Oak Creek, WI 
Abendschein Park Share
Uploaded By: fritothedog Hole #17 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 197ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beware the teepads

5+    8/15/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: Badger45
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My son and I play this park once every week or two, and often bring out new players. For that purpose, this is a good park to play. There's a nice large parking lot, maintained restrooms, and trash cans throughout the course that are emptied regularly. Being a city park, it's well maintained and they deserve huge props for that!

On to the course itself. Holes 1-7 are all birdie holes, if you're throwing smart. 8-13 provide a bit more distance or line-shaping and keep most players at par or above, if you don't have the ability to throw 400' or more. 14-18 bring the distance back down to birdie or par territory again, with 15 and 16 having some well-placed trees to make you choose a line.

If you're looking for that "elusive ace" this is a great park to play for that. 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 14, and 17 are all good opportunities to make a run at it. I got my first ace on #2 here and so the park holds some good memories for me.

OK, on to details, for those that want to get detailed on a municipal DG course.

1 - Straight shot tot he basket. Risk / Reward here is that a good drive puts you in / right under the basket. An over-shot puts you in trees or at the next hole.
2- This is the one everyone loves to run for an ace. Go for it! Throw a slight rhbh hyzer and try to smash it in.
3- Another short one, but a few more trees and bushes shaping your shot. This one is rhbh friendly and easily laid up for 2.
4 - This one turns right with a patch of tree between you and the basket. Throw a rhfh flick or a rhbh anhyzer and you'll lay up. Also, very ace-able.
5 - Just about 300' and mostly straight out. Throw your straigh fairway driver or break out the hyzer shot here. Plenty of room on the right to air something out.
6 - Straight out and slightly downhill. The basket is tucked right in front of trees, so if you overshoot, you're possibly in a tough spot.
7 - Basket is straight out, but there are trees between it and the teepad area. Going around the trees to the right seems to be the most effective path. I've seen people go over and drop near the basket, but if you go short or long, you're getting out of trouble.
8 - The first longer hole, just under 500'. A great line-shaping hole, where if you nail your line you set up a long birdie shot or a safe layup shot.
9 - After you finish 8, the teepad for 9 is just off the end of the trees to the right. Some people miss it and go to 14. The basket here is hidden in the woods. A rhfh or anhyzer shot here will get you in good position to birdie or lay up.
10 - Straight out and downhill. Throw whatever you want, you've got a lot of space to work here! Just be carefull of the teepad on 11, off to the right of the basket as you look at it from the teepad.
11 - Back uphill and in the woods again. Drive to the opening and you're in good position. Again, lots of room here to choose your shot.
12 - One of the two bomber holes and slightly downhill. This is one you get to air it out on and if you mess up your line, there's really not much punishment.
13 - Another bomber shot, but you are rewarded by hitting a good line between the trees and the tall grass. Basket is located beyond the trees, so play your approach well.
14 - Another one you run for an ace every time! Straight out, just don't throw right or high and you've got a shot. River to the right and some large tree limbs prevent a high drop-in sort of approach.
15 - Kind of a tunnel shot. You can approach straight on, though, and most likely have a birdie shot. There's enough open space to go around the tree on either side, though, if you choose.
16 - Basket is straight out again, but hidden behind some more bushes and trees. Go to the right of those and you'll have the easiest approach.
17 - Straight out and another one you'll want to run for an ace. Just be careful, because if you overshoot, your disc is heading downhill toward the baseball fence.
18 - Straight back tot he parking lot. A Good drive puts you right up at the basket.
Cons: The honeycomb material for the teepads and under some of the baskets is the worst I've ever encountered. It's hard-plastic, slippery when wet, and most of it is no longer flat enough to be safe. We're mostly teeing off from the side and have started begging the parks department for concrete pads. This same material is under a bunch of the baskets and turns many gorgeous approach shots into skip-offs that end up 20' or more away.
Other Thoughts: If you want to practice putting with wind, this is often the place to do it. Some people call it a con, but really it's an opportunity to get to know how your putter reacts in the wind.

