Durham, NC 
Bethesda Park Share
Uploaded By: CarlBuddig Hole #8 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 142ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Ok for beginners

1    6/6/2015   6/6/2015
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 36  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2015
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I took my 8- and 9-year old sons to play here and we had a good time. The holes are all under 200 feet, making this a true "pitch and putt." This is not a course advanced or intermediate players will find challenging, but it's great for beginners. Most players won't need more than a putter or a midrange on this course. The hanging basket was fun (especially because I almost aced it!). Lots of tight, technical holes to try out your midrange accuracy and go for aces.
Cons: Again, not a challenging course unless you're a beginner. And for beginners, it's good, but there are plenty of holes where you would need a spotter so as not to lose a disc in the underbrush. The redesign makes the course a little confusing (random signs and tee pass from the old layout). Also, many tee areas are uneven with roots, rocks, etc.
Other Thoughts: [UPDATE: Upon further reflection, I'm lowering my grade to 2.0. Again, it's a good beginner course, but it's not challenging or long enough to warrant a higher grade.]

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting short course

2-4    5/23/2015   5/24/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 49  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for beginners. You could get by with just a putter and have a lot of fun here.

#1 basket is on the ground, #3 is surrounded by large rocks, #12 has a hanging basket just before a creek. The course flow is pretty good and there a few signs to point you in the right direction.

The holes are short but provide nice variety. There are no tee signs showing layout, but most baskets are visible from the tee area. Most holes are straight but there are uphill and downhill throws and a few that have a small creek in play.

This is an excellent place for beginners or someone looking for a quick easy round. There was no one else out there on a beautiful Saturday afternoon, so I don't think this course gets a lot of use.

In many cases, if you want an extra challenge you can tee off way behind the existing tee markers.
Cons: The tee areas are natural and marked by two rocks in most cases. If I hadn't read about the re-design, I may have wondered about the concrete pads that were still in place but not in play.

The rough can be rough this time of year. Errant shots may require some time spent searching.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course twice. My dad, who doesn't get much distance loved it as he had a birdie and many pars.

With some signage and tee pads, this could be a great pitch and putt. With the money that went into the ropes course and covered basketball courts in this park, sprucing up the DG course would be a drop in the bucket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Speciality shot fun course

5+    3/27/2015   3/28/2015
Review By: mJAY
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is always empty (no wait)
Great practice course for speciality shots. maintenance has been pretty consistent over the last year. Holes are opened up enough that players of all skill levels can play. Average and up players are shooting for a hole in one on just about every hole.
Cons: I only play here from fall to spring. It gets pretty overgrown and will eat your disc if you're not careful. No real tee pads and many of the boxes are not level and full of roots or rocks. Do not play after rain storms. This place needs at least two days to dry out.
Other Thoughts: Cool little local course 10 minuets from my house. There are a few very well thought out "picturesque" holes on this course. I can throw my entire bag on any hole I want whenever I want because nobody is ever there...ever

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Has Potential, but needs work

1    10/20/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: bmoney14
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
Pros: -This course is tight and technical with challenging shots
-For how long the holes are, I am impressed the course was made as difficult as it is
-The basket locations are fun and unique (there is a hanging basket and a basket essentially in the ground)
-You could play this course easily in 30-40 mins
Cons: -The signage here is pretty terrible, a decent amount of time was spent merely trying to find the next hole
-There are no concrete tees, only dirt
-I once found a handful of 9mm casings on this course
-The underbrush just off the fairway is so so awful. I spent just as much trying to find discs as playing.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be a 4/5 with some heavy maintenance. At least signs and concrete tee pads.But right now, it is not close to that.

Fun short course

1    1/26/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 60  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great baskets, a number of them in creative placements. Wide variety of shots required, from doglegs to elevation to guarded pin placements.
Cons: Mostly dirt tee pads, which takes away from the experience a bit when you're trying to avoid slipping on mud. Can't really use a driver much, but the fairways are narrow enough that the shorter holes are still fun.
Other Thoughts: If this place got some tee pads (and better signage) it would be a really nice technical course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great course to run through!

1    1/7/2014   1/7/2014
Review By: VinnyB
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tests accuracy and the short game. The park is beautiful, and the course is easy enough to follow from signs. I like all the elevation changes. Natural tees don't bother me at all although real pads would be nice (I understand they are on the way.) I liked the interesting basket placements!
Cons: Really short course, but it didn't really detract from my playing experience. There does seem to be room to add distance to many holes without detracting from the skill of each one. Some baskets really punish you for missing long with steep drops behind them.
Other Thoughts: I played all 18 holes by myself shooting twice on the coldest day of the year and had a blast. Most pars I have ever shot!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quirky

1    5/27/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I actually like this course quite a bit. There are some fun quirky holes here. There are some tough shots. And a round can be played very quickly.

