Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Central Michigan University Share
Uploaded By: CMUviolin Hole #3
3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Could Have Been Better!

5+    9/9/2008   8/19/2009
Review By: Astronaut_79
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Discin' near CMU, the few wooded holes, challenging water hazard, not too many bugs, clear signage, not too many places for loose discs.
Cons: Way too open (often windy!) more straight point A to B holes than necessary, expressway nearby is annoying, plus hotel and occasional mean looks from some folks who worked nearby.
Other Thoughts: I really think this course could have been better. A good job was done with the location, but the location itself is a big part of the problem. When your off away from the expressway and parking lot, there are some neat, technical holes, but as you go through the teens, it gets kind of boring! If you are a long-distance thrower and don't like a lot of trees everywhere, you might like it better than I do.

In my opinion, Chippewa Banks is a much better course and I've heard goods things about Deerfield Park which is nearby.

This is one of the only courses I have ever played that has been too windy to play on several occasions!

In the end, CMU's course isn't too bad and it was nice having a place to throw nearby when I was a student (they built this place a year before I graduated, I've been back a few times since), but I just wish they would have moved it further away from some of the main throughways of the city.

Location is just weird and not as nice as many other courses in the state.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/22/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2009
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course, with some tricky drives. It was hole 13 through all the pine trees, I found to be the trickiest. Pretty good signs (when they arent missing, or printed backwards) and easy to find your way.
Cons: Rubber pads on many holes need to be replaced. Some signs are upside down, or missing.
Other Thoughts: All in all thought the course was pretty fun. Not alot of trash people look like they take care of it pretty well. The water near hole 1 can be tricky (as was for a guy in my group). This course is also only like 10 minutes away from Deerfield park disc golf.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Why?

2-4    5/29/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can test your might on most holes. The people are nice, well kept. Yeah... that's about it
Cons: -The Tee's
Need to be replaced, some are not even attached anymore.
-The Holes
No challenge, even for a new player
-The Signs
Some of them are printed upsidown
-The Layout
The lay out is horrible! Crossing railroad tracks, multiple cages on some holes make it confusing where your aiming. Randomly placed.
-The Diver
Yupp, chances are if you play this a couple of times the wind will take your disc and throw it in the lake, BUT WAIT there's a diver! Bring cash, or a scuba suit of your own, to get your disc back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 C.M.U.

5+    5/7/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: DAN E.
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 4 thru 10 are a mixup of long holes with rough edges, and short holes with trees needing manuvering skills.1,2,3 and 12 make you play smart and safe because of the water[deep water] .14 thru 18 give you alot of open distance with a few trees for a challenge.A well groomed course.Lot's of friendly people.
Cons: T pads,signage,direction.Need a map the first couple of rounds.Signs are wierd.Cement T's would be good.
Other Thoughts: There's room for more holes,and better use of the elevation available.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good Course

5+    4/24/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: sagspirit
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Holes with open space are good for beginners.
Some Long Holes around the course.
Cons: Rubber Pads need to be replaced.
1st hole is a danger with the water.
Disc can be lost by the 1st hole and the wood along the 5th hole.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 not all that great !

1    3/14/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: Nickdc713
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .... ummm..... there was a lot of open space...
Cons: poorly marked everything... if you haven't visited find someone who is a regular because you will be looking around for the hole, the next tee, and where you are going.
Other Thoughts: it was the start of the summer season so most of the signs were missing, hopefully CMU will fix that.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Winter Course

1    11/27/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The wide open shots and lack of any real gnarly rough made this course a blast to play in the snow, with little chance of losing a disc. The rubber tee pads were plenty grippy, even when dusted with snow. There's plenty of varied shots needed here to keep it interesting. The bag hooks that grace many of the remaining tee posts are a very welcome touch!!
Cons: Many missing tee poles and signs, and having to cross the railroad tracks twice make this course a challenge to navigate without a map, so print one out and take it with you.
Other Thoughts: This course make pretty good use of the very limited terrain features and obstacles available on the land plot. Some time spent doing course maintenance would significantly raise this reviewer's score. This is a very relaxing course - not every hole requires precision or massive drives.

*** Update 10/31/09 ***
It appears the missing posts and signs have all been replaced and all the tee posts have been repainted. Additional trash cans have been added as well. All but one of the tee pads were firmly attached, but they all still need the underlying ground flattened and smoothed.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Weak Course

5+    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: Dark Strangely
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 38.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a nice setting, close to the campus. Its a good recreational opportunity.
Cons: the only part of of the game of disc golf that this course developes is the ability to throw from the tee. The course doesnt not test ones game at all .. it is boring
Other Thoughts: Mosquitos are bad during spring and summer

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course for Beginners

1    9/1/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: Hyramdubya
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners. Almost every hole is wide open area, with little chance to lose a disc, unless you throw it into the pond. Some of the holes you have to throw over trees and bushes or thread the needle through little trees in open fields to make it to the pin. There are a few doglegs, but overall it is open and relaxing to play this course. Most of the holes are short so you can easily play this course in an hour if you don't run into too many groups.

Most of the holes had signs with the hole's layout, distance and par. There is a course website with good directions so it was easy to find. On the website there is a score card and course map, I would suggest printing these out. I think they have score cards and maps at the course also. This course is at a university and there were a lot of college kids around to help me navigate the course and give me tips on the holes. The people there were friendly and the course was clean.
Cons: I found this course short and boring at times. There are only 4 holes above 300 ft and the course is less than a mile long. Most of the holes are in open fields and there is not a lot of variety. Because it is open you can find yourself aiming for the wrong pin on some of the hole. Some of the signs at the tee boxes were missing and the rubber stuff on the tee boxes could use a little work. Because it is so open, the course has more wind come into play then a course in the woods and with the lack of shade the sun is always on you.
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked this course and I will play it again. I like the college atmosphere and I found this course relaxing. I did enjoy hole 1, where you have the option to throw over the pond to make it to the pin, that was my favorite hole. I gave this course a 3 disc review because it is a good course, but it lacks the distance, variety and challenge that I have seen in some of the courses I have played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/30/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: Pizatman
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A pretty good variety of game play on this course. It has everything from long straight shots to doglegs, into/over/through wooded areas, shorter technical holes, and a few blind shots. Considering the course is split in the middle by train tracks, it is laid out fairly well and keeps multiple groups separated even while playing at the same time.
The course itself is kept clean, going so far as to place garbage cans at each tee.
Cons: A few signs and tees towards the end are either ripped up or completely gone.
On the first visit to the course, even with the large map at hole 1, it is still a little difficult to discern where hole 4 is located.
Like the rest of the middle of Michigan, this course is pretty flat. Only a few holes in the middle of the back nine make use of the slight elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: A great location for a great course, just south of a college campus should provide hours of entertainment for students and all other residents of Mt. Pleasant. With the course laid out in town loops, it is easy to "just play" a half round by only playing around the pond. This technically makes for 11 holes, but who cares, its disc golf!


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.