Watervliet, MI 
Flaherty Park Share
Uploaded By: Amenz Hole #3 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 244ft.   3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun, Well kept course

2-4    5/3/2014   5/3/2014
Review By: Chris Carpenter
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Well maintained
+Concrete pads
+Good signage
+Brooms at the teepads
+Wooded and Open Holes
+Both Red and White tees allow for 9 holes to become 18
+Nice wooden bridges and staircases
Cons: -Not impossible to lose a disc to the river
-Only 9 baskets

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 St Jo's Best

1    6/15/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: Ajaxv2
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Course designer(s) have done a yeoman job with the available acreage. Thick brush has been cleared to create (tight) fairways.
+ Variety of shots, including (an)hyzers, straight, blind, and a short dogleg.
+ Signs are up for both Rec and Intermediate tees
+ Concrete tee pads and Chainstar baskets gave the course a professional feel
+Cheeky water hazard on #7. For us RHBH players, it's tempting risk/reward. For others, huck a hyzer bomb to complete the 300' test.
Cons: - First hole is difficult to find from the main parking lot.
-Turning right at the fork after #2 leads to #6, which is a little confusing. (So turn left!) This was the only example I could find of less-than-obvious course flow. Perhaps signs to direct players to the next hole are on the way?
-Rough feel: I didn't factor this into my rating, but be forewarned -> ticks/poison ivy/NATURE are all present here.
Other Thoughts: I know this course isn't in St. Jo, but of the three courses w/i 20 miles of StJo, I liked this one the best. Andrews was a flat pitch-n-putt, leaving something to be desired. Lake Township was poorly maintained and apparently is part of a multi-use park (dgolf plays second fiddle, making for a crummy experience). While still under development, Flaherty offers a technical course with a variety of shots, and the continued improvements to the course can only increase the playing experience over time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

1    1/8/2013   1/8/2013
Review By: tsuvaulter
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging layout, good use of the elevation. One of the builder of the course was there and filled me in on the upgrades still to come. All the tee pads had an alternate pad. Looked new and just poured. Hole 7 was the only hole that the creek really came into play, but not hard to play to the right and take it out of play.
Cons: Still being built but will be a great course when finished. Still some clean out to do. A lot of hanging limbs and branches that will swat down an otherwise good shot.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

the potential here is pretty amazing.

1    12/18/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- hole 1-6 play through a disc golf exclusive area of the park. holes 7-9 play through a multi-use part of the park. From what I've been told, public areas will be adjusted for safety reasons

Teepads-Concrete, huge, nice. it's so nice to have pads poured before the course is done so it's more than reasonable to play this course in it's infancy.

Baskets- ChainStars, brand freakin' new and purdy

Routing/nav-positives and negatives here. it's easy to follow the course throughout but the routing between the first six and the last three will be rough until the bridge is put in.

Challenge/Variety- a TON here. the wooded holes are TIGHT but fair. rewarding great throws and punishing poor throws.

Hole 7- most certainly the signature hole of this course. playing down the stream and ending in the shadow of a 100+yr old bridge is absolutely stunning.

9 holes but plays like 18-unique views from long and short pads will add up to 18 holes eventually!
Cons:
All cons have the potential of being resolved but here's a list

Rough- this course is a bit rough around the edges but this will resolve with use and more work from the locals and creators. paths and routing will also resolve.
Other Thoughts: I think this course will rank up there with some of the best 9-hole course when it is cleaned up a bit. thanks to amenz for guiding me on my first round. I will be back!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Trending Upwards

