Lancaster, OH 
Flat Rocks DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 254ft.   3 / 384ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
One of my favs

2-4    8/21/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: W7amf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun fun fun! Nice tees, fairways are clean and clear, holes are marked well and it's a great place for the average player to take his game up a notch!
Cons: Sometimes it's crowded
Other Thoughts: Great fun! One of my personal favs. Good combination of woody and open holes. Plays in a couple hours or less.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Flatrocks Rules

5+    4/10/2013   4/12/2013
Review By: DETROIT
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great balance of shots off the tee . excellent vibe here. Nice rolling hills , some tighter wooded holes and the long tees . . . . are a MUST play. Motivated club for just one course; LDGA .
Cons: No concrete pads allowed .

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Little Things

2-4    5/23/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Pro and Am Tees on Most Holes
Benches at Nearly Every Hole
Great Variety
Distances Vary
Very Well-Maintained
Great Use of Elevation
Trash Cans at Many Tee Pads
Great Views
Both Wooded and Open Holes
Bathroom On-Site (Port-O-Jon)
Good Tee Signs at Am Tees
Very Clean
Rarely Crowded
Disc Golf Exclusive Area
Ample Parking
Fairly Easy To Navigate
Practice Basket
Cons:
Rubber Tee Pads Are Slick (Both wet and dry.)
Pro Tees (Natural) Are Hard To Locate
Baskets Are Older and Could Use Work
Other Thoughts:
Flat Rock Disc Golf Course in Lancaster, Ohio is a scenic and well-maintained 18-hole course. From Route 33 East get on the business loop and make a left at the first light, Coothpath Road. Drive for 2.2 miles and make a right on Rainbow Drive. Stay on Rainbow Drive for 3.2 miles and turn right onto Stringtown Road. The entrance to the park will be on your right, exactly 1.5 miles ahead. The park name, on the sign, is Keller Kilns Nature Park.

The parking lot has ample parking for the course and from the lot you can see the port-o-jon. The first tee is located past the port-o-john, near the benches.

Near the first tee pad you will see a log bench and table to sit your bag on. These features will be found throughout the course, the benches are at all of the short tees. The tee pads are rubber. I have played rubber tee pads before and the other didn't really seem as slick as these are. The first time I played here it had recently rained so I chalked it up to the tee pads being wet. I have since been out to play and even though the course and tee pads were dry, they were still a little more slippery than I would like. A lot of times I found myself throwing from beside the tee pad, but I'm not sure if they are really slick or if I am just not use to them and have problems with them myself. Just be sure to a feel for them before you try to rip drives off them and you should be okay.

Hole 1 at this course is pretty unique and a nice way to start the course. The basket is on an extreme hyzer (LHBH), making it quite challenging for a RHBH player and even a RHFH shot is hard to cut around this corner. The fairway is bordered by tall grass on one side, the far side, and heavy woods on the inside. While right handed players should be able to par with no problems getting there in two would be difficult without a fairly long putt so just try to play it safe and not take anything more than that. Left handers, backhand, could get it fairly close to the basket, with birdie being reachable for exerienced players.

Hole 2, short and technical, starts near the edge of the woods, and plays down a hill and into the woods. The fairway is fairly tight, but with the right shot a birdie can easily be picked up here. Holes 3 through 5 are all on the short side, and moderately to heavily wooded. While these holes are shorter, that doesn't neccessarily translate to easy. The trees are fairly thick and elevation comes into play as well. A bad bounce off of a tree or roll down a hill can put you into the woods and rough leaving you with a lot of work left to do.

After hole 5, head towards the treeline and out of the woods. The tee pad for 6 will be just outside of the trees. Hole 6 has an open fairway that is bordered by moderate woods on each side. If you keep it in the fairway, there will be no problems, but the rough on each side can be thick and does a good job of hiding discs. Keep an eye on your throws and you should be fine.

Holes 7 through 11 all play out in the open. While a couple of the open holes on this course are similar, most of them, especially holes 9 and 11 have some great character to them and are also the longest two holes on the course. Hole 9, 358 feet, plays down a very large rolling hill. Its a blind shot so be sure to make sure its clear and let them rip, its a fun hole. Hole 11, the longest hole at 385 feet, plays across rolling hills with a huge grassy fairway.

Holes 12 and 13 start to bring the trees back into play. Hole 12 is more open with trees forcing the anhyzer/straight shot (RHBH). Some elevation comes into play here, and an errant shot can end up in the woods or in the tall grass.

Holes 14 and 15 are both heavily wooded. They are both great holes but the fairway for 14 creates more of a "poke and hope" type hole, where luck may have more to do with a good shot than skill. Just clearing out a tree or two could go a long way on this hole.

After hole 15 you continue past the basket to the treeline and out of the woods. This is the only place we had any issues navigating the course. To get to the tee pad for hole 16 head right once you get out of the woods and follow the treeline around until you see the tee. This hole is pretty self eplanatory, straight and short, as well as the flatest hole on the course. You do want to watch for the slope that is just past the basket, overshoot it and it could take off on you.

