Batavia, IL 
West Main Park Share
Uploaded By: LeddZepp8687 Hole #7 (Taken 1/2013)
-- / --   3 / 267ft.   3 / 267ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nobody Home

2-4    9/3/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: basicbill
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: The main reason that I "played" this course (Mostly just short straight shots to stay within the narrow fairways.) was to provide some more up-to-date photos than those taken last January when the weeds were not up.

Very narrow in spots. Heavy weeds. I had a tough time finding a disc even though it was only six inches off the fairway.

The front nine is easy to navigate by following the paths from basket to next tee. But the back nine could use a bit of simple signage. Which way do you turn when you hit the "T" intersection after 11? Flip a coin. (Right turn.) A few pieces of scrap lumber, paint and a stencil would go a long way.

The fenced in dog park is separated from the course except for the walk in from the parking lot. A sad commentary on this course is that there are many more dog walkers than disc players. Both times I've been there, I was the only disc golfer. Driving past the course in Geneva a few minutes later showed several groups playing.

Apparently no one from the Batavia Park District had been on the course recently since there were several trees down from a recent storm. One large one lay across the 5th fairway.

I would really like to watch some good players attack this course. Just to see what is possible.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wasted potential

1    7/17/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a prairie with scattered stands of trees. There is a mix of more open holes where shot placement is the main skill tested and some more technical shots that require some line shaping. There is a pretty good mix of hole lengths with some shorter ace run chances and a few longer holes where many players will need to pull out a driver.

The holes with more trees offer some low ceilings and some tighter shots with a mix of left and right turning fairways. You do need a pretty good set of skills to score well. The signage is adequate, with hole layout and distance and there's a course map at the parking lot.
Cons: This course seemed either intentionally designed to frustrate or just not well thought out at all. The major obstacle is tall prairie grass, some reaching waist to chest high. That doesn't add any real disc golf challenge, it just leads to lost discs and wasted time without making the next shot any more difficult. On top of this, the fairways aren't mowed to a reasonable width. 10' wide fairways without any real green around the basket makes for a lot of decent shots that still end up in the grass.

The course is fairly short and open on many of the holes which is the type of course that attracts beginners, but beginners won't be able to hit those narrow fairways and are unlikely to come back after one round here. A few of the holes are more challenging for better players, but don't always offer valid lines and still have ridiculously narrow fairways surrounded by nasty rough. That means this course appeals to nobody.

The tees are natural, and are already turning into large rutted out areas that are ill-definied and get muddy and slick when wet. As people continue to tee off next to the muddy spot, it's only going to continue to kill the grass in a larger area. There are a couple spots where navigation is not obvious, make sure to take a picture of the course map. The nature trail is in play on several holes, there could be some safety issues with blind shots into areas where there might be non-disc golfers walking.
Other Thoughts: As usual, the designers of this course have turned property that could have been a decent course into one that nobody will want to play. There are cool stands of trees and the potential for some nice shots and those were ignored in favor of wide open shots surrounded by prairie rough. If the park wasn't willing to mow enough to make real fairways, then a legitimate course designer should be willing to pass on the project rather than putting in a course that isn't an enjoyable disc golf challenge for any level of player.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

The land that mowers forgot

2-4    7/6/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 137  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2014
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The West Main Park disc golf course is set on a rather spacious, quite flat and moderately wooded piece of property. There is quite a bit of potential to the site. The park has a nature trail and dog walk that uses the same area as the disc golf course. There is a nice, large sign with a map at the parking lot, the course has nice DisCatchers and there are adequate tee signs. The shots are probably pretty good (the probably part will be explained) and staying in the fairway is at a premium. The overall layout right now is pretty challenging with decent length.
Cons: [rant]TALL GRASS IS NOT AN ACCEPTABLE DISC GOLF COURSE DESIGN ELEMENT. Some good courses like Lemon Lake Gold/Silver can get away with it for two or three holes, but an entire course based on tall grass challenge is stupid. The challenge is to find your disc; once you do that, there is no more challenge. In the end all you do is annoy everyone.[/rant]

