Lancaster, OH 
Flat Rocks DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 10/2010)
4 / 225ft.   3 / 332ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A nice course but can be confusing to navigate

1    8/20/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Practice putting area
-Picnic area
-Porta potty on site
-Trash cans
-Tee signs
-Score cards
-Pro and Am tees
-A nice park in a nice area
-Dog friendly
-Nice use of space and interesting course design with loads of different shot opportunities
-Lots of elevation change, which can be a bit of a hike sometimes but isn't too bad.
Cons: -No water fountain
-Rubber tee pads on the Am tees and the Pro tees are entirely natural, some of which have roots and can be hazardous
-Tee sign maps are inaccurate with their distances and they only display one pin location. Numerous pins were not where they were said to be on the map. The Pro tee signs are just a wooden post with the hole number carved into it.
-Not a single "next tee" sign in sight so there is a lot of guessing where you need to go next. Some of the course direction is confusing and you will definitely be searching for the next tee.
-The back 9 gets kind of boring with numerous open field shots in a row
-The entrance to this park is hard to find
Other Thoughts: This is a decent golf course that will have you throwing every disc in your bag. It is a nice park in a nice area and makes for a good stroll through the woods. The course is in good shape and looks like it is well taken care of. It has numerous memorable shots and scenic views. It is challenging and the natural hilliness makes for a good workout.
This was my first time playing here and I must say that the park entrance was a bit difficult to find. The flow of this course is confusing at times because there are paths all over the place and no signs to point you to the next tee which is not always immediately apparent. The Pro tees seem like an afterthought so it's a bit unfortunate to see that they didn't give them even a rubber pad since their tee signs are essentially nothing. The tee signs that are on the Am tees are way off on their distances and the pin placement is not always correct. The holes have multiple pin locations but the tee signs do not account for this.

This course is a nice change of pace from my usual home-base courses. It offers many shot opportunities and has its own sense of charm. The confusedness of the signage or lack thereof is kind of annoying but it can be managed. It would be nice to see something done about that and if they put in concrete tees it would make this course even better. Also a drink machine would be nice. Regardless, I have a feeling we'll be adding this one to our course rotation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very open

1    5/3/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: catchermccord
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very open (my preference)
-Fun, tight, wooded holes
-Very well maintained
-Benches and trash cans located throughout the course
-Rubber tee boxes, and good signage at the tee box
Cons: -Can get crowded
-Need a spotter on a few wooded holes, some wooded towers are there if you're playing with a buddy
-The rough seemed to be a little too rough. Had a few tics on me after I was done
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun, intermediate course. It is very well maintained and easy to navigate. The rubber tee pads are nice but easy to slip on if your trying to bomb one. The long tees are hard to find and not as well made as the short tees. The baskets are also a little odd. Small compared to others I have played. Many different holes for all types of shots. Not much of elevation changes. #18 is an interesting hole and fun to end on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 way better than average

1    8/4/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a very clean, scenic and well maintained park. A nice mixture of open and wooded holes.

The tee signs were great showing the details.

The grass fairways were cut like a ball golf course helping define and/or frame the fairways.

Benches on most of the holes. The tower behind the tee of #4 to watch the others in your group on the blind tee shot.

Great uses of the elevation changes within the park, this might be it's biggest plus.

Multiple tees on most of the holes, I played the shorts and they were easy to locate.

While not a 4 star course, it was a lot of FUN to play. #18 is a great finishing hole!

Cons: Print a map ahead of time, it helped with my navigation of the course my only time through.

A next tee sign is needed btw 15 and 16.

The hard rubber tee pads were slippery even on a nice summer day. Fly Pads would be better.

The model of baskets are just OK.
Other Thoughts: A few blind shots with the elevation changes. A spotter,especially on hole 18 is recommended.

A nice detour off I-70, it's worth the time if passing by the south side of Columbus. I played here on my way to Cincinnati and since I'm a tough grader of courses, it simply doesn't match up to Mt Airy and Lincoln Ridge which I will give both 4 stars.