To get to hole 17 look for the path through the woods, shouldn't be hard to spot and follow it to the other side of the trees. The tee pad will be up the hill facing away from you. Hole 17 is somewhat of a ravine shot where you are throwing from the top of one hill to the top of the other. The fairway is bordered, on both side, by trees but it is pretty wide so there shouldn't be too many problems here.

Last but not least hole 18 is a blind shot over a decent sized rolling hill. From the tee pad the fairway goes uphill, flattens for a very short distance, then drops back down to the basket. Get the nose up on this one, or put to much behind it and your disc could really said on you. Just keep an eye out and maybe even have a spotter near the top of the hill.

Overall I really enjoy Flat Rocks and plan on playing it whenever I can get out to Lancaster. Its a fun, very well-maintained course and you can gell the folks that take care of it really put a lot of work into it. All of the little things/nice touches they have added really make this a great disc golf experience. The first is the log benches. Rustic and very visually appealing they are perfect for disc golf courses. Another thing to look out for is the downed tree/log just in front of the tee pad of hole 3. If you look at the ends of the log they have disc golf baskets carved into them. I thought this was a really cool idea, and things like this really add to the appeal of a course. Another added tough is the platforms on holes 4 and 8, if you climb up to the top you can see the baskets, otherwise these are blind shots.

All of these things, plus the fact that the course is pretty fun to begin with are what keep the rating of this course up. Its not the most difficult and it doesn't have the longest holes in the world, but it does have a great crew taking care of it, a nice variety, and like I said, its just downright fun to play. I would recommend this course to anyone thinking about making the trip out to play it, its definitely worth the drive or stop if you are in the area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Secluded Course

1    10/28/2010   12/3/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located is a beautiful and scenic secluded park which seems to only be used for disc golf and walking.

A practice basket and scorecards with map available near hole #1.

There is a great mix of very wooded and very open holes with a few that have both. Elevation is present on every hole. The course design fits the property perfectly with the woods holes playing around the large open middle. Shot selection is pretty basic out in the open but the elevation that is a part of pretty much every hole keeps it interesting.

The tee signs are very well done and very informative.

There are two tees for every hole and each provides a very different look at the same hole.

The landscaping on the open holes is very nice.

This course has a very high fun factor. Where it might not be the most challenging course it still requires you to think about your disc selection. A great course for all levels of players
Cons: Not really the most challenging course. A good player should have no problem duecing every hole from the short tees.

Some of the tees were not in great shape. And a few of the pro tees were a little difficult to locate.

Baskets are a little suspect.

Course was kind of in the middle of nowhere.

There was no water available, but there was a port-a-jon
Other Thoughts: Like I said before this course has a high fun factor. I usually do not like courses with alot of wide open holes but the long grass and the elevation made each open hole interesting. They even had a hole (12??) that had Church Pews, like ball golf, mowed into the grass. That was pretty sweet. I played this course on a disc golf road trip and I was happy that we decided to hit this one on the way home. It was worth the detour off of I-70 to play Flat Rocks. This is a very nice addition to the Columbus region's disc golf courses.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Hill Of a Course

2-4    11/21/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Excellent Variety of Holes
+ Lots and Lots of Changing Elevation
+ Informative and Nice Looking Signs
+ Well Maintained All Around
Cons: - Clunky DB-5 Baskets
Other Thoughts: I made the trip down for the first time on Saturday and went back again on Sunday. I think that there says a lot. The scenic Flat Rocks is a fun and varied course that asks you to deal with significant elevation changes constantly. It has a real nice balance of wooded and open holes and a wide variety of lines to shape.

I enjoyed the flow of the holes, especially how it all ends on a fun to throw on hole 18. Its a 300' hole where after about 230' it slopes down steeply enough that you can't see the basket on the side of the hill. The open holes are generally a lot of fun to tee off on with uphill, downhill, and across valleys type of shots and on many the elevation change is severe enough that the shot is blind. The wooded holes on the other hand are pretty tight and require a good control and finesse game. On most of these there are multiple lines to choose from, but all have little room for error. Throw elevation in to the mix on these and you have holes sub 300' with significant challenge to them. The fairways are all nicely mowed and defined, Hole 11 even has a huge basket shape mowed into the center.

The tees are all rubber mats, and there are brooms by many of them. It was my first time using this kind of tee and they seemed just fine, I've heard they can get slippy when wet but it was mostly dry when I was there and they seemed to provide adequate traction to me. The signs were all in good condition, looked nice and provided all the necessary information, can't ask for much more. One thing that bugs me is going to a course and having a lot of the benches broken or non existent. Not a problem here, with plenty of cool looking log benches. The baskets here work but I think they are less than desirable. The DB-5s are very heavy duty with a very tall tray and heavier than normal chains. They just felt kind of clunky to putt on and the make-able target seemed smaller. Some of them seemed to be on short poles and thus closer to the ground. They just don't feel like what I'm used to and I'm sure most people are used to putting on. They do catch good solid putts though and in my mind they only detract a little from the fun and do add to the challenge.

