Disc Golf Store
Durham, NC 
Bethesda Park Share
Uploaded By: CEdwards2108 Hole #12 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 162ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun short course

1    1/26/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 52  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great baskets, a number of them in creative placements. Wide variety of shots required, from doglegs to elevation to guarded pin placements.
Cons: Mostly dirt tee pads, which takes away from the experience a bit when you're trying to avoid slipping on mud. Can't really use a driver much, but the fairways are narrow enough that the shorter holes are still fun.
Other Thoughts: If this place got some tee pads (and better signage) it would be a really nice technical course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great course to run through!

1    1/7/2014   1/7/2014
Review By: VinnyB
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tests accuracy and the short game. The park is beautiful, and the course is easy enough to follow from signs. I like all the elevation changes. Natural tees don't bother me at all although real pads would be nice (I understand they are on the way.) I liked the interesting basket placements!
Cons: Really short course, but it didn't really detract from my playing experience. There does seem to be room to add distance to many holes without detracting from the skill of each one. Some baskets really punish you for missing long with steep drops behind them.
Other Thoughts: I played all 18 holes by myself shooting twice on the coldest day of the year and had a blast. Most pars I have ever shot!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quirky

1    5/27/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 204  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I actually like this course quite a bit. There are some fun quirky holes here. There are some tough shots. And a round can be played very quickly.

The first hole is an ace run unlike any I've seen. The basket is buried on a hillside so that the lip of the basket is close to even with the ground level.

12 is the best hole here for me. Over a creek to a hanging basket with a second creek just past the goal, making going for it a risky proposition.

For a short course, in which every hole can be deuced for the most part, there is a decent amount of challenge. The fairways are narrow, and force controlled straight throws. There is surprising use of elevation as well, with some interesting downhill shots.

And with the light brush and the short nature of the holes, Bethesda is a course that welcomes the quick pop in, or multiple successive rounds. A lot of fun can be had here.
Cons: That said, there are also a few dull holes, which is bound to happen when they're all so short. And they are short. Only two holes surpass two hundred and two feet. There too many holes that require merely a straight shot of 100 feet and change.

But hey, that's par for a short, quick course. The bigger problem here is one that could be rectified. That's the tees. The tees are identified by two rocks and a small sign hung on a tree. That would be fine with me if the tees were flat. A lot of them are uneven with loose materials. In autumn, fallen leaves can make them seriously slick. There are small stumps in the way. (You will trip over the stump in the middle of the two tee.) The worst is hole nine, where you tee off from the sidewalk, which is raised, and too small to talk a step.

The stumps aren't limited to the tees. Walking down some of the fairways can have you looking like Mark Orlando. With leaves on the course, the small stumps are hazardous to your shoes.
Other Thoughts: The lines are mostly too tough for beginners but more advanced players will find most of the holes much too short. Still, fix the tee situation and remove some of the stumps and this will be a solid course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Yep

2-4    5/23/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 138  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - It's deuce or die here; everything is short, tight and begging for a run.

Some nifty shots are carved in to the woods that'll make you consider disc selection. Most holes are on the straightish side but little bends and movement left or right at the basket helps keep it interesting. Some double fairways.

Lots of elevation changes help spice up this short course. A creek system that runs throughout also adds in some challenge making you think about placement.

Some interesting greens placed along the creeks, dropoffs, boulders...

Atmosphere - Very interesting modern but rugged type park. It has covered basketball/tennis courts with lights. A huge ropes course and now this sweet little course.

The area used by the course is mostly away from the rest of the park. I havent seen anyone else walking through that part but there is a walking trail.

Equipment - New tee signs have replaced the not so great rocks. All but one pad is natural. Nice new discatchers. Some directional signs.
Cons: Layout - Everything is in about the same length and mostly straight. It gets a bit monotonous and could of been mixed up more.

Some weird transitions in parts that can make it confusing.