2-4    12/15/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2013
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Two-thirds thickly wooded, one-third sparsely treed, grassy, multi-purpose park with a small river bisecting the two distinct parts. A raised railroad bounds one side of the course, its picturesque stone archway crossing the river and adding a distinct visual touch on #7.
- Tight, technical disc golf. Because of the small park area, this course is necessarily on the short side. To compensate, the designer opted not to create just another beginner-level, boring, easy, mindless 9-hole course; instead, the thick woods making up six holes is fully implemented to create short but tight lines. A variety of hyzers, anhyzers, and straight shots are required.
- Great use of the river on #7. The basket is a straight shot basically down the length of the river, but definitely make-able. A bailout route to the right offers safety for the less adventurous. Anything finishing left is in the river and gone forever.
- Great use of the limited, but fairly decent, elevation. #8 offers a short blind uphill shot. #9 has a wooded left-to-right slope bounding the left of the fairway. #2's long tee is nicely elevated, as is #4's.
- Dual concrete pads offer a more straight-forward, short beginner style course. The longs could be challenging for most experienced discers. Even players throwing putters or mids off the longs would still have to hit fairly demanding, narrow flight paths. The longs don't simply add distance but completely alter the look of each hole. #4's long tee position is sick, with a great split tree directly front and center.
Cons: - #'s 7-9 play through a multi-purpose park area. This grassy, sparsely treed area contains a small pavilion, benches, a wooden walkway (which is slippery as hell when wet...watch out). This area could definitely cause conflicts and/or safety hazards under busy conditions. However, the park is pretty small and looked a bit unused, so perhaps the non-disc traffic never gets to the point of interference.
- No signs yet, which makes things a bit tricky first time around. The baskets are labeled correctly, though, which helped immensely. The practice basket near #7's tee is unmarked. (UPDATE: Signs are in the mail and should be installed in the next week or so.)
Other Thoughts: - This review reflects the state of the course at the time I played it (12/15/12). Tees, pins, and fairways are all present, but the course was definitely still a bit rough around the edges. I expect Flaherty to become more polished with time. A lot of great work has already happened here, and now it's at the point where the final details can get worked out. With the addition of the signage, I expect this course to rate above average for a 9-holer. Even with some work yet to be done, I rated this at 2-discs with the chance to score a 2.5 at a later date. That score would make this the highest rated 9-hole course I've played.
- I drove an hour in the dark to hit this course shortly after sunrise. Believe it or not, one of the local crew was out working on clearing up the edges of the fairways. This course is an excellent (and much needed!) addition to the area. The local crew (Amenz, Dan, et al.) should be applauded for their hard work in getting this course installed. I wish more small park 9-hole courses were of this caliber.
- Finding the course. Until the bridge goes in, don't park in the first lot but proceed to the second, gravel lot (across from the large city maintenance garage). #1's tees are to the right.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Tight & challenging

5+    12/8/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 37  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads - both long and short a.k.a. white and red. These are finished as a typical sidewalk is finished - just enough roughness to maintain traction but not so much that it traps water.

Shiny new DC Chainstar Baskets - I know all about these. I should, I helped put them in.

Toughness - What the course lacks in distance it makes up for in challenge. No real favoritism here for RHBH or LHBH. Tight fairways and challenging up shots to the basket on the first 6 holes and then more open holes on the last 3. Each with their own unique set of challenges.

Water hazard - Hard to believe that a tiny little course like this has such an epic water hazard as hole number seven. There are essentially two choices from the long; throw over the water or around the clump of trees. LHBH players with a decent 300' drive and a sense of adventure are going to love this hole.

Finish - The way this course finishes is great. A nice 300'+ wide open bomb shot hole with a challenging pin placement behind some trees on a slope.

Flow - makes complete sense.

Elevation - While there really are no mountains per se here in this part of Michigan, the course makes excellent use of elevation changes.

Multiple pads - Each hole has a long and a short pad. The placement of each pad is well thought out because in most cases there is a completely different look from each pad. Hole #3 is a great example. The pad distances are almost identical but the look from each pad to the basket is completley different.

Hey, it even has a practice basket!
Cons: Navigation - Not much of an issue but some next tee signs are in the works. A new course map is in place right by the practice basket. Yay!

Length - while this is a con that I am sure everyone is going to put in these reviews understand that there is VERY little room to work with here. Etching out 9 holes in this limited space without creating hazards and issues with flow is tough so length was sacrificed.

Nature - This isn't going to really affect my over-all score of this course but still feel that this is worth noting. Just like every other course in Michigan, mother nature can be a real pain here. Poison ivy, ticks, mosquitoes and your typical assortment of irritants can be found just like on any other wooded course. Come prepared.
Other Thoughts: What Andrew has created in this limited amount of space is a real gem.

I love this course even though it isn't 18 and if you are in the area definitely check it out!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.