Lancaster, OH 
Flat Rocks DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 194ft.   3 / 194ft.   3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Beautiful course

2-4    9/18/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and pin positions.

Solid mix of wooded and open holes, as well as long and short.

Nice amenities such as elevated viewing platforms so your playing partners can keep and eye on your shot on hilly holes.

Hilly terrain means the open holes play harder than they look with even a mild breeze.

Well manicured rough makes it hard to lose a disc, but punishes errant throws by restricting run ups.
Cons: Tees are carpet (long) and rubber (short).

Open holes can be somewhat repetitive, but could certainly be worse.
Other Thoughts: Flat Rocks is is a beautiful moderately hilly course set roughly half an hour southeast of Columbus. I've only played the course a couple times on a single weekday morning, so I didn't factor in potential issues I could foresee, but that didn't come up on the day I played. Those issues include the fact that the course looked like it wouldn't be much fun at all on a 90 degree hot summer day, and the fact that as the best course in the area it looked as though the course gets quite busy at times. But as I said, I played the course under near ideal conditions (65-70 degrees, light to moderate wind) so I graded the course on those.

Flat Rocks offers minimal challenge to an Intermediate player or above from the short tees. However, the course is fun from the short tees regardless of your skill level, and I'd recommend playing the shorts first to learn the course. The long tees up the level of difficulty on all holes, and are creatively cruel on a couple. I mean that in the best possible way, as the long tees on certain holes provide a significant opportunity to separate yourself from the pack or make up strokes with a good drive.

Grooming the rough on the field holes by leaving ~3' of rough for every 6' that's mowed is a great idea. As I mentioned in my pros, this allows you to find your disc, but punishes you for a bad throw by preventing a run-up.

I'd play this course frequently if it were only 20-30 minutes from my home. At 45 minutes, it's competing with Lobdell and Deleware, and comes up in 3rd when compared to those two. However, it's a close third, and overall I'd rate this in the top 5 courses within an hour of Columbus.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Like ‘em Flat…or Hard?

2-4    7/3/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 235  Reviewed: 220  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ...either way, the Rocks aren't really that noticeable here in Lancaster, Ohio, but the disc golf course is really wonderful! A popular course that gets a lot of play, Flat Rocks has something to challenge all levels. If they wanted to set the baskets in all the shortest positions, it would total 4894 feet: a fun Recreational level layout. If they set them all as long as possible, and you play all long tees, the course can muster up 7538 feet: enough to challenge Advanced and Open players.

The course features shot shaping in both directions, excellent use of elevation, woods, and gorgeously mown tall grass, rolling fields (see pictures for a tease). Amenities include really long, narrow, well-maintained rubber (short course: "Flat Rocks") tee pads and similarly sized, flipped carpet (long course: "Hard Rocks") tee pads. Signage is fantastic at the short tees, including map, distance, obstacles, alternate basket positions, and other details, all protected in an aluminum frame. Really classy. The long tees have simpler posts indicating distance and hole number. Baskets are top quality Chainstars with the orange logo on the center post for increased visibility.

They've added benches, and (leave it to folks likely to have a little hunting in their backgrounds) two climbing stands behind the teeboxes on holes 4 & 8, where a spotter can get up and see over the blind rise to track a partner's tee shot. There's a practice basket right by the parking area, course kiosk/ info sign (with scorecards), port-o-let, and at least four picnic tables in the shade of a group of mature trees. For the most part, the course flow is intuitive, and does feature two loops of nine holes.

Memorable holes abound, from the hard bending 1st and 16th (long), to the run into the woods on 2, the long downhill glide on 9, the views across the smartly mown grassy lanes on 11, another tough turn into the woods on 13, all the way to the incredibly tough line required on 17 long, and another downhill finish on 18.
Cons: The only issue I had was as a traveling player getting used to some of the transitions. After 5 (in the longer, 'B' position), you need to double back left, and not go forward down the path, even though there appears to be a path sign down the hill to your right. It's really confusing after hole 12, as the tees for 13 and 17 somewhat overlap towards the woods line, and after finishing 18, the natural tendency is to wander back to the left, where you'll be crossing the 10th fairway and the 9th green (I assume there's a more direct path in the woods to the parking lot). I would guess that, if the folks doing such a good job here with course upkeep and improvements visualized playing it for the first time, they'd spot the areas that need improved 'next tee' signage.
Other Thoughts: When you drive in, look for the sign for Keller-Kim nature park at the 2nd drive (Bogear Circle is one way, counterclockwise). Finally, when I first started playing, I committed myself to giving courses multiple looks before considering writing a review, so it's actually been a few years between plays for me here. But if I were road-tripping to the area around Pickerington and Lancaster, Ohio, I'd make time to play Simsbury and Flat Rocks again and again!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Flat Rocks: I'm in love!

