Spotsylvania, VA 
Loriella Park Share
Uploaded By: Jeff Shattuck Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 400ft.   3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    6/2/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Ray Gunnell
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An alternate, slightly longer layout is currently setup, and will challenge most.
1 - An open hole, where the pin's behind the tree directly in front of you, and said tree is about 10' deep. Playing to the right or left of the tree results in the same look, but be careful not to shoot too long or else you'll be in the thick behind the pin.
2 - A pin location is the norm, and is another open hole. The pin is placed on a right to left sloping hill, and miscalculation on your drive can take you pretty far down the hill.
3 - B pin location is currently used, but it's still the tight, tunnel hole I think everyone enjoys. Fairway is about 15' wide, with heavy brush on the right side.
4 - B pin location is currently used, and it makes for a long hole. It's a pretty straight forward hole, going uphill. The white tees are located in the edge of the woods at the point of the trees.
5 - A pin location will have you throwing down hill, for another long hole. Tree light left comes into play, but the brush isn't too thick, and you can recover if you go in without too much issue.
6 - B pin location is used now, with two trees in the middle of the fairway to force you right or left. Staying to the right with a rhbh will put you in good position for an approach, but for an aggressive playing, throwing a rhfh may put you closer.
7 - Another nice wooded hole, A pin location results in a slightly shorter hole, but a slight turn right into the circle. B pin location has the pin slightly elevated from the fairway, set a little further back than A.
8 - Another wooded hole that's longer than the others, and will make you stay true to get through. Pin locations are elevated, with a few trees in the fairway that come into play depending on your location.
9 - Super tight window for drives with a steep hill in front of you. Pins play slightly below your drive, but you want to concentrate on keeping in the drive window or else you'll be in the brush.
10 - What may be the signature hole for Loriella. You'll play your drive over the pond, and the pin is currently at location A which gives you about 10 or 15' from the water's edge and is below the tee. Be aware of this if you chose to go long, as you'll be putting downhill.
11 - Long wooded hole and pin location B will take you slightly right, where as A is a straight shot.
12 - One of my favorite holes. A downhill open hole with the pin currently set at the B location, which is set back in the woods. The A location is out in the open, and easily aceable. With the B pin location, you'll want to drive long, and towards the opening in the trees in front of you, not to the side. The right side of the hole is lined with trees.
13 - going into the woods, this is a pretty challenging hole, with two possible endings. There are two baskets for this hole, one before the water, and another over the water to the left. Current pin placements are at B and C, and B will bring you to the right of the fairway while C will take you over the water. The B location is similar to hole 10, as you'll need to throw with care as the pin sits pretty close to water. If the disc gets away from you, you'll be getting wet to retrieve it.
14 - My favorite hole on the course, and currently playing on at the B pin location. The fairway has a 90-degree right turn, and if playing from the whites, there's a passage way(v-shaped in the top of the trees) if you feel daring. A tomahawk or thumber will get you over but error on your throw will cost you.
15 - A long, but possible, ace run hole that you'll want to play right for a good approach if you want to stay safe.
16 - Long wooded hole that will eat you up if you play left. Current pin location is B, and the tree line on the left seems to play perfectly into not allowing clean second shots. If pin location A is in play, the easiest play is from the left of the fairway.
17 - Back to the wide open after you drive. The teeboxes have a line of trees you'll need to throw through to get into the open. Easily enough, but the pin located in the B location, you'll be throwing blind. You'll want to aim for the crest of the hill and slightly to the right, with the pin on the back-side of the hill.
18 - The finishing hole can make or break your round if the B location is being used. You'll come almost full circle from the first hole. On hole one, you'll see a basket to the left beside a large evergreen, that's the basket for 18(the B location, A is visible from the 18th tee). You'll play up the hill, and want to play to the right to give yourself a view of the basket for your approach. If you end up left, play towards the large tree and the pin will be to the right of the back of the tree.
Cons: Park congestion is become more and more of an issue as it gets warmer. Not many folks respect the signs that are placed at the outlying boundary areas for the course.
Other Thoughts: If you have a long weekend and are in search for a great four course experience, it's hard to beat Fredericksburg with Pratt, Loriella, Blockhouse, and Hawk Hollow all within 30 miles of one another.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Discin in Spotsy

2-4    5/26/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 194  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 24.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Loriella gives players an extreme contrast of wide open holes and teeth chattering narrow wooded holes. It's located in a beautiful park which makes a pleasant setting. The use of multiple tee pads on each hole and alternating pin placements makes for great variety.

