Moss Bluff, LA 
Bob Rodgers Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: TejasKajun Hole #14 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 249ft.   3 / 307ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Enjoyable Course For All Levels

1    3/1/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: TejasKajun
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple pin and tees to use, accommodates beginners to advanced, it will focus you to throw accurate in tight tunnel situations.

It recently rained and most of the water had drained, there are some low areas in the woods, but they are placing natural bridges to help you navigate the standing water.
Cons: Being it was my first time to the park, not signage directing me to the course.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course with a great future for players in the area. I really appreciated it as I traveled through.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

My Local Course

5+    7/12/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: Big Lew
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in beautiful Sam Houston Jones State Park, with tent, RV, and cabin camping near by, which make this a great disc golf resort.
Nice mix of both left and right dog leg holes. Multiple tees for novice, am and pro players. Lots of woods to make the short holes challenging. Only one small water hazard. Benches at every 3rd hole or so.
Continuity flows well between holes except between holes 2 & 3 and 6 & 7.
Cons: Bring insect repellent, it is located on the banks of the Calcasieu River in South Louisiana low lands, so beware of mosquitos and mind other hazardous wild life such as yellow jackets and snakes.
After big rains Holes 2 and 13 are difficult b/c of the accumulation of casual water. Rain also effects play on the fairways of 1, 12, & 18.
Other Thoughts: Tee marker posts were recently cemented in at the white (am) tees. Tee signs are scheduled to be placed on 7/20/13. The holes in the woods are maintained by volunteer labor local DG club not the park maintenance crew. So if it is over grown be patient we will get to it to cut down fairway overgrowth. The more open holes are mowed regularly by the park maintenance crew. Only one trash dumper located between hole 3 and 4, please use it and do not litter the course. Deer and raccoons are very tame and welcome hand outs. 2 dollar daily entry fee to SHJ State Park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rough and technical

1    3/24/2013   3/24/2013
Review By: weeman
Played: 231  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decided to go play the Bob today and here's what I thought. The course is set aside from most everything else in the park except for a few roads that shape some OB. There's a little bit of a warm up area with a practice basket and a make-shift driving range up and down the road with grassy landing spots on the sides. Adjacent to the practice basket is an information kiosk with course maps and score cards. I'd recommend utilizing both of these. Each hole forces a distinct shot shape with very few allowing for some 'outside the box' creative shots. Executing the shot shapes is paramount to having a birdie opportunity. Not pulling off the shot will leave you needing some luck or a bit of skill to maneuver for a par save. The rough is very thick and will cost anyone at least a stroke by going in more than about 6 feet. Each hole has a different feel to it so you don't get the repetitive feeling of throwing the same shot over and over. Visual they are also ever changing. The baskets are brand spanking new looking discatchers and catch well they do. From the base of the basket hangs a "Next Tee" sign with an arrow to point you in the correction direction. The tee pads are grass and are in excellent shape as of today. They are mostly intrusion free from weeds, roots, and divets. As of today there were several benches located near the tees with more scheduled for installation. Several of the holes have multiple pin placements as well so the course can have an ever changing feel. With multiple sleeves and three tees per hole, you can go several rounds without playing the same set up twice.
Cons: Several of the cons are time-dependent in my opinion. Since the course is fresh and carved out of heavy woods, there were numerous occasions where errant sticks, branches and logs were all over the fairways. I tried moving what I could without spending more time cleaning up than golf, but this is something that will get better as the course ages. On that same note, watch your steps as there are plenty of 'toe-busters', little stumps or pultruded roots that stick out of the ground just enough to attack your toes as you are walking. Again, its a matter of time before these are negated. There is one long walk on the course between holes 6 and 7 and this not immediately apparent. This is where the course map comes in handy for knowing the correct direction to go but the path into the woods was not clearly defined after walking up the road for several hundred feet. The tee markers now are only orange flags labeling the blue tees (longs) with the hole number/tee designation, stones in the ground (whites and reds) with the hole number and distances on them. These stones are flush with the ground and are not immediately apparent when walking up, though there is a typically a worn spot behind them as the tee pad. With there being several holes with multiple sleeves, the distance are incorrect and sometimes its better to walk ahead to locate the basket before throwing. I usually don't like to nit-pick holes but number 17 in the longer pin placement is the worst hole out there by far. Once you get half way down the fairway there is then no defined opening or gap to then get to the green, only a wall of trees/shrubs/branches/leaves. I hope that this hole gets a serious face lift. It was dry when I played it but could see where water would pond up after a rain and unfortunately quite a few spots were on the course or the walks between holes. Perhaps in time, little bridges will be built to combat this in spots.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was happy about how the Bob played. It was straight forward at times but had a little something to every hole that made them enjoyable and challenging at the same time. It seemed like the course receives a far amount of play and there is a bi-weekly league there on Sundays. This course will only get better as time goes on. One last note, since this course is still rough be watchful for snakes and other critters out there. My group today came across three snakes that were in the middle of the fairway.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Beginning!

2-4    12/3/2012   12/3/2012
Review By: bayouace
Played: 39  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just finished the second 9 on "The BOB" at Sam Houston Jones State Park in Moss Bluff, LA near Lake Charles. Some course amenities are still being provided, but the course is ready to play. First 9 went in April, 2012. A combination of highly technical woods holes and some semi-open, but treed, holes await you. Many of the holes are not long, but they are trouble for any carelessness at all. 1 and 18 are power line holes with really rough shule, if you stray off the fairway either direction. 2 is a blind annie through trees. 3 is a 90 degree, long hole which turns 90 again to the basket in a fishhook pattern. 4 is short and straight with some trees. 5 is slightly uphill with trees to weave through. 6 is short, but protected by a pothole water hazzard and small trees.

Then the fun begins. 7-13 are tight, technical holes that often require an "S" pattern to score. Risk vs. reward to either play the line and lay up or go for it. If you miss and go into the rough, you have a problem. 10 is the only straight, somewhat open, fairway in the bunch. My personal fav is 13, tight and up and down some small hills and annie to the basket. I just like the feel of it. 14-16 are reasonably open with protective trees. Then comes "Widowmaker" 17 which is short, but a real bugger reverse "S" from the Pros or Ams. In short, the course is fun and challenging. Did I mention the roads are out of bounds. Oh yeah. Deer and begging raccoons (at dusk) all over the place.

Rest rooms are available in the park. Best to bring your own water. No benches yet. Baskets are double-numbered with "Next Tee" signs on the basket or in the ground nearby. A course map is available for asking at the Park entrance and, hopefully, in a plastic box at the Kiosk by the putting basket. Also just download one here at DGCR. $1 to enter the park.Playground being remodeled to bring the kids. Cabins for rent right on the course - $85 a night - sleeps 6-8. Innova Discatcher baskets.
Cons: Needs to beat in a few months. Benches on the way. Tee signs coming, but the map works fine. Be nice to have a closer rest room and water. Tees are dirt, but no problem. The rainy season may bring some standing water we will need to deal with, so wear waterproof if you got 'em. Distances will be added in a week or so.
Other Thoughts: There is no course in Louisiana like this one except for a private course in Ragley, LA - La Cote Ragley. I think "The BOB" will be a must stop only 9 miles from I-10 in Lake Charles. Give it a try. Give it some constructive tips, and come have a blast.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.