Athens, GA 
Sandy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #21 (Taken 12/2009)
3 / 130ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #21 Tee Sign

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

5+    10/10/2015   12/19/2014
Review By: Didn'tSeeThatTree
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2015
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: UPDATED 10/15/2015 - Trying to redeem myself for a lazy first attempt at a review.

- Fun balance of open and wooded technical shots with a few grip it and rip it holes. Plus there are 22 holes!! The more the better IMHO.

- Recovery potential if your tee shot goes off the fairway. Some courses feel like the penalty is too high for going off the fairway, and others don't hurt you enough. Sandy Creek feels right. I've been of the fairway a ton, but rarely do I have to just pitch out...maybe 1/5 time is there no chance of still advancing. mostly I have to decide between a risky but possible shot up towards the pin, or a safe pitch-out. Rarely is a pitch-out the only option.

- Well maintained public park with clean bathrooms, and there are even some new benches on a few holes.

- The best course in the Athens area. Herman C Micheal is the only other course within 30 minutes, and it's good for a quick round, but Sandy Creek is the best in the area.

- No real water hazard to lose a disc into. I personally hate losing a disc. Throwing over water is fun, but as I play this course a bunch I enjoy not having to get wet looking for my errant shots.

- Lots of variety on the course. There is a good mix of open and wooded. Multiple tee pads/pin locations. I almost always play from the white tees, occasionally the blue when I'm feeling frisky. My wife comes along occasionally and has fun playing from the red tees.

Here is my hole by hole break down, some of the cons are in here, but the diversity of this course to me is the biggest Pro so I'm listing this here:
1) Mostly open. Longest hole requires a placement tee shot to have a good look at landing your second near the pin. OB road left and wooded area to the right. Also, a row of tall trees line the fairway along the road that seem to come into play often. (Side note: Should probably be a par 4 not a 5 in the normal long position. I played a round with Doug Porter (designer) and he explained the intended long position isn't used because of a potential safety issue with a blind approach shot over a walking path so they had to shorten the hole approx. 150')

2) Mostly open with trouble on both sides. Really fun downhill shot. Not really a long par 4 from the white tees. With a good drive you could have a look a an eagle 2. (I never have, but someone with a bigger arm than me definitely could). Be careful not to hyzer (RHBH) out too bad left...the tall grass is a disc thief.

3) Wide tunnel shot. Solid hole in either pin position. Good birdie potential from the white tee. The blue tee is tucked back making the initial gap between two trees much more intimidating.

4) Open with trouble around pin. Ace run!! but be careful not to sail past for a long comeback putt. Probably the shortest hole. Pretty easy 2 if you don't get greedy with your tee shot.

5) Uphill with OB along left side. There is a smallish gap between two thickets that your tee shot has to make it through for a birdie look. I don't hit it often, but it is really satisfying when I do!

6) I hate this hole, not because it's bad...I just take a lot of bogeys. The normal pin location (past the cedar tree) requires a big shot to have a birdie look. The BH line feels like there is a luck factor for a look at 2. the FH route feels safer to me, but you would have to have a cannon to get inside the circle.

7) Open hole with basket on a ridge. I like the FH option since there a some trees right off the tee that can get a BH in trouble.

8) HOLE REMOVED - Discs used to land on the roof, and the story I've heard is some moron took the furniture out of the center to climb up and retrieve a disc and left it outside to get rained on...thanks pal!

9) Another FH/BH choice. There is an initial tree to clear for the FH, but it's clear from there. Hit the tree, and bogey is possible. The BH route is safer and more open at first, but there is a row of trees which can knock the shot down early.

10) Open with a few trees to dodge. There so many routes from the white tee. RHBH hyzer skip shot off the road, putter or mid straight up the gut, or FH over the tennis courts. Pretty get-able birdie. The blue tee is super fun on this hole too.

11) Good challenge. Tight tee shot and tucked pin. the first 100' off the tee has a number of pine trees to work around, but it's wide open from there until the pin. I've had good success with a flex FH that finishes into the pocket where the basket is tucked. Really satisfying birdie if you can get it.

12) Wooded par 4. Requires a straight tee shot to have a good approach. Going right or left off the fairway makes getting to the circle in two very tough. A smarter player than me would probably throw a putter or mid off the tee to make sure they had a clean look on their second shot. I'm not a smart man, so I find myself off the fairway more often than not.

