Spotsylvania, VA 
Loriella Park Share
Uploaded By: Jeff Shattuck Hole #14 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 368ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Long Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Discin in Spotsy

2-4    5/26/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 177  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 22.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Loriella gives players an extreme contrast of wide open holes and teeth chattering narrow wooded holes. It's located in a beautiful park which makes a pleasant setting. The use of multiple tee pads on each hole and alternating pin placements makes for great variety.

The most notable holes are the ones in the woods, as they are very tight and challenging. The first of these is very unique - #3 is a tunnel (about 20' wide) that runs over 300' from the long tees. Fade to either side and there's trouble! Another memorable hole is #10 which is a medium length toss over water.

The new signs are outstanding, helpful and give you pin locations and directions to the next tee pad.

It's very apparent a lot of work has been done on this course thus far and I give them props!

Cons: This course is kinda bi-polar. The open holes in the field are REALLY open, and the wooded holes are REALLY tight and treed. There is really little in between. My least favorite are the field holes #2, 4, 17 and 18. Although they all use elevation, almost none of them have trees or any other worthwhile obstacle. If they used the woods like #12 does, they would be much more interesting.

The carpeted tee pads were a bit lumpy (and may be slippery when wet )
Other Thoughts: It would be helpful if they had some kind of marker on the tee signs to indicate what pin is in place (a, b, or c) so you dont have to walk up the fairway. Tyler Park in PA uses a dial on each sign and it works great (see the pictures on this site).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad course

5+    4/24/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 88  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 28.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's got a good mix of open/wooded holes, elevation changes, doglegs and a water hole. There are signs for each tee pad at every hole. If you get off track in the woods you can find yourself in the jail house very easily. There seems to be a good mix of players there at all times with an excellent chance of joining in with other players.
Cons: The water hole if you are a beginner or can't throw long enough to clear the pond there is no way to play the hole except to the left where there is a 10' drop & it is heavily wooded. If your experienced or a power thrower the water is no threat unless you miss your throw.
Other Thoughts: The course can be a little sloppy after a heavy rain.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice but not impressed.

2-4    5/8/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course does have some things to offer.

The course has everything from big grip and rip open throws, tight tunnels, elevation, and water hazards.

1,2,5,12,17, and 18 are over big open areas with just 1 and 12 having trees right at the basket.

Three is a straight and very tight slight downhill tunnel. That calls for great accuracy.

Six, 7, 8, and 9 work their way through the woods with a variety of elevation and are mostly just straight.

Ten is over the pond onto a hill with lots of vegetation to the left and right. It is mostly open behind it underneath a canopy.

Eleven and 16 are a copy of 6, 7, 8, and 9.

Thirteen is a right to left downhill throw with the basket next to the water. It is a great basket position and a tough throw.

Fourteen is a hard left to right that will make you work at it. It is slightly downhill and the break right is only about 50 yards from the tee. Placement is crucial here.

Fifteen is a snake throught the woods.

There are plenty of amenities here for the family. It has playgrounds, a pool, basketball courts, and restrooms.

It is well maintianed and a nice place to play. The baskets are old Innova baskets but are in decent shape.
Cons: I wasn't impressed because of the lack of detail. To be highly rated a course does not rate high unless it pays attention to the details. The course is maybe a 4 for the course, although with 12 different tees being almost perfectly straight throws from the white that is a big maybe, but it is a weak 2 for detail.

The tees are dirt or dirt with carpet and that is okay but they are rough and unkept.

With no signage anywhere it can be hard to tell where you are going because the course flow is not great in the woods. The lack of signage also keeps you in the dark as to which pin position is being used.

There are also definite drainage problems. It has not rained hard in weeks and there are several areas you must cross to get to the basket or the next tee that are muddy.
Other Thoughts: The rating of this course is all over the place, they range from 2 to 4, and there is justification. With a lot of work it could be a a good 4. More variety with the fairways and it could be a strong 4.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rough Diamond

2-4    10/8/2011   7/11/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two tee locations and two basket positions per hole. Practice basket.

At back of multi-purpose park, away from other park users. Not too far from food and petrol options.
Cons:
With no signs at tees, you have no idea what the distances are nor the current location of the basket, if not readily viewable from the tee.

10/9/11: There are now informative signs at each tee position on each hole.

Tee locations marked by mid-sized red (longer) or white painted rocks. Tee "pads" vary a bit - dirt, small gravel, grass, carpet, combinations were all used.
Other Thoughts:
Course was relatively easy to navigate, with mowed paths in the open fairways, fairly obvious paths in the woods, and the recently-added on-line map made it a cinch!

Open, mid-distance, slight elevation change at 1-2 to warm you up, tunnel shot for #3, open, longer, more change-in-elevation shots 4-5. Holes 6-11 are fairly flat, in the woods, with fair throwing lanes. Number 10 is a decent length throw over a pond, but there is a alternate tee on the left side that is short and only goes over a corner of the pond. Number 12 is an open, downhill bomb, with 13-16 being back in the woods. The tee for #13 is in the woods opposite the A-position for #12; Also, don't overthrow 13, or you night find the pond! Number 17 is back in the open, although you must drive thru a row of trees, and #18 is a long, open uphill shot, ending near basket #1/tee #12. Note: the latter wooded holes, 11 onward, are a bit skewed in favour of right-turning shots.

Overall, a very solid course with decent shot and distance variety. Adding signs and improving the teepads would really raise this course to the next tier.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Where do I go? hmm over there?

1    2/5/2009   2/5/2009
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Alright, this is my 3rd time writing this review. This time I think I'll save a copy with notepad...

I really liked this course's layout. Any course with a couple open holes in the beginning helps me get warm before I move to the more technical holes.
The difference in elevation, foliage, and types of technical shots made for a good time. Back hand players will enjoy this course more than forehand players, more pins are on the left. eg More hyzer than anhyzer. Holes 10 and 16 were both great. 10 is a nice water hole and 16 is very technical, I enjoyed them.
This course also has multiple pads and pins, this could be very nice if I were a local player.
Cons: I walked all over the place trying to find holes and still couldn't find 3,4, or 14...wtf. I know, I know if I play the course a couple times i'll know exactly where to go but that's not going to happen so some tee signs would be nice. There wasn't even a map at the beginning to help, one or the other would be nice. Those little things that say next hole---> could also have helped.
Lastly some concrete tee pads would be a great improvement, I've never played on iced over carpet/mud before.
Other Thoughts: I hate to be so negative but wandering around drove me nuts. With the cities parks department HQ on the property this course should be top notch. Just beg them for tee sings every day till they give. With all of the tourneys hosted hear you think there would be better tee sings.
I was also amazed by the lack of thorn bushes, so rare in the northeast.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.