Richmond, IN 
Clear Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #3 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 120ft.   3 / 120ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3/#12 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Creative use of space, plus…

2-4    2/16/2014   2/16/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I almost gave this course a 4.0 rating because of the incredible creativity in making nearly 18 distinct holes despite having only 9 baskets, but I've only given that high a rating to one 9 basket course (Mason Sports Park - please see my review for why). So this 3.5 is given for Clear Creek being an amazingly well thought out, and very fun course.

Situated in a smaller community park less than a mile from the heart of town, the designers had to work around basketball and tennis courts, a baseball field, a large parking area, playgrounds, bathrooms, electrical equipment, and other features, so they chose to put in nine really neat basket locations that afforded interesting shots, rather than attempting to shoehorn in more (weaker ones). There's a basket raised on a pyramid of tires, another on a mound, and one brilliantly placed in the middle of a spreading, large, triple-trunked tree. They initially laid out "short" tees totaling just under 2000 feet for the 'front' nine, then added longer tees for a 3100 foot 'back' nine, where almost every long tee is drastically different from the front. The tees are enormous trapezoidal concrete where needed, but vary to reasonable concrete and even all-weather turf, where that works well. Signage is tremendous at all 18 tees, indicating distance, details, mandos, etc., and there are next tee signs where necessary.

Tremendous use of elevation gives you four uphill holes, three downhills, shots that finish left, right, and straight, shots that use a moderate amount of trees to define the lines needed, short ace runs, and bombers that go as long as 438' uphill a good 30 or 40 foot rise. All this means that skilled players above the Intermediate level will need to get their deuces early, because the later holes will force really good play to go under a three. Casual and Recreational players will appreciate the shorties and ace runs.

There is a practice basket, and benches, picnic tables, & trash receptacles are available on or near the course. Did I mention the baskets are locally hand-crafted, and improve a little on the Discatcher style in that the top ring has a narrower band? Signature holes include the sweet short downhill 3(12), the short, but double mando'd hole 7, and I think hole 17 has to be listed as unique, gunning over 400 feet from the corner of the park, through the tree gap, downhill over the creek, to the tree basket.
Cons: For a smallish Midwestern town, this little park has a bit of an 'urban' feel to it, with a number of activities crammed into a relatively small space. So there will be a lot of times when non DG'ers will be in the way, from the summertime (all over) to the winter (sled hill on 4(13).

There are a couple of places where the flow is awkward: walking all the way back across the 6 (15) fairway and the parking area to the 16th tee, then around beside the road, across the bridge (and back) to tee off on 17, and the fact that the 17th tee shot goes straight over the heads of those on the 18th tee. There might be a need to add some stairs on the hills down 3 (12) and leading to the 18th tee, for when it's icy or muddy. (But the payoff is some really sweet holes, so, just use caution and enjoy).
Other Thoughts: The local disc golf club is growing, and actively installing courses, and they seem to be pretty nice ones. If you're traveling through along I-70, in the very near future, you're going to have a fun set of places to stop and get a round in (New Creations, Clear Creek, and soon, Glen Miller).

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

This ain't just a walk in the park!

5+    9/6/2013   9/6/2013
Review By: DiscraftKid
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great front 9 for all players. 1 is a good warm up with a neat pin placement set in between some trees. 2 is a challenge to birdie with the built up pin. 3 is blast to thrown downhill for an ace run. 4 is a very tough uphill blind shot. 5 is another fun ace run. 6...well...good luck....which way you gonna go? 7 is a very tricky MANDO. You either love it it or hate it.  8- you just have to play it....Awesome pin placement. 9 is a tricky tucked pin near the creek. 

Back 9 offers a ramped up set of skill shots. There aren't too many that birdie much on the back. It feels like the front was fun and spoiled you, and the back is set up to test you on every shot. There is not a dull hole.  Elevation  change and pin placement is great. 

As far as the baskets on this course, they are the best you will ever see not made in China or mass produced. They catch great. No problems on those.

The new tee pads are nothing short of awesome!!!! 
Cons: The obvious con here is sometimes in the evenings if the softball and Basketball is very busy,the entire park is busy. It's not a safety issue because the course flows well around and thru it all, it's just a bit busy.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses because it had a great mix of holes. It may look like a walk in the park, but LOOK OUT, you may find the course beats you instead of you beating the course. 