The most notable holes are the ones in the woods, as they are very tight and challenging. The first of these is very unique - #3 is a tunnel (about 20' wide) that runs over 300' from the long tees. Fade to either side and there's trouble! Another memorable hole is #10 which is a medium length toss over water.

The new signs are outstanding, helpful and give you pin locations and directions to the next tee pad.

It's very apparent a lot of work has been done on this course thus far and I give them props!

Cons: This course is kinda bi-polar. The open holes in the field are REALLY open, and the wooded holes are REALLY tight and treed. There is really little in between. My least favorite are the field holes #2, 4, 17 and 18. Although they all use elevation, almost none of them have trees or any other worthwhile obstacle. If they used the woods like #12 does, they would be much more interesting.

The carpeted tee pads were a bit lumpy (and may be slippery when wet )
Other Thoughts: It would be helpful if they had some kind of marker on the tee signs to indicate what pin is in place (a, b, or c) so you dont have to walk up the fairway. Tyler Park in PA uses a dial on each sign and it works great (see the pictures on this site).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad course

5+    4/24/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 92  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 30.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's got a good mix of open/wooded holes, elevation changes, doglegs and a water hole. There are signs for each tee pad at every hole. If you get off track in the woods you can find yourself in the jail house very easily. There seems to be a good mix of players there at all times with an excellent chance of joining in with other players.
Cons: The water hole if you are a beginner or can't throw long enough to clear the pond there is no way to play the hole except to the left where there is a 10' drop & it is heavily wooded. If your experienced or a power thrower the water is no threat unless you miss your throw.
Other Thoughts: The course can be a little sloppy after a heavy rain.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Spotsylvania does it again.

1    11/14/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 241  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple tee pads and nice tee signs.
-Discatcher baskets are in good shape
-Course is well maintained
- Great variety of shots, some elevation, but a really good ratio of open to heavily wooded holes to the left and right require many different shot styles.
The water creates 2 interesting and potentially risky holes that can easily be played safe, or you can go for it.
- Clear carpeted tee pads (not sure how the carpet reacts when wet)
-Restrooms
Cons: Lots of pedestrian traffic. Course is on a popular park so it can get crowded.
Navigation was a small issue, I did not see any markings on the baskets or trees to guide us to the next hole. Luckily BMXcraziekid was there to guide us.
Other Thoughts: This area has some amazing courses all clustered with in an hour. Loriella park, Hawk Hallow, the Grange, and Pratt Park would make for a memorable weekend destination.


This is an excellent tournament caliber course, but it is not a place I would repeatedly play alone, it is the kind of course where you will want competition.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/31/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: cahurley
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent tee signs, dual tee locations with carpet tees, open and wooded holes, benches at most of the tee boxes, friendly locals
Cons: Unkempt in areas, could be difficult to navigate between some holes
Other Thoughts: Loriella park has a great disc golf course. My friend and I drove up from Richmond to play and wound up meeting a local (Dennis) at the start who joined us for our round. Throughout the round, Dennis was giving us some background info on the park and the recent changes to the course. Within the past couple of months, there has been work done on some of the wooded holes as well as the addition of signs at each tee telling the location, distance and par of each hole. The tees were carpet which was great for the weather we had, but I can imagine them getting soggy after rain. There were also benches at most of the tees for us to relax if there had been anybody else on the course, but while we were there I didn't see any other golfers. There are multiple pin locations and while some of the holes had multiple baskets, others had a single basket that is moved from time to time for variation.

