House Springs, MO
Deer Creek - White Course Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #15 (Taken 12/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 231ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Potential

5+    4/7/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 0.9 Years
Pros: 1) This course is extremely tight, technical and unforgiving terrain.
2) Wide variety of shots offered, tons of elevation change and most likely an opportunity to practice your "get out of trouble" shots.
3) Par is 54 and you really have to earn it (especially for 1 hole over 400ft) !!!
4) The course is scenic and tranquil.. This can be an extremely relaxing place to play if you are hitting your lines. Course is very clean and free of trash!!
Cons: The course is pay to play...
The pay to play really isnt the issue... its that the golf course really hasn't put the money in to course amenities in order to make it worth it.. nor has there been enough traffic on the course to make it lucrative for the owners of the ball golf course so.. heres what it does lack.
-Signs
-Tee Pads
-Trash Cans
-Permanent Baskets
-Beverage Cart that comes through Disc Golf Course
Other Thoughts: This course is really gnarly and has a HUGE amount of potential to really become something special.. Especially if the dream of having another course on the old par 3 golf course can become a reality!! Thank you to the owners of the Deer Creek Golf Course for putting the course on the property and please go all of the way with making this place a real disc golf destination!! And thank you to Dave Mac and Gateway Disc Sports for another awesome use of land and stellar design.

 Did Not Match Reviews

1    6/29/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: sailstraightlongtrue
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Challenging course mostly through heavily wooded areas.
2) Significant test of disc flight controls.
3) Not very crowded.
Cons: 1) This course was in poor shape, especially considering tey charge $5 to play.
2) Fairways has not been mowed or cleared. Had to search for basket #3 for 30min. ecause it had fallen over - baskets are the temporary type.
3) Holes very poorly marked on where the basket is or how long the hole is - make sure to use the score card or you will definitley get lost.
4) Not clear on how to navigate from hole to hole. Would help to have arrows pointing the way.
Other Thoughts: Overall I was very disappointed in this course, especially considering it is adjacent to a very nice golf course. Good thing I was in the are to pick up some pople at Six Flags or I would have asked for my money back!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    12/22/2012   12/22/2012
Review By: TheGoldenPutter
Played: 52  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Another brand new course in the STL area that plays in hilly dense woods around an existing driving range.

+This course is all about accuracy. Mostly all of the holes are densly wooded and have a narrow line to hit, so even though all the holes are par 3's and under 300ft, it is a challenge.

+Elevation: The whole course is centered around a long valley that used to be a golf driving range, however most of the holes are in the hilly woods surrounding it. Lots of sharp hills and drop-offs.

+Scenic woods. If you like hiking you'll like this course. Pretty secluded.
+Score card with map in the club house where you pay. Located on the lower level around back.
Cons: Because its a new course it comes with cons because the course isnt fully developed.

-Natural tee pads: Usually I'm OK with natural but this was pretty bad. It had rained/snowed a day or two before and the whole course was muddy. When teeing off footing was always questionable because a lot of the tees were sloped a good amount and slippery. This is true for some fairways also.

- Navigation wasn't as hard as I would have expected but you definitly need a map(located in the club house)

-I'm not such a fan of the Titan portable baskets.

-No trash cans, benches, and tee signs were stakes with hole#.
Other Thoughts: >Overall I really enjoyed the round I played here. It is a very challenging course that tests your accuracy. The drive down was worth it and I would recomend this course (not begginer friendly though)

>Short - hilly - scenic - heavily wooded - tight lines - pretty unique course.

>I'll keep my review updated as best as I can. The course will easily get a higher rating from me once it gets developed.

>wear cleats if you can.
>Pay to play ($5) its worth it.

*******************If you found this review unhelpful, confusing, found a mistake, or want more info please send me a personal PM so I can help.


6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Glorious Golf!

1    12/17/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 142  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Deer Creek (White Course) is an 18 hole DG course that plays around a horseshoe of wooded hills on what (used) to be a golf driving range. Up and down, tight winding wooded shots, precarious pin placements with punishing drop offs, none of which are over 300' or so, all set on unique, beautiful land with great mature trees. The sloping hilly nature of the course makes a bad kick off of a tree so much worse.
The front desk has scorecards and maps, which you'll want.
Cons: Tee signs are just wooden stakes.
No trash cans.
Natural Tee pads, although not terrible (they were muddy today).
Course navigation could be better. An arrow on the basket pointed at the next tee wouldn't hurt.
Once you start, you don't make it back to the clubhouse until hole 15, and then 18, so use the bathroom inside before you start.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course, and if the rumors are true, the first of three courses on a ball golf course. It didn't play very long, but finesse is everything. You have to be able to shape lines consistently. I threw mids and putters for most of the round, lots of anhyzers. Lots.

Baskets are Portable Gateway Titans with PVC piping along the center pole. Not sure if its to mute the sounds or reduce the chaining kicks.

There was a definite hiking feel to the course. Being new, the paths are there, but not beaten in and it is hilly. Wear good shoes, bring water.

All in all, this is going to be a destination course. I expect more work going into this place will raise the rating to a 4+. I had a great time playing it, and can't wait until spring when the trees are grown in! Well worth it!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.