Layout Extinct

Parma, NY 
Parma DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 267ft.   3 / 363ft.   3 / 468ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Pro Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 could be phenomenal

5+    7/30/2009   11/24/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 212  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: amazing terrain for disc golf and great design
great variety of hole types and shots
even mix of right & left holes
variety of distance but lots of longer holes
big open bombs (1,5,11,12), tight wooded technical (3,4,10,17), open fairways with tree lines (8,13,14,15,18), blind baskets (4,5,6,7,8,14,16) and 2 different water hazards (pond on 2, creek on 9,17)
supposed to have 3 tee levels
a few holes that make good use of the very limited elevation (6,7,9,10,18)
plenty of parking
porta-johns and trash cans at course entrance
well manicured, grass regularly cut
Cons: no signs
no concrete tees
no map at entrance
very few navigational aids
tees difficult to locate and in many places are unmarked, especially the am and rec tees

easy to miss the VFW driveway from the street, the turn comes up fast. know your directions to the course.
Other Thoughts: If course were rated only on golf and not on amenities then this course would be a 4.5+ rating. The course is awesome and a lot of fun to play. It is long and challenging but totally worth it. The plot of land is large and the design ingeniously weaves around two long strips of open field lined with trees and thick brush around and between them. Some holes follow the open lines, some go through the woods, some throw from the open into the woods and vice versa, one throws out the woods across the open space and back into the trees to a dogleg right to the green. Just a great amount of variety and different kinds of lines with a gorgeous, isolated outdoors feel.

This course would benefit GREATLY from just a little bit of investment into signage and navigational aids. I don't mind the dirt tees (except for a few that have a badly placed stump) but there is not much excuse for no tee signs. A sign at the entrance with a map would be great too.

This is Rochester's hidden but uncut gem. You should definitely try to make it here. Ellison is a nice open course, Basil a great wooded one and Baker Farm is long and challenging. But this is the one that has it all.

If you've never played this course and are not being shown around by a local, print the map and still expect to have difficulty the first time out. The best thing to do is to try and play with someone who knows the course. If not, you'll need a map and still will have to do a lot of scouting. I probably wouldn't bother if I didn't have a map.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch, but confusing...

5+    8/19/2008   7/19/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Developed on great terrain for disc golf. This course has everything. Water, some elevation, woods, and open fields. This forces you to be able to play all types of technical shots, and have a big arm for the open holes.
Course stays open all year for the hardcore discer who likes winter golf.
Cons: Tee boxes not well marked nor is the direction to the next tee. Very long walk, takes about 2.5 hrs to play. Wish they had made the layout in two nine hole loops instead of an out and back design. Course can get muddy in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Some holes just don't seem to make sense the first time you play and take some getting used to.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty nice course...but wet

2-4    6/22/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: InternationalLog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved this course. Long fairways, inventive hills and woods, and challenging pin placement produces an enjoyable disc golf experience.
I rated it a 4 based on what I predict a play with nicer weather would be like. I played in terrible rain and I still had one of my best disc golf experiences to date.

Cons: This course needs better markers for the different tees. I wasted half of my time looking around for the next tee. It would be nice if they put some pegs in the ground that stuck out of the grass, even if they have to remove them before mowing the grass.
It was quite rainy when I went to play, so I had some difficulties going up the hill at hole 7 (the hill path was a mud slick). It would be really easy to just put in some wood supports on the hill so that it can be easily walked up.

*Update: I went back for another round, and it wasn't raining. After going through the full 18, I feel that some of the holes are in need of maintenance. I don't mind that trees are present, as they are usually well done to add to the challenge, but there is no challenge in having a quagmire of brush to find your disc in. I am of the mind that the ground should be clear, and the obstacles should be in the air...I mean, nobody likes to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: It was really nice to get out on longer fairways (i.e. Hole 5). It gave me the opportunity to really chuck some discs without needing the precision of navigating through trees.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good variety, needs signage

6/1/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: MarkN
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Enjoyable course, lots of variety including pond obstacle, wooded holes, open meadow, elevation, small stream. Challenging too including a number of blind holes or heavily wooded.
Nice place for a walk with habitat variety and nature trail. Lots of bird houses and bat houses too.
Cons: Needs signage. Map of moderate help, avail at http://grdgc.org/. Tees difficult to find in field, marked with yellow or red markers on ground, few staked too. Spent considerable time wandering, looking for several tees. No info on distances on site or basket location on several blind holes (hole descriptions with length avail at above link).
Lots of poison ivy in woods, some holes have lots of vegetation, could be easy to lose disc.
Other Thoughts: Might go on my early season list to avoid poison, or won't take wife, kid, or dog.

If you haven't been here before, take map and hole descriptions with you (link above) and be patient.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.