13) Wooded tight with ravine to contend with. The normal pin location seems to be long near the walkway, which seems to require a tight RHBH flex shot or dead straight 300' shot (which I don't have) to get a birdie look. I don't think I've ever birdied this hole location, but it sure is a fun challenge. A putter or mid of the tee is a good way to avoid trouble, but will probably not get a birdie look.

14) Short wooded tunnel shot. The designer said this was not the original hole 14, but a temporary location that wound up being permanent. Kind of a throw away hole.

15) Very tight wooded. IMHO the worst hole on the course. This is the only hole that I don't see how to get a look at birdie without some luck involved. There is a cluster of trees 80' off the tee with no real line to the pin. It feels like luck every time a tee shot gets through clean, and even then it's rare to be within 60' of the pin.

16) Wooded slightly to right with pin on slope. Another hole with a really cool blue tee that is fun to try. The BH line requires a straight or slight turn-over. I normally throw a FH off the white tee and hope for a good skip off the hill leading to the basket.

17) Wooded par 4 with trouble left and right on tee shot. Really fun tunnel shot down an old logging road. There are two gaps to land in. The shorter gap is a nice RHFH line, and if you can hit the long gap and get up the hill much then birdie should be easy. Anything off the fairway, and you will be scrambling to save par.

18) Slightly uphill wooded with tree right in the middle. Not much to say about this hole. Miss the tree and you should be in good shape.

19) Fun downhill wooded shot. Throw a slight turn over with a putter and watch it glide! Or in my case turn it over too much and watch it kick into the woods! Throwing a flick FH works, but stopping in time can be a challenge I think the original blue tee is no longer used. There seems to be both blue and white marks on the middle tee box.

20) Kind of like hole 18. Not much to say on this one...wooded..uphill. No tree in the center like 18, but similar shot to execute for a birdie look.

21) YES!!! Wooded with a wetland bowl to clear. Elevation change and a low canopy that forces you to hit a tight line. I've always really liked this hole. Clearing the swamp is always a fist pump moment. This to me is the signature hole at Sandy Creek.

22) Another good wooded hole. Par 4 with both a right and left fairway. There is a thicket of trees and light brush in the middle...somehow I'm here more often than in one of the fairways. There are so many routes/combinations of throws to take on this hole, it's really a good one. It was intimidating until I could throw a FH, now it's one of my favorites.

23) Wide open par 4. Big arms, or good rollers might even get a look at an eagle! Great way to finish, very fun to grip it and rip it after all the tight lines through the woods of hole 12-22 .
Cons: Mostly just gripes...Other than the few "Meh" holes I have no issue with the course and would highly recommend it to anyone. Might not be the best beginner course I know I struggled to break 100 when I first started playing, but still a beautiful park and a good walk through the woods.

- Pin location rarely changes. The potential for more variety is there...just not utilized

- No league play and few tournaments. This doesn't take away from how great the course is. I just personally would like to see a few more events at this course. I'm glad there is a random draw doubles at nearby Herman C. Michael, and hats off to the people that make that happen. Sandy Creek seems like a good place for more tournaments. If you build it they will come right?

- Fire ants and poison where you stand.

- No more hole 8.

- Park hours limit playing time. Closed on Mondays and not open at first light.

- People littering on course. Not a con against the course. Just a reminder...if you can carry it in full you can carry it out empty! This said Sandy Creek is a really clean park overall. I just shake my head every time I have to clean up someone's trash on the course.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully more people discover this gem. It is rarely crowded (I should list that in the Pros hehe). I live 15 minutes from this course, and probably play here 5-10 times per month and never get bored of it.

It is $3 ($2 park, $1 disc golf) If you are a regular look into buying a park pass and punch card. The pass is $40/year and the card is $10 for 12 rounds. I got a pass this year, and would guess I've played 60 times so far. That's probably $80-$100 I've saved...who am I kidding...I spent it on plastic :)

