is maybe 100' shorter than 17. Teeshot is rather open. It's better to be a bit more left than right unless your forehand is lights out if you are a righty. Basket is a ways away into the woods.
-This course came in late 2012. First time I played in Columbia, this course wasn't out yet. My point being is that I love how there is a much tougher course out there in Columbia. This is well suited for players at least 900 rated.
-Length variety is outstanding here. #16 is barely 200' along with #9 and there are 3 holes over 600' and one over 700'! Oh, and I think #13 has a long pad that plays 827 feet!
-Bathrooms fairly close to the parking lot. Just walk down the road a little, you should walk past #14's tee pad.
-One of those places where there should be a legit PDGA Sanctioned tourney!
Cons: -My main problem is with #6. As pretty and unique as it may be, it's really close to the pond and a big gust of wind would be a severe frustration. There are also holes where love/hate relationships will occur. #6 is without a doubt one of them. #14 was also strange. It's very tight but makes a significant left turn. Kind of hard to decide what to throw on this hole. There are a few more confusing holes but those two stand out the most to me.
-Navigation is very tricky. It took a while to find #8 and #14. After you play #7, the first tee pad you will see is #13. #8's pad is down in the woods beside #13. Those two are a little too close. A bad kick on #8 could go on #13's fairway.
-Some fairways could be cut a little better. I don't know much about snakes but I know they are out there. Just ask my dad!
-I wish there were diagrams on the tee signs but they just give the hole number and distance. Few baskets were tough to find. Particularly #6.
-I love #16! "Road Hole." But not everyone does due to it being an island green or "Island Fairway", but as long as there isn't a car, this hole is fun for me as it is just a toss.
Other Thoughts: -My cons will never keep me from playing here again! My personal enjoyment holewise was really high! I mean higher than Earlewood but this course has got to be difficult to maintain! Earlewood doesn't have as many minor problems because it has been around longer. Play both courses if you stop by in Columbia! It is mostly wooded and is overall kind of flat but it does have surprises here and there.
-If you enjoy various fairways, you will like this course. If you like hilly, I think you will still like this course because I love hilly and I will be back here! There is so much fun available here! Give it a shot!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quality Disc

5+    12/9/2014   12/9/2014
Review By: Pbmercil
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hands down the best course in Columbia. The park is very well maintained by both the disc golf club and the parks department. Its a very pretty park and makes for a great backdrop to the course. Park rangers are always around, and very friendly and helpful to the disc golfers. More then once a park ranger has helped me look for a lost disc. Being a mixed use park means that their will be some other park user around certain holes, but that is to be expected at this kind of property. A good mix of different length and styles of holes. I particularly enjoy the par 4s (there are 6), as all of them can be attacked off the tee conservatively or aggressively, making for real decision making during the round. Hole 6 long is the signature par 4 to me. Big hyzer bomb tee shot over a damn and across a creek to a protected landing area. Fun hole with lots of opportunities to make mistakes and get punished for it. #8's green is under a massive and old tree, which is really neat. One of the prettier greens you'll see in disc golf. Several holes have fairway splitters or multiple gaps, allowing for different lines to the same basket. I also really like the island green on #16. Without the island green it would be a boring short filler hole, the island is a nice touch to keep it interesting. As others have said 17 and 18 do basically play as mirrors to each other, but I actually like those holes a lot. There isn't a ton of length on this course, so 17 and 18 are the best chance to really air out the arm and try and crush a big drive.
Cons: If your a first time player definitely take the time to print out the course map provided here, the layout is rather confusing the first time through due to constraints from the park as to where the holes could go. With the map navigation is pretty simple
No benches on the course at all. Sometimes I bring my stool along for this reason. Even just 2 or 3 benches spread out along the course would make a big difference.
My only real con is that the pin/green placement is just a bit off on some of the par 3s. A lot of holes are designed, and at first glance appear to play, as a hyzer or anhyzer tee shot, but actually play pretty straight. On a lot of these holes a straight shot will put you inside the circle for a birdie putt. On many of these holes I actually feel like the straight shot and make your putt is a better approach then trying to turn the corners and bringing trees into play. Specifically I'm talking about holes 1,2,5,8, and 11. I feel like where the pin is should be the edge of the 10 m circle, and the basket needs to be tucked farther in along the hyzer/anhyzer line an additional 10 meters. This would make the course play like a completely different animal without changing the par or length at all. It would force players to commit to turning the corners, which is a good thing.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very nice course. As a new resident to the Columbia area Southeast stands out as the best course of the 3 local options. I find myself almost always playing here over the other courses because I think its just better.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/19/2014   9/19/2014
Review By: JHCourtney
Played: 53  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This now the best course in columbia. It is starting to get worn in a little bit and make for a great time. Hole 13 is the signature hole and requires 2 massive shots to give yourself a look at a 3
Cons: Course still needs some work and cutting in but overall a great course

