Athens, GA 
Sandy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #18 (Taken 12/2009)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 White Tee: Pin Position B



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My first dog was named Sandy

1    10/31/2014   11/11/2014
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - It starts with multiple pads (2 or 3) on top of rotating pin positions. There's also 23 (actually 22 because there is no #8) holes here so there's a ton of different ways to play this course and you could play it multiple times in different configurations; that's a huge plus. (Also for the purpose of this review I played most of the long pads.)

The two biggest strengths of Sandy Creek is that it gives a solid balance in hole type and forces you to throw a variety of shots in different circumstances.

The front eleven starts you off in the more open area of the park. There's some gaps to hit and some trees to avoid but for the most part it's about being able to place your shot over length. If you have the arm you can take more obstacles out of the way by hyzering/anhyzering around them. There's some fun holes on this front part and I especially like the stretch from 9-11 which matches that fun with challenge and more interesting lines.

The second eleven to me is the real strength of the course. It gets you down in the woods in the undulating terrain by the lake. Here you have quick elevation changes and some really interesting lines.

Most of the holes back here can be reached with a mid but a few are longer and require a fairway driver. I only played one set of pin positions but I could tell that they did a good job of changing the shot. I also really liked the selection of basket positions, they were usually tucked in to a nice spot or on some slope to add challenge. This all leads to a really balanced course.

The back eleven does a really good job of making you work the disc through gaps while moving it. Even the straighter overall holes aren't simple. It's not overly challenging but enough to make it interesting.

At the end you pop back out in the open for one more bomber hole that ends the round nicely.

There's one par 5 (though I'd call it a par 4) and five par 4's (though I'd call some of those a par 3) thrown in. A few were really solid holes that forced good placement shots to set you up for the second. It's one more area the course gives you variety in.

Equipment - Concrete pads for each tee and good signs that show you the length and hole layout. There's scorecards with a map available at the parking lot. The baskets seemed to be in good shape.

Atmosphere - Overall the park is pretty scenic. You have the lake in view on a few holes and the terrain is interesting. Once you get in the back you're in a more secluded place and I enjoyed that part more than the front but it's definitely a fun place to play disc golf.



Cons: Layout - The bigger weaknesses for this course really come in to play on that front 8 (well 7). I liked a few of these holes and it's not that they were all bad but it's just overall not that impressive. There's a few really boring open shots over there.

There's also some weird distances on a few of those holes from the long tee that create some tweeners.

The back part of the course is much better but there's not many holes that really make you go wow. It's just really solid golf and nothing amazing.

There's also a few holes on the back that seem like tweeners and some holes that from the long tee just have really awkward angles to the lines.

It would of also been nice if they could of brought the lake more in to play.

Equipment - There's no basket #8. From what I understand it had to be removed for safety reasons but to me it makes more sense to just renumber the rest of the course.

Some of the tees were really sandy...

Atmosphere - The front part of the course isn't all that great atmosphere wise, there's a few nice looking holes but I just didn't like the feel of it.
Other Thoughts: Sandy Creek is a solid and fun course to play and I'd recommend it to anyone in the area. Though if i lived in the area I'd probably mostly just start at 9 and play through 23 or work out some other 18 hole layout.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fall Leaves a bit to be desired

2-4    11/8/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: nightwing
Played: 99  Reviewed: 23
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee-pads
3 tees per hole
Mix of open grass and tight trees
Several interetsting shots
Good basic infrastructure
Lovely park
Mostly Disc-only area for the course
Cons: No maps...not even on the Kiosk?
'Back 15' very hard to play.
Not much elevation
Some repetitive holes on back
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty good course, but I have to say it is pretty lame that a pay to play course did not even have a map up in the plexi'glass kiosk right at the start of the course. $3.00 is not too much, but how much would this cost? Wondering lost with no idea how to get going on the back really dampened the day. (There were good signs once I finally got to the denser woods).

This was a beautiful, sunny saturday but I only saw about 10 players, all but 2 on the "Front 7". The back seemed to have scared most players off and I could see why). Does it make sense to put nearly every pin in the 'Throw long and blind' position when leaves have buried the course ? 'm sorry to complain but the fact that the back was nearly un;played seems to indicate something here. Throw in a few redundalntly dense tree holes and it just wasn't much fun.

Sandy should be a really good 'Pay-to-Play' course of maybe about 21 noles. You might pass on the back until spring though.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course

5+    10/11/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: umeshc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. This is my home course and I love almost all holes, except some.
2. Good concrete tee pads on all holes with sign. First 10 holes are decent.
3. Multiple tee pads and pin position.
4. Now they have started to mow grasses frequently than they used to be.
5. Good mix of open fairways and woody holes
Cons: 1. Cost to play even after taking $2 for entrance. The cost should go to the improvement of disc golf course but it doesn't seems it is going for disc golf. If my $1 per visit goes just for mowing than where does my $2 goes. At least benches could be placed in each tee pad area that would make me think that my money is well utilized.
2. There are some trees unnecessarily kept in the middle of the fairway. At least one or two trees needs to be cut down in hole number 13, 15, and 16. The skinny tree in hole number 15 from white tee is just so much annoying even though the hole still needs a great technical shot with a danger of death roll at the end.
3. Hole number 8 is missing and it needs to replaced.
4. Multiple placement of pins is annoying sometimes; for example, hole 1, is it par 3 or 4 or 5? I know it is a legit par 3 for pin A and B, but I am confused with pin C, it doesn't seems like 830 ft from the blue tee. Everybody seems to be taking pin c as par 4 but according to sign, it is par 5.
Other Thoughts: It is a good but very challenging course, especially the last 11 holes. Multiple tee pad is definitely a plus which gives opportunity to every level of players. There are a lot of other activities you can do in your visit.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    5/11/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: bhuff
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course. Good mix of wooded and open holes. 1-10,23 are pretty open holes with a few tight shots required. 11-22 are in the woods and require more precise shots to par. Blue, white, and red cemented tee boxes with 3 different basket locations. Not much water to deal with other than a marsh on hole 21 that is pretty nasty (lay up if your playing from blues).
Cons: Cost $2 parking $1 to play, but not too bad. Closed Mondays. Hole 17 is way to tough, to tight and long for par 3.
Other Thoughts: Overall fun course. I play it 2-3 times a week and still haven't gotten par. Can be -3 going into hole 12 (wooded holes) and come out +3. Clean park, friendly staff. Theres a beach and fishing permitted as well if your planning on making a trip out with the family.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet Park in the Countryside

2-4    8/4/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenic, quiet park in the countryside that will challenge all of your game. The park is well maintained and though you pay $3, you get a nice 23 hole gem in an area sadly lacking of courses. I really like the multiple teepads and the wonderful signage. Really easy to find your way around. The layout is trees and field through the first 11, then sends you into thick woods for the latter half.
Cons: Though I really enjoy the course, a couple of the holes on the front nine are too open (7,8,23) , and a few on the back are almost too narrow for their length, leaving no room for any kind of flex shot (to give the distance you need to get par). A few holes in the woods seem like repeats of each other (the shorter ones). Navigation is tough finding hole 9 and 23, perhaps a "next tee" sign could be placed on these.
Other Thoughts: Kudos that they have posted some par 4's and required the golfer to use effective placement in order to achieve par instead of using length alone to bump up the par

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.