In my opinion, the course was unplayable by a solo player the days I was there. There are tight (12'-15') fairways created by chest-high weeds on every hole. Even the holes that have actual trees defining the fairway had tall weeds growing in front of the trees. Within a few holes, I had given up playing golf and was just throwing putters and mids trying to stay in the fairway. Given the distance of a lot of the holes, they were not putter/mid holes for me. One hole in particular (#16) made me think "That might have been a cool hole if I had actually played it." It was frustrating. I went back the following day and tried again, but by the time I got to that hole I had long given up on playing golf and was back to pitching putters down the fairway. They are going to have to cut A LOT more grass on this course (like 4X more) before they will be providing adequate space to throw golf discs.

The course uses the same area as a nature path, and on #13 and #15 you tee across the path with a tall grass "divider" between the fairway and the path. The "duh" part is that the nature path is wider (easier to hit) and the tall grass is does not keep you from pitching over on your approach shot. It creates a safety issue that could be easily fixed by moving the tees up so that you don't throw over the path. Hole #17 is the kicker. You throw from off the nature path to a basket set across the path in a way that the nature path is actually where you aim. If the nature path is going to exist, then it needs to be avoided in the course design. There is plenty of land to avoid it and/or move the nature path (which is just a mowed path at this point.) Having three holes conflicting with the path is inexcusable.

Some of the pin placements are odd. Hole #11 is the easy example as you have to throw up to a spot pin high before you have an opening to the pin, so it's essentially a 90 degree turn to the basket. If the pin was right there for a putt or it was another 150' to the pin from the turn, it would make some sense. The basket is set back far enough that I wouldn't make the long putt, but not so far that there was any challenge to laying up. It's just an odd place to put the basket. There were several more pins like that. It's like they set up fairways, and then just shoved the basket to one side or the other without considering how the basket placement altered the shot.

The tees were natural, and that is always a concern.

There are a few places (#11 to #12, #16-#17, #18 back to the parking lot) where you get dumped back on the nature trail to get to your next tee. For the directionally challenged, there should be signs to help the flow in those three areas. There should also be better signage to tee #1 as the bark park path turns off and it's not very clear which path you should follow.
Other Thoughts: So I'm really going to tear into this one with a low rating, and here is my reason: With the tall weeds and hole distances, you are asking players to throw 300'-400' and hit a 15' target. If you can throw 300'-400' and hit a 15' target consistently, there isn't enough challenge to this course to interest you. The players who would enjoy the design can't play it because they will spend all day frustratingly looking for discs in chest-high weeds and then getting the birdie or par anyway since it's no harder to throw from tall grass than it is from short grass. The frustration, discomfort and extra time that wandering around in tall grass creates will make them skip it and go to West Chicago. So you take a potentially pretty good course and make it attractive to nobody. The course designers evidently did not clue the park district in on how much mowing the course would involve, and the result is a course that is only going to be playable when it's cold and the weeds die down. For that I rate this course an epic fail.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

shrugs shoulders

1    6/2/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: whitechocolate
Played: 386  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to Nagivate
-New Baskets
-Has decent length

This course was created on a piece of land on that is basically exclusively being used for disc golf. It is also partially a dog park, but did not interfer in any way shape or form. They installed brand new Innova Discatchers and are in awesome shape. The course featured some decent length. There are some opportunities for bigger arms to air it out on some of the holes. That generally comes as a premium in the Chicagoland area. I had absolutely no problem finding my way around this course. If course nagivation is not your forte, there is a map at the beginning of the course you can photograph with your phone. However, I would not bother. Someone has maked the basket with black marker for which direction to go if you need it.
Cons: -Fairways too narrow
-Natural tees
-Basket placements illogical
-Not beginner welcoming
-Poor use of space

