Florissant, MO 
Dunegant Park Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #17 (Taken 12/2012)
5 / 710ft.   5 / 900ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >

1    12/16/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: TheGoldenPutter
Played: 52  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UPDATED since back 9 redesign (ha that rhymes)

New course with a split front and back 9. I didn't really know what to expect the first time playing the course but I was very pleased.

+Front 9 is the shorter side of the park, with the holes being par 3's and around 300ft (except #4). The holes are mostly park style shots but the woods do come into play by lining some fairways and protecting some baskets. Front 9 offers a nice variety of shots and elevation changes.

+Back 9: Unfortunately a property dispute caused the majority of the back 9 to be redesigned. The holes that used to play around the woods have been taken out so now only 3 holes have trees/woods on them. It is still an enjoyable 9 holes to play but not as good as before. This is the longer side of the park and lets you get some good distance drives out of the system. To make up for the lack of trees, bunkers and OB have been added to create challenge. This makes you throw some distance shots that require a good amount of accuracy or else you would go OB.

+Hole #15 is the only remaining hole with bamboo surrounding the pin. I really like the bamboo and the effect it creates on the hole. Its maybe a 300-350 shot downhill but if you go long into the bamboo it makes for a difficult putt. Its better to try to place your shot outside of the bamboo to actually give yourself a birdie opportunity.

+Gateway Titans = nice baskets
+Nice new tee signs! Give a nice picture of the hole and other info.
Cons: -The changes in the back nine really took away some cool holes.

-Natural tee pads: It had rained the night before we played so it was very muddy and slippery so we just teed off 5ft away were it was grassy. If some sort of pads aren't installed soon the whole tee area will become a large patch of dirt.

-Speaking of mud, only the bunkers on 11 had sand (its not really sand but crushed rock) in it. This means that the other bunkers are really just a watery muddy hazard, and might require some disc fishing to retrieve a disc. (bunkers are only about a foot deep)

-Navigation: If you don't take a map and there isn't any in the box near #1 (which happened to us), they'll be a few moments when you'll be lost. Simply take the course map (under links/files) and you'll be fine. Just look for the wooden posts. To get to #3 to #4 you have to walk across the parking lot.

-Other stuff: No benches, trashcans, direction signs.
Other Thoughts: >Front 9: Variety of shot types on the shorter side that plays through trees + some woods.
>Back 9: More distance + open shots + OB/bunkers = more fun than it may sound.

>This course will get better over time, but it is still a fun and challenging course.

>The overall quality and challenge of this course in my opinion is lower than the other 18 hole courses in the STL, but still worth getting out and playing it.

**********************************IF you found this review unhelpful, confusing, want more info, found a mistake, or any have suggestions, please send me a personal PM so I can help.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    12/8/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: eggmixer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/12/2012
Pros: Great terrain - elevation changes
Very well maintained park - kudos to the City of Florrisant Parks department!!!
Another stellar layout from Dave McCormack @ Gateway Disc - good mix of technical shots and longer drives - Gateway Titan baskets - the BEST
Fairly easy to navigate - scorecard/map at Tee 1
Sand trap OB's - added skill dimension
Two tee and two pin positions
Fairly tight marked fairways on long field shots - another added skill dimension
40ft tall stand of bamboo growth incorporated on a few holes - exotic for the mid-west
Could extoll further but certainly an awesome addition to the metro St. Louis constellation of courses!
Cons: New course, so grass tees (had just rained the day before so a run-up was at your own risk on several holes - mud-slide)
Distance between a couple of tees a bit much
Difference between Red and Blue tee positions a bit ridiculous on more than a few holes (not significant enough)

Other Thoughts: Most Cons I could think of will probably be obviated by pending improvements. Play this course - you won't regret it!

 Great Course

1    12/1/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: mkpjr37
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front 9 play very well very nice mix had a few ace runs for me nice not to wooded play around for the most part but few holes go in, natural pads are good not my fav but better than most. Back 9 wide open except for 2 shots which are fun and ace runs behind the bamboo forest. Love the ob and traps idea on back 9
Cons: back 9 when windy plays hell with disc's, 600-800ft holes not my thing you still have people walking and running so watch out, park is big in past for kite flyers
Other Thoughts: Love the ob and sand traps idea would love to se more of this on every course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 That New Course Smell...

2-4    12/3/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 199  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Front 9 wind across and around hilly grounds and lots of mature trees. The back 9 are situated on a big flat field, but the addition of sand traps, bunkers and OB that shape out specific fairways on long holes make it interesting. Hole 13 is an example of an 800 ft hole across a field that was super interesting. OB on one side is marked by blue stakes, the other by pink, forming a tight, curving fairway to a pin nestled in a bamboo grove.There are 2 short ace runs (14 and 15) on the back nine, which are very fun. 17 is long but also marked by stakes to form another looong curved fairway to a basket surrounded by OB Bunkers and traps. 18 (I think I'll name this hole "The Widow ") is a shortish uphill run, but the unique hourglass-shaped OB mandate makes it very tight.
Also, the park has restrooms and playgrounds, lots of parking.
Cons: No Trashcans...
Natural Teepads, which weren't a problem but not my favorite
The OB stakes have to be temporary, because there's no way they'll last.
Other Thoughts: Had a ton of fun playing this course. This is a great example of using the space available to its potential. Can't wait to see it all grown in

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.