Athens, GA 
Sandy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #1 (Taken 12/2009)
5 / 645ft.   5 / 770ft.   5 / 830ft.   5 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Mid-Fairway: Pin Position C



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great balance of open and wooded

1    6/28/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: hellbound
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Got to finally play this course for the first time this weekend and i do have to say wow what a use of land and trees

The frount nine uses mostly open field shots that allow you to open your arm up and get you throw dialed in before hitting the wooded holes. You really have to take a step back and really enjoy the way that some of the trees in the fairways were placed in spots to shape the holes and define the fairways.

Back nine turns into a great change of pace and a place to beat the summer heat. If the frount nine did not beat your score up too bade dont think your going to just cruse on to a great score with the shorter holes. Deifined wooded holes with multiple lines to the holes. As a left handed bh and flick i enjoyed not having to think right handed on all the holes.
Cons: Really my complantes are not much of anything. Talking to a few locals and seeing it first hand the pin locations can be a little tuff to fiquire out. Each hole has three tee pads and three pin locations. (love this by the way.) Can get a little tuff to fiqure out.
Other Thoughts: I will be back. It was a demanding course that offers everything that I love to see in a course and then some. If your one of the few that don't enjoy paying a few bucks to play the course then your missing out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Over the meadow and through the woods

1    1/1/2014   1/8/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 164  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in a nice park offering several other activities (check their website for details).
•Variety: Welcomes you with several semi-open to lightly wooded, fairly flat holes employing well-placed stands of trees. The initial holes don't necessarily call for oodles of control, but still force you to shape a reasonable line if you hope to putt for par or better. The course then heads into the woods where trees and rolling terrain make things more interesting. A great mix of fairway shapes encourages BH/FH, hyzers/annies, and S-shots. Most tees present a few possible lines to challenge your decision making, but a few pretty much give you only one, defying you to pull it off. Does a decent job of offering a nice variety of lengths within each tee color (rather than forcing you to mix tees up to get a reasonably full range of distances). Throw in some nice elevation changes and a few rollaway greens along the way, and you have a fairly complete course that pretty much gives you a chance to use every shot in your arsenal and challenges all aspects of your game. Rotating A, B, C pin positions provide additional variety for locals.
• Equipment: Red, white and blue concrete tees were in good shape with ample footing. While the blues typically didn't change the line from the red and white tees appreciably, what they do exceptionally well is provide a much smaller window off the tee, requiring both power and finesse - playing in the woods from the blues is where you'll want those oodles of control. Innova baskets were easy to spot and in good shape. Tee signs were simple, informative, assisted in navigation. Scorecard/maps are available.
• Aesthetics: Visually appealing course that takes you through green fields, woods, moderately hilly terrain and offers a couple of lake views, making for a pleasant experience with nature... if you can stay off of the trees.
• Memorable holes: Starts off with the longest hole on the course where you can really let loose right off the bat. Sig Hole 21 plays over/around a large wetland bowl that will make you think twice. There were some other interesting holes, and although I can't recall their numbers, Sandy Creek keeps you engaged the entire round. Fun to play and challenging at the same time.
• Routing/navigation, I had a guide and was enjoying their company more so than paying attention to where the next tee was. The course takes you to several different sections of the park, and you'll have to cross the park road a few times to get from one section to another. While I don't recall any walks that seemed counter intuitive or unusually long, I can see how the uninitiated might not know where to proceed at these crossings. Follow the map, look for the signs... you should be OK.
Cons: Hole 10 plays near the tennis court and close to a park road. While I wouldn't say it's a glaring design flaw or major concern, unlike pedestrian traffic (likely to pass safely out of the way in 30 seconds or so), tennis players are right where they're supposed to be, aren't going anywhere, and probably aren't listening for people yelling "FORE!" Caution and common sense should avoid any issues, but I have to question routing a hole that can bring such an obstacle into play. Other than that, most holes play well away from non-DG traffic.
•Tee signs don't indicate the current pin position - be prepared to walk a few fairways.
• I spotted quite a few hairy Poison Ivy vines - beware.
• Hole 8 has been removed and the subsequent holes haven't been renumbered.
• Tons of leaves in the woods during fall/winter can make finding even good shots time-consuming: stock your bag accordingly if possible. Listed more as a warning than a con.
Other Thoughts: Sandy Creek is a great course, a fun round and offers something for everyone - worthy of consideration if you're visiting the area.

