Spotsylvania, VA 
Loriella Park Share
Uploaded By: Jeff Shattuck Hole #10 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 340ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Long Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    8/31/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: cahurley
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent tee signs, dual tee locations with carpet tees, open and wooded holes, benches at most of the tee boxes, friendly locals
Cons: Unkempt in areas, could be difficult to navigate between some holes
Other Thoughts: Loriella park has a great disc golf course. My friend and I drove up from Richmond to play and wound up meeting a local (Dennis) at the start who joined us for our round. Throughout the round, Dennis was giving us some background info on the park and the recent changes to the course. Within the past couple of months, there has been work done on some of the wooded holes as well as the addition of signs at each tee telling the location, distance and par of each hole. The tees were carpet which was great for the weather we had, but I can imagine them getting soggy after rain. There were also benches at most of the tees for us to relax if there had been anybody else on the course, but while we were there I didn't see any other golfers. There are multiple pin locations and while some of the holes had multiple baskets, others had a single basket that is moved from time to time for variation.

My biggest issue with this course was the lack of maintenance on the open holes. The grass looked like it hadn't been cut for months and was knee-high in places. The park could just cut fairways and leave the rest high and it would be great, but it was obvious they hadn't done much work on the fields in a while. It could also be difficult to navigate the open part of the course if we didn't have a regular with us because there was a little bit of a hike between some of them and many of the holes are visible so you have to know which tee is which.

Otherwise, there weren't any real obvious problems that would take anything out of playing at this park. Unlike many of the wooded courses out there, we didn't run into many thorned plants or poison ivy and, unless your throw is way off or in the pond, it would be difficult to lose a disc. Overall I'd have to say that Loriella Park was an excellent course and one of my favorites out of the courses I've played in the northern part of VA.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice tee-pads. They are large, and have carpet which can help give you some extra grip. Also, I liked the fact that there are benches at almost every hole which is nice to lay your bag on, or just rest while others are throwing. The course has a variety of open holes and wooded holes. Starting out in the open can be nice as your first few holes are forgiving since they are wide open. I personally felt the fun began once you got more into the woods. Hole number 10 is one of the coolest holes I have played. I love the fact you have to throw over the pond. If you throw from the pro tees, you are really testing your skills as it is one amazingly difficult shot! I imagine there are a lot of discs in the pond. The course is challenging but not unrealistic. Par is reachable on every single hole. Playing this course for the first time, I shot a one over which is nice seeing that next time I would really try and improve on that after knowing the course a bit better. The paths and fairways are maintained well throughout the woods and it would be fairly difficult to lose a disc because of how well cleaned out it is.
Cons: There was absolutely no signage on the tee-boxes letting you know what the distance was, or where you were throwing. If I did not have someone with me who knew the course, I would have been in a lot of trouble trying to find the basket or where to go to next. There were a couple of arrows throughout the course to tell you were the next tee box was, but nothing that was absolutely distinct.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play for the first time. I am from PA and was visiting Uncle and this course provided me a great opportunity to play some Virginia Disc Golf. I played this course with an ex-marine who happened to show up at the course at the same time, so it was nice having a seasoned vet who knew the course!.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is an overall postive expeirance for any level player. I won't give a full run down of each hole because other reviews already have but here is what I can add.
- great mix of open and wooded holes
- risk/reward is exciting
-course is away from the rest of the park
-course maps available at the bulletin board before the first tee
-discatcher baskets!
-not crowded while I was there on a Sunday afternoon in mid-May
-course flows nicely
Cons: just a few...
-differsent tee pads, some carpet that could become slippery if wet
-bring that map because there is little to no signage at the tee (I only saw 1 and it was laying on the ground...damn vandals)
-bring bug spray!
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was #10 right over the pond. I can also tell you.. do not take Loriella Park Road that doesn't take you there! I did enjoy the course and if you enjoy a nice mix of holes check it out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice but not impressed.

2-4    5/8/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course does have some things to offer.

The course has everything from big grip and rip open throws, tight tunnels, elevation, and water hazards.

1,2,5,12,17, and 18 are over big open areas with just 1 and 12 having trees right at the basket.

Three is a straight and very tight slight downhill tunnel. That calls for great accuracy.

Six, 7, 8, and 9 work their way through the woods with a variety of elevation and are mostly just straight.

Ten is over the pond onto a hill with lots of vegetation to the left and right. It is mostly open behind it underneath a canopy.

Eleven and 16 are a copy of 6, 7, 8, and 9.

Thirteen is a right to left downhill throw with the basket next to the water. It is a great basket position and a tough throw.

Fourteen is a hard left to right that will make you work at it. It is slightly downhill and the break right is only about 50 yards from the tee. Placement is crucial here.

Fifteen is a snake throught the woods.

There are plenty of amenities here for the family. It has playgrounds, a pool, basketball courts, and restrooms.

