Florissant, MO
Dunegant Park Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #17 (Taken 12/2012)
5 / 710ft.   -- / --   5 / 900ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Needs info updated

5+    4/5/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: cjsleme
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.2 Years
Pros: I am fairly new to disc golf and I find this a fun course that I keep going back to. I love how it is like two different styles of courses in one. The front 9 are in woods with foliage and obstacles and the back 9 are in a field with well distinguished fairways and out of bounds.
The tees are marked and have a picture of the hole lay out.
Cons: The only negative thing I can think of is that the natural Tee's seem to always be muddy so I throw to the side of them.
Other Thoughts: This course needs to be updated on this website. They reworked and rearranged most of the back 9 holes and so the distance and pars are wrong as listed on here. The course map on here is wrong too. If someone can track the information and update it that would help.

No cookie cutter here...

1    8/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: dandruff1138
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
Pros: This course was very slow, no one but us playing! Besides spending considerable time in the trees looking for discs, we still had a great time. Everything was mowed, and the park seemed to be well cared for. Did not struggle with finding the tees. The back 9 has some very unique holes, some people dislike it, but it is a nice change of pace.
Cons: Not too much to add here, other then the natural tees are starting to wear, and some of the brush will eat your disc.
Other Thoughts: Nice to see a course using some unique design elements, not a cookie cutter course!

Creative Design

5+    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, Easy to Navigate, good mix of shots, OB--
Holes 1-9: Feature a mixture of open shots and tightly wooded fairways with mature trees. With blue/ red tee pads and A/B pin locations, a variety of layouts may be played! Hole4 has road OB left and long. Holes 6,7,8 feature a fence that marks out of bounds. A great mixture of shots is required to really shoot well on this front 9 holes.

Holes 10-18: Are much larger and open, allowing you to air it out a bit more than the front. The massive winds and bountiful OB will be the challenge on the back 9. Holes 11,12 and 17 feature golf inspired lateral hazard bunkers. Holes 13 & 17 feature "white" ob markers that indicate a re-tee regardless of point of entry. Also, well manicured fairways will help establish OB points. You really must bring distance and accuracy to score well on the back 9 at Dunegant DGC
Cons: No concrete tee pads (yet), needs small walkway on Hole 1, slight mowing and trimming on hole 9
Other Thoughts: Park is kept very clean by local disc golfers and Florissant Parks & Rec. Restrooms/ drinking fountain are available on both the front and the back 9. Full electric at shelter near hole 1

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Huge improvement over original design

2-4    7/28/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 111  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 13.2 Years
Pros: Easy to navigate - somewhat challenging - multiple pin placements and tees - good variety of shots used - nice tee signs - restrooms

The front 9 is a little short, but offers a pretty nice variance of shots. The blue tees are much more challenging as they really change the shots, even though they are usually within 50' of the reds. The tee signs offer information on both red and blue tees as well as each pin placement & par. The course is very easy to navigate, but watch out for hole 8. You can see 9's (B-placement) basket from the tee pad and would easily think that is your target if you didn't check the tee sign or walk up the fairway. FYI, the A & B placements are straight ahead, down a small hill

The back 9 is wide open, but still offers a good challenge by creating OBs and with the amount of wind you tend to encounter. On the bright side, the park is very well maintained and the OB grass is just slightly higher than the fairway grass, so you're not spending a lot of time looking for discs. There are a few holes that have bunkers, which (I believe) carry an OB stroke, but you play from your lie within the bunker. This needs to be more clearly indicated on the signs in my opinion.
Cons: Natural tee pads - wide open back 9 - no trash cans

Back 9 is a little gimmicky as it is basically an open field. That said, designers did a great job a making use of what they were given and making a wide open field interesting with man made obstacles such as bunkers and OB grass. It would be nice if the tee signs were a little more descriptive, but a seasoned golfer will know how to play each hole.

The park is heavily patrolled by local police. This is good from the stand point of vehicle break ins. But they spend more time staring you down (almost expecting you to do something illegal) than patrolling the parking lot. We just wave, and go on our way...
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a nice little course. It's not championship caliber. But, for a fun round on a weekend, this hits the spot. They could use a couple more trash cans on the course, and concrete tee pads, but those missing items wouldn't really bump up the rating anymore than maybe a 3.5.

 Good use of land

1    4/21/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: Batmanx08
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: requires all kinds of shots just not one dimensial.

good use of land and blend between open and wooded

Cons: natural tees

throwing near people alot

no map or directions of where the basket is

no par info on posts

Other Thoughts: its a new course so i am sure most of those cons will be fixed. I came from IL to play this course, and unless there is a tourny I prolly wont come back.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    12/16/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: TheGoldenPutter
Played: 52  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UPDATED since back 9 redesign (ha that rhymes)

New course with a split front and back 9. I didn't really know what to expect the first time playing the course but I was very pleased.