1    9/20/2014   9/26/2014
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Flat Rocks DGC was the final stop on my southeast Ohio disc golf spree. I had a ton of fun here and it is one of my favorite courses. The design was phenomenal. The designer really took advantage of the epic terrain, and delivered a great course! There was a lot of landscaping throughout the course, and it really caught my eye. I'm a fan of rubber tees, and these ones were pretty grippy.
Cons: I couldn't find any restrooms on the course. I could see a few areas where navigation could be a problem, but I didn't have a hard time finding my way around the course.
Other Thoughts: Flat Rocks was tag perfect course to end my little roadtrip. It wasn't overly frustrating, or too easy. I reccomend you check out this course if you are in the area!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of my favs

2-4    8/21/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: W7amf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun fun fun! Nice tees, fairways are clean and clear, holes are marked well and it's a great place for the average player to take his game up a notch!
Cons: Sometimes it's crowded
Other Thoughts: Great fun! One of my personal favs. Good combination of woody and open holes. Plays in a couple hours or less.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

fly by review here

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 211  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -course seemed well cared for.
-good mix of open and wooded holes
-great piece of land dedicated to dg
Cons: a lot of blind shots that could be fixed by putting a mark on the signs telling you where the baskets are.
Other Thoughts: no memorable holes

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A nice course but can be confusing to navigate

1    6/20/2015   8/20/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Practice putting area
-Picnic area
-Porta potty on site
-Trash cans
-Tee signs
-Score cards
-Pro and Am tees
-A nice park in a nice area
-Dog friendly
-Nice use of space and interesting course design with loads of different shot opportunities
-Lots of elevation change to keep things interesting
Cons: -No water fountain
-Tee sign maps are inaccurate with their distances and they only display one pin location. Numerous pins were not where they were said to be on the map. The Pro tee signs are just a wooden post with the hole number carved into it.
-Not a single "next tee" sign in sight so there is a lot of guessing where you need to go next. Some of the course direction is confusing and you will definitely be searching for the next tee.
-The entrance to this park is hard to find
Other Thoughts: This is a decent golf course that will have you throwing every disc in your bag. It is a nice park in a nice area and makes for a good stroll through the woods. The course is in good shape and looks like it is well taken care of. It has numerous memorable shots and scenic views. It is challenging and the natural hilliness makes for a good workout.
My first time playing here the park entrance was a bit difficult to find. The flow of this course is confusing at times because there are paths all over the place and no signs to point you to the next tee which is not always immediately apparent. The Pro tees finally got pads of their own, which is an improvement from the clunky natural tees they were. The tee signs that are on the Am tees are way off on their distances and the pin placement is not always correct. The holes have multiple pin locations but the tee signs do not account for this.

This course is a nice change of pace from my usual home-base courses. It offers many shot opportunities and has its own sense of charm. The confusedness of the signage or lack thereof is kind of annoying but it can be managed. It would be nice to see something done about that and if they put in concrete tees it would make this course even better. Also a drink machine would be nice. Regardless, Flat Rocks is a nice course that should definitely be in anyone's rotation in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Flatrocks Rules

5+    4/10/2013   4/12/2013
Review By: DETROIT
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great balance of shots off the tee . excellent vibe here. Nice rolling hills , some tighter wooded holes and the long tees . . . . are a MUST play. Motivated club for just one course; LDGA .
Cons: No concrete pads allowed .

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very open

1    5/3/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: catchermccord
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very open (my preference)
-Fun, tight, wooded holes
-Very well maintained
-Benches and trash cans located throughout the course
-Rubber tee boxes, and good signage at the tee box
Cons: -Can get crowded
-Need a spotter on a few wooded holes, some wooded towers are there if you're playing with a buddy
-The rough seemed to be a little too rough. Had a few tics on me after I was done
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun, intermediate course. It is very well maintained and easy to navigate. The rubber tee pads are nice but easy to slip on if your trying to bomb one. The long tees are hard to find and not as well made as the short tees. The baskets are also a little odd. Small compared to others I have played. Many different holes for all types of shots. Not much of elevation changes. #18 is an interesting hole and fun to end on.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 way better than average

1    8/4/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: discNDav
Played: 328  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 29.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a very clean, scenic and well maintained park. A nice mixture of open and wooded holes.

The tee signs were great showing the details.

The grass fairways were cut like a ball golf course helping define and/or frame the fairways.

Benches on most of the holes. The tower behind the tee of #4 to watch the others in your group on the blind tee shot.

Great uses of the elevation changes within the park, this might be it's biggest plus.

Multiple tees on most of the holes, I played the shorts and they were easy to locate.

While not a 4 star course, it was a lot of FUN to play. #18 is a great finishing hole!

Cons: Print a map ahead of time, it helped with my navigation of the course my only time through.

A next tee sign is needed btw 15 and 16.

The hard rubber tee pads were slippery even on a nice summer day. Fly Pads would be better.

The model of baskets are just OK.
Other Thoughts: A few blind shots with the elevation changes. A spotter,especially on hole 18 is recommended.

A nice detour off I-70, it's worth the time if passing by the south side of Columbus. I played here on my way to Cincinnati and since I'm a tough grader of courses, it simply doesn't match up to Mt Airy and Lincoln Ridge which I will give both 4 stars.

I don't get the "Flat Rocks" name, it wasn't flat and I didn't see many rocks.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: chipstar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept fairways
Moderately wooded, but not so much as to make it impossible
Long and short tees
Benches and trash cans at pretty much every short tee
Cons: More signage is needed, it got a little hard to find the next hole sometimes
The baskets are old and the chains are very stiff
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course, the park it is in is amazing, beautiful rolling hills, lots of trees and wildlife.
There is a great variety of holes, some short that require precision and some long that let you open up and chuck it.
Very easy course to score well on

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center