Overall I really appreciated what this course offered up in the way of challenge and fun to play. Definitely glad I made the trip down there finally.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    10/29/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: Flip55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good shot mix(open,woods,dogleg left, dogleg right)
decent amount of elevation change
great community of golfers
park is almost solely used for disc
nice rubber tees
benches on almost every hole +1!
Cons: baskets are not uniform
depending on the day, can be very crowded
course could be hard to find if youre not from the area
Other Thoughts: This course is my home course so my review might be a little biased but ill try to make it objective. The best thing about this course is that it will challenge your shot making ability without destroying your soul. The course is broken up by the mix of wooded and open holes. Sometimes you have days when it seems like you've hit 70% of the trees on a hole but then you always get a nice open hole right after that to breath easy on. If you find the course too easy then feel free to throw from the "Hardrocks" which almost every hole has. I've only played a few hole from them so I cant speak much about it. No pro shop as it is in a city park but the Shell Gas station down the hill on the corner of Fair and High has a decent selection of discs plus drinks and food. Good course, go play it!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Many wooded and open shots.
-Great look, I believe it was hole 10 that was just a long straight par 5 that had a design mowed in the grass along the way.
- Pro and AM tees
- This is the first time I have experienced rubber tees, I enjoyed the grip (although they have been known to be troublesome after rain/snow)
- Good maintenance, even brooms at some tees
- Practice putting has stones with distances on them
-Clever name for the pro tees, "Hardrocks"
-Scorecards on site with a map of the course on back.
- Nice shaded area with bench for a postround siesta
- Locals that I've played with were great!
Cons: -I didn't play on the pro tees, but they came across as EXTREMELY difficult, even for pros. I think there was a par three 250' hole that had a pro tee distance of 600
-No pencils for scorecards, that only affected me because I forgot one :)
- The Lightning DB-5s were very strange, the basket itself is much lower than a regular DisCatcher or Mach.
Other Thoughts: I had a really fun time playing at Flat Rocks DGC, the course design was very well thought out. I also had the pleasure of playing with some great people in their Frosted Flatrocks doubles tournament. The tournament was put on very well with a good player's pack, laid back atmosphere, and a great group of disc golfers in the area. One of my favorite courses in the Buckeye state!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch

1    5/30/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful, secluded park
- Well-maintained course
- Well-thought out holes.
- Nice variety of shots
- Friendly locals
- Great tee signs with maps
Cons:
- No water on site
- Pro tees are either natural or not marked, we didn't see them when I was playing.
Other Thoughts: Flat Rocks has been on my wish list for a while, and I'm glad I finally got to play the course. It was a bit of a haul for me (3 hours), but well worth the drive.

Beautifully landscaped rolling hills set the scene for the bulk of the holes on this course, with an interesting choice of wild, tall grass areas used for both aesthetics and course obstacles.

The course weaves into the woods, then back out into the sweeping elevation changes, then dips back into the woods briefly before the back nine wraps up.

The entire course is well-maintained, even down to brooms available at some of the tees. Never saw that before!

The course is not only in a very rural area, but the park itself is even further off the beaten path. Make sure you bring water with you or pick some up while you are still near some of the main highways.

Also note that the course is not indicated on the road, it's within the Keller-Kirn Nature Park (as noted on the "Local Directions" section on the course info page here). The GPS coordinates listed here as of 2010-05-30 were slightly off, but pretty close.

Probably one of my favorite courses in Ohio now, just wish it wasn't so far away from me. Definitely worth a trip if you're considering it, and a must-play if you are anywhere near the area. The best Columbus-area course I've played to date.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favorites

5+    10/6/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of Elevation Changes
Good Flow
Well Maintained
Challenging but not Frustrating
Good Shot Variety
Visually Nice
Good use of the land
Cons: I really can't think of any.
Other Thoughts: I like this Course a lot. Probably in the middle of my Ohio Top 10. You go from the field into the woods back into the field, back into the woods again and then you finish up in the open field. I like the mix. Also I'm a big fan of elevation changes and this course has plenty.

It's located in a Public Park and it's well Maintained

It's peaceful and a little out of the way.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Flat Rocks Rock!

2-4    9/22/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course feels very secluded...you will never see another car, street, or building. It is a great course for "getting away". There is no water hazards, but this course has everything else and is well laid out. You have opportunities to make controlled drives through small gaps as well as opportunities to grip/rip.

The wooded holes are challenging. An accurate drive will be rewarded with a relaxing par. However, if you hit one of the early trees, you will pay for it with multiple strokes.

The open holes are pretty creative. There are several blind shots and chances to really test your distance. Many of the open holes look like the old Irish golf courses...there are fairways cut out with well maintained grass, with thigh high grass on the sides or splitting alternate fairways. The tall grass helps keep you on your toes as it makes an approach shot difficult.
Cons: I didn't feel the course was lacking anything.
Other Thoughts: The local players were very nice and welcomed me into their group.

Lots of score cards and maps were available at the message board.

It is clear that the locals love their course with such details being taken care of like brooms at the wooded tees.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.