Layout Extinct

Parma, NY 
Parma DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
4 / 261ft.   4 / 381ft.   4 / 540ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Pro Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful and Vicious

5+    11/26/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: WillACarpenter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The variety of holes at Parma is just fantastic. There are long open holes, wooded tunnel shots, shots that start with elevation changes, some that end with elevation changes...one that starts on a hill, drops off 30 feet almost instantly...and climbs back up the other side a few hundred feet away.

There are signature holes on 2, 9, 10, and 17..at LEAST.

The entire park you're playing around is simply breathtaking and my mother loves to come keep score with us just to walk around the pretty park.

There is room for every type of player here, technical holes, left turns, right turns, roller opportunities, long open holes...you name it.

This park is VERY well maintained. The grass is always neatly groomed, there's hardly any garbage, there's a port-a-potty near hole one for DGers to use..just a great park.

Also there are multiple tee lengths!

This course is on it's way to becoming the best in Rochester.
Cons: Tee pads are currently VERY HARD to find. I highly suggest you BRING A MAP. There is a wonderful one supplied on this website, it's how I got through my first round here.

If you're like a guide, feel free to send me an email through the guide function, I would be glad to play a round with you.

Also there is very little signage to speak of on this course.
Other Thoughts: I won't call it a negative, but this course is HARD. This course doesn't seem hard, but it just beats you down over a round. This isn't a PROBLEM, it just might hurt your ego the first time you play.

With AM worlds coming to Rochester in 2011 this course will be at 4.5 probably by the end of 2010. Cement tee pads are going to be installed, and signs posted. Making this course easier to navigate for new players and in my opinion more fun with the new tee pads!

I highly suggest if you're ever in the area that you check out Parma. You won't be disappointed!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 wow long challenging

1    9/19/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: terrific layout bring your long discs! Some wooded some wide open. Nice mix.
Cons: some hole have crazy difficulty especially from the long tees. Would be tough to follow the first time without someone who knows the course.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18's basket was broken at the time not sure if it is fixed yet

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, bring a map!

5+    6/1/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: ScottMunFrigginro
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is well layed out, makes you tee from every possible angle, whether it be uphill, downhill, over a valley, sweeping right, sweeping left. Good use of woods and pond.
Cons: Without a map me and a friend about pulled our hair out looking for hole 16 basket until we finally gave up and tee'd off from a random spot at hole 17. Tee's are poorly marked, so you may be left sweeping the field with your head down looking for the markers.
Other Thoughts: I happen to really like this course. When he head out to hit the north western Rochester courses this is pretty much the main focus of our day. Beautiful course, nice use of obstacles. Great course to indulge in JOOSE!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I think im being nice

5+    6/6/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is both and in ano out of the woods course with open fairways and a great layout. The wooded holes have enough room to drive and over all feel of a different course on every hole.
Cons: there are no signs for this course what so ever and the tee boxes are hard to find on some holes because the tee is just in the middle of the feild.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woods & Open holes, fun course!

1    8/22/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: TheRicker
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really good mix of wooded and open holes, some holes play both open and wooded. Pond and small creek come into play on a few holes, adding to the difficulty. A few holes utilize the available elevation changes adding more character. Course is a stand-alone area, so no dog walkers or kids to worry about!
Cons: No signage at the tees making some holes difficult to find, I wandered about for a few minutes on a couple holes searching for tees.
Other Thoughts: This course was lots of fun to play, it was hot out so I didn't even mind having to swim in the pond after my star valkyrie.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Parma is fun.

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just West of Rochester is a course gaining momentum. A well designed, tournament caliber course that is challenging to everyone. You must be accurate and have a good arm. A couple rounds here and you feel like you have really played. The second hole requires a shot over a pond which gives you a decision to lay up or go for it. After a few wooded holes is a long, long hole which requires distance but half way through the hole tests your accuracy as well. The rest does not let up as every hole is a new challenge.
Cons: Still a little rough around the edges but will get better over time. Lack of official tee signs could make it difficult to navigate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Once you know the course you will love it!

5+    9/16/2007   9/20/2007
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Course for all skill levels.
utilizes landscaping and elevation changes through out. Nice small town course.
Cons: Some of the holes are marked wrong, bring a map or someone who knows the course or the frustration may ruin the experience.
This course needs better signage and arrows pointing to the next tee on all baskets.
Other Thoughts: Course has elevation, open areas, tight shots, managable water hazards, and steep drop off that can kill your score if discs glide a little to far. Several memorable signature holes. Once you become familiar with this course (or if you play it with a guide) you will really enjoy it, but if you come unprepared you will become insanely frustrated.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Challenge.

7/4/2007   7/18/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging with nice fairways, and good variety.
Cons: Some holes require you to play up with no chance of "going for it"

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another Rochester Winner!

5/19/2007   5/23/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes
Cons: Ground bees on a couple of holes. Maybe not a real con but I hate them :)
Other Thoughts: Since going to the 18 hole layout Parma now boasts a great mix of wooded and open holes. Just about all the holes are a lot of fun and well designed IMO. This course has become a regular stop on my weekly DG outings as I'm sure it has for other locals.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.