Florissant, MO 
Dunegant Park Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #13 (Taken 12/2012)
5 / 810ft.   5 / 850ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

5+    10/3/2015   10/12/2015
Review By: BUNKY314
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course. Gateway Titans for baskets. Well manicured course. Blue and red tees and 2 pin placements on every hole. Overall nice park. Playgrounds, baseball fields, handball courts. The course captain and the local competitors take good care of the course and keep it clean. The course flows well and i wouldn't imagine anyone would have any trouble navigating the course without a map. Nice longer par 3s, a par 4, and a par 5. Ball golf course feel in the back 9 with bunkers and hazards, which turns an open field into a good mix of technical shots and long open shots with elevated baskets and island greens. Bunkers are define and kept up with
Cons: Natural tee pads. I personally think that if the city of florissant put in concrete tee pads, there would be more disc golfers playing the course. After it rains the tee pads get muddy and sloppy. We usually just step off to the side obviously but it does change the hole and you still have footing issues on wet grass when trying to drive for max distance
Other Thoughts: I think this course is awesome. The design is great for the land that its on. The front 9 has more technical wooded shots, and some well placed greens that require accuracy for the 2. Also a bridge was put in the valley of hole 1 (thank you whoever did that) The back 9 is wide open but it has a lot of OB, a couple of which are mando re-tee with penalty like 13 if you go left of the white poles, and left on 17 past the white poles along the fairway. There are a lot of island greens with mulch bunkers all around them. This course has a different feel to it. I feel like i should have a golf cart and a caddie when i play it and i like that feel. Its a pretty iconic course and one that ill keep playing on a regular basis.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great place

5+    10/1/2015   10/12/2015
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good walking, nice layout, great time overall
Cons: some wet crossings (there is a bridge now), thick woods for disk to hide
Other Thoughts: First course I played to begin by disk golf hobby, go back almost 3 times weekly, takes about 45m to play the front 9 and is a lot of fun!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid course, great intro area.

1    7/25/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Driving range area on site.

Beautiful Titans in excellent shape on all holes.

Lots of rolling elevation, and variety in hole length and shots required.

back 9 has a totally different feel. It is far more open and manicured like a ball golf course and features manufactured OB and hazards.

The Gateway crew used the available land to its maximal potential.

This is a great place to introduce people to the sport, practice your skills, and seems well suited for tournament play.
Cons: Dirt Tees

No clear path to get over marsh on hole one, so your feet can start out getting wet on hole 1.

No indicator to what position the basket is in on the signs.

a simple arrow to guide to holes 4 and 10 would be very useful on this course. It is not a major issue, but a quick and easy way to improve navigation.

9 has a small safety issue. at 6:30am I was still throwing directly at a vehicle in the parking lot near the basket.

Hole 17 is an epic finish, then you have to play a dinky deuce or die hole afterwards.

There is not a lot of memorable holes on this course, it is simply a solid better than average course with few flaws and some extra amenities.

Other Thoughts: I found it better to stop after hole 9 and drive to the next parking lot. Hole 11 is right there at the next parking lot. with hole 10 as a small filler hole linking the 2 sides.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Double Style

5+    5/17/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: lbond
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - very easy to navigate and find baskets
- excellent variety and challenge.
- well kept park.
- the woods along the front nine provide a solid barrier of nasty. I like the added challenge.
Cons: - no concrete tee pads yet
- the woods along the front nine provide a solid barrier of nasty. I don't like looking for discs in them.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. The only reason it didn't get more stars is because I really love concrete pads.
The front and back nine are like two different courses. The front being more of a park style course that plays with the few trees it has in very effective ways. The front also goes into the woods on 7 & 8, w/6 being back by the nastiest sticker bushes in the world and 1 having an exremely thick set of brush surrounding the "green." The back plays around one giant field, using different types of OB to mess with the player. Since there are usually crazy winds the OB definitely forces you to use different shots, or risk sailing off into oblivion and/or OB.

If you're in STL and looking for a good park style course, check out Endicott, Jefferson Barracks or Willmore. If you're looking for an more open style course, check out West City or Sioux. If you can't decide and feel like a little of both, Dunegant is a great decision.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Can I Build A Sand Castle in the Sand Traps?

1    5/13/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Gateway baskets that are in good shape and catch well.
-Very nice tee-signs. They give a good layout of each hole. They also show each pin position and the distance from each tee-pad to each pin position.
-Multiple tee-pads and pin-positions. The course has red and blue tee-pads.
-Holes 4 + 17 are longer holes. Hole 17 is between 700 and 800 feet (depending on the pin position). These holes are nice that add distance to a course that plays a little shorter than other courses in the area.
-Front 9 and back 9 have distinctive feels. The front 9 has a little more trees and slightly tighter fairways, while the back 9 is very wide open and uses sand-traps and mowed fairways as most of the challenges.
-Hole 2, 7 and 8 are some nice tightly wooded holes, which is nice to see a course that is generally more open.
-Course is easy to navigate with mowed paths usually leading to the next hole.
-Park is well taken care of and very pleasant.
-The sand traps are an interesting idea to add some more challenge to the course, and I haven't seen them at any other course before.
Cons: -The back 9 on this course start to feel repetitive. As long as you avoid the tall grass out of bounds or the sand-traps, there are not other obstacles. The back nine of this course never force a certain type of shot.
-Tee-pads are dirt and very badly rutted and muddy. I played this course right after it had rained and some of the tee-pads were barely usable. The blue tee-pads are so overgrown that they are almost impossible to find except on a couple of the holes.
-Other than holes 4 and 17, all of the distances felt fairly similar on this course and none of the other holes were very long.
-The sand bunkers were a little gimmicky and I didn't really feel like they changed up the holes that much from a normal wide open hole. Also all of the sand traps were really close to the hole. Adding a few further up in the fairway and on the sides of the fairways, could make some of the holes a little more interesting, it would work very well on the long hole 17.
-Overall, most of the course was pretty wide open and didn't force much of a shot selection.
-Overall, the course wasn't very difficult.
Other Thoughts: This is an average park course. A lack of trees is this courses, biggest issue. None of the holes are super memorable but this was still a pleasant round in a pleasant park. If you are in the neighborhood give this course a try, but don't go out of your way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Needs info updated