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in Columbia

5+    8/6/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Will_S
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Great mix of distance

- Mix of wooded/open, but not punishingly wooded. Some courses have so many trees that even a good shot can get knocked down. This courses was laid out very well in that if you execute your shot you will be rewarded

- Tons of different shot types. You'll have to throw long and short hyzers, straight, and anhyzer shots off the tee. You'll be using most, if not all of the discs in your bag.

- Nice concrete pads and clean baskets
Cons: - Everyone's complaint is the layout. It obviously could have been better in a couple of spots, but if you have a course map it's easy to get to. Plus, I'd rather walk an extra five minutes if it allows the course to have better basket layouts instead of a few "filler" holes that most courses seem to have.
Other Thoughts: - I've played this course many times because I work in Columbia frequently. The complaints people have about hole 6 over the dam are valid at certain times of the year. The first time I played this course hole 6 was beautifully mowed and maintained. The last time I played it it was severely overgrown with weeds. You can't even see the basket from the tee box because they are so high. Not sure why no one has gone and cleared that area.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1    8/6/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 207  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2014
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Southeast Park is a good addition to the Columbia disc golf scene. The course has tons of potential, there just needs to be some serious efforts on improving this layout in order for it to achieve that level.
- The course has some really good holes. It's clear this course should be amongst the best in this region, along with Stoney Hill and Crooked Creek.
- #13 is an example of what this course can be. This is a great long hole at 627 feet from the shorts, or 827, from the longs. Or 687 feet, according to the map. The fairway is wider for your tee shot, with some tall stuff to the right. Accuracy isn't crucial for your first shot. From there, the fairway gets narrower for your second and/or approach shots, at which point you want to be on the correct side of the fairway in order to reach the pin in an opening in the woods to the right. This is a perfectly executed, strategy-driven, classic hole layout. Unfortunately, it's one of the few that are this good.
- Solid mix of wooded and open holes. Holes range from 217 feet up three longer than 600 feet. The course is aimed to reach to a higher skill set, with very few 'easy' birdie chances.
- The course winds throughout the park. Yes, there's a way too much walking at times, from #5 to 6 and #13 to 14 (when you walk the entire length of the #6 plus some more), but you do get to take in some nice sights. And with the course being so spread out, you're pretty isolated from the rest of the park's activities.
- Course allows for a lot of chances to pull out the big drives. On a fair number of the wooded holes, the fairways are wide enough to allow you to be aggressive. You see this playing out on #4, 7 & 11.
Cons: In too many ways, and on too many holes, it seems the execution came up just short. With so many holes having just a little something wrong with them, that's when problems and frustrations arise. Listing the hole problems:
- Hole #5 is the first of the close, but not quite right designs. It's a tight fairway off the tee to a widening fairway towards a basket back to the right. This is close to being a great hole, except for the fact the rough is way too thick and unforgiving. You're either on the fairway or you're really going to be searching. In a scenario like this, is it worth risking a lost disc or a lot of time searching for a disc for some extra distance? If the rough was scaled down, the risk/reward factor would be optimized.
- Hole #6 is a failure. In concept, this could be a fun, really good layout. Instead you get this. The hole throws over a dam, with water running the entire right side of the fairway. The problem is that there is NO fairway. The entire 'landing zone' and green area is rough. On any other course, and any other hole, if you landed in thick foliage as this, you would be in the rough. Here, you're in putting range. For anyone in the Columbia area, it reminded me of the 'green' area on hole #5 at Woodward Park in Camden.
