New Braunfels, TX 
Prince Solms Park Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #4 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Good news

1    4/19/2014   4/26/2014
Review By: spinx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hi disc golfers, I have great news, this site has just been renovated! I am a Boy Scout and for my eagle scout project I restored the baskets powder coating them and replacing their chains as well as clearly numbering them. Also I was able ,through the help of the community, to build tee boxes!
I need to give a big thank you to this site because your reviews helped me determine what this site needs.
Cons: unfortunately I'm not quite done, as part of my project I designed signage for the course which included maps directions and a throw guide for each hole.(everything you guys asked for) the signs are being made right now and will be in within the net few weeks. I will have them in place by this summer(2014).
Other Thoughts: This was a large project and as such it had, and still has, a large budget this community has banded together to make this project happen but I still need a little help. if you feel that you can support this project and would like to contribute to this renovation you can donate here,
http://www.donationto.com/NBD...eScoutProject
all proceeds go towards the disc golf course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Found Disc

1    11/6/2013   11/6/2013
Review By: zwalters
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good location, cool river. Hardly anybody is ever there playing. Summer time is different story, good luck finding parking
Cons: no tees
Other Thoughts: I found a white innova valkyrie in the river. No phone number just initials. If it's yours tell me your initials!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 So much fun

1    6/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: Rezora46
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great view. Real fun. A river you can float after, I had a great time.
Cons: No tee pads. Hard to follow, I needed a guide to find all nine tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I heard from a local the an Eagle Scout is going to turn it into an 18 hole course and add tee gads for his community project.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/12/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice DISCatchers. The holes by the river were nice(5-7) because they used elevation and had risk shots because of the creek. There are lights from the tennis court and basketball court that are helpful if you are playing later in the day.
Cons: Wow, this course had a lot cons and honestly very few pros. This course was in a sketchy area. This is the first time I honestly felt a little threatened by the people at a park. There are no signs so navigation is a nightmare. They only holes that were good were 5-7( the ones by the river). Everything else was wide open. I made my own tee up on 8 due to lack of signage. ( Hole 3 you cross the street and throw toward the group of trees) Hole 4 shoots by tennis court. 5 is threw the gate, down the hill by the water. 6 you shoot back up hill and 7 is along the fence and long, with the basket by the creek. 8 is on the other side of the tennis court. 9 is back by the parking lot. I hope that helped for navigation reasons. Try to play this course during the daylight to be safer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    2/22/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There are nice Discatcher baskets that are a bit rusted but the structural integrity still holds true.
-A few of the holes have interesting lines that are an option to take off the tee. Hole #8 comes into mind the most as there are several trees in the middle of the fairway and you can take a straight shot down to the middle and have the fade carry you to the basket, or throw a forehand flex shot. It is easily the best hole on the course.
-A good place to bring beginners for their first time out; no hole is too long.
-Hole 6 and 7 play next to the Comal River. In the summer you can jump in to cool off (plus the water is 70 degrees all year round) and the water is clear enough that if you throw a disc in you will be able to see it.The river also adds a little bit of an excitement/risk factor.
Cons: -There are no tee signs. It is nearly impossible to know where to start and where to go next. There are dirt patches that are the tee pads but this course is not played enough to know exactly where they are. Luckily, I played with a group of guys that knew the way; if they had not been there, there is not chance I would have known where to go.
-There are a few open holes with very few obstacles which is never really any fun.
-I can see this place being PACKED and probably un playable starting around mid to late March all the way until the end of September due to being so close to the river and this being a very popular area to start a day in the river.
Other Thoughts: This course is just your average "Meh" course. It is not so terrible that you need to question the existence of the course in the first place but it is not good enough to go out of your way any play. Like mentioned before, if you find some people that know the course and you go in the slow months of the year then this course can be a little bit of fun.
The course is also close enough off of I-35 that you can do a side trip and play it if you are traveling through town.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Bother

1    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: matt_robertson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Discatcher baskets.
Cons: NO TEES. Had to download a map from DGCourseReview and still had to make up our own tees.
In the middle of and around roads, a tennis court, and a parking lot - can get crowded.
Boring course - just a flat park with some baskets.
Sticker burrs everywhere (got a few through my sandals).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I Like This Little Course

2-4    3/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Von Roll
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for a quick game of DG.
There at least two holes with elevation changes.
Two holes have decent lengths.
Great course for improving your game.
The beauty of New Braunfels shines through on this course.
Two holes have the potential for you to end up in the drink.
Hole 6/7 is a great place to take a dip in the Comal on a hot TEXAS day.
Cons: Can be very crowded during "peak" season as this park also has a tube chute for river toobers, tennis courts, etc.
Seems as if the DGC gets the least amount of attention from park officials (no signs, good teeboxes, or course map)
Not the best layout.
Most holes are played in a fairly open field.
Most holes are short.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course for improving my game (AKA practicing) Every time I've played here I have had some pretty strong winds adding to the difficulty of this tight course. In addition, this would be a great course to teach someone the game while you up your two shot game and enjoy the Beauty of the Comal river.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 its complete again!

5+    9/23/2010   9/24/2010
Review By: Guru10
Played: 39  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -almost never see anyone during the week

-baskets are numbered, but a little hard to make out

-10 minutes away from where i work
Cons: -no map/signs/tee pads makes for a lousy game

-hole 6 is missing and has yet to be replaced.

UPDATE: basket 6 is back and looking good.

-short holes. only have to carry 2 discs. could be good or bad.

-doesn't look like the course is kept up as well as the other amenities in the park.

-no holes over the water. i feel they could expand the park to play over the water, for at least one hole.

-some old signs from a previous layout are still around, but lead nowhere. looks like it was a nice park at one time.
Other Thoughts: i work in gruene, which is only about 5 minutes away from this park and whenever i work a double, i stop here for a quick round. hard to lose a disc, most holes cross the same open field.

i like this course for being there when i have the need to chuck some plastic before my next shift.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Could Be a nice Course

1    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find right next to The Schlitterbahn and the Comal River so you get to see lots of Bikini Clad Girls. The Course is ok. Lots of easy shots
Cons: No real Signs to show you the layout of the course. Couldn't find #6 (Saw in an earlier review that it was lost to a flood)
Other Thoughts: Could be a nice Course if the City would put just a little effort into it. When we go toobing again, I would probably play it just to get some throws in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Unless its improved I would Pass

1    6/29/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: Truthbringer76
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: This is really only good if you want to just pick a Hole and practice throwing from random spots. If you are looking to actually play a game. There is only 8 holes and its tough to figure out.
Cons: This course is in bad shape. Hole #6 is missing from a flood. The other holes have been moved since it was originally put in. Its very hard to find all the holes. There is no set tee's that can be recognized. Some of the holes are in areas behind a fence where a place for tubes to entering river was put in.

Other Thoughts: It may be worth checking out if they ever improve it. Doesnt seem like its a priority in that area.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.