The wooded holes all come one after another toward the end of the round (in a somewhat unrelenting fashion), before finally concluding with an open hole, rather than being interspersed with more open holes. If that seems a bit overwhelming (or monotonous), you can easily park near holes 14, 19, or 21 and start with a few holes in the woods, saving the more open holes (1-9) for the middle of your round, then finishing up back in the woods... the order you read the chapters in can make big difference. I like courses that make it easy to start at several different points - also nice for leagues, tournies or heavy casual traffic.

I can't complain about the $3 fee ($2 to enter + $1 for DG) as the course seems well maintained.

Some claim the course is too tight/too difficult. I'm an 850'ish rated player. I played the blues and got shredded; but the blues are supposed to be challenging for Advanced players - I was in over my head. The red, white and blue tees were quite well suited to Rec, Int, and Adv skill levels. If you choose to spar with heavyweights, don't complain if you get KO'd… jump over to white or red on holes that look more intimidating to you if that's what makes the round more enjoyable.

Sandy Creek may be more difficult than some courses, but all the tees give you a fair target and I saw nothing that seemed to draw upon luck more than skill. That said, I'm sure recovering from bad shots is a lot tougher in spring and summer - to be expected on any well wooded course.

I hemmed and hawed between 3.5 and 4, but liked the variety and elevation enough to say it's closer to excellent than very good.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in the Athens Area

5+    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: hallroyal
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout of course from super challenging to interesting and technical! Great concrete tee pads on (almost) all holes. Clean and beautiful/ well kept fairways and woods, except for poison ivy. Well thought out course with different pin positions and on almost all holes three different tee pads.
Cons: Some of the signage is ambiguous and wrong. Hole 8 has been missing for at least three years! Some holes are longer pars in certain tee positions but doesn't say if that is the same for each tee pad. In my experience pay to play courses have benches throughout course and are on top of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: I don't understand why it costs the disc golf players extra when the lake users, trail users, and all other park services cost less. That extra money should go back into the course and in disc golf programs at Sandy Creek, in my opinion.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Sandy Dandy!

2-4    4/21/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 216  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sandy Creek DGC is a well rounded course with 22 holes that have many interesting looks. The equipment is all proper, concrete tees (often multiple) and signs with maps and distances for all pin positions, and good Innova baskets. A practice basket is near the first parking lot, and score cards are available at the entrance, I think. The course provides challenging holes through out, as well as some shorter looks. The setting transitions from open and grassy to wooded as you move from hole eleven onto twelve. Lengths and directions are constantly changing as the course snakes through the wooded slopes. It stays like that except for the last hole, which is long and wide open. Elements of elevation are incorporated, but usually subtle. Some water is present, but not too menacing.

The front half is typically open and fairly flat, with length mostly medium longish. I really like the second half better, as the trees shape fairways that are tighter, and more challenging. The contours of the terrain are also more noticeable and become a factor more consistantly.
Cons: There is little downside to this course, but being picky, I would say the layout is a little choppy in places, so a map is helpful. Hole 8 has been removed since my last visit, making the course 22 holes instead of 23. This is a multi-use park, so other people may be around the course, so be careful. Admission is $2 per person, a good value in my opinion. However smoking and alcohol are prohibited.
Other Thoughts: Sandy Creek is a very fun course too me, and worth checking out. The quality is good overall, but the wooded portion on the second half contains a number of great holes, if you go for that. Park also has swimming area, tennis courts, dog parks, playgrounds, and more. Gates lock at closing, so allow plenty of time to finish all 22 holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My "Go To" Course