It is well maintianed and a nice place to play. The baskets are old Innova baskets but are in decent shape.
Cons: I wasn't impressed because of the lack of detail. To be highly rated a course does not rate high unless it pays attention to the details. The course is maybe a 4 for the course, although with 12 different tees being almost perfectly straight throws from the white that is a big maybe, but it is a weak 2 for detail.

The tees are dirt or dirt with carpet and that is okay but they are rough and unkept.

With no signage anywhere it can be hard to tell where you are going because the course flow is not great in the woods. The lack of signage also keeps you in the dark as to which pin position is being used.

There are also definite drainage problems. It has not rained hard in weeks and there are several areas you must cross to get to the basket or the next tee that are muddy.
Other Thoughts: The rating of this course is all over the place, they range from 2 to 4, and there is justification. With a lot of work it could be a a good 4. More variety with the fairways and it could be a strong 4.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This Temptress Loriella Could Really Hurt A Fella

5+    3/7/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Outstanding use of land and layout.
* Elements like water, wind & elevation add to challenge.
* Multiple tee & pin positions.
* Good variety of open & wooded fairways.
* Wide variety of shots needed.
* Restrooms & Other park amenities.
* Great Club Support (Go Spotsy!!)
* Park is an easy find / Not too far off I-95.
Cons: * Tee pads - Carpet mostly / Can be uneven & tricky, especially on wet days.
* Tee signage - None (But they are on the way!)
* Navigation can be tricky - A map will be a must for 1st timers.
* May have to share course with park users on busy days.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course hidden in the back of Loriella Park. Though the park may be busy on pretty days, I never found users a major problem beyond the dog walker or runaway kid. The park is a small, pleasant setting of ball fields and playgrounds. You might not even notice the big girl that lays waiting for you.
If you can get beyond the few Cons listed, you will be rewarded for your patience. The white tees may give the beginner or rec player a bit more challenge then desired but even the pond is doable for most. Pros will love letting it rip on the field holes and enjoy the challenge the trees have to offer.
Just when you think you're Johnny Bravo from the white tees, the red tees show you just what a Brick house this girl Loriella really is. In this layout there are only 3 holes under 300' and B pin positions that may make you a little weak kneed. The challenge added by the wind, water and elevation just adds to the experience. The course lends itself very nicely to tournament play. The Loreilla Challenge is an excellent tournament experience. Thanks Golfnbob for a great weekend!! This and other events here should be on your tour calendar.
What this course needs most is a little TLC and it is starting to get it. I played recently (6/10) and all the tees have poles for what must be future tee signs.I still have issues with some tee pads but good things happen slowly. A course I go out of my way to play. Only a fool would pass up a chance at gettin' some Loriella Lovin'.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit of everything

1    3/5/2010   3/5/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is set in a small park with a playground available for kids. Practice basket by first tee. Most holes have 2 tee pads and 2 basket positions. Good variety of hole type and layout. First 5 holes are in the open, 6-11 are in the woods, 11 and 12 back in the open, 13-16 are back in the woods, and 17 and 18 finish up out in the open. There is a small amount of elevation and an occasional mature tree to keep the open holes from being too repitive. Wooded holes have some left turns and some right turns. There are also some straight shots through a tight tunnel-like wooded fairways. 2 holes play around or near a small pond.
Cons: Over half the holes are out in the open. Not too many obstacles to get to the basket. There is a little bit of elevation on these holes, but for the most part they aren't real challenging from the shorts. Bigger arms will probably get a 2 on each hole and mortals should get easy pars. Some of the longer tee pads are set back in the woods and add some more challenge to these holes. Tee pads are crushed gravel with carpets over them, or in a few cases some artificial turf. They are lumpy and uneven. Some of this may be caused by the brutal winter storms that hit No. VA this year, but they are still gravel and carpet. The carpeted pads are almost dangerous as they can really catch your shoe. There are no signs so hole distances are navigation are difficult. Bring a printed map and you shouldn't have any trouble getting around though.
Other Thoughts: The B basket position that plays over the pond on #13 is a real good hole. I also thought #16 was especially good. It is longer than most of the wooded holes, and bends to the right along a tightly wooded fairway. The wooded holes are all solid, and have enough trees to make you play a good technical game.

Overall this was a good course due to its variety. While there is nothing exceptional here, it does have enough of everything to make this a good place to play a round. And with its proximity to The Grange, Hawk Hollow and Giles Run it gives you an excuse to make a trip and hit a bunch of real good No. VA courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Loriella

5+    1/21/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: THe pros are that it has its technical parts and its wide open spaces parts. Its diverse and not crowded with other recreational sports. The people there are friendly and will let you play through. The pond is beautiful and so is the layout (unlike pratt).
Cons: Holes 4 and 15 i just dont like those holes because 15 you eihter have to throw forearm or have a mean anhyzer. and hole 4 just keeps going on forever
Other Thoughts: nice course

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rough Diamond

2-4    10/8/2011   7/11/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two tee locations and two basket positions per hole. Practice basket.