Atmosphere - Lots of mosquitos and ticks out here, I was getting ambushed which is not unusual this time of year but here it was amplified. It gets muddy/swampy in a few parts.

Equipment - The tees could use some more work on the leveling front.

Not enough directional signs telling you where to go at points. Did a lot of walking back and forth my first time.

No benches/trashcans throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: I like it in a way, I think I prefer it over some of the other short dinker courses around. The elevation changes helps with that.

#12 is a nice signature hole; and it even uses an old concrete pad. It's a more open shot with a creek about midway and then another creek right behind the hanging basket.

(Note: this course was redesigned and built on top of an older 9 hole layout. if you see concrete pads those are for the old layout and not the new one, except on hole 12.)

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Getting much better.

2-4    4/12/2013   4/10/2013
Review By: CarlBuddig
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets in place. Mostly dry. Lots of bridges and walkways going in. Decent log lined paths to guide you. Interesting hole locations. Great elevation changes. Lots of chances for aces. This course is coming along nicely.
Cons: Still needs tee pads on 80% of the course. More blazes or arrows to guide you in the longer hole-to-hole walks needed. Short, extremely tight holes are a bit much. I think if they moved them back, and there is plenty of room in most places, and cut down some more trees, this could have been a real beauty. Hoping for some Pro tees and cut trees to come.
Other Thoughts: Some cool pin placements keep you guessing. Hanging basket, buried basket.
Tees are marked by rocks where no pads exist yet.
Good job and thanks to the DORDA team for getting funding and hard work.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 In Process

1    1/30/2013   2/2/2013
Review By: mwhittek
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hole 1 was very interesting. It's buried up to the basket on the side of a hill, so if you throw past, you're aiming for the ground. Different, but I liked it.

None of the holes are extremely long, but there's enough variety to keep the course interesting.
Cons: The ground doesn't seem to be irrigating very well. It hadn't rained for a couple of days, and the course had some elevation changes, but even on the hills the ground was still very wet, muddy and slick. Hopefully more foot traffic and some dry weather will clear it up.

No pads are in place yet, and if the ground is wet, it can make for some sketchy footing.
Other Thoughts: We met Carl while playing. He's working on getting the new course set up and brush cleared. Hopefully they get the pads installed and the ground dries out. After hat, it should be a great course not too far from work.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Possibly best Triangle beginner course?

1    1/25/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 46  Reviewed: 36
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - great design. Never played the old course, but really like this one. I think the layout is thoughtful. It is an easy course for a moderately experienced player. The great thing is that the basket location of each is just tucked away. You can see the line, you just have to execute it. If you execute it, you have an ace run for an easy birdie. If you don't, you are fighting for par.
- the map and guide in the links section are top-notch. I used the map and was able to navigate easily.
- the use of elevation is pretty good. They hide pins over the crest of the hills. Good mix of uphill and downhill shots.
Cons: - I played this course after several days below freezing. I am concerned that it may be soft. Ir really hope not - I will update this review when I know.
- its a work in process. The lack tees, signs, etc could make it difficult if you come unprepared. I know this will improve.
- its short. The pin placements make it not boring, but it's short. More in other thoughts.
- I am concerned that I think I saw poison ivy in several places (in the middle of winter). I am concerned about what the growth will be like in the summer. Let's get some traffic.
Other Thoughts: - with regards to the title, this would be a great course for a beginner to learn. Straight throws are rewarded. You could play with a putter, throw it straight twice and have a very makeable par-3 putt.
- this course has a ton of potential. I believe that you could add "pro" tees to most holes - there is space. You could add 50' - it would probably require "sharing" of the walking paths.
- I would put this course ahead of Cornwallis and Kentwood. Close to Leigh Farms Rec. once the course gets completed (and lengthened please!), it may be close to Middle Creek.
- I like 18, with the hyzer coming back towards to OB, the wall was interesting. Didn't like the flick hole on 15.
- tons of potential, I will be playing on a regular basis. Big thanks for those who are making this course happen.
- this is

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.