- Hole #9 is another hole that's great in concept, but not in reality. It's a 219-foot, not-overly difficult, slightly downhill shot. The problem is that the basket is 15 - 20 feet from the water. If you go slightly long or to the right, your disc is probably lost. Look at the picture on this site. The one with the goose in the water. Notice how close the basket is to the edge. Why not move the basket further to the left, penalizing only bad shots? You shouldn't be losing a disc that's still within the 10m putting circle.
- #16 could be laid out better. It's another solid birdie chance, a 217-foot hole that starts in the open, and doglegs to the left. The problem is that the open 'fairway' is the park road. Solid concept for a hole, just move it away from the road.
- #17 & 18 are the same hole twice in a row. Both are 600 feet+ holes, starting in the woods, playing in an open field before ending in the woods again. Basically you walk one way across the field on #17, turn right back around to where you just were for #18. One hole like this would be ok. Still not ideal for a closing hole, but whatever. Having both like this seems like a wasted opportunity.
- The hole distances aren't consistent between the tee signs, online maps and hole info on this site. On certain holes, it's not a big deal because you can tell if a hole is 322 feet (or 325) or 493 feet, as is the case on #5. It's more of a frustration when the hole is reachable and the listed distances vary by 30 - 40 feet.
- Also, there was no consistency if the baskets were in the longs or shorts, or how they were marked. Some holes had a check mark next to the correct positions. Others did not.
Other Thoughts: Southeast Park has so much potential, I think that's why I, and others, may be so frustrated. The holes I listed under the 'cons' section all could, and should, be good-to-great layouts. Imagine standing on #6, with a true fairway, and having to risk going for it or possibly losing the disc in the water. That's better than the current options of landing in the water, the thick rough 'fairway' or on the dam itself.
- I'd like to see the locals put more attention into this course, and take the input and advice from others to optimize its potential. I know Columbia has a solid disc golf club, so there's no reason to have problems linger. Being so close to three interstates, this course could get so much play by so many people passing by. Everyone from Ohio, and Quebec, drive right on by on their way to Florida. I know, I see all their cars on I-77 every day.
- The course has a lot of solid, if not spectacular, layouts. Take a hole like #8. It is 375 feet with a semi-wide fairway. The basket is protected by a huge tree, making for some potentially trick putts. And #15, is a 335 foot hole, with the fairway getting narrower at times, and opening back up close to the basket. A great shot will leave you in birdie range. A bad one will leave you with a bogey, or worse, on your scorecard.
- I think that my assessment of this course was tough but fair. Even with an extensive 'cons' section, this course is still slightly above average. Rather than settling for an underachieving 3.0, this course could be close to 4.0-level status if issues were addressed. Columbia, don't agree with my review? I'd love to hear from you locals and show me what I'm missing.
- I want to check this course out in the future, seeing how things have (hopefully) changed and improved. As it is, the course is a slightly better and newer version of Owens.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    7/22/2014   7/25/2014
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 55  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 2.4 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
- Good equipment. Quality DisCatchers and concrete tee-pads.

- Convenient location in Columbia at a very nice park.

- Plenty of parking.

- Friendly locals.
- Inconsistent layout.

- Ambiguous signage.

- Garbage strewn throughout the course. It's not a dirty course per se, but there was more than "just a few" cans, bottles, and random refuse littered about. One trashcan on the entire course - located prominently on the horizon of the most picturesque hole the course offers, by the way - obviously contributes to this.

- Few benches. There are a few (nice wrought iron ones too) but they're few and far-between.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
Let me begin by saying that Southeast Park could be much better. I only played it because of what was said here and the current ratings were apparently done by locals who are excited about their new course. I wish the rating would've been less biased; I would've skipped it and come back later.