My biggest issue with this course was the lack of maintenance on the open holes. The grass looked like it hadn't been cut for months and was knee-high in places. The park could just cut fairways and leave the rest high and it would be great, but it was obvious they hadn't done much work on the fields in a while. It could also be difficult to navigate the open part of the course if we didn't have a regular with us because there was a little bit of a hike between some of them and many of the holes are visible so you have to know which tee is which.

Otherwise, there weren't any real obvious problems that would take anything out of playing at this park. Unlike many of the wooded courses out there, we didn't run into many thorned plants or poison ivy and, unless your throw is way off or in the pond, it would be difficult to lose a disc. Overall I'd have to say that Loriella Park was an excellent course and one of my favorites out of the courses I've played in the northern part of VA.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 24  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice tee-pads. They are large, and have carpet which can help give you some extra grip. Also, I liked the fact that there are benches at almost every hole which is nice to lay your bag on, or just rest while others are throwing. The course has a variety of open holes and wooded holes. Starting out in the open can be nice as your first few holes are forgiving since they are wide open. I personally felt the fun began once you got more into the woods. Hole number 10 is one of the coolest holes I have played. I love the fact you have to throw over the pond. If you throw from the pro tees, you are really testing your skills as it is one amazingly difficult shot! I imagine there are a lot of discs in the pond. The course is challenging but not unrealistic. Par is reachable on every single hole. Playing this course for the first time, I shot a one over which is nice seeing that next time I would really try and improve on that after knowing the course a bit better. The paths and fairways are maintained well throughout the woods and it would be fairly difficult to lose a disc because of how well cleaned out it is.
Cons: There was absolutely no signage on the tee-boxes letting you know what the distance was, or where you were throwing. If I did not have someone with me who knew the course, I would have been in a lot of trouble trying to find the basket or where to go to next. There were a couple of arrows throughout the course to tell you were the next tee box was, but nothing that was absolutely distinct.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play for the first time. I am from PA and was visiting Uncle and this course provided me a great opportunity to play some Virginia Disc Golf. I played this course with an ex-marine who happened to show up at the course at the same time, so it was nice having a seasoned vet who knew the course!.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is an overall postive expeirance for any level player. I won't give a full run down of each hole because other reviews already have but here is what I can add.
- great mix of open and wooded holes
- risk/reward is exciting
-course is away from the rest of the park
-course maps available at the bulletin board before the first tee
-discatcher baskets!
-not crowded while I was there on a Sunday afternoon in mid-May
-course flows nicely
Cons: just a few...
-differsent tee pads, some carpet that could become slippery if wet
-bring that map because there is little to no signage at the tee (I only saw 1 and it was laying on the ground...damn vandals)
-bring bug spray!
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was #10 right over the pond. I can also tell you.. do not take Loriella Park Road that doesn't take you there! I did enjoy the course and if you enjoy a nice mix of holes check it out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice but not impressed.

2-4    5/8/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 72  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course does have some things to offer.

The course has everything from big grip and rip open throws, tight tunnels, elevation, and water hazards.

1,2,5,12,17, and 18 are over big open areas with just 1 and 12 having trees right at the basket.

Three is a straight and very tight slight downhill tunnel. That calls for great accuracy.

Six, 7, 8, and 9 work their way through the woods with a variety of elevation and are mostly just straight.

Ten is over the pond onto a hill with lots of vegetation to the left and right. It is mostly open behind it underneath a canopy.

Eleven and 16 are a copy of 6, 7, 8, and 9.

Thirteen is a right to left downhill throw with the basket next to the water. It is a great basket position and a tough throw.

Fourteen is a hard left to right that will make you work at it. It is slightly downhill and the break right is only about 50 yards from the tee. Placement is crucial here.

Fifteen is a snake throught the woods.

There are plenty of amenities here for the family. It has playgrounds, a pool, basketball courts, and restrooms.

It is well maintianed and a nice place to play. The baskets are old Innova baskets but are in decent shape.
Cons: I wasn't impressed because of the lack of detail. To be highly rated a course does not rate high unless it pays attention to the details. The course is maybe a 4 for the course, although with 12 different tees being almost perfectly straight throws from the white that is a big maybe, but it is a weak 2 for detail.

The tees are dirt or dirt with carpet and that is okay but they are rough and unkept.