5+    4/5/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: cjsleme
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am fairly new to disc golf and I find this a fun course that I keep going back to. I love how it is like two different styles of courses in one. The front 9 are in woods with foliage and obstacles and the back 9 are in a field with well distinguished fairways and out of bounds.
The tees are marked and have a picture of the hole lay out.
Cons: The only negative thing I can think of is that the natural Tee's seem to always be muddy so I throw to the side of them.
Other Thoughts: This course needs to be updated on this website. They reworked and rearranged most of the back 9 holes and so the distance and pars are wrong as listed on here. The course map on here is wrong too. If someone can track the information and update it that would help.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 No cookie cutter here...

1    8/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: dandruff1138
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
Pros: This course was very slow, no one but us playing! Besides spending considerable time in the trees looking for discs, we still had a great time. Everything was mowed, and the park seemed to be well cared for. Did not struggle with finding the tees. The back 9 has some very unique holes, some people dislike it, but it is a nice change of pace.
Cons: Not too much to add here, other then the natural tees are starting to wear, and some of the brush will eat your disc.
Other Thoughts: Nice to see a course using some unique design elements, not a cookie cutter course!

 Creative Design

5+    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging, Easy to Navigate, good mix of shots, OB--
Holes 1-9: Feature a mixture of open shots and tightly wooded fairways with mature trees. With blue/ red tee pads and A/B pin locations, a variety of layouts may be played! Hole4 has road OB left and long. Holes 6,7,8 feature a fence that marks out of bounds. A great mixture of shots is required to really shoot well on this front 9 holes.

Holes 10-18: Are much larger and open, allowing you to air it out a bit more than the front. The massive winds and bountiful OB will be the challenge on the back 9. Holes 11,12 and 17 feature golf inspired lateral hazard bunkers. Holes 13 & 17 feature "white" ob markers that indicate a re-tee regardless of point of entry. Also, well manicured fairways will help establish OB points. You really must bring distance and accuracy to score well on the back 9 at Dunegant DGC
Cons: No concrete tee pads (yet), needs small walkway on Hole 1, slight mowing and trimming on hole 9
Other Thoughts: Park is kept very clean by local disc golfers and Florissant Parks & Rec. Restrooms/ drinking fountain are available on both the front and the back 9. Full electric at shelter near hole 1

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Huge improvement over original design

2-4    7/28/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 120  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 14.8 Years
Pros: Easy to navigate - somewhat challenging - multiple pin placements and tees - good variety of shots used - nice tee signs - restrooms

The front 9 is a little short, but offers a pretty nice variance of shots. The blue tees are much more challenging as they really change the shots, even though they are usually within 50' of the reds. The tee signs offer information on both red and blue tees as well as each pin placement & par. The course is very easy to navigate, but watch out for hole 8. You can see 9's (B-placement) basket from the tee pad and would easily think that is your target if you didn't check the tee sign or walk up the fairway. FYI, the A & B placements are straight ahead, down a small hill

The back 9 is wide open, but still offers a good challenge by creating OBs and with the amount of wind you tend to encounter. On the bright side, the park is very well maintained and the OB grass is just slightly higher than the fairway grass, so you're not spending a lot of time looking for discs. There are a few holes that have bunkers, which (I believe) carry an OB stroke, but you play from your lie within the bunker. This needs to be more clearly indicated on the signs in my opinion.
Cons: Natural tee pads - wide open back 9 - no trash cans

Back 9 is a little gimmicky as it is basically an open field. That said, designers did a great job a making use of what they were given and making a wide open field interesting with man made obstacles such as bunkers and OB grass. It would be nice if the tee signs were a little more descriptive, but a seasoned golfer will know how to play each hole.

The park is heavily patrolled by local police. This is good from the stand point of vehicle break ins. But they spend more time staring you down (almost expecting you to do something illegal) than patrolling the parking lot. We just wave, and go on our way...
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a nice little course. It's not championship caliber. But, for a fun round on a weekend, this hits the spot. They could use a couple more trash cans on the course, and concrete tee pads, but those missing items wouldn't really bump up the rating anymore than maybe a 3.5.

  Good use of land

1    4/21/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: Batmanx08
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: requires all kinds of shots just not one dimensial.

good use of land and blend between open and wooded

Cons: natural tees

throwing near people alot

no map or directions of where the basket is

no par info on posts

Other Thoughts: its a new course so i am sure most of those cons will be fixed. I came from IL to play this course, and unless there is a tourny I prolly wont come back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.