+Front 9 is the shorter side of the park, with the holes being par 3's and around 300ft (except #4). The holes are mostly park style shots but the woods do come into play by lining some fairways and protecting some baskets. Front 9 offers a nice variety of shots and elevation changes.

+Back 9: Unfortunately a property dispute caused the majority of the back 9 to be redesigned. The holes that used to play around the woods have been taken out so now only 3 holes have trees/woods on them. It is still an enjoyable 9 holes to play but not as good as before. This is the longer side of the park and lets you get some good distance drives out of the system. To make up for the lack of trees, bunkers and OB have been added to create challenge. This makes you throw some distance shots that require a good amount of accuracy or else you would go OB.

+Hole #15 is the only remaining hole with bamboo surrounding the pin. I really like the bamboo and the effect it creates on the hole. Its maybe a 300-350 shot downhill but if you go long into the bamboo it makes for a difficult putt. Its better to try to place your shot outside of the bamboo to actually give yourself a birdie opportunity.

+Gateway Titans = nice baskets
+Nice new tee signs! Give a nice picture of the hole and other info.
Cons: -The changes in the back nine really took away some cool holes.

-Natural tee pads: It had rained the night before we played so it was very muddy and slippery so we just teed off 5ft away were it was grassy. If some sort of pads aren't installed soon the whole tee area will become a large patch of dirt.

-Speaking of mud, only the bunkers on 11 had sand (its not really sand but crushed rock) in it. This means that the other bunkers are really just a watery muddy hazard, and might require some disc fishing to retrieve a disc. (bunkers are only about a foot deep)

-Navigation: If you don't take a map and there isn't any in the box near #1 (which happened to us), they'll be a few moments when you'll be lost. Simply take the course map (under links/files) and you'll be fine. Just look for the wooden posts. To get to #3 to #4 you have to walk across the parking lot.

-Other stuff: No benches, trashcans, direction signs.
Other Thoughts: >Front 9: Variety of shot types on the shorter side that plays through trees + some woods.
>Back 9: More distance + open shots + OB/bunkers = more fun than it may sound.

>This course will get better over time, but it is still a fun and challenging course.

>The overall quality and challenge of this course in my opinion is lower than the other 18 hole courses in the STL, but still worth getting out and playing it.

**********************************IF you found this review unhelpful, confusing, want more info, found a mistake, or any have suggestions, please send me a personal PM so I can help.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

sweetness

1    12/8/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: eggmixer
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/12/2012
Pros: Great terrain - elevation changes
Very well maintained park - kudos to the City of Florrisant Parks department!!!
Another stellar layout from Dave McCormack @ Gateway Disc - good mix of technical shots and longer drives - Gateway Titan baskets - the BEST
Fairly easy to navigate - scorecard/map at Tee 1
Sand trap OB's - added skill dimension
Two tee and two pin positions
Fairly tight marked fairways on long field shots - another added skill dimension
40ft tall stand of bamboo growth incorporated on a few holes - exotic for the mid-west
Could extoll further but certainly an awesome addition to the metro St. Louis constellation of courses!
Cons: New course, so grass tees (had just rained the day before so a run-up was at your own risk on several holes - mud-slide)
Distance between a couple of tees a bit much
Difference between Red and Blue tee positions a bit ridiculous on more than a few holes (not significant enough)

Other Thoughts: Most Cons I could think of will probably be obviated by pending improvements. Play this course - you won't regret it!

Great Course

1    12/1/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: mkpjr37
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 play very well very nice mix had a few ace runs for me nice not to wooded play around for the most part but few holes go in, natural pads are good not my fav but better than most. Back 9 wide open except for 2 shots which are fun and ace runs behind the bamboo forest. Love the ob and traps idea on back 9
Cons: back 9 when windy plays hell with disc's, 600-800ft holes not my thing you still have people walking and running so watch out, park is big in past for kite flyers
Other Thoughts: Love the ob and sand traps idea would love to se more of this on every course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

That New Course Smell...

2-4    12/3/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 142  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Front 9 wind across and around hilly grounds and lots of mature trees. The back 9 are situated on a big flat field, but the addition of sand traps, bunkers and OB that shape out specific fairways on long holes make it interesting. Hole 13 is an example of an 800 ft hole across a field that was super interesting. OB on one side is marked by blue stakes, the other by pink, forming a tight, curving fairway to a pin nestled in a bamboo grove.There are 2 short ace runs (14 and 15) on the back nine, which are very fun. 17 is long but also marked by stakes to form another looong curved fairway to a basket surrounded by OB Bunkers and traps. 18 (I think I'll name this hole "The Widow ") is a shortish uphill run, but the unique hourglass-shaped OB mandate makes it very tight.
Also, the park has restrooms and playgrounds, lots of parking.
Cons: No Trashcans...
Natural Teepads, which weren't a problem but not my favorite
The OB stakes have to be temporary, because there's no way they'll last.
Other Thoughts: Had a ton of fun playing this course. This is a great example of using the space available to its potential. Can't wait to see it all grown in

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.