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly a good variety of holes

5+    7/20/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: Par4TheCourse
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of wooded holes, open holes and some creatively placed baskets and tees. Not a lot of walking between tees, course is well designed in a limited area. Signage is very helpful on tees.
Cons: Tee pads need to be addressed. A picnic table and/or bench would be nice in a few spots near tees.
Other Thoughts: Playing in two circles would seem to be kind of repetitive...but with the mandos, the creative tee pad locations, and nice basket placements, there is a lot of variety here. Change in elevation is a nice pace changer on some of the holes. There's something cool about playing around a basketball court, a softball diamond, tennis court and a horseshoe court. None of these things come into play, but create a nice backdrop, usually lots of things going on, making it a more fun experience. Overall, very pleasantly surprised with how it turned out and love playing it!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

I don't know what course the other guys were playing...

1    8/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: numbernine
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2013
27 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: I went and played this course because of the reviews on here, and it was one that I had not sat foot on before. Sorry Richmond, but if you put in the next Idlewild, I won't play it until someone I know has played there. The reviews on here have it rated a 3.5-4.0. That is "very good" to "excellent". Look guys, I know that one of you lives in Richmond and feels obligated to glow about this course, but I don't know why the other fella rated it so high. Let me break this down and get into some good stuff first.

Signs - There are signs at every tee station that are super descriptive, well laid out and show the entirety of the hole in very good detail. There is also always a sign on each basket that shows you the location of the next tee pad. The signs are great. Seriously. Navigation is not an issue. So I will give the signs a solid 2 points. It counts for a lot in my book.

The park - it's a nice place with lots of benches, restrooms, parking, and tables. On most holes I felt like there was always a place to put my bag or my drink. Not every hole had something, but most did. There was also lots of parking. I'll give that a solid point.

Elevation changes - 8 of the holes (really only 4, since there are only 9 baskets. So close to half) make use of some neat elevation changes. (I can't say much more, because the shots weren't interesting. but the elevation changes were there). That's a good half a point.

The baskets were new. No points here, and I won't take any away. But I will explain in the negatives.

The first 9 and the back 9 were way different from one another, in spite of being on the same baskets. The routes were kind of different on most holes, and about half were just longer. I was 7 down on the front, playing it blind, and 2 down on the back. My son enjoyed the front more, since it was super easy. Half a point for shot variety.

There was a basket drilled into a tree. This was my favorite thing and was the courses "signature hole". Because it had something I will remember and it felt like they wanted this to be remembered, the course gets another half a point. Also, props on the elevated baskets.

Total good : 4.5
Cons: There were no tee pads. Most of the time the "tee stations" were just bare spots in the dirt. There was some mulch on a couple of the "pads", but the majority had nothing. -.5

The baskets were home made. And it's whatever. Make do. Not taking any points away here. But the baskets are shallow, feel a bit cheap and look...off.

The course wasted a ton of space and the shots were not interesting. And for me, this is the worst thing that a course can be. No baskets were tucked or in a tricky location, save for the two "elevated" baskets. There were no real hard hyzer holes or hard anny holes. Everything was pretty much straight away. There was a hole that played MAYBE 30 feet, and then 65 feet at the alt. There were many occasions when I asked "why isn't there a hole here? Why the walk?" . There is no real place to get in trouble on this course either. Maybe hole 11? Not really though. even those "woods" are pretty thin, and you'll just roll out anyway. Say what you want, but course design is everything. And when you don't use your real estate properly and you don't put in good holes, the entire course suffers.
OK, since the guy that put in the course private messaged me and berated me about my playing experience, opinions, and everything else...I will add this. No charge:
1 - Should be tucked in closer to the water or back by the bridge.
2. Should be pushed further back or over by the sidewalk.
3. Should be pushed WAY further right or left. Not a straight shot.
4. Good placement.
5. Should be at least 15 feet into the woods.
6. Is ok, but should be further back, and more in the middle of the hill for roll aways.
7. Is fine. Could put it into the woods.
8. Is in the tree and I like that hole.
9. Should be further back in the trees and/or pushed over by the creek. You're welcome. -2 points.

There are only 9 baskets. Ok, this going to be a point of debate I am sure. But say what you want, but have you ever been to a destination course with 9 baskets? Me either. You can't really do tournaments there. You can't have a ton of people playing there without it causing backups and traffic issues. And really? There is room in this park for 18 holes, if laid out correctly. Maybe it was a budget thing, and I can appreciate that, but only having 9 holes takes this course down another .5

Total bad: 3.0
Other Thoughts: This is another case where I should read more before I go play a course with a high rating that is kind of close to my house. Yes, the reviews were high, but the guys rating it probably helped put it in or knew a guy.

