Athens, GA 
Sandy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #2 (Taken 12/2009)
4 / 340ft.   4 / 430ft.   4 / 555ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Mid-Fairway: Pin Position C



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  A Solid Model

1    10/17/2012   10/19/2012
Review By: Smoothbore
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete pads through the whole course.
A great balance between open-spaced holes and closed-in wooded holes.
I barely used my course map during the wooded section (plenty of signs there). I had a guide for the first 7.
Cons: One hole was missing its sign.
Ants were abundant, but not a huge obstacle.

Other Thoughts: Loved this course. The park is amazing, too, which only added to the experience. I played in the late afternoon of a weekday, so I would imagine that this place is packed on a weekend; especially during nice weather.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    1/29/2011   2/2/2011
Review By: genxer36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Wide open for the first 10 holes. With good challenging woody holes. 3 tees & 3 basket options per hole. Concrete tees.
Cons: Hole #8 closed. Long course for a beginner, like me. Need better signage for directions to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Played it Saturday with my son. We enjoyed the course. Well worth the $6(sign said $2 to park, $1 per person to play, but was charged $6, not sure if weekends are more, no big deal) Still cheaper than Ft. Yargo & much nicer. We played to #17 & were worn out & decided to call it a day. Next time we will start on #9.

Had a difficult time finding the next tee boxes on many holes. The signs they had were about 20 yards or more from the last hole on a post with a 1" square sign saying next tee. Either move the signs closer to the hole or get bigger signs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    5/11/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: bhuff
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course. Good mix of wooded and open holes. 1-10,23 are pretty open holes with a few tight shots required. 11-22 are in the woods and require more precise shots to par. Blue, white, and red cemented tee boxes with 3 different basket locations. Not much water to deal with other than a marsh on hole 21 that is pretty nasty (lay up if your playing from blues).
Cons: Cost $2 parking $1 to play, but not too bad. Closed Mondays. Hole 17 is way to tough, to tight and long for par 3.
Other Thoughts: Overall fun course. I play it 2-3 times a week and still haven't gotten par. Can be -3 going into hole 12 (wooded holes) and come out +3. Clean park, friendly staff. Theres a beach and fishing permitted as well if your planning on making a trip out with the family.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cool course, bro.

1    4/8/2010   4/10/2010
Review By: Subicon
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course was well-maintained and in good shape. It has concrete tee pads on every hole for all level of players instead of just for the pro/blue tees. The majority of the holes are easy to navigate. The first nine holes would be awesome for a lefty.
Cons: The course map leaves a lot to be desired. It caused more confusion than anything, but thankfully by hole three, there were plenty of signs pointing to the next tee. Most of the first nine holes go to the right, so if you're right handed, bring an understable disc.

I'm fairly new to disc golfing (been playing 11 months), and thus I am still acquiring a taste for technical courses. At my current level of play, it would be impossible for me to get close to par on this course. The majority of the holes are through the woods and very long. Maybe I should have played from the red tees, because my score dropped like a rock once I was in the woods. I have played other technical courses, but this is definitely the hardest so far. This course is just not meant for newbies.
Other Thoughts: I know I will probably get a lot of people rating my review as "not helpful", but whatever. This course was just too hard for me from the blue tees.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My "Go To" Course

5+    3/27/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I play this course close to 3 or 4 times a month. The greatest thing about this course is the ease of play. The holes are very accurately marked and finding the next hole is very easy. I would still advise printing or getting a map and score card at the front office. The last five holes are like going to your favorite concert and getting a five song encore after the first show! How can you hate a 23 hole course? The course challenges you to have and use your whole arsenal of skill shots. This is a great course to play with friends.
Cons: Well... seeing how i play this course so frequently, it has developed into my favorite area course. Somone who has never played it will probably find the "Pay to Play" an insult to disc golf. It's not expensive and the course is well manicured and the park needs to gain some sort of profit to keep the course cut and clean. Just bite your tounge and you will come out enjoying the experience. Also, The last 11 holes are wooded. I don't mean, hey lets go chill by that tree, man. I mean, the woods have a tendency to eat multiple discs at a time. A glutten for flying plastic. Some areas are WAY too tight, while other spots make you split two trees five feet apart, just to hit the fairway. All and all, nothing to get your panties in a wad, but if you think the Disc Gods frown apon you in the woods and wonder why the lumber company doesn't pay you for all the trees you cut down, you will be overly frustrated. Last, make sure you check the weather on the day your plannin on going. It can get real windy on the open part of the course, and when it does, your hyzer will have been injected with SUPER ROIDS! Kiss it good by if your near the numerous woods.
Other Thoughts: Ok... this is my hometown course. If you play this course and don't enjoy your time in this beautiful park, email me and I will renounce my remarks.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy Creek

1    0/0/0000   9/13/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 95  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow, what a course, a full 23 holes of pure disc golf fun. I hate to overuse the term "good mix" but how else could I possible explain this course? It started with some open holes with generous obstacles and then introduced you to the woods and some really great holes. There is a great amount of land used with plenty of elevation changes and the designers seemed to use it perfectly. You will enjoy some lake views on a couple of the holes too. The course seems to be maintained nicely and the grass seems to cut often.