This course is not beginner friendly. I feel a very small part of it is only the length. I don't feel it's crazy long and I do not have the distance of most. Most of the holes a beginner player has no realistic chance of duecing. Not really a big issue if you are looking for a true par 54 course. However, majority of the fairways are only mowed about 10 feet wide. If you do not have pinpoint accuracy, this will be a huge issue. The weeds/grass is about waist high and will lead you to looking for your discs. I played a solo round, and without having a second set of eyes, I used my experience to play my round. I only threw my Element, Buzzz, and APX the entire round with the except of hole 11, where I threw a Cyclone with the expectation for a chance at a duece. This gave me almost nothing but safe pars the entire round. A newer player does not know how to control a disc as well and will lead to many lost discs, based on the number of them I found just walking knowing my disc was in the fairway. So with the length of the course, basically my second shot would be considered a NAGS shot.

A few of the basket were in really strange placements. I prefer that basket are not on a straight line off the tee. But a couple of the basket seemed like they were tucked off to the left or right with no real thought of disc flight or strategy. Hole 11 comes to mind, blanking on the other ones. I remember throwing off the tee and walking up assuming that the basket was in one place, and then had to search for it a little. Also, the natural tees are a huge mistake. People will be slipping and falling as they wear down. Especially if they are trying to crank one out there.

This course could have been something wonderful. I stopped a few times and looked around. There are plenty of mature trees and pines where this course could have been awesome if the right designer was involved. It really felt like someone walked the grounds once and said, "That'll do". There was plenty of opportunity with this course. There are other designers in the area who work with each other and work towards something great for the entire community. It also feels like a unfinished product. It's got that we'll cut the wood and build the bookcase for you, we are just not going to sand and stain it. That's what a good designer does. I am kind of glad there is not cement tees yet. I hope the park district realizes that the need some improvements and find someone to work with them.
Other Thoughts: All and all, the course will not be too bad to play late Fall through early Spring. It is not something I will do in the summer again. In it's current condition, I can only give this course a 2.0 reasonable. It is not a 2.5 decent/typical course and it's definitely wouldn't be a 3.0 good course. However, it should be if it was complete. Doing some more clearing, and a little more wider mowing, as well as adjusting a couple baskets or tee locations I would give this course a 3.0 WITHOUT installing tee pads. Add the pads, and it would probably be a 3.5. I wish this was near my house. I would love to work with the park district to make this something special. Unfortunately, it is about an hour ride for me so it is not an option. If the park district desides to utilize their investment and decide to bring someone in for inprovements down the road, there is plenty of opportunity for greatness. This land could easily accommidate dual tees or baskets (really both), and some of the most interesting holes in the Chicago area. You could make shorters holes for newers players and families and add/keep longers holes for advanced players. With dual options, and tweaking this place really could be a 4.5. This course could be packed everyday. It is a shame I was the only one on it on a Friday evening while school is out.

Like I said, 2.0 in current state. Greatness is there, maybe in time someone will make it something special. For now, I would wait to play it until the ground freezes.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Broughtavia

1    6/1/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is located in a large multiuse park. It's pretty much secluded from all other activities. The rough is down right nasty! Tons of trees and thick vegetation. This is a challenge and you will be punished by errant throws. This land is very unique to the Chicagoland Area. The land is very flat.

There is a course map at the end of the parking lot.

Brand new Innova Discatchers.

Tee signs are plenty adequate with hole #, distance, & description.

We took a picture of the map and did not have to use it once. The course flow was pretty good.

There is some risk and reward. Staying in the fairway is a premium. There are chances to take out a distance driver and smash it.
Cons: I have the biggest issue with the tee pads. The natural tee pads were wet, muddy, & slick in places. With as much rough that comes into play slipping on a shot is super frustrating.

The course needs some more clearing. The tall grass and heavy rough is going to scare away newer players. Keep an eye on your shots!