The first hole is an ace run unlike any I've seen. The basket is buried on a hillside so that the lip of the basket is close to even with the ground level.

12 is the best hole here for me. Over a creek to a hanging basket with a second creek just past the goal, making going for it a risky proposition.

For a short course, in which every hole can be deuced for the most part, there is a decent amount of challenge. The fairways are narrow, and force controlled straight throws. There is surprising use of elevation as well, with some interesting downhill shots.

And with the light brush and the short nature of the holes, Bethesda is a course that welcomes the quick pop in, or multiple successive rounds. A lot of fun can be had here.
Cons: That said, there are also a few dull holes, which is bound to happen when they're all so short. And they are short. Only two holes surpass two hundred and two feet. There too many holes that require merely a straight shot of 100 feet and change.

But hey, that's par for a short, quick course. The bigger problem here is one that could be rectified. That's the tees. The tees are identified by two rocks and a small sign hung on a tree. That would be fine with me if the tees were flat. A lot of them are uneven with loose materials. In autumn, fallen leaves can make them seriously slick. There are small stumps in the way. (You will trip over the stump in the middle of the two tee.) The worst is hole nine, where you tee off from the sidewalk, which is raised, and too small to talk a step.

The stumps aren't limited to the tees. Walking down some of the fairways can have you looking like Mark Orlando. With leaves on the course, the small stumps are hazardous to your shoes.
Other Thoughts: The lines are mostly too tough for beginners but more advanced players will find most of the holes much too short. Still, fix the tee situation and remove some of the stumps and this will be a solid course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yep

2-4    5/23/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - It's deuce or die here; everything is short, tight and begging for a run.

Some nifty shots are carved in to the woods that'll make you consider disc selection. Most holes are on the straightish side but little bends and movement left or right at the basket helps keep it interesting. Some double fairways.

Lots of elevation changes help spice up this short course. A creek system that runs throughout also adds in some challenge making you think about placement.

Some interesting greens placed along the creeks, dropoffs, boulders...

Atmosphere - Very interesting modern but rugged type park. It has covered basketball/tennis courts with lights. A huge ropes course and now this sweet little course.

The area used by the course is mostly away from the rest of the park. I havent seen anyone else walking through that part but there is a walking trail.

Equipment - New tee signs have replaced the not so great rocks. All but one pad is natural. Nice new discatchers. Some directional signs.
Cons: Layout - Everything is in about the same length and mostly straight. It gets a bit monotonous and could of been mixed up more.

Some weird transitions in parts that can make it confusing.

Atmosphere - Lots of mosquitos and ticks out here, I was getting ambushed which is not unusual this time of year but here it was amplified. It gets muddy/swampy in a few parts.

Equipment - The tees could use some more work on the leveling front.

Not enough directional signs telling you where to go at points. Did a lot of walking back and forth my first time.

No benches/trashcans throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: I like it in a way, I think I prefer it over some of the other short dinker courses around. The elevation changes helps with that.

#12 is a nice signature hole; and it even uses an old concrete pad. It's a more open shot with a creek about midway and then another creek right behind the hanging basket.

(Note: this course was redesigned and built on top of an older 9 hole layout. if you see concrete pads those are for the old layout and not the new one, except on hole 12.)

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Getting much better.

2-4    4/12/2013   4/10/2013
Review By: CarlBuddig
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets in place. Mostly dry. Lots of bridges and walkways going in. Decent log lined paths to guide you. Interesting hole locations. Great elevation changes. Lots of chances for aces. This course is coming along nicely.
Cons: Still needs tee pads on 80% of the course. More blazes or arrows to guide you in the longer hole-to-hole walks needed. Short, extremely tight holes are a bit much. I think if they moved them back, and there is plenty of room in most places, and cut down some more trees, this could have been a real beauty. Hoping for some Pro tees and cut trees to come.
Other Thoughts: Some cool pin placements keep you guessing. Hanging basket, buried basket.
Tees are marked by rocks where no pads exist yet.
Good job and thanks to the DORDA team for getting funding and hard work.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  In Process

1    1/30/2013   2/2/2013
Review By: mwhittek
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hole 1 was very interesting. It's buried up to the basket on the side of a hill, so if you throw past, you're aiming for the ground. Different, but I liked it.

None of the holes are extremely long, but there's enough variety to keep the course interesting.
Cons: The ground doesn't seem to be irrigating very well. It hadn't rained for a couple of days, and the course had some elevation changes, but even on the hills the ground was still very wet, muddy and slick. Hopefully more foot traffic and some dry weather will clear it up.

No pads are in place yet, and if the ground is wet, it can make for some sketchy footing.
Other Thoughts: We met Carl while playing. He's working on getting the new course set up and brush cleared. Hopefully they get the pads installed and the ground dries out. After hat, it should be a great course not too far from work.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.