Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Central Michigan University Share
Uploaded By: CMUviolin Hole #14
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 - It's a big hill, but you can do it!



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
what what?... in the butt

1    8/15/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through the far south end of the CMU campus and across train tracks. some walking trails intersect at times. but aren't really a huge distraction.

Baskets-- nice DGA's. nicely visible throughout this course. all are in good repair

Signage-- Probably the best part of this course. very detailed and mostly accurate with distances. #5 teesign is missing.

Routing/nav--really not an issue. print the map from here and it's easy to figure out whats going on. the grass is also mowed nicely to help guidance.

Risk v reward-- comes in the form of thick thick brush, water and trains.. nice.
Cons:
Teepads--I hate flypaper, these teepads are super lumpy and uneven in length. some of the longest holes have the shortest pads, and vice versa.

Variety-- course is very very straightforward. the last 5 holes play through a large field where talls grass is your main obstacle. it looks like people regularly walk off the course after #15.

Challenge--not really a ton. pars are generous, birdies are plentiful...

repetition-- this course repeats itself a lot. 4 and 5 are wicked similar, 13-18 are all very similar.
Other Thoughts: this course is good for what it is. and the little available elevation is wisely used.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Alright course

5+    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: jake_sktr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My other home course. I live 5 minutes from this course. Very open and not too challenging. Great course for beginners. This course is great to go to early in the morning because no one is there.
Cons: Rubber tee pads aren't the greatest. Can be very windy some days. Signs are either missing or are wrong. Is often way to crowded with CMU students going in groups of 8.
Other Thoughts: This is good course to just go out and have fun. This is a great course to learn on before you hit up deerfield park.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Beginner's Course

5+    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: ChipFan7
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well kept course, scenic front 9, close to campus, challenging if your disc is knocked down by a tree because some holes are quite long, open holes on the back so you can let loose on drives.
Cons: Rubber tee pads are outdated, signage is either wrong or missing completely on some holes (I hear this is being fixed this summer).
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned how to play on, and it is definitely a course for beginners. College students take classes on it, so that's why it's not TOO challenging. Be prepared for some gusty winds, this makes it a bit more challenging and fun. Holes 1-3 are against the water, but luckily the wind blows away from the water. Dead trees have been recently removed on holes 6-8, making birdies much more achievable. The back 9 is very wide open, but the front is fairly tight for a beginner's course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Could Have Been Better!

5+    9/9/2008   8/19/2009
Review By: Astronaut_79
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Discin' near CMU, the few wooded holes, challenging water hazard, not too many bugs, clear signage, not too many places for loose discs.
Cons: Way too open (often windy!) more straight point A to B holes than necessary, expressway nearby is annoying, plus hotel and occasional mean looks from some folks who worked nearby.
Other Thoughts: I really think this course could have been better. A good job was done with the location, but the location itself is a big part of the problem. When your off away from the expressway and parking lot, there are some neat, technical holes, but as you go through the teens, it gets kind of boring! If you are a long-distance thrower and don't like a lot of trees everywhere, you might like it better than I do.

In my opinion, Chippewa Banks is a much better course and I've heard goods things about Deerfield Park which is nearby.

This is one of the only courses I have ever played that has been too windy to play on several occasions!

In the end, CMU's course isn't too bad and it was nice having a place to throw nearby when I was a student (they built this place a year before I graduated, I've been back a few times since), but I just wish they would have moved it further away from some of the main throughways of the city.

Location is just weird and not as nice as many other courses in the state.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C.M.U.

5+    5/7/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: DAN E.
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 4 thru 10 are a mixup of long holes with rough edges, and short holes with trees needing manuvering skills.1,2,3 and 12 make you play smart and safe because of the water[deep water] .14 thru 18 give you alot of open distance with a few trees for a challenge.A well groomed course.Lot's of friendly people.
Cons: T pads,signage,direction.Need a map the first couple of rounds.Signs are wierd.Cement T's would be good.
Other Thoughts: There's room for more holes,and better use of the elevation available.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good Course

5+    4/24/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: sagspirit
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes with open space are good for beginners.
Some Long Holes around the course.
Cons: Rubber Pads need to be replaced.
1st hole is a danger with the water.
Disc can be lost by the 1st hole and the wood along the 5th hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course for Beginners

1    9/1/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: Hyramdubya
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners. Almost every hole is wide open area, with little chance to lose a disc, unless you throw it into the pond. Some of the holes you have to throw over trees and bushes or thread the needle through little trees in open fields to make it to the pin. There are a few doglegs, but overall it is open and relaxing to play this course. Most of the holes are short so you can easily play this course in an hour if you don't run into too many groups.

Most of the holes had signs with the hole's layout, distance and par. There is a course website with good directions so it was easy to find. On the website there is a score card and course map, I would suggest printing these out. I think they have score cards and maps at the course also. This course is at a university and there were a lot of college kids around to help me navigate the course and give me tips on the holes. The people there were friendly and the course was clean.
Cons: I found this course short and boring at times. There are only 4 holes above 300 ft and the course is less than a mile long. Most of the holes are in open fields and there is not a lot of variety. Because it is open you can find yourself aiming for the wrong pin on some of the hole. Some of the signs at the tee boxes were missing and the rubber stuff on the tee boxes could use a little work. Because it is so open, the course has more wind come into play then a course in the woods and with the lack of shade the sun is always on you.
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked this course and I will play it again. I like the college atmosphere and I found this course relaxing. I did enjoy hole 1, where you have the option to throw over the pond to make it to the pin, that was my favorite hole. I gave this course a 3 disc review because it is a good course, but it lacks the distance, variety and challenge that I have seen in some of the courses I have played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.