That said and with the perspective of an outsider looking in, Southeast Park DGC ratings here (thus far) are very over-inflated. As of this writing the course is a 3.92 that it does not deserve. Now, your 3.92 may be my 2.65 and my 4.53 may be your 1.47, but that's the great thing about DGCR: everything's subjective. My subjective (objective?) opinion of this course is that it has a lot of potential, but it doesn't come anywhere NEAR a 3.92 at present condition if DGCR ratings are to be taken seriously. And I think we can all agree that the reviews here (whether positive or negative) greatly influence whether or not you choose to play a particular course.

The layout is my biggest gripe and at best it's sporadic. The first few holes make a certain amount of sense and have a true disc golf feel to them, but by the time you get to #6, with its "unique" choice of pin placement on a hill, the fairway over a dam, and ridiculously overgrown green it borders on insanity. Following the signage is also a chore in that it makes you feel like you're playing Tomb Raider or Myst: Looking for clues to the next tee in the form of wooden white arrows nailed to trees a la The Blair Witch Project or an M. Night Shyamalan movie. (Pick one.)

The final two holes are a mirror image of one another as well, which makes them appear to have been placed almost as an afterthought. Starting in the woods and playing through the same wide-open field, they're long seemingly for the sake of being long. Like an old Tracy Lords movie, it doesn't leave a good taste in your mouth and, again, like a more recent Tracy Lords movie, Southeast Park leaves you finishing dissatisfied.

All in all, Southeast Park is decent and has a TON of potential. With a little TLC and a few layout modifications it could really be a great course. However, if you're planning a trip to Columbia you're better off playing Earlewood and driving to Chapin to play Crooked Creek and skipping Southeast Park altogether. It could eventually earn the 3.92 rating it sports as I write this, but right now it does not cut the mustard. Yes, there are 18 more holes to play in Columbia - and that's a great thing - but until more non-Columbians play and review this course I suspect you may end up disappointed by the course and leave feeling duped into playing it because the course rating was that high. Just my two cents....your mileage may vary.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Almost Great!

1    7/8/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: DGLobo999
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really good design and very pretty course overall. Some REALLY scenic holes and clever layouts/pin placements.Good use of elevation, area, and natural obstacles. Tees and baskets are good. Really good design with a couple of exceptions noted below. Next tee taping worked well. Fairly easy to navigate until the holes noted on the map and by all in their reviews.
Cons: Message board with map neeeds to be at #1 tee. The map is critical to avoid getting lost. The course does not flow smoothly in a couple of areas. Tee signs need distances. This is a major oversight for travelers. Course needs benches. No restrooms. Limited trash cans.

#6 is a disaster of a hole because there is no good place to land the disc. I threw it 30 feet short of the basket and was still in overgrown, snakey jungle!.Shorten it to end at the parking lot (or something) and then walk across the dam to play #7. Crossing #13 at basket and tee is not good and was confusing as well. Had it not been for the map, I would have never found the back side of the course.
Other Thoughts: Seemed to be a new and well maintained park. Very enjoyable. Would recommend stopping in to play this course if in the area. Were it not for the design issues listed above, would have given a very high rating.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Every Shot In The Bag

5+    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: ShortBusDiscGolf
Played: 182  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of just about everything. Short touch shots (both left and right). Big boomers. Controlled distance. Placement shots. Water hazards. A bit of elevation. You can tell that this course was NOT designed over-night. It has nice LEVEL cement tee pads that play well even when wet. It has a second set of pin placements that are currently being trimmed and installed. This course is probably the best in Columbia when it comes to a fair test of skill. 900+ rated players will love it. It is pretty easy to find your way around as well (there is only one tricky spot to navigate,.....and that is being fixed). And to top it all off, they have a very friendly group of park Rangers that do a good job of taking care of the land and are more than happy to hold onto lost discs until they can be returned to the owner.
Cons: As a relatively new course, it still needs to be 'played in' a bit. If your disc goes into the pond you can't go in after it (against park rules)......Use a stick or pole. Needs some benches.
Other Thoughts: This course has QUICKLY become one of my favorites!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.