Also, there are leagues here on most Thursdays. If you want to play leagues, show up! If you don't...it gets busy that night and you may want to avoid the crowd.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

way better than before

2-4    7/22/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The redesign of this course is a major upgrade over the old layout. There are still a number of holes that are the same as before, but about two thirds are different. The baskets are the same Mach 5's that are in decent shape and catch fine. The signs are nice looking brown painted wooden signs with the hole number and distance. These serve their purpose just fine as the flow of the course is pretty easy to follow. There's a solid mix of open and wooded holes mixed together here. This keeps it interesting. The new holes on the south end add a lot more distance making it a lot more challenging than before. There's ample parking, restrooms and a bubbler. The key here is to get birdies early before the longer holes to score well. the last 4 holes are shorter then as well. The creek still can come into play on 14 I believe it is. Many ace oppurtunities here, I glanced off the chains on hole 2 the first round. Also just under threw 14 the first round. Everything was well mowed and taken care off.
Cons: The tee pads are the biggest con here. As has been mentioned before these are slick and dangerous. Especially if they're wet I was told. They're not even good when they're dry. they have this same material under a few baskets as well for some reason. I've played over 130 courses and have never seen this material on any other course. And for good reason. The course can get very busy so there may be some longer waits to tee off.
Other Thoughts: As has been said many times the new set up is WAY better than the old layout. It's still not the greatest course in the world but it's definitely a fun course. Just be careful on the tee pads, seriously.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short and open

1    6/14/2014   6/14/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 89  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent little 18 holer in a multipurpose park.

Decent catching baskets in good repair.

Well groomed, with defined fairways and greens.

Nice place to take newer players, as there are a bunch of short holes, and the long holes aren't difficult...just mostly open. Lots of ace runs here.

Navigation was relatively easy from basket to next tee.
Cons: The tee pads here are a joke. Honeycombed plastic that is just begging you to blow out your ACL. We threw from the dirt alongside almost all of them. Seriously, this is probably the worst tee pad material I've seen...just make them natural if you don't want to put in concrete.

Not a lot of challenge to be had here. It's 75% short holes...and by short, I mean really short, like 200' and under. There were a couple of the longer holes that were somewhat interesting, but not enough to make me want to come back.

Bad tee signs are a definite negative here. The distances are really far off on several holes, and if you only play it once, go with your gut and not the assigned distance.

Other Thoughts: It's not a bad course, outside of the tee pads. What this course offers is a great place to take your kids or beginners.

It's a nice looking place, with some woods and a creek that runs alongside it. Ample parking, restroom facilities and a baseball diamond make this a nice little park.

Definitely don't go out of your way to play here, but you could do worse if you're in a pinch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Much needed improvement

5+    8/18/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 85  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A very good mix of long and short holes

- There are now holes that are over 500' and make it very very difficult to score that perfect round where in the past it was very doable.

- They really used the new land well, and made a couple holes longer and more challenging.

- The flow from hole to hole is very easy

- Very limited ammount of blind shots so you always know what you are shooting at.

- Uses the land very well for what it is

- Easy Parking
Cons: - TEEPADS. So to elaborate a little bit, they uses plastic grateing for the teepads and they are the worst thing I have ever thrown off. My one disc golf injury comes from the teepads. When they re wet it is like you are throwing off from ice.

- They also used the same plastic grateing under the basket so that when your disc hit it it just skips away big time. This makes you not try to park the hole but land it 10 ft away so that it doesnt skip.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I grew up on so I really enjoy the might of shots you have to throw here. It is not a course you should go out of your way to play but if you are looking for a nice casual round then this course is perfect.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Much improved...

5+    7/13/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: TheDGWizard
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A fair variety of holes, ranging from very short to fairly long
-Generally not very crowded
-Decent ace potential on a few holes
-User-friendly layout
Cons: -Not a very technical course
-Teepads aren't very good
-Poor signage
Other Thoughts: Eliminating the original first 5 holes was a good move. They were just wide open in a field (that's now a pond). Now the replacement holes are in the back of the course and are quite a bit longer (two of them are 500+ ft) with a few baskets tucked into the woods to add some difficulty. They're nothing special, but are a big improvement over the previous layout.

Also, while the teepads aren't the greatest, they're a big improvement over the rutted-up wood chips they used to have.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Muddy, Wet and Not Half Bad

5+    6/2/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: fritothedog
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best part of the course is a decent variety. The course starts with some short (150-180 ft) technical shots through wooded areas. It opens up for a couple medium holes (250-300 ft) and then you go back into the woods for more shorter holes. The course gets longer on holes 8 - 13 (350-500 ft) and then the course finishes with a few shorter holes through moderately wooded areas around the baseball field.
Cons: Some of the holes are a bit too short.

One of the longer holes, 9 I believe, has a pin in the woods with no real entry point. You kind of just have to throw it and pray you don't hit a tree. I would like to see a bit better clearing there.

The worst part of the course is it has poor drainage. We have had a fair amount of rain but the course could be designed to not have small ponds surrounding the baskets.

I also don't like the tees very much. They are a hexagonal metal mesh instead of concrete or dirt. They aren't too bad but I nearly ate it on hole 8's tee because I slipped and a friend of mine did slip and fall.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a good course. Wear your grubby shoes and go hit some chains. There is plenty of fun to be had here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.