Athens, GA 
Sandy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #22 (Taken 12/2009)
3 / 250ft.   4 / 335ft.   4 / 335ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #22 Basket to Tee: Pin Position C



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Open and Closed

1    3/20/2014   3/20/2014
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a HUGE park that was very well maintained.
The baskets are Discatchers and in good shape.
The sign were very accurate and gave all the distances and pin positions.
Most holes had 3 different tees that changed the lengths of the holes quite a bit.
The tee pads on this course were grippy and in great shape.
The first 7-8 holes are fairly open and use a few trees, distance and elevation to challenge the players.
Holes 10-22 are in the woods and are very technical.
You will have to play all the shots to get around this course.
Good shots will yield lots of birdies on this course, but poor shots could result in some BIG numbers
The paths on the holes and from basket to the next tee were really nice and easy to follow.
Cons: Even though the course tells you that hole 8 is missing, we had a difficult time finding hole 9 from 7's basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a play for play course. $2 per person to get in the park and $1 per round of disc golf. I didn't list this as a con because it was worth it. This course is a great place to play disc golf. Beginners can have a good time from the red tees, while intermediate players will be tested from the white tee and advanced players can get all they want from the blue tees. I come to this area at least a couple of times a year and will definitely return to this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Model

1    10/17/2012   10/19/2012
Review By: Smoothbore
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete pads through the whole course.
A great balance between open-spaced holes and closed-in wooded holes.
I barely used my course map during the wooded section (plenty of signs there). I had a guide for the first 7.
Cons: One hole was missing its sign.
Ants were abundant, but not a huge obstacle.

Other Thoughts: Loved this course. The park is amazing, too, which only added to the experience. I played in the late afternoon of a weekday, so I would imagine that this place is packed on a weekend; especially during nice weather.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    1/29/2011   2/2/2011
Review By: genxer36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Wide open for the first 10 holes. With good challenging woody holes. 3 tees & 3 basket options per hole. Concrete tees.
Cons: Hole #8 closed. Long course for a beginner, like me. Need better signage for directions to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Played it Saturday with my son. We enjoyed the course. Well worth the $6(sign said $2 to park, $1 per person to play, but was charged $6, not sure if weekends are more, no big deal) Still cheaper than Ft. Yargo & much nicer. We played to #17 & were worn out & decided to call it a day. Next time we will start on #9.

Had a difficult time finding the next tee boxes on many holes. The signs they had were about 20 yards or more from the last hole on a post with a 1" square sign saying next tee. Either move the signs closer to the hole or get bigger signs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Crouse

5+    7/1/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: Alan.D
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Multiple tee pads and pin locations
-A wide variety of shots required
-You will see very few holes the same
-Very good use of land
-In and out of woods
-Multiple approaches to almost all holes
-Clean for the most part
Cons: -It is still hard enough from the Red tees as to shy away new players.
-Long course, even though most of it is in woods, it will fatigue you.
-No benches or water fountains (didn't effect my score but others may find it off putting)
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have played. Holes make you think about your approach, and can make different approaches on most holes. Hard enough for anyone, while different tees makes it playable for most players. Bring water no matter what time of year, you will need it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    11/1/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Steve Adams
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful & challenging course. Nearly every hole has some type risk associated with it. There are so many great holes, it's hard to pick a favorite. But 21 is pretty awesome-driving through the narrow fairway, across the bowl, to the basket ontop the far bank.
Cons: Walk from 21 basket to 22 tee pad has to cross #13 fairway.
It's not within 5-10 miles of my house.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for the final 4 hole to be put in, making this a 27 hole "must play" course.
Park personnel are very 'disc golf' friendly.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/14/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: rgarcia140
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the best course I've played yet, lots of open field drives par 3, and tight wooded, long par 4. very well manicured, very pretty landscape, Dog Allowed! I Love It.
Cons: they should finish up making the last 4 holes. A little better markers directing to the next tee woulb nice on the first 14 holes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A+ Course

2-4    10/7/2008   10/7/2008
Review By: abarger1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great Great course! Wide variety of holes. The first 11 are all very open and then the next 12 are through the woods. Located in the middle of a great park so after a round of disc golf you can visit the lake or even camp there if you have to. Has great upkeep, the holes always look nice with little to no trash. 3 different concrete tee boxes and maps of the holes on each tee. Also has 3 different hole locations the hole feels new every time you visit.
Cons: The pay to play kind of stinks. Its $2 to get into the park and $1 to play. If you want a disc golf membership for the local players you have to get a park membership too which totals out to be $55 for a year. If i had to get picky i would say....no water fountains??
Other Thoughts: There are more holes to come! When its all done there will be 27. Hooray!!


P.S: If anyone finds a pink innova eagle on #13 please let me know!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth admission price.

8/7/2007   12/25/2007
Review By: mactavius
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout. Concrete tees. The wood's holes are challenging (especially #12). First 11 holes fairly open though use natural foliage wisely. The rest (excluding the closing hole) are a true test of skill and placement.
Cons: Not the easiest course to walk
Other Thoughts: PDGA Open Qualifier held here in the spring of 2007. 22 holes and counting.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.