At back of multi-purpose park, away from other park users. Not too far from food and petrol options.
Cons:
With no signs at tees, you have no idea what the distances are nor the current location of the basket, if not readily viewable from the tee.

10/9/11: There are now informative signs at each tee position on each hole.

Tee locations marked by mid-sized red (longer) or white painted rocks. Tee "pads" vary a bit - dirt, small gravel, grass, carpet, combinations were all used.
Other Thoughts:
Course was relatively easy to navigate, with mowed paths in the open fairways, fairly obvious paths in the woods, and the recently-added on-line map made it a cinch!

Open, mid-distance, slight elevation change at 1-2 to warm you up, tunnel shot for #3, open, longer, more change-in-elevation shots 4-5. Holes 6-11 are fairly flat, in the woods, with fair throwing lanes. Number 10 is a decent length throw over a pond, but there is a alternate tee on the left side that is short and only goes over a corner of the pond. Number 12 is an open, downhill bomb, with 13-16 being back in the woods. The tee for #13 is in the woods opposite the A-position for #12; Also, don't overthrow 13, or you night find the pond! Number 17 is back in the open, although you must drive thru a row of trees, and #18 is a long, open uphill shot, ending near basket #1/tee #12. Note: the latter wooded holes, 11 onward, are a bit skewed in favour of right-turning shots.

Overall, a very solid course with decent shot and distance variety. Adding signs and improving the teepads would really raise this course to the next tier.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Central VA Course

5+    6/25/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When first entering Loriella Park you get the feeling that you may have to contend with some park patrons during your round. The soccer fields, pool, playground, and pavilion have been fairly crowded every time that I've been here, but once you start your round you quickly forget that they are there. There is a practice basket near the first tee to warm up on, and once you tee off on #1 the other park patrons are out of sight for most of the round.

This course makes great use of the terrain, with an equal amount of open and wooded holes, all of which vary greatly in elevation and types of shots required. The layout of the course is great in that the open and wooded holes are well dispersed throughout the course - no 2 holes here are alike. The dual tees on each hole make the course enjoyable for all skill levels, and combined with the alternate basket locations it's hard to get tired of playing here.

In one round at Loriella you should be able to use every disc in your bag. There are plenty of long, open holes where you can air it out, as well as many technical holes that require more finesse than power. Regardless of what you look for in a course, you should enjoy playing here.

Favorite hole - #5; open, downhill shot, perfect for airing it out RHBH.
Cons: The teepads are the first thing I'll mention here. They are mostly old carpet or astroturf, which I prefer over natural tees. They really aren't bad to play on, but after a rain some of them can be pretty gross, and I think that the course would be greatly improved with cement tees.

The grass on the open holes has been very long the last few times I've played here. This is an easy fix - I'm not sure how often the fields are mowed, but the grass was easily a foot high when I last played. This really isn't a big deal either, but the overall playing experience is much better when the grass was shorter.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this course. It is my favorite course is Spotsy, though I still haven't played Hawk Hollow (hoping to change that soon). The cons that I listed don't take much away from this course - it is very well designed and a blast to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    6/18/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is on a great piece of property. It has a good mix of everything. A couple of great open holes, very good test of max distance if you play from the pro tees. There are some holes in the trees but every hole has a good fairway. There are two tees for almost every hole. There is a good mix of fairways that favor a RHBH and a LHBH or RHFH shot. There are also a couple of holes that really test your ability to throw it nice and straight. There are also two great water holes, very picturesque.

A couple of the holes should be mentioned (all comments are from the pro tees).

Hole 2: Throw through a small grove of trees surrounding the tee into an open field. The pin is up the slope on the right. A fun hole that allows you to air it out and great for RHFH.
Hole 3 and 11: These are the ones that really require a straight drive to stay on the fairway. While not long they are challenging because of the possibility of your drive fading into the tree line.
Hole 5: This is a great open hole and the pin is perfectly placed for a good RHBH shot.
Hole 6: This one is difficult to play from the pro tee because of the quick right turn of the fairway. However, it is a fun hole.
Hole 10 and 13: These holes play across the pond and after you get over the possibility of losing your disc they are fun. Playing 13 from the pro tee is difficult because unless you drive over 400 ft you cannot make it across the pond from the tee. This requires a precise throw to the edge of the pond then another to the other side.
Hole 15: Definitely aceable. I hit the tree directly to the right of the basket.
Hole 17 and 18: Both open holes with good use of elevation. They are good holes to end your round.

Cons: After playing this course a second time I realize that I was overly harsh about the signage in my first review. This is an excellent course already and the addition of permanent tee signs and a couple of directional arrows pointing to the next tee would just make it even better. Also some of the tees pads themselves are now a little worse for wear and need to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to play and there are a lot of other activities in the park. I followed up my round with a trip to Chipotle. I love those burritos.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.