Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Central Michigan University Share
Uploaded By: CMUviolin Hole #2
3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
what what?... in the butt

1    8/15/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through the far south end of the CMU campus and across train tracks. some walking trails intersect at times. but aren't really a huge distraction.

Baskets-- nice DGA's. nicely visible throughout this course. all are in good repair

Signage-- Probably the best part of this course. very detailed and mostly accurate with distances. #5 teesign is missing.

Routing/nav--really not an issue. print the map from here and it's easy to figure out whats going on. the grass is also mowed nicely to help guidance.

Risk v reward-- comes in the form of thick thick brush, water and trains.. nice.
Cons:
Teepads--I hate flypaper, these teepads are super lumpy and uneven in length. some of the longest holes have the shortest pads, and vice versa.

Variety-- course is very very straightforward. the last 5 holes play through a large field where talls grass is your main obstacle. it looks like people regularly walk off the course after #15.

Challenge--not really a ton. pars are generous, birdies are plentiful...

repetition-- this course repeats itself a lot. 4 and 5 are wicked similar, 13-18 are all very similar.
Other Thoughts: this course is good for what it is. and the little available elevation is wisely used.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Add another one to the tally!

1    7/21/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice DGA baskets with the number plates facing the tees. I always appreciate proper installation and a nice newer basket.
2) Nice signs with Hole #, Distance, Par, OB's, and a decent map of the hole. These are very nice and they provide all the information you really need to read a hole.
3) Garbage cans on all tees (I think it was every hole) helps to keep this course nice and neat. Unfortunately, some of them were overflowing, but it is better than having garbage all throughout the course.
4) Rubber tees are better than dirt, but not the best tees I have played on. Some of them were depressed, but I assume it is hard to keep them level over a long time because of heavy spring rains and the winter thaw.
5) Elevation change is minor, but they used what small undulations the course provides.
6) There is a nice pond on the property which you start on the north side and then work your way along the West side, eventually coming on the south side an finishing away from the pond. Either way the pond was definitely
7) There are two or three tight wooded holes with unmaintained rough areas. Most of the rest of the holes are mowed fairways out of the prairie.
Cons: 1) The rough is not in a lot of spots but where it is, it is rough. I had to throw into the two areas of unmaintained property. Oh well!
2) The holes are a little to park-like overall for my complete enjoyment. These aren't necessarily bad holes, I just prefer more wooded holes.
3) While there are garbage cans on every hole . . . they are all full. I would think they University would send someone around to clean up all of that every once in a while even if it is summer.
4) There is no parking in the lot from 2AM-7AM . . .I arrived at 6AM and just figured no one would be over to check on me and I figured I would be out of there within an hour.
5) I turned left after #3 and played #11 and #12 before realizing I missed the other holes across the railroad track. I am surprised that the railroad company allowed the University to do a crossing there for this part of the campus. If the area wasn't mowed left of #3 it would have been clear that it was not the next tee.
Other Thoughts: This is just another average course . . . it is fun and enjoyable but it isn't super challenging. The water is barely in play (at least when I played the wetland on 3 was nonexistent), there aren't many densely wooded holes, and the prairie holes get a little repetitive. I know they did what they could with this land, but I wish it could have been better in spots than it was. It didn't impress me with a lot, but if I lived close I wouldn't avoid playing, but I will probably go to play other courses if I am ever in the area again. If I was close-by and had played all the other local courses, I might play this one a couple times a year.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great for college kids to play this course, water shots.
Cons: didnt enjoy this course, most of the signs for the holes were wrong, the feet and the pars. some stupid holes they had, just didnt make sense, u have to cross railroad tracks in order to play holes, vety dangerous, the rubber tee pads were torn and very bumpy
Other Thoughts: will not play this course again

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  CMU

5+    3/27/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: batze1rj
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: good course to work on you mid-range game, and work the kniks out of your game.
Cons: Wind.
Other Thoughts: Low traffic for being on campus, you can play a full 18 in under an hour. good for the start of the season if your not a winter DGer to work back into the season.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Suitcase Full Of Meh

5+    9/17/2010   2/15/2011
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Great signage which includes distance, par and legible overhead hole diagrams.

In addition to a fair mix of open field and tighter woods shots, the trees are a blend of deciduous and coniferous varieties, each of which have their own benefits and challenges.

Although this course is located directly on south campus, there is a very low amount of non-DG traffic.

While you never have to throw across the pond, tees and baskets are placed so that the water is a fairly effective hazard, especially when the wind is blowing.

For a course that is as flat as this, there are plenty of drives where the basket is obscured from the tee.
Cons:
Well, there are quite a few to list....

Rubber tee mats which are beyond terrible.

You must cross the RxR tracks to get to holes 4-10, and you have to cross the green for basket #10 to get to tee #4. This route is not very well signed, and in addition to a next tee indicator at the # 3 basket, it would be a great benefit to have a second course kiosk with a map after you cross the tracks.

This course is disagreeably flat. It starts with field shots, and tightens up with woodsier holes across the railroad tracks, and opens back up for the last 6-8 holes. Unfortunately, this does not do much to break up the monotony, and the end of the course is underwhelming at best.

Wind is a very welcome addition to a round in my opinion, as it adds a wonderful unpredictability to the round, especially in lowland areas and valleys where the direction and intensity can get squirrelly. Here in the Mid-Michigan Flatlands, the wind is brutally strong more often than not, and it always flows in the same direction. Instead of adding a level of challenge, here it can often render the course nearly unplayable.