I don't get the "Flat Rocks" name, it wasn't flat and I didn't see many rocks.





3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun For The Family

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course that the whole family can enjoy. First with the pros where better to began than the practice pin. Like i always say this lets you get warmed up before you go out there and get started. I really enjoy the practice pin as should you. The big wooden board with all the papers in it was nice. It showed you how to play and how to do many other things. At that wooden sign they had a scorecard, so if you want to keep score you can just grab one of those. On the scorecard they had a map on the back. I used the map at times but you really dont need to. It is nice how the front 9 ends right by the parking lot as does the back 9. So if you need a break in between the two parts you can here. I really liked the rubber tee. It was different, i had never really seen one before until now. You cannot lose your balance or your grip. The sign at the tee was very helpful, but most of the time you could just see the pin from the tee. It is a very well taken care of course. The lawns are nicely cut and very beautiful. On the open fields the long grass is nice so that you are actually aiming at a fairway, instead of having the whole course as a fairway. The park gets a decent amount of people there. This is nice so they know that they have done a good job with the course. There is a broom at the beginning of a couple of holes with thick stuff on the side. It was new for me i had never really seen a broom at the beginning of a hole, but it was helpful. The next tee sign at the bottom of the pin really helps because the course can get a little confusing, but not that bad. I almost forgot to mention the long tee. With this there if you want to be more challenged you can throw from there. Well thats about it for the pros so lets see what the cons have to bring us.
Cons: Well i dont know really where to begin because of the shortage of cons. The one thing that really caught my attention was the pins were kind of cheap. The pins were really short so i doubt that they were regulation size. Also on the pins at the bottom instead of a metal loop they had a steel cable along it. So the pin wasn't very sturdy. I guess on the wooded holes they could cut down some of the tree limbs in the way but its not too bad. If you go into the woods here good luck finding it because they are thick. Also alot of the bushes are sticker bushes, so watch out. Well i cant think of anything else that was bad about this course, so what you see is what you get.
Other Thoughts: Like i said this is a very fun course for the family. While i was playing here i played behind a family the whole time. The even had the little kids out there playing. They looked like they were having the time of there life. So really if your in the area come here and you wont regret it. It was kind of tough to get there going on back roads and stuff but its not too challenging. The entrance is very small so if its your first time coming here look out for that. I would stay out here all day and play if i could. This course will never get boring. On one hole i forget the number but they have a par 5 when it really shouldn't be. I couldn't consider this a con. I actually eagled the hole. So i think that they should mone it to either a par 3 or a par 4. Well thats about ii for me, so i hope that you come here because you wont be disappointed.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Has become a favorite

5+    10/24/2009   10/31/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots

Sexy landscaping

Nice elevation changes

Diverse mix of open and wooded holes
Cons: Awkward baskets

Rubber pads can be short
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course on beautiful land

This course truly has it all. I use pretty much every disc in my bag here. You will need distance drives, accurate mids, hooks and slices. Some baskets are on sloping greens.

There is a pretty even mix of open and wooded holes. There are a couple more open. But all of them have some added challenge. The open holes deal with elevation changes and various natural hazards. The wooded holes have tight fairways and gorgeous lookouts (you have to venture slightly off course to see the best vista, it is off hole 4, I believe).

It can get pretty windy on some of the open holes. Bring a stable wind driver. You have to shoot over little valleys on a few holes.

The maintenance of this course is also top notch. The fairways are mowed into patterns and pathways. It's very sharp.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/16/2008   12/13/2008
Review By: discn66
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice course, gives you alot of challenging shots.. Some what hilly and moderately wooded.. Bring lots of discs, many different types of shots required.. Will deffinetly play again!
Cons: Baskets are kinda wierd, very small diameter and extremely deep, reqires a acurate putt....

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.