Athens, GA 
Sandy Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: abarger1 Hole #3
3 / 180ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 250ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great balance of open and wooded

1    6/28/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: hellbound
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Got to finally play this course for the first time this weekend and i do have to say wow what a use of land and trees

The frount nine uses mostly open field shots that allow you to open your arm up and get you throw dialed in before hitting the wooded holes. You really have to take a step back and really enjoy the way that some of the trees in the fairways were placed in spots to shape the holes and define the fairways.

Back nine turns into a great change of pace and a place to beat the summer heat. If the frount nine did not beat your score up too bade dont think your going to just cruse on to a great score with the shorter holes. Deifined wooded holes with multiple lines to the holes. As a left handed bh and flick i enjoyed not having to think right handed on all the holes.
Cons: Really my complantes are not much of anything. Talking to a few locals and seeing it first hand the pin locations can be a little tuff to fiquire out. Each hole has three tee pads and three pin locations. (love this by the way.) Can get a little tuff to fiqure out.
Other Thoughts: I will be back. It was a demanding course that offers everything that I love to see in a course and then some. If your one of the few that don't enjoy paying a few bucks to play the course then your missing out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Open and Closed

1    3/20/2014   3/20/2014
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a HUGE park that was very well maintained.
The baskets are Discatchers and in good shape.
The sign were very accurate and gave all the distances and pin positions.
Most holes had 3 different tees that changed the lengths of the holes quite a bit.
The tee pads on this course were grippy and in great shape.
The first 7-8 holes are fairly open and use a few trees, distance and elevation to challenge the players.
Holes 10-22 are in the woods and are very technical.
You will have to play all the shots to get around this course.
Good shots will yield lots of birdies on this course, but poor shots could result in some BIG numbers
The paths on the holes and from basket to the next tee were really nice and easy to follow.
Cons: Even though the course tells you that hole 8 is missing, we had a difficult time finding hole 9 from 7's basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a play for play course. $2 per person to get in the park and $1 per round of disc golf. I didn't list this as a con because it was worth it. This course is a great place to play disc golf. Beginners can have a good time from the red tees, while intermediate players will be tested from the white tee and advanced players can get all they want from the blue tees. I come to this area at least a couple of times a year and will definitely return to this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Over the meadow and through the woods

1    1/1/2014   1/8/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course in a nice park offering several other activities (check their website for details).
•Variety: Welcomes you with several semi-open to lightly wooded, fairly flat holes employing well-placed stands of trees. The initial holes don't necessarily call for oodles of control, but still force you to shape a reasonable line if you hope to putt for par or better. The course then heads into the woods where trees and rolling terrain make things more interesting. A great mix of fairway shapes encourages BH/FH, hyzers/annies, and S-shots. Most tees present a few possible lines to challenge your decision making, but a few pretty much give you only one, defying you to pull it off. Does a decent job of offering a nice variety of lengths within each tee color (rather than forcing you to mix tees up to get a reasonably full range of distances). Throw in some nice elevation changes and a few rollaway greens along the way, and you have a fairly complete course that pretty much gives you a chance to use every shot in your arsenal and challenges all aspects of your game. Rotating A, B, C pin positions provide additional variety for locals.
• Equipment: Red, white and blue concrete tees were in good shape with ample footing. While the blues typically didn't change the line from the red and white tees appreciably, what they do exceptionally well is provide a much smaller window off the tee, requiring both power and finesse - playing in the woods from the blues is where you'll want those oodles of control. Innova baskets were easy to spot and in good shape. Tee signs were simple, informative, assisted in navigation. Scorecard/maps are available.
• Aesthetics: Visually appealing course that takes you through green fields, woods, moderately hilly terrain and offers a couple of lake views, making for a pleasant experience with nature... if you can stay off of the trees.
• Memorable holes: Starts off with the longest hole on the course where you can really let loose right off the bat. Sig Hole 21 plays over/around a large wetland bowl that will make you think twice. There were some other interesting holes, and although I can't recall their numbers, Sandy Creek keeps you engaged the entire round. Fun to play and challenging at the same time.
• Routing/navigation, I had a guide and was enjoying their company more so than paying attention to where the next tee was. The course takes you to several different sections of the park, and you'll have to cross the park road a few times to get from one section to another. While I don't recall any walks that seemed counter intuitive or unusually long, I can see how the uninitiated might not know where to proceed at these crossings. Follow the map, look for the signs... you should be OK.
Cons: Hole 10 plays near the tennis court and close to a park road. While I wouldn't say it's a glaring design flaw or major concern, unlike pedestrian traffic (likely to pass safely out of the way in 30 seconds or so), tennis players are right where they're supposed to be, aren't going anywhere, and probably aren't listening for people yelling "FORE!" Caution and common sense should avoid any issues, but I have to question routing a hole that can bring such an obstacle into play. Other than that, most holes play well away from non-DG traffic.
•Tee signs don't indicate the current pin position - be prepared to walk a few fairways.
• I spotted quite a few hairy Poison Ivy vines - beware.
• Hole 8 has been removed and the subsequent holes haven't been renumbered.
• Tons of leaves in the woods during fall/winter can make finding even good shots time-consuming: stock your bag accordingly if possible. Listed more as a warning than a con.
Other Thoughts: Sandy Creek is a great course, a fun round and offers something for everyone - worthy of consideration if you're visiting the area.