There are a ton of holes where the pin is tucked on the left side or right side of the fairway. They are very sharp angles and not ideal for disc flight.

Hole #2 could have been a really cool looking hole. It has an awesome natural tunnel. The visual stimulation is killed by having the basket placed all the way at the end of the right side where it's not visible.
Other Thoughts: With proper tees I'd bump the rating up to 3.0. With a few pin position changes and some minor clearing/mowing it could go to 3.5. The land had 4.0 disc golf potential and is very unique for Chicago. A top designer could have created something special out there.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

challenging

5+    6/5/2014   4/16/2013
Review By: mjs2055
Played: 86  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes are not overlapping and make good use of the terrain. The course is not for beginners and the distances for the holes vary quite a bit with a few a couple of par 4's on the front and the back 9. You will be required to use many different throws and it does not favor lefty or righty. The course is not well traveled and there are usually no other discers on the course even when the weather is nice. There is are many different varieties of trees due to this being a tree farm at one point in time. There are not many wide open shots including very narrow throws with virtually no possibility of an ace. There are bathrooms and a vending machine by the baseball diamonds.
Cons: There are no elevation changes. You will need to wear pants even in the summer due to the thorns and the rough terrain. During the summer it can be easy to lose a disc in the thick rough so be careful. No tees as of yet.. however it may be difficult to put permanent ones in good positions. As mentioned in other reviews, the thick rough during the summer months gives this course a bad rating. There is only one water hazard
WARNING: There are ticks at this course so check yourself afterwards. There seems to be less than last year.
UPDATE: This course is virtually unplayable during the summer months. The overgrowth is too long and they are a long way off at clearing it. Only come here when everything is dead! However it is one of the best courses if you avoid it June thru September.
Hole #8 is a fun hole but I believe it should be a par 4 since there is no clear line to the basket. They have cleaned it up a little but the rough is very difficult and there is no possible line to the basket. I have played here a lot and I have only witnessed a few pars. There is no water so bring your own.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and it's a nice course because it is quite different than the other courses in the area. It will be challenging even for experienced players and will probably continue to improve in the years to come due to the rough needing to be more worn down. Do not bring beginners here! It will be treacherous for them and you should take them to Wheeler Park or Jericho Lake instead. I understand the frustration other reviewers have with the tall grass. You will need a spotter in the summer months and it doesn't hurt to have one all year.
It is a little difficult to navigate on a few holes. After hole #11 take a right. After hole #15 follow the path to the right that curves quickly.
Hey Batavia Park District!!! Just because it is cold outside does not mean disc golf ends! Please put the trash bins back. This course is year round and I am tired of picking up mine and others trash with a bag only.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Check it out

5+    4/3/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: murflax
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Brings a new type of course to the area

- Kind of hidden for now

- Low Traffic

- a good amount of holes are surrounded by trees so wind won't play as much as a factor

- what everyone else said so far

- new course = clean course with no one ruining the baskets writing their aces on them. Hope we can keep it that way.

-No water hazards except #15, but you'd have to over shoot the green and it's just a shallow creek.
Cons: - Needs teepads

- Although it's not that hard, it would be nice to have a marker to where the next tee pad is near/on basket (thinking about bring tape and doing what I've seen at wheeler and kress creek

- Still needs to remove some trees/ brush to make it less frustrating, but still difficult

- Thorns everywhere

- Pine trees eat disc (ended up getting a good cut on my arm climbing a tree on hole 15 for a disc stuck at the top)

- Ground is pretty uneven on paths to the next hole.

- No garbage cans, plenty of places to put them. I'm sure they'll come in time.

- as of right now it's difficult to figure out exactly where to tee off from as in which side of the post.

- Part of a dog park, owners won't pick up after their dogs so watch where you step.
Other Thoughts: Don't bring novice players to this yet. My friends were living in the thorns.

Keep a golf ball or slingshot in your bag in case a disc gets stuck in a pine tree.