And I don't like giving a place bad reviews. I really don't. Read my other stuff. I want people to put in courses and for them to be awesome. I love that people sacrifice their time and money to put in new courses. But this course isn't great.
And 4.5 - 3 is 1.5, and DGCR calls that "passable". That is a PERFECT description of this course. I would never play this course on purpose again if it meant driving down there to do it. But if I was in Richmond...near the course...and I had 45 minutes with absolutely NOTHING AT ALL to do, I would go place this place again. Maybe.

Save the 3.5's and the 4's for Valpo, flip city, cullom, etc. This place is "passable". At best.

27 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Unique Course

1    3/10/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets with a yellow band. Listed as mixed but made by a welder who knows disc golf. I did not have any issues with the baskets. Also a practice basket at the start of the course.

18 tee pads. With exception of holes 1/10, 5,14, and 9/18 each hole is completely different than the alternate throw spot. (those holes are longer/more difficult versions of the original)

Course feels like an 18 hole course. Each throw spot has its own unique path to the basket. Even the holes where the second pad is longer, it requires different throws. Hole 7 has a narrow mando between 2 trees.

Unique basket locations - The basket for hole 2/11 is on top of 3 tires in the shape of a terrace (big on bottom and small at the top - see picture). The basket for hole 4/13 is on top of a 3 foot tall dirt mound altering the putt. The basket for hole 8/17 is the signature basket in the middle of the tree branching out in 3 directions.

Water hazard - Holes 1,9,10,17, and 18 have a creek running along side of it. Errant throws can end up in the creek. It seemed reasonably shallow in case of emergency.

Multi-use park - With this being said restrooms were on site. Also appeared to be a snack bar which could be in use when baseball is being played. Disc golf did not interfere with any of the park uses.

Hills - This course incorporates elevation change. Holes 4,11,and 13 are uphill shots. Holes 3,12, and 17 are downhill shots. Holes 5,14, 6, and 15 run along a hill.

Signs! This course was very easy to navigate. Each throw pad has it's own sign/map of the hole and where the alternate throw pad is. Lists distance, hazards, etc. Arrows on basket tell you where to go for the next hole.
Cons: At the time, the throw pads were natural and slightly muddy. Did not effect game but some people can view this as a negative. Concrete pads will come in the near future which will greatly improve this course.

There was quite a bit of trash in the creek when I played which takes away of the natural beauty of the course. However there were trash cans at the course.

This course is an hour and a half from my house. I would list that as a con because I really enjoyed this course. Unique to Indiana. I wish this course was in Indy.

Some holes were very short. 3 & 7 but also had their own challenges.

The basket for hole 7/16 and the practice basket need to be switched. The 7/16 basket is not the same as the other baskets at the course. It did not effect me but some may see this as a bad con.
Other Thoughts: If you are traveling along Interstate 70 or on Highway 27 through Richmond and have time, I would recommend playing this course. It is very easy to get to from the interstate (2 turns). I will definitely play this course again.

I took pictures for the course but forgot to take a picture of hole 17 because I was too excited to play the hole. I apologize.
This course needs concrete pads. It was muddy when I played and concrete would help.

Elevation added to the challenge but most of the holes are still in the open.

I have yet to play Living Waters so I would like to know how it stacks up to that.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very Unique and Very Fun

5+    12/14/2012   12/14/2012
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has very unique holes for an inner city park course. There is plenty of parking. There are restroom facilities most of the year. The course is easily navigated. The baskets are excellent. Tees are well marked and the signs are very detailed with a nice touch that informs you of the elevation changes in + or - feet. There is quite a bit of elevation change. There is a fair mixture of hyzer and anyhyzer shots. The technical holes are very challenging. The mandos are challenging and the drop zones are fair. There are 5 or 6 holes that you don't find just anywhere. The biggest pro here is the fun factor.
Cons: Natural pads is usually always a con, but the course is brand new with cement coming ASAP.
Other Thoughts: Most of the time, inner city park courses have limited space and the holes can be repetitive and boring. This course is not that way at all. There is a little of everything here. The hills and blind shots are challenging. The wooded gaps on 3, 11, and 12 are a lot of fun to try to hit. The elevated basket on 2 and 11 and the mandos on 7 and 14 can change your score drastically. One of the staple pin placements of 8 and 17 with the basket placed in the base of a tree is very cool. Hole 17 tee to the fairway is a total blast to throw going downhill over the creek. 99% of the time a course with 9 baskets feels like a 9 hole course.
Overall, this is a rare and unique course. The two holes per basket truly make each hole very different. The way the course plays and is designed, you will have played 18 distinct holes. Generally, I would have a hard time giving a 9 basket course anymore that a 3.5 rating. However, there are 5 or 6 holes that you won't find anywhere around, and the way it plays to give you 18 distinct holes-along with the fun factor- I can give it a 4.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.