Lancaster, OH 
Flat Rocks DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 406ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Blue Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Great use of a hill top

1    7/16/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: Innovastar
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintaned
-Course is well marked
-Great elevation changes
-Great mix of woods and open holes
-The course was very clean
-Practice Basket
-Plenty of parking
Cons: -Rubber mats on tee pads can get slick if wet
-Baskets need updated
Other Thoughts: This was the first public course I had ever played on and although very challenging at times you have to respect that those challenges will only make you better. Great course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the wait.

1    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: th1sjust1n
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained course
- Large rubber mat tees with good signage
- Mix of both wooded and open holes
- Elevation changes in both open and wooded sections along with tight wooded fairways add good difficulty.
- Hole design requires all types of shot execution
- Two tee selections on most holes
- Practice pin
- Large parking area
- Porta-potty on site
Cons: - Rubber mat tees could get a bit treacherous in adverse or wet weather.
- Traversing between a couple of the holes can be confusing. I suggest printing off the course map until you get to know the course.
- Basket size and shape are irregular, at least compared to other central Ohio courses.
- No water on site
- Pro tees are still natural and not marked the best but the course is very new and this will come in time
Other Thoughts: My friends and I had been anxious for this course to open and we finally made it down to play. Five of us played this course for the first time on 8/23/09 and it was great. Everyone we met was nice and it feels like those who play there really enjoy the game and love the course. I also have to say that for the first year of operation this course feels very seasoned. Most courses take a few years to 'break in' but Flat Rocks doesn't seem to really have that issue.

The ever changing elevation on this course makes all the difference. You get a good mix of technical and power play, especially from the long tees. Wild elevation does come with a small price though as quite a few holes are somewhat 'blind'. If the course is busy you need to be aware of the group ahead and behind. A walk up the fairway to check clear is basically mandatory on several of the open holes.

Lets talk about the rubber mat tees. They are soft, installed well, big, and my group had absolutely no issues with them. Its the first time we had played a course with them. I think they work well and are probably a much lower cost option than concrete. The only issue I see, as stated above, is that they could get pretty slippery if wet, muddy, or possibly dusty. Still, there are brooms on some of the holes in the woods to keep the mats clean and debris free.

The baskets are shaped kinda funky. Not sure if they meet PDGA requirements (they probably do but I need to read the rule) but they are much different than any other i've played. The lower basket is very deep and the chains area is smaller in diameter. We had a situation in our group, and the group in front, where a practically dead center putt bounced right out. It will take a few rounds to figure out if basket design is really a problem or if I just need to learn how to play them.

This course was a great time and toatlly worth checking out. They have regular doubles and several tournys scheduled. This course isn't wasting any time breaking onto the scene quickly.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    5/20/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: Trenton187
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good layout with a lot of different looks.
Cons: Some of the holes require you to put the disc right on point which isn't always easy. Has a porta-pot but no water fountains. Baskets are a little weird
Other Thoughts: I aced hole 5, haha

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/16/2008   12/13/2008
Review By: discn66
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice course, gives you alot of challenging shots.. Some what hilly and moderately wooded.. Bring lots of discs, many different types of shots required.. Will deffinetly play again!
Cons: Baskets are kinda wierd, very small diameter and extremely deep, reqires a acurate putt....

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    10/14/2008   10/15/2008
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of wooded and open holes on rolling hills
designed very well and uses the land very well .
fairly challenging with good pin placement .
Cons: A few long walks to the next tee and can get confusing after # 12 for first timers .
some poke and pray holes
Other Thoughts: loved this course and enjoy it every time i play here

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    9/3/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: Hunt
Played: 92  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2009
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: It has made me ready for all others courses...A little uphill and down hill...Blind and within view...forehand backhand...wooded and open
Cons: That it snows in the winter.....
Other Thoughts: Home course and wouldn't have it any other way....first ace first birdie and bogeys....LDGA is also a great club with 2 tourneys a year so far...more to come! Come say hi at weekly random draw doubles on Wednesdays @ 530pm when it gets dark earlier and 6 when more daylight is available *not during winter
Sundays at 11am every week all year!
$3 entry($2 to payout $1 to ace fund) $150 ace fund!
http://scodg.proboards.com /

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Top of hill, past sunrise park tennis courts.

6/14/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: puppyohio
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice mix, open areas and woods. Hole 9 brings your next to the parking area. Has a Practice hole. Lots of players there. Lots of friendly people playing.
Cons: some grassys spots hard to find disc. Just rem, hole 13 is a cross over, so don't get mixed up on which hole to shoot for.
Other Thoughts: Nice layout, had portapotty. Tees are clearly marked.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.