Disc Golf Store
Findlay, OH 
Riverbend Disc Golf Trail Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 249ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 So-So

1    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: lildragon
Played: 40  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads
- Some alternate tee pads
- Quality baskets
- Nice big tee signs
- Clean park
- Practice basket
- Restrooms
Cons: - Most holes are just straight on
- No pictures on the tee signs, but not really needed as per above...
- Somewhere along the back 9, in the early teens I think it was, the place became crawling with grasshoppers and crickets. At first I just found it funny, but it just got worse until it felt almost infested and every step you took there were 15-20 things jumping every which way

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A little of everything

1    2/2/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: jeremy45840
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice long tee pads.
-Practice basket
-Resterooms
-Plenty of entertainment for non-golfers.
-A little bit of everything for everybody
-Nice variety of holes/ course layout, short easy holes, long bomer, hyzers, rollers, virtyally anything.
-Well maintained course in a nice park.
Cons: Park is part of a natural flood plain, and does at times hold water.
-Prairie grass is breeding ground for mosquitos.
-Trees on some holes on back-nine are too low making it difficult to drive.
-Fairways could be a little wider in some places.
Other Thoughts: A nice course where local tournaments are typically held. The front nine is a breeze, but watch out for the back nine, and those trees. A fun, challenging, amazing course on any day. They even let you finish on a good note with an almost 600 foot par 5.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Jumbled

1    11/26/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros:
~Amazing park with plenty to offer any visitor
~Signs, baskets, tee pads, paths are all high quality
~Easy navigation and a decent flow overall
~Solid mixture of holes, a handful of pro tees are a bonus
~Good use of the land provided
Cons:
~Busy park activities will factor into some areas of the course
~Too many short straightforward holes takes away from the challenge
~Some places are fairly swampy
~Overgrowth could eat discs during the growing season
Other Thoughts:
Visited on a windy late morning the day after Thanksgiving and was immediately impressed as soon as I crossed over the covered bridge into the park. The layout of the park is astounding with plenty to offer any group or family. Numerous playgrounds, trails, paths and interactive kiosks to keep non-disc golfers busy while the course is played. Practice basket and proper signage direct you to the start of the trail and from there navigation is simple due to ample signage. The first couple of holes are nice short warm ups with some trees that come into play. Unfortunately after that the next handful of holes play across from each other in a small wide open clearing. All of these are putter holes and are very disappointing. This could also be a disaster if the course is busy since they play in a circle next to each other. After that the course starts to improve with some long open drives mixed in with wooded holes. A decent amount of variety adds to an overall good layout. The last few holes seem detached from the rest of the course and play by a river in an area that appears to be subject to flooding. I played when the vegetation was not an issue, however it appears the areas along many of the fairways is allowed to grow during the warm months which may be a disc searching disaster if you can't throw straight. Wider fairways would probably be helpful. Most likely I will revisit during early Spring and late Autumn while visiting the area. It's a pleasant course all in all, however I wish it provided a better challenge.

 Amateur Hour

1    10/21/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park it was in reminded me of a Metropark, but it was free so I'm not mad. Pretty standard fare throughout; the shining holes were the ones along the pines...beautiful in there. holes 7-9 I think? Signs were clearly marked, although I found the distances to be a bit deceiving. Easy enough to follow, although there were some long walks between a few of the holes as it fed you from one section of park to the next. Bright yellow baskets and double-chains were a nice touch. Concrete tees on every hole.
Cons: My biggest complaint here is what I'm naming the "Field of Wuss". #1 and 2 start off great (although #2's fairway was underwater), but then starting with #3 you are led around a clearing where no shot is over 200' and it's the exact same line along the brush every time. It goes like this: Tee pad in the brush a bit...a little tunnel then out into the clearing...basket along the edge of the brush. for four straight holes. We even played the "pro" tees on these which would've been challenging. if we were 12 years old. I don't understand why this Field of Wuss exists, as all of the other holes are great holes. This clearing did not jive with the rest of the course AT ALL and frankly was amateur hour. There seemed to be plenty of room to expand into the brush/woods around this area...not sure why that didn't happen. it would add another type of hole to the course as well as be a bit more challenging. i consider it a wasted design opportunity.
Other Thoughts: Holes 16-18 under water due to the flooding this week. Actually had to drive through the river running over the road into the park to get in...hope that receeds soon!