Part of a park with soccer/baseball fields so you can do some field throws before or after in case you want to.

Can't wait to see what it becomes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

In Progress

1    1/3/2013   1/3/2013
Review By: kevdiv48
Played: 75  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/2/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course at West Main Park fills a gap in western Chicagoland that did not previously have any courses. It is on a unique plot of land that is not your typical wide open Chucker course. Most of the pin locations are well thought out and all need to be thrown precisely to score well. The course flow is pretty good. The new Discatchers catch well. There is some variety in left or right shots, though none are terribly long.
Cons: There is still a lot of cleaning up that needs to be done. As of the time of this review, this lack of clearing makes the course unnecessarily difficult. Low lying branches and stumps still need to be removed. Holes such as 4, 12 and 16 have no clear shot to the basket. Hole 7 is a sweet short tunnel that has both the tee and basket off center...unnecessary in my opinion. Hole 13 forces you to throw an awkward shot into a skinny fairway that parallels the dog path. Hole 18 is unique that you must pick one side of a line of bushes to have a clear shot, except that the right side needs to be cleared a good 10 to 20 feet more.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of potential here and it is clearly not finished, so I will give it the benefit of the doubt. Adding concrete teepads and clearing rough will go a long way in increasing the rating here. With long teepads I could see west main maxing out at 3.5 to 4.0. Time will tell, and I hope the best is yet to come.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

lots of potential

1    1/1/2013   1/1/2013
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good location, from what i understand it is on an old tree farm
- lots of long and technical shots
-this course is a most welcome change from the mostly open courses in the area
-heavily wooded but unlike the other heavily wooded courses around it is still a long 18
-even in its rough early stages it was a blast to play
-a great challenge for better players
-still has a few good bomber holes as long as you can bomb accurately
-the first few holes are easy compared to the rest of the course(still harder then a lot of the courses around) that make for good warm up holes.
-even without signs navigation was not that bad with only a few exceptions
Cons: -this course still needs a lot of work
-very rough pads
-some very rough holes that are heavily wooded with low hanging branches( i thought it made for a good challenge but started to get a little frustrated)
-watch where you step lots of small tree stumps that you can stub your toes on
-the rough is still very rough with lots of thrones and i can see it getting much worse during the summer.
-it is also a dog park and did have a dog try to run off wit ha friends disc but he got it back undamaged
-there are one or 2 holes that are hard to spot from the tee but once signs get put in the few problems we had finding tees will be easily fixed
-they still need to mark the tees and baskets as of now there are orange stakes next to tee/ baskets that say what holes are what
Other Thoughts: - once this course gets a little foot traffic through it it will start to clear up a bit
- still needs to be cleared out a bit but i hope they don't clear it out to much
-this course has the potential to be the best course in the area not counting the courses down by joliet but this could easily be on par with those courses. even if they only put in pads i would bump my rating of this course up and if it had quite a bit more work done to it i would bump up the raiting quite a bit

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

to new

5+    1/6/2013   12/31/2012
Review By: infinategem
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2013
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long and tight. this is a hard course with many challenges and absolutely no room for arrent throws. tucked behind the rest of the park so there is not much foot traffic other then frolfers.
Cons: not enough throws! Its tunnel shots and straight fairways from start to finish. There are a couple holes that have no line available to take but midwest discgolf still has time to fix them. The rough consists of huge thornplants everywhere, dont where nice shoes or clothes. The tree will eat your discs! There are very full pines that are generally impossible to recover a disc from uptop. Roughs are hard to see through aswell and it's the middle of winter.
Other Thoughts: i dont know how to add discs lost on the info page but believe me many many discs will be lost. so far there are no tee boxes, i do not know what they are putting in but anything short of concrete will be a poor decision. the plants that were cut down for fairways still need to die so walking is a larger challenge then you'd think. it will definately get better but its still a work in progress.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.