Mt. Pleasant, MI
Central Michigan University Share
Uploaded By: CMUviolin Hole #4
4 / 456ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Mid-fairway



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Add another one to the tally!

1    7/21/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice DGA baskets with the number plates facing the tees. I always appreciate proper installation and a nice newer basket.
2) Nice signs with Hole #, Distance, Par, OB's, and a decent map of the hole. These are very nice and they provide all the information you really need to read a hole.
3) Garbage cans on all tees (I think it was every hole) helps to keep this course nice and neat. Unfortunately, some of them were overflowing, but it is better than having garbage all throughout the course.
4) Rubber tees are better than dirt, but not the best tees I have played on. Some of them were depressed, but I assume it is hard to keep them level over a long time because of heavy spring rains and the winter thaw.
5) Elevation change is minor, but they used what small undulations the course provides.
6) There is a nice pond on the property which you start on the north side and then work your way along the West side, eventually coming on the south side an finishing away from the pond. Either way the pond was definitely
7) There are two or three tight wooded holes with unmaintained rough areas. Most of the rest of the holes are mowed fairways out of the prairie.
Cons: 1) The rough is not in a lot of spots but where it is, it is rough. I had to throw into the two areas of unmaintained property. Oh well!
2) The holes are a little to park-like overall for my complete enjoyment. These aren't necessarily bad holes, I just prefer more wooded holes.
3) While there are garbage cans on every hole . . . they are all full. I would think they University would send someone around to clean up all of that every once in a while even if it is summer.
4) There is no parking in the lot from 2AM-7AM . . .I arrived at 6AM and just figured no one would be over to check on me and I figured I would be out of there within an hour.
5) I turned left after #3 and played #11 and #12 before realizing I missed the other holes across the railroad track. I am surprised that the railroad company allowed the University to do a crossing there for this part of the campus. If the area wasn't mowed left of #3 it would have been clear that it was not the next tee.
Other Thoughts: This is just another average course . . . it is fun and enjoyable but it isn't super challenging. The water is barely in play (at least when I played the wetland on 3 was nonexistent), there aren't many densely wooded holes, and the prairie holes get a little repetitive. I know they did what they could with this land, but I wish it could have been better in spots than it was. It didn't impress me with a lot, but if I lived close I wouldn't avoid playing, but I will probably go to play other courses if I am ever in the area again. If I was close-by and had played all the other local courses, I might play this one a couple times a year.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Suitcase Full Of Meh

5+    9/17/2010   2/15/2011
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 62  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 18.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Great signage which includes distance, par and legible overhead hole diagrams.

In addition to a fair mix of open field and tighter woods shots, the trees are a blend of deciduous and coniferous varieties, each of which have their own benefits and challenges.

Although this course is located directly on south campus, there is a very low amount of non-DG traffic.

While you never have to throw across the pond, tees and baskets are placed so that the water is a fairly effective hazard, especially when the wind is blowing.

For a course that is as flat as this, there are plenty of drives where the basket is obscured from the tee.
Cons:
Well, there are quite a few to list....

Rubber tee mats which are beyond terrible.

You must cross the RxR tracks to get to holes 4-10, and you have to cross the green for basket #10 to get to tee #4. This route is not very well signed, and in addition to a next tee indicator at the # 3 basket, it would be a great benefit to have a second course kiosk with a map after you cross the tracks.

This course is disagreeably flat. It starts with field shots, and tightens up with woodsier holes across the railroad tracks, and opens back up for the last 6-8 holes. Unfortunately, this does not do much to break up the monotony, and the end of the course is underwhelming at best.

Wind is a very welcome addition to a round in my opinion, as it adds a wonderful unpredictability to the round, especially in lowland areas and valleys where the direction and intensity can get squirrelly. Here in the Mid-Michigan Flatlands, the wind is brutally strong more often than not, and it always flows in the same direction. Instead of adding a level of challenge, here it can often render the course nearly unplayable.

Although the land is flat, there is only one hole >400' (and one more that is close), with the rest rarely cresting 300'. Having the majority of holes in the 200-280' range is fine for a course with elevation, but here, it makes for a course whose challenge wears thin after very few rounds.

The pond is flat out disgusting. I have seen many people jumping in after their disc, but you would never catch me doing it. Dysentery, anyone? No thank you.

As it is on campus, you often have to deal with groups of 6-8 Two-Disc Demons who are more interested in boozing and pushing each other into the bushes, than playing.
Other Thoughts:
I attended CMU for two years, and this was the only course nearby (pre-Deerfield Park). I had been playing quite a few years, and had been fortunate enough to have Hickory Hills, Grand Woods Park, and River Road SC as my locals before this. Two years in Mt Not-So-Pleasant is bad enough, but having this as my local only added to my despondency. Luckily, current students now have some nice choices. It just made me drive to Lansing frequently to play.

I did my best to play this course before 10am, as the peak winds in this area are usually between 11am and 6pm, so I often only had 15mph gusts to deal with, rather than the usual 30-40+ mph sustained winds.

Due to my deep personal loathing of it, I really would like to give this course a lower score than 2.5, but it would not be fair, as this course is never in disrepair, nor ever trashed, and the (lack of) distance aside, it was fairly well thought out given the land available. There are never too many leaves, nor real flooding issues, or any of the many other things that can create real headaches at other courses at certain times of the year.

The bottom line is, with this course, you are always going to get exactly what you expect whenever you play it, but with Deerfield Park just down the road, there is no reason for you to ever do that to yourself.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Central Michigan University

5+    9/10/2005   7/10/2010
Review By: mcnal1sp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a nice variety of holes to suit varying skill types. The water hazard (large pond) is a graveyard for discs, which I mention as a pro because, on a hot day, you can dive in and restock your collection!
Cons: They remapped the course at some point, changing the order and making it confusing to play. At one point, you have to take a side path from the main course, play a few holes, and come back the way you came. Too many blind holes in the pine trees and overlapping fairways can get annoying.
Other Thoughts: I've played tourneys here while in school and, overall, it is a decent course. The open holes are a blast and the heavy trees in the holes near the baseball field are fun and challenging, though they will destroy your discs if you lumberjack off the tee.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Winter Course

1    11/27/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The wide open shots and lack of any real gnarly rough made this course a blast to play in the snow, with little chance of losing a disc. The rubber tee pads were plenty grippy, even when dusted with snow. There's plenty of varied shots needed here to keep it interesting. The bag hooks that grace many of the remaining tee posts are a very welcome touch!!
Cons: Many missing tee poles and signs, and having to cross the railroad tracks twice make this course a challenge to navigate without a map, so print one out and take it with you.
Other Thoughts: This course make pretty good use of the very limited terrain features and obstacles available on the land plot. Some time spent doing course maintenance would significantly raise this reviewer's score. This is a very relaxing course - not every hole requires precision or massive drives.

*** Update 10/31/09 ***
It appears the missing posts and signs have all been replaced and all the tee posts have been repainted. Additional trash cans have been added as well. All but one of the tee pads were firmly attached, but they all still need the underlying ground flattened and smoothed.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.