You will find an assortment of shot types needed to score well. You will generally see a little bit of everything disc golf has to offer and then some. Difficulty, beauty, frustration, easiness, fun, tiredness, long shots, short shots, blind shots, Hyzers shots, anhyzer shots, finesse shots, distance, and accuracy. You will find that all are here. While redundant I list them out individually to make a point. They really are all here. You will also find a wide assortment of distances as well. The longer holes generally offer more difficulty while the shorter holes seem to ask for accuracy and good placement. There are three tee pads for the majority of the course with only a few holes that have the blue and white tees sharing the pad. The red pads are relatively short. They are a great choice for the novice/junior player. It is really nice that the course caterers to players of all skill levels. There are also multiple basket locations and so you can expect some variations as well.

The course itself is in a clean and safe park. Trash is almost non existent. There is ample parking, clean restrooms, and a water fountain in the welcome center. The folks in the security shack at the entrance to the park were very friendly and seemed eager to answer my questions. They handed me a score card with map printed on the back and that was very helpful.

Concrete tees pads are here and they are roomy and in great shape. The tee signs are also in good shape and are very informative. They map out the hole, show the tee pads and baskets, and lastly show the distances and par.
Cons: There are no indications of pin placements and it is a little distracting. It requires a walk down the fairway on some of the holes to find out where the pin is set. There are also some areas that are tough to navigate without a map on your first time out. Be sure to grab a map.

I would like to see some more benches, trashcans, etc. Also it will cost you a few bucks to play but it is worth it.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the area. In my opinion this is one of the top courses in the metro Atlanta area in terms of variety, difficulty, and challenge. With the three tee pads at varied lengths and difficulty, players at all levels should be able to have a good time. Enjoy!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet Park in the Countryside

2-4    8/4/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenic, quiet park in the countryside that will challenge all of your game. The park is well maintained and though you pay $3, you get a nice 23 hole gem in an area sadly lacking of courses. I really like the multiple teepads and the wonderful signage. Really easy to find your way around. The layout is trees and field through the first 11, then sends you into thick woods for the latter half.
Cons: Though I really enjoy the course, a couple of the holes on the front nine are too open (7,8,23) , and a few on the back are almost too narrow for their length, leaving no room for any kind of flex shot (to give the distance you need to get par). A few holes in the woods seem like repeats of each other (the shorter ones). Navigation is tough finding hole 9 and 23, perhaps a "next tee" sign could be placed on these.
Other Thoughts: Kudos that they have posted some par 4's and required the golfer to use effective placement in order to achieve par instead of using length alone to bump up the par

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 so glad i played this course

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: 3monsterboys
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course is a well thought out course. nice open shots as well as some pretty technical wooded shots. when i was playing i felt this course was a mix between alexander park and east roswell. the tee pads are big so you have a bit of room for foot work. 23 holes, need i say more!
Cons: ant hills! my disc was sitting on a few hills durring our round. fatigue, i love playing dg but after a round of 23 i was pretty much done.
Other Thoughts: really fun course! all the holes have there own special view. i love hole 11 probably my favorite hole i've played yet (i just love the water).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Crouse

5+    7/1/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: Alan.D
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Multiple tee pads and pin locations
-A wide variety of shots required
-You will see very few holes the same
-Very good use of land
-In and out of woods
-Multiple approaches to almost all holes
-Clean for the most part
Cons: -It is still hard enough from the Red tees as to shy away new players.
-Long course, even though most of it is in woods, it will fatigue you.
-No benches or water fountains (didn't effect my score but others may find it off putting)
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have played. Holes make you think about your approach, and can make different approaches on most holes. Hard enough for anyone, while different tees makes it playable for most players. Bring water no matter what time of year, you will need it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  tons of fun

5+    4/19/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: tookiebird
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: shot variety is great between the trees and elevation changes. a long course--23 holes. about half open field and half wooded. very well-maintained with ample facilities and trash cans. this course is just tons of fun.
Cons: anthills.
Other Thoughts: definitely worth a detour if you're in the area. small fee to play, but you can see that they use it well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.