5+    3/27/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I play this course close to 3 or 4 times a month. The greatest thing about this course is the ease of play. The holes are very accurately marked and finding the next hole is very easy. I would still advise printing or getting a map and score card at the front office. The last five holes are like going to your favorite concert and getting a five song encore after the first show! How can you hate a 23 hole course? The course challenges you to have and use your whole arsenal of skill shots. This is a great course to play with friends.
Cons: Well... seeing how i play this course so frequently, it has developed into my favorite area course. Somone who has never played it will probably find the "Pay to Play" an insult to disc golf. It's not expensive and the course is well manicured and the park needs to gain some sort of profit to keep the course cut and clean. Just bite your tounge and you will come out enjoying the experience. Also, The last 11 holes are wooded. I don't mean, hey lets go chill by that tree, man. I mean, the woods have a tendency to eat multiple discs at a time. A glutten for flying plastic. Some areas are WAY too tight, while other spots make you split two trees five feet apart, just to hit the fairway. All and all, nothing to get your panties in a wad, but if you think the Disc Gods frown apon you in the woods and wonder why the lumber company doesn't pay you for all the trees you cut down, you will be overly frustrated. Last, make sure you check the weather on the day your plannin on going. It can get real windy on the open part of the course, and when it does, your hyzer will have been injected with SUPER ROIDS! Kiss it good by if your near the numerous woods.
Other Thoughts: Ok... this is my hometown course. If you play this course and don't enjoy your time in this beautiful park, email me and I will renounce my remarks.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy Creek

1    0/0/0000   9/13/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow, what a course, a full 23 holes of pure disc golf fun. I hate to overuse the term "good mix" but how else could I possible explain this course? It started with some open holes with generous obstacles and then introduced you to the woods and some really great holes. There is a great amount of land used with plenty of elevation changes and the designers seemed to use it perfectly. You will enjoy some lake views on a couple of the holes too. The course seems to be maintained nicely and the grass seems to cut often.

You will find an assortment of shot types needed to score well. You will generally see a little bit of everything disc golf has to offer and then some. Difficulty, beauty, frustration, easiness, fun, tiredness, long shots, short shots, blind shots, Hyzers shots, anhyzer shots, finesse shots, distance, and accuracy. You will find that all are here. While redundant I list them out individually to make a point. They really are all here. You will also find a wide assortment of distances as well. The longer holes generally offer more difficulty while the shorter holes seem to ask for accuracy and good placement. There are three tee pads for the majority of the course with only a few holes that have the blue and white tees sharing the pad. The red pads are relatively short. They are a great choice for the novice/junior player. It is really nice that the course caterers to players of all skill levels. There are also multiple basket locations and so you can expect some variations as well.

The course itself is in a clean and safe park. Trash is almost non existent. There is ample parking, clean restrooms, and a water fountain in the welcome center. The folks in the security shack at the entrance to the park were very friendly and seemed eager to answer my questions. They handed me a score card with map printed on the back and that was very helpful.

Concrete tees pads are here and they are roomy and in great shape. The tee signs are also in good shape and are very informative. They map out the hole, show the tee pads and baskets, and lastly show the distances and par.
Cons: There are no indications of pin placements and it is a little distracting. It requires a walk down the fairway on some of the holes to find out where the pin is set. There are also some areas that are tough to navigate without a map on your first time out. Be sure to grab a map.

I would like to see some more benches, trashcans, etc. Also it will cost you a few bucks to play but it is worth it.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the area. In my opinion this is one of the top courses in the metro Atlanta area in terms of variety, difficulty, and challenge. With the three tee pads at varied lengths and difficulty, players at all levels should be able to have a good time. Enjoy!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 so glad i played this course

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: 3monsterboys
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course is a well thought out course. nice open shots as well as some pretty technical wooded shots. when i was playing i felt this course was a mix between alexander park and east roswell. the tee pads are big so you have a bit of room for foot work. 23 holes, need i say more!
Cons: ant hills! my disc was sitting on a few hills durring our round. fatigue, i love playing dg but after a round of 23 i was pretty much done.
Other Thoughts: really fun course! all the holes have there own special view. i love hole 11 probably my favorite hole i've played yet (i just love the water).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  tons of fun

5+    4/19/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: tookiebird
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: shot variety is great between the trees and elevation changes. a long course--23 holes. about half open field and half wooded. very well-maintained with ample facilities and trash cans. this course is just tons of fun.
Cons: anthills.
Other Thoughts: definitely worth a detour if you're in the area. small fee to play, but you can see that they use it well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ant Hill City!

