Durham, NC 
Bethesda Park Share
Uploaded By: CarlBuddig Hole #18 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 224ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Interesting short course

2-4    5/23/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 52  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners. You could get by with just a putter and have a lot of fun here.

#1 basket is on the ground, #3 is surrounded by large rocks, #12 has a hanging basket just before a creek. The course flow is pretty good and there a few signs to point you in the right direction.

The holes are short but provide nice variety. There are no tee signs showing layout, but most baskets are visible from the tee area. Most holes are straight but there are uphill and downhill throws and a few that have a small creek in play.

This is an excellent place for beginners or someone looking for a quick easy round. There was no one else out there on a beautiful Saturday afternoon, so I don't think this course gets a lot of use.

In many cases, if you want an extra challenge you can tee off way behind the existing tee markers.
Cons: The tee areas are natural and marked by two rocks in most cases. If I hadn't read about the re-design, I may have wondered about the concrete pads that were still in place but not in play.

The rough can be rough this time of year. Errant shots may require some time spent searching.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course twice. My dad, who doesn't get much distance loved it as he had a birdie and many pars.

With some signage and tee pads, this could be a great pitch and putt. With the money that went into the ropes course and covered basketball courts in this park, sprucing up the DG course would be a drop in the bucket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun short course

1    1/26/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great baskets, a number of them in creative placements. Wide variety of shots required, from doglegs to elevation to guarded pin placements.
Cons: Mostly dirt tee pads, which takes away from the experience a bit when you're trying to avoid slipping on mud. Can't really use a driver much, but the fairways are narrow enough that the shorter holes are still fun.
Other Thoughts: If this place got some tee pads (and better signage) it would be a really nice technical course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great course to run through!

1    1/7/2014   1/7/2014
Review By: VinnyB
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tests accuracy and the short game. The park is beautiful, and the course is easy enough to follow from signs. I like all the elevation changes. Natural tees don't bother me at all although real pads would be nice (I understand they are on the way.) I liked the interesting basket placements!
Cons: Really short course, but it didn't really detract from my playing experience. There does seem to be room to add distance to many holes without detracting from the skill of each one. Some baskets really punish you for missing long with steep drops behind them.
Other Thoughts: I played all 18 holes by myself shooting twice on the coldest day of the year and had a blast. Most pars I have ever shot!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  In Process

1    1/30/2013   2/2/2013
Review By: mwhittek
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hole 1 was very interesting. It's buried up to the basket on the side of a hill, so if you throw past, you're aiming for the ground. Different, but I liked it.

None of the holes are extremely long, but there's enough variety to keep the course interesting.
Cons: The ground doesn't seem to be irrigating very well. It hadn't rained for a couple of days, and the course had some elevation changes, but even on the hills the ground was still very wet, muddy and slick. Hopefully more foot traffic and some dry weather will clear it up.

No pads are in place yet, and if the ground is wet, it can make for some sketchy footing.
Other Thoughts: We met Carl while playing. He's working on getting the new course set up and brush cleared. Hopefully they get the pads installed and the ground dries out. After hat, it should be a great course not too far from work.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.