Spotsylvania, VA 
Loriella Park Share
Uploaded By: Jeff Shattuck Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 498ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Short Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Lovely Loriella

2-4    3/7/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 246  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful Loriella is full of my favorite thing in a course- variety. Several holes on open, rolling hills are contrasted by tight wooded holes demanding accuracy. Many of the wooded holes have elevation changes. A pond also comes into play on a couple holes, though not difficult to throw over, will certainly mess with your head. All holes have multiple pin placements, adding to the awesome variety. Some simply add a bit of distance, some change the hole from 'lefty' to 'righty' and some change a simple open hole to a long drive across a field at a well protected basket in the woods. If this wasn't enough, each hole has short and long tees to add more diversity and challenge. The wooded holes with root-covered ground were particularly scenic. All and all a well thought out and fun course to throw.
Cons: Not much to put here. On most holes i liked the carpet pad tees, but some were very saturated with water and mud and therefore very slippery, I almost took a fall twice. A couple holes seemed like they may be hard to find from the previous, but my first time playing was a tournament with locals, so this was not an issue. Some permanent tee signs would also be a great improvement here. On the weekend the area was packed with park goers and kite fliers, some wandering onto the course and interrupting play. That was a bit annoying, but hey, its a public park.
Other Thoughts: My first time playing here was the Loriella Challenge, and was a bit more than a 2.5 hour drive for me and I must say it was totally worth it. The course was excellent and I had a blast. For the tournament format I played both rounds from the whites (short tees) and I look forward to coming back and trying my game at the reds.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress

5+    3/5/2008   2/20/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is another one of those courses that has been blessed by the piece of land it's on. In the rolling hills of VA, you get a little of everything at Loriella. There are some big boomers that make nice use of elevation, there are big mature stands of forest that offer a nice mix of skill tests, especially from the different tee locations. There's a pond that comes into play on a couple holes. There's a couple of 2 shot holes, requiring power and distance off the tee, and an accurate up shot to score well.
The variation from the long to the short tees is pretty dramatic, with scores jumping 10-15 strokes from the longs.
Huge parking area, bathrooms and vending machines located next to the front of the course.
Cons: Teepads and signs aren't the greatest. But if you are guided the first time - it's not hard to get around.
But it seems like everytime I go, there has been more work done on something.
Other Thoughts: There are a couple locals that really take care of the place, and continually try and make it better. Seemingly, they do it alone, because I've heard of a few other locals that trash the place with butts and beer cans, with little regard for the volunteers that do the work.
Loriella is one of those places that if it had a core of 15 or 20 dedicated regulars, it could be made into a 5 in nothing flat - that's how good the property is. That's why I go out of my way to play their event every year, it's one of those places that draws you back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Where do I go? hmm over there?

1    2/5/2009   2/5/2009
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Alright, this is my 3rd time writing this review. This time I think I'll save a copy with notepad...

I really liked this course's layout. Any course with a couple open holes in the beginning helps me get warm before I move to the more technical holes.
The difference in elevation, foliage, and types of technical shots made for a good time. Back hand players will enjoy this course more than forehand players, more pins are on the left. eg More hyzer than anhyzer. Holes 10 and 16 were both great. 10 is a nice water hole and 16 is very technical, I enjoyed them.
This course also has multiple pads and pins, this could be very nice if I were a local player.
Cons: I walked all over the place trying to find holes and still couldn't find 3,4, or 14...wtf. I know, I know if I play the course a couple times i'll know exactly where to go but that's not going to happen so some tee signs would be nice. There wasn't even a map at the beginning to help, one or the other would be nice. Those little things that say next hole---> could also have helped.
Lastly some concrete tee pads would be a great improvement, I've never played on iced over carpet/mud before.
Other Thoughts: I hate to be so negative but wandering around drove me nuts. With the cities parks department HQ on the property this course should be top notch. Just beg them for tee sings every day till they give. With all of the tourneys hosted hear you think there would be better tee sings.
I was also amazed by the lack of thorn bushes, so rare in the northeast.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Layout

5+    7/24/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: kcbrez009
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like variety in a disc golf course, and perhaps more than any other I've played, Loriella offers variety. Open holes, wooded holes, uphill holes, downhill holes, long holes, short holes, holes over water, holes through a skinny chute of trees.

