Riverview, MI 
Riverview Grasslands Share
Uploaded By: Innovadude Hole #1 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 308ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 

1    7/8/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: whitehope77
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good lit course for downriver nice to practice nothing special better signs would be nice
Cons: basic 9 just need better navigation
Other Thoughts: not bad see plenty of room for a few more holes would be a nifty lit 9 hole they keep it up and put a lit more effort

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    4/8/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through the "backyard" of a middle/elementary school. do not play before 4pm on weekdays please!

Baskets-- all present and accounted for. would be nice to have the medallions to know where to throw.

Elevation-- what little there is is used nicely. along with the trees.
Cons: Routing and nav-- makes no sense whatsoever. Tough to nav even with the maps provided.

Teepads and signs-- Rough! teepads are all mud/dirt but are marked with rocks or treestumps. Teesigns where present aren't exceptionally helpful. As I said, it's tough to know where to throw.

Risk v Reward- None.

Variety- None.
Other Thoughts: Decent middle school course. nothing overly special.

We were asked by local PD to pass along to not play the course during school hours. It distracts the students.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 very decent putter/beginner course

1    8/19/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Super "clean" play with almost no chance of losing a disc or finding a bush, poison ivy, or thick rough is a major bonus especially for struggling beginners
- Good mix of shots from left to right fades and straight, but most holes have a variety of possible attack routes
- Well marked easy to follow can't get lost
- Well mowed/maintained
- The dirt tees are not bad at all very flat no roots or stumps
Cons: - Only 9 holes
- Dirt tees
- Tee signs will get demolished good effort but they're too cheap some little **** will break them surely
- Missing hole #9's basket currently
- Very, very short
Other Thoughts: - The 2 shortest holes were also the most wide open, they could use a few fresh trees planted to make them more than 180ft wide open hyzer

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and Close

5+    6/13/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: PerfectPair
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Close to downriver area.
Nice Neighborhood.
Nice baskets.
Decent layout, good use of space.
Not many places to completley loose your disc :)
Cons: My biggest complaint on this course would be the amount of trash being left behind by fellow golfers :( and the broken glass near the tees is a disapointment.

 Fun small course

5+    5/18/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: MikelNovack
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Very quite and usually not over crowded with other players.

Holes are fairly easy so it makes a great course to introduce someone to the game.

Nearly the entire course is shaded by trees, great for hot days.

Chainstar baskets

Very clean
Cons: Only 9 holes

The layout can be confusing, I've been asked countless times "where is hole #1?". Once you've played nine holes the layout becomes obvious though.

Tee boxes can get muddy after heavy rain. They're surprisingly acceptable to light rain, they soak it up well and dont instantly turn to a muddy mess.
Other Thoughts: It's a better course than the nearby one in Wyandotte. I've played at all times of the day including during school hours.

I've met lots of nice people that are always willing to pair or team up for a round or two.

DON'T THROW YOUR DISC ON THE SCHOOLS ROOF AT HOLE NINE!

Lol.

 I expected more

1    3/28/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Quite
No traffic
Good drive work out
Decent use of trees
Clean
Cons: On school grounds
No signs
Kinda hard to navigate
Too easy
Passed it 3 times cus there was no sign and I didn't know it was at a school
Other Thoughts: First timers beware, can't see the course from the road didn know where to start till I asked a pair that had just finished. Then for about 6 of the 9 holes I had to go up ahead of the tee and find the basket I was supost to aim for. Having said all that the rest of my experience here was good. Once I got the feel for the course I didnt really have to go look for the next basket but I wanted to b sure. Nothing about this course is especially challenging but there are a couple of curves in he fairways to keep you from getting bored. The fairways themselves, again not to challenging but an experienced player will find them to make for good practice and quite a few birdies. I'll defiantly return to this course in the future but I won't put it at the top of my list

 Thumbs Down

1    9/20/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: hoyle7780
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 22.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has some decent challenge for the available land used.
Nice Baskets
Cons: 1. Course is really hard to find.
2. Course is on Elementary school property.
Wouldn't reccomend playing during school hours.
3. Course is SHORT
4. VERY confusing. Tee's are rocks on the ground with faded paint making it quite a challenge to find the correct layout.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time driving out of the way to play here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course.

5+    9/2/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Viper124
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: This course is pleasant. It's quiet 9 hole and it's entirely possible to play two rounds without seeing a single person. Even if there's a fair amount of people out, play usually goes fast. It's nice and well kept. Trash is rarely an issue. Locals are nice. You can easily finish a round in half an hour.
Cons: First time playing this course can be a bit confusing, but it's easy to get the hang of it after a round. Mosquitoes are a problem if the conditions are right. I'd suggest bug spray. Most holes are short. Obviously favors right hand back hand throwers.
Other Thoughts: The course is perfect to go to if you want to work on your short game. It's entirely possible to make up new holes with the existing ones in place. When there's no one out, I like to make up new holes, like shooting from the hole 1 tee off to the hole 8 basket.

 Just nine, but a good time

5+    8/26/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: Grip_N'_Rip
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open spaces, privacy, nice people and fun to play.
The course is a quick play, and doubling up to 18 or tripling to 27 is a must.
Well kept, with a serene golf course to the rear of the course.
A fun time and a great beginner course. Not much brush at all, making it easy to find your disc, while losing one would actually take some effort.
Bugs are not a problem and getting there is pretty easy.
Cons: Simplistic layout. Some pin placement is mental with sightlines being confusing -- not to mention the hole design which is a little bland. Holes are usually poorly marked on rocks and wood, and throwing to the wrong pin happens to everyone.
Some holes seem repetitive after awhile and all unfortunatley have dirt tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: It's a little hard to find, but park in the Seitz middle school lot by the "out" drive way and walk toward the field on the right. When you get around the building make a hard right and you'll see the course. The baseball field is on the left of it.
UPDATE: As of Spring 2012, Hole #9 had it's pin stolen by idiots. When it comes to putting, a yellow trash can is in its place over the hole where the basket was. Thanks, dolts.
Watch out for hole 5. The pin you're aiming for is on the left. If you throw to the right, it's actually hole No. 8's pin. The course layout will leave you scatching your head at times, this is one of them.

If nobody's around, pin No. 9 makes for a nice practice target before tee off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short and sweet!

2-4    8/6/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid layout, good use of trees to force interesting lines and keep you honest. Decent shot variety for 9 holes, with moderate changes in elevation on a few.

Pleasant quiet setting on public school grounds in a nice neighborhood. Ball golf course as a backdropon a few of the holes.

Dirt "tees" easily identified by two stones or tree stumps (with spraypainted hole# and distance) on either side of the tee box give the course a very natural look and made made navigation pretty easy my first time playing here. Combined intelligent lay-out that flows pretty naturally from hole to hole and I didn't spend too much time looking for the next hole (only in a couple of spots).

Course would work well for a round of Safari.

Course looked and played well, baskets in good condition, not much chance of losing a disc.
Cons: Lots of short holes, could have made a couple of holes 300' or more.

Can't imagine you can play during schools hours.
Other Thoughts: Probably not worth driving more than 20 -30 minutes to play this course, but if you live, work, or visit nearby, it's definitely worth playing a quick round (or three).

Admittedly, it's hard for a 9 basket course to get above 2.5 from me. That being said, this is one of the better 9 hole courses in the area. I liked playing here and, wish there was more, but 2.0 is all I can muster for this nice little course. Best the area has to offer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.