1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Nightcrawlerdcl
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of wide open, narrow, wooded, and grassy holes. You sometimes have to play around a few unnatural obstacles as well, which adds a challenge.
Naturally, the added tee boxes help those with limited experience.

The scorecard and map was handy at times, although it still took me a while to figure out the course flow.

I also had a very favorable round, except for hole 21.
Cons: Ant hills!

In all of the wide open holes (1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 23) there are tons of ant hills all over the place, including one at the base of the basket, and a couple bordering the tee boxes.

Hole 21 was a huge pain.

Especially in the woods, the holes start to overlap. I actually wound up throwing at the wrong basket on one hole. That hurt my score!

More benches and trash cans would be helpful. The course was quite clean, for the most part, but particularly due to the course length, more rest areas would be a huge help.
Other Thoughts: Being only the second course I have ever played, I don't have much with which to compare it.

I decided to take the challenge and use the blue tees!

Seeing as how I had a large number of near miss, "no way" lucky shots, I couldn't complain, even when I missed several putts on the front nine.

23 holes is an unusual number, but you will need to stay focused. Fatigue will definitely be a factor when playing this course, and some of the later wooded holes are not forgiving. (Yes, I'm talking about you, hole 21!)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/8/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: Sea Bass
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Teepads. The pads are huge, cement, and very well thought out.Each pad provides the correct amount of difficulty for the level of player that it was intended for.Shorts are great for families and beginners, middles are tough but not overwhelming, and the longs should challenge just about anyone.

-Fairways are fair. If you throw the correct shot you will be rewarded, poor shots will be punished.

-Great park support. I played here a week after death snow 09' in athens. It looked like a few holes had been hit by some large branch loss (11) and it was already in the process of being removed.

-Easy to follow.In the open its obvious where to go next and there are pointers in the woods.Get the scorecard at the gate.There is a good map on the back that will help with the 2 confusing spots.

-Overall great design.This course uses the land provided to the fullest.All of your shots will be tested, and not much luck will come into play.A true test of skill.

-Fun to play.Always the most important for me.
Cons: -I would like to see some benches and trash cans.More of a pet peeve then anything.

-Signs are all on long pads.On most holes you will walk by them if you are playing the shorter pads.Distances and pin positions seem well marked, But if you are playing here for the first time you will have to walk up to spot the pin on a few holes.

-Hole 8's basket is too close to a building and a garden for my taste.

-I have seen people fishing right behind 11's basket.I'm not a local here, so I dont know if it happens often.

-I can see people getting confused finding 9, 22, and 23's tee but I never had a problem.Course flow is great and the scorecard map is excellent.
Other Thoughts: The last time I played here I played with my friend who has only been playing for 2 months, at the very short herman michael course nearby.We played the middle tees.I felt challenged and grinded out a 1 under (54 par....with 5 bogies) and he was not overwhelmed and shot right about what he should (mid to upper 60's) for his skill.In the past when I have played the longs I felt that they certainly humbled me, and should challenge most players.However, it would not shock me to see some of the better open division players put up some very low scores.The fact that all skill levels are challenged, but feel the chance to shoot well when their game is on, is a sure sign of a great course to me.

EDIT-I just realised that in the above paragraph I called par 54.What I meant is All par 3's.That put me at 68 for 23 holes, with my friend most likely being in the 12-15 over range. Sorry about that.

Dont worry about the cons here, this is a can't miss course if you are in the area.Awesome design, fun for all skill levels, this course has it all.I will definitely play here whenever I am in athens and I recommend that you do too.

Love that guys hat in the pictures......

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.