Prescott, AZ 
Watson Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: lion Hole #5 (Taken 1/2013)
3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Pretty Views

1    6/24/2016   7/11/2016
Review By: sssrn
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: 1. Nice views of the lake and surrounding area
2. Good variety of shots
3. Utilized desert terrain well. No large trees to work with but there are cacti, natural brush, and a variety of elevation to work with. All holes work around and within the area so no two holes are the same.
4. Holes well marked with easy to find signs.
5. Water available. Important with any desert course.
Cons: 1. While the holes are well marked finding the first hole was a challenge. We might have just been starting from the wrong area though.
2. No real long shots. Great for my noodle arm but might lack a challenge for those with a solid drive.
3. Fee to enter campground but then again I'm cheap.
4. Bees. Ran afoul of a beehive at one of the holes.
5. Lots of rocks. Typical of desert courses but can still tear up a favorite disc.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course unfortunately I didn't have time to really explore it. It looks as though they've expanded it to 18 holes but the new signs appear temporary and I wasn't able to play them. If already camping in the area I strongly recommend this course.

Solid Course In A Pretty Lakeside Park!

1    3/10/2016   3/15/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 944  Reviewed: 894  Exp: 38.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Watson Lake Park, located just outside Prescott, is is a fairly large county? Park next to Watson Lake. Watson Lake stretches around the hills for quite some length and has some extremely beautiful shoreline. There is now a $3 day fee to enter the park.

The little 9 hole disc starts out near the parking lot by the lake. There are restroom facilities close by. The pads are rubber mats. Most are flat although a few are a little bumpy. There is a basic Course Rules sign at the start. The tee signs are very basic metal simply stating the hole #, no par or distance or route. The baskets are new DGA models.

#1 plays 310' up a hill through some high desert trees and scrub brush.
# 2 sign is missing but it's 225'.
# 3 is a 225' ACE run to a basket slightly downhill.
# 4 is 254' up a slight incline with a little anhyser needed.
# 5 is the signature hole on this course. From the tee, you're overlooking the lake and distant mountains. The baskets is 355' down before you.
# 6. 385 Flat, open and kinda boring. You're starting back towards the car now.
# 7. 300' throwing back slight downhill to the lake, open all the way.
# 8 is 259' is slight uphill heading back towards the parking lot again again. The basket is tucked into some bushes on this hole.
# 9 is 239' with the basket surrounded by bushes both front and back.
Cons: Missing sign on # 2.
$3 fee to enter park might keep some players out.
Besides # 5, course lacks personality.
Other reviewers have mentioned difficult footing. I have to agree, it's not exactly enjoyable to walk on.
Other Thoughts: Decent enough course considering the fact, I believe, it's the only basket course in the area. I enjoyed the course enough that I'd come back and play it again. Watson Lake has some lovely areas to explore. # 5 is a fun hole. The rating is currently a little high (2.83) due to HBB. I was torn between a 2 and 2.5. The 2.5 I gave it was generous but I'm notoriously generous with these easy recreational courses because they fit me like a glove.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A great place to play

2-4    3/4/2016   3/4/2016
Review By: Vance in AK
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked. Nice layout. Reasonable difficulty for anyone.
Holes are not overly long but a bit of wind adds to the challenge.
Cons: Only 9 holes...
Other Thoughts: Was just visiting relatives in Prescott & brought 3 discs with me just to play this course. Was a perfect break!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Did not expect much, got more than expected

1    2/18/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: ScottG
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of one hillside; up to start, then across and down and across again, to finish broadside on the hill back to the start. Great placement of t's and goals.
Cons: A short 9 hole course, but easily played twice with a good chance that the wind has changed on second round to play a new game.
Other Thoughts: A lot of open shots, yet wind direction played a big impact on shots.

A few articulate shots, requiring precision compensating for the winds and elevation changes.

Park services needs to add disc golf to directives on maps and guides.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good start..

2-4    2/2/2013   2/3/2013
Review By: chillis
Played: 96  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 9-hole course is in a very scenic area of Prescott, Watson Lake Park. The designer/s have taken an otherwise boring hillside and turned it into a legitimate layout showcasing the available elevation. It's challenging enough for seasoned players yet approachable enough for newbies and families.

-Each tee has signs nearby, and walking lines from basket to teepad are easily navigable.
-Fresh baskets
-Grippy, rubber teepads. Though, a few aren't totally flat.
-Opportunities for alt. tees (especially #5 from the nearby pavilion)
-Possible area to expand east of the current layout. Looks like they might've been able to create a few more holes with that land.
-Nearby pavilions, restrooms, trash cans - all the accoutrements you'd expect at a well-funded community park.
Cons: -Ceiling is open on almost every shot, shot-shaping isn't a necessity.
-Although I do appreciate the "flow" of the course, Holes 7, 8, and 9 seem repetitive.
-The area is raw right now, so the soil hasn't been compacted and footing can be an issue.
-Lots of brush and bushes that are difficult to retrieve discs from (without getting scratched!)
Other Thoughts: Favorite holes : #3 and #5

Like most Prescott courses, the environment will change drastically between seasons, probably changing the overall look of the course. Summer will be hot, dry and dusty with possibility of tall grass to contend with.

Mostly, this course in a 'foot in the door' for gaining legitimacy for disc golf in Prescott. Please add your name and date visited to the Sign In sheet by #1!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Watson Lake

5+    1/10/2013   1/20/2013
Review By: blackcatsmith
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quality baskets, rubber mat tee-pads. Only course of any length w/ baskets & tee-pads in Tri-City area. Well laid out course, easy to play. Plenty of opportunities for aces, low scores, and alternate(long) tees. Great winds!
Cons: Course is short and rather mundane. Muddy when wet. Don't stand still for too long....you'll become stuck, or disappear all together. Grass will be a bear come the warmer months. I'm still finding foxtails from a previous round. Watch where your disc lands, easy to lose on some holes. I also posted this as a "Pro", but I am being informed that not everyone likes playing in 25+mph swirling winds.
Other Thoughts: The lack of any type of ceiling provides pretty much any line/style of throw(no rollers). The footing is difficult in places, this is because you're sinking if you're standing still. Lots of lost discs for such a wide open course. White discs especially. Not much shade to be had, and come the hotter months it will be scorching out there. DO NOT SWIM in Watson Lake. Just trust me, you don't want to know. Oh, and to avoid paying to park, just pull over at the lakes lookout, park and walk the quarter mile to the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.