Overall it was fun but lacked good mojo. Maybe on a summer day the shots by the lake and back by the river would be nice...just seems to me it wasn't designed very well. Seemed like they fit these holes in where they could and left it at that. Rather boring, looking back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Walk In the Park!

1    9/24/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: Nateut
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plays throughout a very nice park southeast of Findlay. Be prepared for a lot of walking (but at least the view is nice)!

- Cement tee pads with Innovia baskets at each hole. Most holes appeared to have both Am/Pro tees (some freshly poured).

- Front 9 has quite a few ace opportunities. Back 9 features longer holes and narrower fairways which increases the difficulty a bit.

- Very nice metal signs guide you along the trail and greet you at each tee.

- Very scenic if you enjoy walking around the outdoors. Course itself is well-maintained.
Cons: - Last three holes are a little bit of a walk from the rest of the course. With a little more creative thinking, I'm sure they could move them onto the other side of the river. When it rains a lot in the area, I'm sure these holes become pretty much unplayable.

- Not a problem during my visit, but I could see mosquitos becoming a big problem during the wetter months.

- Not much in the way of elevation changes.

- Tee boxes were shorter than I'm used to, which took a little getting used to.

- A few of the pro tees didn't appear to add much more than 10-15 feet in distance to the hole, and didn't appear to change how someone would approach the hole.
Other Thoughts: All in all, an interesting way to add a disc golf course to a park that already features a lot of other amenities. I definitely plan to revisit this course again next time I'm in the area with my discs.

There was some construction (bridge across the river) on the path to hole #16 that caused some confusion.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Findlay Area

2-4    9/24/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement tees and great baskets!
Mix of trees and open holes.
Mix of long and short holes.
Dual sets of tees on many holes.
Nice park setting with plenty of parking.
Great hole signs at each hole.
Well maintained park.
Cons: Some of the tees are short.
Not much elevation change.
Narrow fairways on several holes with high grass.
Some construction causing miss direction of trail.
Other Thoughts: A really nice layout in a nice park.
There is a little too much distance between several holes. Must be why they call it a disc golf trail.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: Endloader
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course in a park setting. A lot of the holes are par three so good for beginners but also very challenging with the narrow fairways
Cons: Holes 12 through 15 have fairways about ten feet wide with tall grass and trees on each side. Not a good course if you don't like to walk.
Other Thoughts: I'm used to playing at Carter park in bowling green so this was a really nice change if pace and scenery.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Riverbend

5+    5/14/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: jchlody
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -mostly open holes offer good practice
-good variance on distance
-some very technical holes
-some good holes to "let it fly"
-plenty of other things to do at this course
Cons: -small chance of losing a disc in the brush on some of the holes
-if the park workers haven't mowed recently the fairways can become a problem
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and it is only about 20 miles from where I live so its nice to go visit from time to time. It starts out kinda slow, but gets better as you play through. I will definately continue to visit this course frequently to change it up a little.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable but Buggy

5+    8/21/2010   4/2/2011
Review By: naturegolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great scenery, takes you throughout the whole park. A great variety of shots for varied skill levels.
Cons: Lots of mosquitoes from late spring through summer. Poison ivy is a concern. Lost a disc on 5 to the brush and poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play and relax. Always love going to Riverbend

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 river bend

1    12/30/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: xxdestroyerxx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of forehand and backhand shots though a big park.


Cons: short holes that are easy and without much obstacles on most holes.
the rough is overly thick in the summer .
nothing that makes this course stand out ,the hole design is boring .

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.