The wooded holes all come one after another toward the end of the round (in a somewhat unrelenting fashion), before finally concluding with an open hole, rather than being interspersed with more open holes. If that seems a bit overwhelming (or monotonous), you can easily park near holes 14, 19, or 21 and start with a few holes in the woods, saving the more open holes (1-9) for the middle of your round, then finishing up back in the woods... the order you read the chapters in can make big difference. I like courses that make it easy to start at several different points - also nice for leagues, tournies or heavy casual traffic.

I can't complain about the $3 fee ($2 to enter + $1 for DG) as the course seems well maintained.

Some claim the course is too tight/too difficult. I'm an 850'ish rated player. I played the blues and got shredded; but the blues are supposed to be challenging for Advanced players - I was in over my head. The red, white and blue tees were quite well suited to Rec, Int, and Adv skill levels. If you choose to spar with heavyweights, don't complain if you get KO'd… jump over to white or red on holes that look more intimidating to you if that's what makes the round more enjoyable.

Sandy Creek may be more difficult than some courses, but all the tees give you a fair target and I saw nothing that seemed to draw upon luck more than skill. That said, I'm sure recovering from bad shots is a lot tougher in spring and summer - to be expected on any well wooded course.

I hemmed and hawed between 3.5 and 4, but liked the variety and elevation enough to say it's closer to excellent than very good.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Challenging Course

5+    10/11/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: umeshc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. This is my home course and I love almost all holes, except some.
2. Good concrete tee pads on all holes with sign. First 10 holes are decent.
3. Multiple tee pads and pin position.
4. Now they have started to mow grasses frequently than they used to be.
5. Good mix of open fairways and woody holes
Cons: 1. Cost to play even after taking $2 for entrance. The cost should go to the improvement of disc golf course but it doesn't seems it is going for disc golf. If my $1 per visit goes just for mowing than where does my $2 goes. At least benches could be placed in each tee pad area that would make me think that my money is well utilized.
2. There are some trees unnecessarily kept in the middle of the fairway. At least one or two trees needs to be cut down in hole number 13, 15, and 16. The skinny tree in hole number 15 from white tee is just so much annoying even though the hole still needs a great technical shot with a danger of death roll at the end.
3. Hole number 8 is missing and it needs to replaced.
4. Multiple placement of pins is annoying sometimes; for example, hole 1, is it par 3 or 4 or 5? I know it is a legit par 3 for pin A and B, but I am confused with pin C, it doesn't seems like 830 ft from the blue tee. Everybody seems to be taking pin c as par 4 but according to sign, it is par 5.
Other Thoughts: It is a good but very challenging course, especially the last 11 holes. Multiple tee pad is definitely a plus which gives opportunity to every level of players. There are a lot of other activities you can do in your visit.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course has potential...

