Perry, GA
Rozar Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: BrianBern Hole #4 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 152ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pretty Okay

2-4    12/27/2013   12/27/2013
Review By: mullethead326
Played: 86  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: -This course is appropriate for beginners, families, and local players wishing to practice basic shots. It has acceptable baskets and teepads, and most of the lines are generous. Signage is sparse, but enough to get by.
-Hole 13 is a great hole. It could fit in on nearly any course-- it requires a well-executed shot to reach the pin, with just enough lake danger to make me think.
-When I have played, the course has been well-maintained, with teepads clear, few leaves or limbs in fairways or intended throwing lines, and shule abutting park boundaries reasonably thinned.
Cons: -15-18 are a mess. They're the worst offenders, but several basket and teepad areas coincide--definitely not a good thing on a course with mixed user groups and occasional blind shots.
-15-18 deserve an emphatic "yikes!" as well.
-I definitely got the impression that other park users (walkers, lake users, picnickers) could pose a problem on busy days.
-Hole 9's tee sign (among others) is oriented strangely, such that I looked over the lake (the back of the pad) to try to find the basket. I get why it's there, since the course flow requires a walk to that point, but this still poses unnecessary confusion.
-Several shots are redundant. Some of that is limitations of the land and trees, but 3 holes go downhill directly to the lake, and 6 of the 7 holes between 200 and 250 can be played with a basic hyzer.
Other Thoughts: -Overall, I had a good experience at the course. The park's other amenities would be suitable for families stopping on a road trip. Don't go here as a destination, but it's not bad as a practice course or a quick round.
-I'm not aware of how much other land around the park is available, but I think the course's safety and entertainment value would improve by using about 12 holes in the space of the current 18.


2-4    10/24/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: antibomb
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: -Very nice park and course
-Free admission
-Good variety
-Trash Cans
-Beginner friendly
Cons: -Can get crowded
-Course gets very close to other amenities at times
-Lots of random park goers on course and impeding holes
-Hole layout gets confusing on the last few holes
Other Thoughts: Would love to see some improvements at this course, has potential to be much better

Beginners Only

1    5/12/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: johndhjr71
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.9 Years
Pros: It's a disc golf course. Huge tee pads for a pitch and putt course. Pretty park.
Cons: Ridiculous pars. Next tee signs are wooden post often within 3 feet of the basket and in the way. Crowded areas. Baskets to close to tees. Crossing fairways. Confusing layout. Poor design and flow. Baskets are leaning. Cheap baskets. Non disc golfers in the way. Wouldn't want to play in a tournament here.
Other Thoughts: I hate to pile on but it's really an example of what not to do and amateur mistakes in design. It is a very pretty park and good for beginners once you learn the course. I recommend making the drive to Chehaw or Claystone instead. Won't return to play this one until major changes are made.

Great for beginners

5+    1/19/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: scottb16
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First and foremost: Very beginner friendly. We often make the drive from Americus to come play this course whenever we are bringing somebody to play disc golf for the first time.
Course is clean, grass is always cut, very large concrete tee pads. It is not hard to find the next tee box after finishing a hole. Great use of signage.
Cons: Hole 1 is very close to the parking lot. People sometimes park right by the lake or basketball court, which can be very near the fairway of a hole. Not necessarily a con for me personally, but there is a chance that you can throw a disc in the lake.
Other Thoughts: It is the best course I have played in regards of being beginner friendly. If you are not a beginner, then you may not throw your driver more than once. Also, if you are not a beginner, then you are going to want to play every hole as a Par 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Simple Course, great for beginners

1    12/16/2012   12/16/2012
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Big Concrete Tees
2) Great directions (arows pointing to next hole)
3) nice simple course, with a few trees added for a little challenge
4) Good use of water hazards
5) a couple of trash cans along the way
Cons: 1) SHORT HOLES- used Putter to drive on quite a few holes
2) Holes 15-18 are a crossing mess. (Watch your head)
3) Tee signs not always Placed in a good location
4) Hole 1 plays WAY to close to the parking lot
Other Thoughts: Overall, a Nice beginner course situated in a small town park. No big challenges here... but a nice play on a slow afternoon. Great course for an area that is still relatively new to the sport of disc golf. Explained to a Family... and another New player How to play, and tips of how to play. Locals are very nice. Hopefully disc golf will Grow in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.