Although the land is flat, there is only one hole >400' (and one more that is close), with the rest rarely cresting 300'. Having the majority of holes in the 200-280' range is fine for a course with elevation, but here, it makes for a course whose challenge wears thin after very few rounds.

The pond is flat out disgusting. I have seen many people jumping in after their disc, but you would never catch me doing it. Dysentery, anyone? No thank you.

As it is on campus, you often have to deal with groups of 6-8 Two-Disc Demons who are more interested in boozing and pushing each other into the bushes, than playing.
Other Thoughts:
I attended CMU for two years, and this was the only course nearby (pre-Deerfield Park). I had been playing quite a few years, and had been fortunate enough to have Hickory Hills, Grand Woods Park, and River Road SC as my locals before this. Two years in Mt Not-So-Pleasant is bad enough, but having this as my local only added to my despondency. Luckily, current students now have some nice choices. It just made me drive to Lansing frequently to play.

I did my best to play this course before 10am, as the peak winds in this area are usually between 11am and 6pm, so I often only had 15mph gusts to deal with, rather than the usual 30-40+ mph sustained winds.

Due to my deep personal loathing of it, I really would like to give this course a lower score than 2.5, but it would not be fair, as this course is never in disrepair, nor ever trashed, and the (lack of) distance aside, it was fairly well thought out given the land available. There are never too many leaves, nor real flooding issues, or any of the many other things that can create real headaches at other courses at certain times of the year.

The bottom line is, with this course, you are always going to get exactly what you expect whenever you play it, but with Deerfield Park just down the road, there is no reason for you to ever do that to yourself.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Central Michigan University

5+    9/10/2005   7/10/2010
Review By: mcnal1sp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a nice variety of holes to suit varying skill types. The water hazard (large pond) is a graveyard for discs, which I mention as a pro because, on a hot day, you can dive in and restock your collection!
Cons: They remapped the course at some point, changing the order and making it confusing to play. At one point, you have to take a side path from the main course, play a few holes, and come back the way you came. Too many blind holes in the pine trees and overlapping fairways can get annoying.
Other Thoughts: I've played tourneys here while in school and, overall, it is a decent course. The open holes are a blast and the heavy trees in the holes near the baseball field are fun and challenging, though they will destroy your discs if you lumberjack off the tee.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Its there

5+    6/27/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: seanblitz25
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Its close to campus.
- Its free.
- Great for a practice round if you want to work on drives and long approaches.
+There are a hand full of holes that I would like to play twice.
+ Its full of Ace-able holes.
Cons: - Its an open course, but I've seen several people lose discs there. The bush seems to eat discs away.
- The bug situation is bad. Bring Spray.
Other Thoughts: This course is decent, but you'll have a better time playing Deerfield Park.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 cmu

5+    5/4/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-pretty good variety. decent use of elevation and water hazards.
-good course for beginners.
-good signs with distance and a map
Cons: -rubber tee pads are terrible. if it's wet they are slippery, if its not they are covered in sand and are slippery. they are not level at all. most have tree roots growing under/out of them. you might as well just break your ankle at home and save yourself the trouble of driving to the course.
-way too open for my taste. If you are looking for a tight fairway you will not find it here.
-there is some nasty rough. I wouldn't recommend playing hole 5 if you are a vietnam vet and don't want flashbacks.
-some weird navigation stuff: to get to hole 4 you have to cross some railroad tracks and hole 10s green, after hole 10 you cross back over the tracks at the same spot.
-CMU does not do a good job of taking care of the course. grass is often knee high, sometimes higher. there is a one lawn mower width "fairway" mowed on each hole. Trash cans are usually overflowing, i'm pretty sure the only people that empty them are homeless people looking for cans.
-this course is mostly a place for college kids to go and drink while throwing things.
Other Thoughts: This course would get a higher rating from me if it was taken care of. Mowed fairways would be nice. It is frustrating when you can't find your disc on the fairway. more frustrating when you set your bag down by your disc to help a friend look for his and then lose your entire bag in the fairway.

if you come to mount pleasant for disc golf play deerfield park, not CMU.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Alright course

5+    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: jake_sktr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My other home course. I live 5 minutes from this course. Very open and not too challenging. Great course for beginners. This course is great to go to early in the morning because no one is there.
Cons: Rubber tee pads aren't the greatest. Can be very windy some days. Signs are either missing or are wrong. Is often way to crowded with CMU students going in groups of 8.
Other Thoughts: This is good course to just go out and have fun. This is a great course to learn on before you hit up deerfield park.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Beginner's Course

5+    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: ChipFan7
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept course, scenic front 9, close to campus, challenging if your disc is knocked down by a tree because some holes are quite long, open holes on the back so you can let loose on drives.
Cons: Rubber tee pads are outdated, signage is either wrong or missing completely on some holes (I hear this is being fixed this summer).
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned how to play on, and it is definitely a course for beginners. College students take classes on it, so that's why it's not TOO challenging. Be prepared for some gusty winds, this makes it a bit more challenging and fun. Holes 1-3 are against the water, but luckily the wind blows away from the water. Dead trees have been recently removed on holes 6-8, making birdies much more achievable. The back 9 is very wide open, but the front is fairly tight for a beginner's course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.