1    9/13/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: parks22
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Diverse course with a good range of open and wooded holes, elevation, and obstacles. Decent course considering not many in the Athens area.
Cons: Poison oak, and poison ivy very bad! This course has potential to be a great course but I think needs a little maintenance work. Some holes are heavily wooded in which one has to cross their fingers not to slam a disc into a tree.
Other Thoughts: Don't think you should have to pay for this course. Still worth checking out if you're in the area but I recommend watching out for the spider webs and poison oak!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in the Athens Area

5+    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: hallroyal
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout of course from super challenging to interesting and technical! Great concrete tee pads on (almost) all holes. Clean and beautiful/ well kept fairways and woods, except for poison ivy. Well thought out course with different pin positions and on almost all holes three different tee pads.
Cons: Some of the signage is ambiguous and wrong. Hole 8 has been missing for at least three years! Some holes are longer pars in certain tee positions but doesn't say if that is the same for each tee pad. In my experience pay to play courses have benches throughout course and are on top of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: I don't understand why it costs the disc golf players extra when the lake users, trail users, and all other park services cost less. That extra money should go back into the course and in disc golf programs at Sandy Creek, in my opinion.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Sandy Dandy!

2-4    4/21/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sandy Creek DGC is a well rounded course with 22 holes that have many interesting looks. The equipment is all proper, concrete tees (often multiple) and signs with maps and distances for all pin positions, and good Innova baskets. A practice basket is near the first parking lot, and score cards are available at the entrance, I think. The course provides challenging holes through out, as well as some shorter looks. The setting transitions from open and grassy to wooded as you move from hole eleven onto twelve. Lengths and directions are constantly changing as the course snakes through the wooded slopes. It stays like that except for the last hole, which is long and wide open. Elements of elevation are incorporated, but usually subtle. Some water is present, but not too menacing.

The front half is typically open and fairly flat, with length mostly medium longish. I really like the second half better, as the trees shape fairways that are tighter, and more challenging. The contours of the terrain are also more noticeable and become a factor more consistantly.
Cons: There is little downside to this course, but being picky, I would say the layout is a little choppy in places, so a map is helpful. Hole 8 has been removed since my last visit, making the course 22 holes instead of 23. This is a multi-use park, so other people may be around the course, so be careful. Admission is $2 per person, a good value in my opinion. However smoking and alcohol are prohibited.
Other Thoughts: Sandy Creek is a very fun course too me, and worth checking out. The quality is good overall, but the wooded portion on the second half contains a number of great holes, if you go for that. Park also has swimming area, tennis courts, dog parks, playgrounds, and more. Gates lock at closing, so allow plenty of time to finish all 22 holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Model

1    10/17/2012   10/19/2012
Review By: Smoothbore
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete pads through the whole course.
A great balance between open-spaced holes and closed-in wooded holes.
I barely used my course map during the wooded section (plenty of signs there). I had a guide for the first 7.
Cons: One hole was missing its sign.
Ants were abundant, but not a huge obstacle.

Other Thoughts: Loved this course. The park is amazing, too, which only added to the experience. I played in the late afternoon of a weekday, so I would imagine that this place is packed on a weekend; especially during nice weather.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    1/29/2011   2/2/2011
Review By: genxer36
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Wide open for the first 10 holes. With good challenging woody holes. 3 tees & 3 basket options per hole. Concrete tees.
Cons: Hole #8 closed. Long course for a beginner, like me. Need better signage for directions to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Played it Saturday with my son. We enjoyed the course. Well worth the $6(sign said $2 to park, $1 per person to play, but was charged $6, not sure if weekends are more, no big deal) Still cheaper than Ft. Yargo & much nicer. We played to #17 & were worn out & decided to call it a day. Next time we will start on #9.

Had a difficult time finding the next tee boxes on many holes. The signs they had were about 20 yards or more from the last hole on a post with a 1" square sign saying next tee. Either move the signs closer to the hole or get bigger signs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    5/11/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: bhuff
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course. Good mix of wooded and open holes. 1-10,23 are pretty open holes with a few tight shots required. 11-22 are in the woods and require more precise shots to par. Blue, white, and red cemented tee boxes with 3 different basket locations. Not much water to deal with other than a marsh on hole 21 that is pretty nasty (lay up if your playing from blues).
Cons: Cost $2 parking $1 to play, but not too bad. Closed Mondays. Hole 17 is way to tough, to tight and long for par 3.
Other Thoughts: Overall fun course. I play it 2-3 times a week and still haven't gotten par. Can be -3 going into hole 12 (wooded holes) and come out +3. Clean park, friendly staff. Theres a beach and fishing permitted as well if your planning on making a trip out with the family.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.