With no signage anywhere it can be hard to tell where you are going because the course flow is not great in the woods. The lack of signage also keeps you in the dark as to which pin position is being used.

There are also definite drainage problems. It has not rained hard in weeks and there are several areas you must cross to get to the basket or the next tee that are muddy.
Other Thoughts: The rating of this course is all over the place, they range from 2 to 4, and there is justification. With a lot of work it could be a a good 4. More variety with the fairways and it could be a strong 4.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This Temptress Loriella Could Really Hurt A Fella

5+    3/7/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 33.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Outstanding use of land and layout.
* Elements like water, wind & elevation add to challenge.
* Multiple tee & pin positions.
* Good variety of open & wooded fairways.
* Wide variety of shots needed.
* Restrooms & Other park amenities.
* Great Club Support (Go Spotsy!!)
* Park is an easy find / Not too far off I-95.
Cons: * Tee pads - Carpet mostly / Can be uneven & tricky, especially on wet days.
* Tee signage - None (But they are on the way!)
* Navigation can be tricky - A map will be a must for 1st timers.
* May have to share course with park users on busy days.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course hidden in the back of Loriella Park. Though the park may be busy on pretty days, I never found users a major problem beyond the dog walker or runaway kid. The park is a small, pleasant setting of ball fields and playgrounds. You might not even notice the big girl that lays waiting for you.
If you can get beyond the few Cons listed, you will be rewarded for your patience. The white tees may give the beginner or rec player a bit more challenge then desired but even the pond is doable for most. Pros will love letting it rip on the field holes and enjoy the challenge the trees have to offer.
Just when you think you're Johnny Bravo from the white tees, the red tees show you just what a Brick house this girl Loriella really is. In this layout there are only 3 holes under 300' and B pin positions that may make you a little weak kneed. The challenge added by the wind, water and elevation just adds to the experience. The course lends itself very nicely to tournament play. The Loreilla Challenge is an excellent tournament experience. Thanks Golfnbob for a great weekend!! This and other events here should be on your tour calendar.
What this course needs most is a little TLC and it is starting to get it. I played recently (6/10) and all the tees have poles for what must be future tee signs.I still have issues with some tee pads but good things happen slowly. A course I go out of my way to play. Only a fool would pass up a chance at gettin' some Loriella Lovin'.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit of everything

1    3/5/2010   3/5/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is set in a small park with a playground available for kids. Practice basket by first tee. Most holes have 2 tee pads and 2 basket positions. Good variety of hole type and layout. First 5 holes are in the open, 6-11 are in the woods, 11 and 12 back in the open, 13-16 are back in the woods, and 17 and 18 finish up out in the open. There is a small amount of elevation and an occasional mature tree to keep the open holes from being too repitive. Wooded holes have some left turns and some right turns. There are also some straight shots through a tight tunnel-like wooded fairways. 2 holes play around or near a small pond.
Cons: Over half the holes are out in the open. Not too many obstacles to get to the basket. There is a little bit of elevation on these holes, but for the most part they aren't real challenging from the shorts. Bigger arms will probably get a 2 on each hole and mortals should get easy pars. Some of the longer tee pads are set back in the woods and add some more challenge to these holes. Tee pads are crushed gravel with carpets over them, or in a few cases some artificial turf. They are lumpy and uneven. Some of this may be caused by the brutal winter storms that hit No. VA this year, but they are still gravel and carpet. The carpeted pads are almost dangerous as they can really catch your shoe. There are no signs so hole distances are navigation are difficult. Bring a printed map and you shouldn't have any trouble getting around though.
Other Thoughts: The B basket position that plays over the pond on #13 is a real good hole. I also thought #16 was especially good. It is longer than most of the wooded holes, and bends to the right along a tightly wooded fairway. The wooded holes are all solid, and have enough trees to make you play a good technical game.

Overall this was a good course due to its variety. While there is nothing exceptional here, it does have enough of everything to make this a good place to play a round. And with its proximity to The Grange, Hawk Hollow and Giles Run it gives you an excuse to make a trip and hit a bunch of real good No. VA courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.