Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Central Michigan University Share
Uploaded By: CMUviolin Hole #18
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee. Basket is behind pine trees.



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Good Course for Beginners

1    9/1/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: Hyramdubya
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners. Almost every hole is wide open area, with little chance to lose a disc, unless you throw it into the pond. Some of the holes you have to throw over trees and bushes or thread the needle through little trees in open fields to make it to the pin. There are a few doglegs, but overall it is open and relaxing to play this course. Most of the holes are short so you can easily play this course in an hour if you don't run into too many groups.

Most of the holes had signs with the hole's layout, distance and par. There is a course website with good directions so it was easy to find. On the website there is a score card and course map, I would suggest printing these out. I think they have score cards and maps at the course also. This course is at a university and there were a lot of college kids around to help me navigate the course and give me tips on the holes. The people there were friendly and the course was clean.
Cons: I found this course short and boring at times. There are only 4 holes above 300 ft and the course is less than a mile long. Most of the holes are in open fields and there is not a lot of variety. Because it is open you can find yourself aiming for the wrong pin on some of the hole. Some of the signs at the tee boxes were missing and the rubber stuff on the tee boxes could use a little work. Because it is so open, the course has more wind come into play then a course in the woods and with the lack of shade the sun is always on you.
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked this course and I will play it again. I like the college atmosphere and I found this course relaxing. I did enjoy hole 1, where you have the option to throw over the pond to make it to the pin, that was my favorite hole. I gave this course a 3 disc review because it is a good course, but it lacks the distance, variety and challenge that I have seen in some of the courses I have played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/30/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: Pizatman
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A pretty good variety of game play on this course. It has everything from long straight shots to doglegs, into/over/through wooded areas, shorter technical holes, and a few blind shots. Considering the course is split in the middle by train tracks, it is laid out fairly well and keeps multiple groups separated even while playing at the same time.
The course itself is kept clean, going so far as to place garbage cans at each tee.
Cons: A few signs and tees towards the end are either ripped up or completely gone.
On the first visit to the course, even with the large map at hole 1, it is still a little difficult to discern where hole 4 is located.
Like the rest of the middle of Michigan, this course is pretty flat. Only a few holes in the middle of the back nine make use of the slight elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: A great location for a great course, just south of a college campus should provide hours of entertainment for students and all other residents of Mt. Pleasant. With the course laid out in town loops, it is easy to "just play" a half round by only playing around the pond. This technically makes for 11 holes, but who cares, its disc golf!


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 wide open

1    7/5/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 143  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to find
- Well groomed
- Good variety of lengths
- Blind tees on several holes, most notably the hill on #14
Cons: - Teepads are slick, hard to get good footing
- Little to no elevation changes
- Missing a few signs
Other Thoughts: The first word that comes to mind when describing this course is "bland." It's a great location and is obviously well taken care of but the land just isn't suited for a disc golf course. Most fairways, especially the last few, are wide open and don't really challenge intermediate players (take a look at the teebox photos here to see what I mean.) There is a nice looking lake on the course but the only time it really comes into play is the first couple of holes; I believe the course designer could have incorporated it more. The highlight of the course for me was hole #13. The pin is hidden in several trees and if you don't take the correct approach to it you'll wind up in a lot of trouble. This is a nice course to get a quick 18 in on if you're in the area but I wouldn't recommend going out of your way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for the big pond.

9/29/2007   11/7/2007
Review By: rootc
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout with interesting obstacles. Course layout flows well. The tees are good considering they are rubber. The landscape is used nicely.
Cons: A couple tees need to be replaced/fixed.
Other Thoughts: Big pond that allows you to make decisions to take a risk or play it safe. Very fun course in a university setting.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 CMU Disc Golf

9/1/2007   10/1/2007
Review By: CMUviolin
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, and beautiful landscape. Every hole has a different layout that will make you rethink each throw.
Cons: Some holes come so close to each other that without knowing the course, you could be going after three separate baskets. You could also get lost searching for hole 4 because you have to go out of your way and cross railroad tracks, then cross back over for hole 11.
Other Thoughts: Great looking course. If you plan on going, and especially if you are new at disc golf, you may want to avoid the first couple holes because of a pond on your left that you must throw around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.