New Braunfels, TX 
Prince Solms Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #1 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great For Beginners

2-4    10/27/2015   10/29/2015
Review By: scruggs06
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great for beginners, short course and easy to keep discs in play.
- It's my hometown course.
- Good signage, easy to navigate.
- Not busy if you play after Labor Day and before Memorial Day.
Cons: - No tee box on hole 1
- Tee boxes could use some maintenance. They are wood framed with natural mulched-like material, but not much of that material remains in the tee box. With the recent rain, some of those boxes are on the muddy side.
- Experience players probably won't find it much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: I just started playing disc golf about a week ago. Bought a starter set of discs and am lucky that I have a course like this in the town that I live in. I have only played 2 rounds of disc golf, both at this course, so I really can't compare it to other courses. I do know that I will be ready to try different courses pretty soon. As far as my comment about the tee boxes needing maintenance, I am willing to donate my time to help re-mulch those tee boxes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Prince Of A Disc Golf Course!

1    4/4/2015   4/4/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I understand that Prince Solms Park DGC has undergone some helpful and needed improvements lately with tee pads and signage. Having never played here, I can only comment on what is here now. The course plays around the park in a counter clockwise direction for the first 5 holes, then 6-7-8 play along the river and 9 plays about back to near your starting point.
There's a course map at the beginning. The tee pads are extra big with natural material. They are bordered by good sized logs on all sides. The tee signs give you all the information you need including a map, par, distance and a helpful, health tip such as how many calories you're burning by playing or remember to wear your sunscreen. Many players I know could use a helpful tip on how many brain cells they're fogging over by smoking that wacky tobacky.
I think most of the holes were in the 200-300 ft. range.
My two favorites were the two over by the river, #'s 6 and 7. They both involved an element of risk, being the river. On 7, too much hyzer and your disc could end up way down a 30 ft. embankment into the creek. It didn't look like a fun climb down there.
Cons: Pay to park from Memorial Day to Labor Day.
Park and parking lot both get very crowded during busy times.
Windy today.
Natural tee pads are semi-rough and uneven.
A personal pet peeve of mine-the # 7 tee pad is not level. It tilts up with the slope of the land.
Other Thoughts: Sounds like the improvements have been helpful here. The course is solid. It's fun and with enough challenge for us rec players. Intermediate players and above would not be challenged. It would be a nice place to bring that beginner to. I'd play it if I lived around here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Found Disc

1    11/6/2013   11/6/2013
Review By: zwalters
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good location, cool river. Hardly anybody is ever there playing. Summer time is different story, good luck finding parking
Cons: no tees
Other Thoughts: I found a white innova valkyrie in the river. No phone number just initials. If it's yours tell me your initials!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 About right for the river

1    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is as good a job as anyone could do given the space, vegetation, structures, roads, and terrain.

The course is very basic, without being vanilla. So if you're a 400 foot drive kind of guy, work on your midrange and putt here. If you're a newbie, this course will provide all you need.

At the OLD course sign, which is at the entrance to the park and close to the baskets for #, there was a NEW course map, though it had fallen over. Take a look at it to find your way.

Since it's a maintained park, there's no problems with undergrowth. The baskets are very brightly painted, so they're easy to see.

The tee shots on 1, 4, 7, and 8 are interesting. While the others may be boring, the basket placement is really well done on almost every hole.

#9 for instance is tucked into some crepe myrtles. #6 is backed up to a (thankfully shallow!) part of the river. #2 and #4 are backed up to the drive around the park, so if you play the road as OB then it will test you a bit.

If you're an advanced player, challenge yourself to shoot an 18 here. It's possible. If you're an amateur, this is a course where 27 is possible without boring you - you'll be challenged but not overwhelmed! For the novices, they can have fun, try and shoot under 36, and get a good feel for the game.

Parking is plentiful, and there are restrooms just across the bridge over the #6 tee. This IS on the river, of course, so there's plenty to do and see.
Cons: No real useful signs up at the tees as of Memorial Day 09. About 6 of the holes have very short (but brightly painted) markers that are 6 inches tall. For the other three you have to look for the yellow stakes in the ground, which are at every hole.

#6 is a tough tee to find. It's across the street from 5, down the hill, behind the concrete winding bridge people take to cross the river.

People must walk through the park to get to the tubin', so you're going to be interrupted as you play. Holes 1, 2, 4, and 8 are all pedestrian crossing holes when it's busy.

I think this'd be a fun little course if you played it on a non-holiday. So don't let the foot traffic worries keep you away.
Other Thoughts: Some new signs with the info the old signs had would be really great here.

LOOK at the photos on the site here, and make a little sketch of the "updated as of 08" course map on this site. It will save you a bunch of time when you go play.

The one sentence breakdown is this: the course is basic, but not boring. You can have fun playing this course!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.