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Open and Closed

1    3/20/2014   3/20/2014
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 41  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a HUGE park that was very well maintained.
The baskets are Discatchers and in good shape.
The sign were very accurate and gave all the distances and pin positions.
Most holes had 3 different tees that changed the lengths of the holes quite a bit.
The tee pads on this course were grippy and in great shape.
The first 7-8 holes are fairly open and use a few trees, distance and elevation to challenge the players.
Holes 10-22 are in the woods and are very technical.
You will have to play all the shots to get around this course.
Good shots will yield lots of birdies on this course, but poor shots could result in some BIG numbers
The paths on the holes and from basket to the next tee were really nice and easy to follow.
Cons: Even though the course tells you that hole 8 is missing, we had a difficult time finding hole 9 from 7's basket.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place to play disc golf. Beginners can have a good time from the red tees, while intermediate players will be tested from the white tee and advanced players can get all they want from the blue tees. I come to this area at least a couple of times a year and will definitely return to this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  A Solid Model

1    10/17/2012   10/19/2012
Review By: Smoothbore
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete pads through the whole course.
A great balance between open-spaced holes and closed-in wooded holes.
I barely used my course map during the wooded section (plenty of signs there). I had a guide for the first 7.
Cons: One hole was missing its sign.
Ants were abundant, but not a huge obstacle.

Other Thoughts: Loved this course. The park is amazing, too, which only added to the experience. I played in the late afternoon of a weekday, so I would imagine that this place is packed on a weekend; especially during nice weather.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    1/29/2011   2/2/2011
Review By: genxer36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Wide open for the first 10 holes. With good challenging woody holes. 3 tees & 3 basket options per hole. Concrete tees.
Cons: Hole #8 closed. Long course for a beginner, like me. Need better signage for directions to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Played it Saturday with my son. We enjoyed the course. Well worth the $6(sign said $2 to park, $1 per person to play, but was charged $6, not sure if weekends are more, no big deal) Still cheaper than Ft. Yargo & much nicer. We played to #17 & were worn out & decided to call it a day. Next time we will start on #9.

Had a difficult time finding the next tee boxes on many holes. The signs they had were about 20 yards or more from the last hole on a post with a 1" square sign saying next tee. Either move the signs closer to the hole or get bigger signs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Crouse

5+    7/1/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: Alan.D
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Multiple tee pads and pin locations
-A wide variety of shots required
-You will see very few holes the same
-Very good use of land
-In and out of woods
-Multiple approaches to almost all holes
-Clean for the most part
Cons: -It is still hard enough from the Red tees as to shy away new players.
-Long course, even though most of it is in woods, it will fatigue you.
-No benches or water fountains (didn't effect my score but others may find it off putting)
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have played. Holes make you think about your approach, and can make different approaches on most holes. Hard enough for anyone, while different tees makes it playable for most players. Bring water no matter what time of year, you will need it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/1/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Steve Adams
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful & challenging course. Nearly every hole has some type risk associated with it. There are so many great holes, it's hard to pick a favorite. But 21 is pretty awesome-driving through the narrow fairway, across the bowl, to the basket ontop the far bank.
Cons: Walk from 21 basket to 22 tee pad has to cross #13 fairway.
It's not within 5-10 miles of my house.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for the final 4 hole to be put in, making this a 27 hole "must play" course.
Park personnel are very 'disc golf' friendly.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    10/14/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: rgarcia140
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course I've played yet, lots of open field drives par 3, and tight wooded, long par 4. very well manicured, very pretty landscape, Dog Allowed! I Love It.
Cons: they should finish up making the last 4 holes. A little better markers directing to the next tee woulb nice on the first 14 holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A+ Course

2-4    10/7/2008   10/7/2008
Review By: abarger1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Great course! Wide variety of holes. The first 11 are all very open and then the next 12 are through the woods. Located in the middle of a great park so after a round of disc golf you can visit the lake or even camp there if you have to. Has great upkeep, the holes always look nice with little to no trash. 3 different concrete tee boxes and maps of the holes on each tee. Also has 3 different hole locations the hole feels new every time you visit.
Cons: The pay to play kind of stinks. Its $2 to get into the park and $1 to play. If you want a disc golf membership for the local players you have to get a park membership too which totals out to be $55 for a year. If i had to get picky i would water fountains??
Other Thoughts: There are more holes to come! When its all done there will be 27. Hooray!!

P.S: If anyone finds a pink innova eagle on #13 please let me know!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth admission price.

8/7/2007   12/25/2007
Review By: mactavius
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout. Concrete tees. The wood's holes are challenging (especially #12). First 11 holes fairly open though use natural foliage wisely. The rest (excluding the closing hole) are a true test of skill and placement.
Cons: Not the easiest course to walk
Other Thoughts: PDGA Open Qualifier held here in the spring of 2007. 22 holes and counting.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.