Two sets of tees. The pro tees are a real b****, quite a challenge.

Baskets are moved frequently.

Fairly well-manicured.
Cons: Signage is less than spectacular.

Tee boxes are sometimes filled with cinders, sometimes filled by old carpet, sometimes filled with both, and always filled with water for a couple of days after it rains. I really wish they'd put concrete pads in there.

Any course can be rough on really hot, muggy days, but for some reason Loriella seems even worse than others. The first five holes and the last two holes are killers on days like this.
Other Thoughts: There is a Sonic drive-in nearby. Winner, winner, chicken dinner.

There is a lot to do in the area. A family could spend an entire weekend, maybe even a whole week in the area and not get bored.

First of all, there is a lot of good disc golf nearby - Loriella, Pratt, and The Grange (3 18-hole courses at The Grange) are all within 10 miles of each other and Giles Run is 30 miles up the road. All are excellent courses.

Excellent "olde-towne style" shopping in historic downtown Fredericksburg.

Two major Civil War battlefields in the area - Fredericksburg and Chancellorsville. Manassas (Bull Run) is also 30 miles away.

Nice mall and Central Park (another shopping area) nearby. Go-Karts, ice skating, and every restaurant you can imagine nearby.

Ferry Farm (boyhood home of George Washington) is in Fredericksburg, as is the University of Mary Washington. George Washington's birthplace is a thirty minute drive east of town.

Washington D.C. and Richmond are both close by, as is Paramount's King's Dominion, a good-sized amusement park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good variety

6/19/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: Snaps017
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety in holes. Several good for strong arms, especially the open holes in the fields. Holes in the woods were well established and involved. Especially hole three, a 200+ foot tee shot with an absolutely straight fairway and literally a fence of trees on each side...personally have never played a hole like it before. The course was long, a good walk/hike which made for a more enjoyable experience instead of having holes bunched up on eachother. The course was well maintained, and the pond on hole ten really made you think twice about your tee off. Overall an excellent experience, plus Loriella park itself is well kept and a nice family environment.
Cons: The only issue I had with playing it my first time through was that some of the tees were a little hard to find. If you go to the park office they have a map which made things a lot easier, however their map was a little out of date and some of the pins had been moved, so I spent a few minutes walking around trying to find the next tee; but in respect with the overall experience wasn't that big of a deal for me. I wasn't in any hurry. Also, on the open holes in the field...sometimes took a minute to find my disk since they hadn't mowed the grass in a while, but again, just a small thing.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, there was a lot for everyone. The holes in the fields were good for people with strong arms but the woods holes offered the typical finesse shots and so forth. Definitely one of the better courses I've played and definitely worth the time to check it out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long Course in Central Virginia

2-4    3/17/2006   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied landscapes, multiple tees, length
Other Thoughts: Loriella is a nice course, a "lite" version of several of my favorite courses in the region, Patapsco and Walnut Creek in particular. Like Patapsco, the course features superior length, both open and woods holes, and demands a wide range of shots and skills. Like Walnut Grove, the course is hilly, and has a couple of good woods holes, but is still rough around the edges, with most of the woods holes lacking tee boxes and none of the holes have signs. The overall strength of this course is there is something for everyone: Even the longest drivers would be challenged by the pro tees, some holes are wide open, but some are in the woods and require precision, and uphill, downhill, and even one true water hole.

The course is laid out with a wide open area in the middle with some small hills, and then woods around the perimeter of this area, with nine holes in each landscape. The open holes are straightforward - in fact, I wish the shots were a little less straight on a couple of these nine holes. Most play over the undulations - only a couple are all uphill or all downhill. The woods holes are well done, with fully reasonable but challenging fairways. The terrain is pretty, but there are no expansive views to be had. And the course is plenty challenging, not the hardest course or longest course I've played, but certainly more challenging than most.

Overall, Loriella is one of the best DG courses in Virginia. While not quite as diverse and challenging as Patapsco, and lacking the views, elevation changes, and signature holes of Walnut Creek, the course still features a little bit that is good about these two courses and other Mid-Atlantic courses - variety, good woods holes, and length. I look forward to playing there again.

Favorite Hole - #6, long gradual downhill shot along treeline to basket set back in woods.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.