Northampton, MA
Northampton State Hospital Share
Uploaded By: DaKineSurfer32 Hole #15 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 415ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A fine fall day

2-4    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: gabereif
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It's free.
-It's easy to find.
-There's plenty of parking.
-Wide range of shots, including left to right, right to left, short, long, wooden, open, hilly, flat, etc. No water, for better or worse.
-Hole 13 used to be a tedious 720 foot hole. It's now about 450.
-A few ace runs and a few very hard shots make for a nice balance.
-No waiting for other players.
-Pins are easy to locate from every tee.

Cons: -Dogwalkers and dogs added about five minutes to my game time.
-Watch out for poo on your walk from the lot to the first tee
-Poor signage. Some tees (2 of 18) hard to find first time out.
-No holes with "wow" aesthetics.
-Some big hills lead to frustration for newbies.
Other Thoughts: -I've heard lots of things about the brush and grass on this course, but it mid-November, there's nothing of the sorts to contend with.
-I just moved to the area and will proudly call this my home course. It exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to master the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nonotuck

5+    10/11/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: buzzzingross
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging holes through course balanced by easy birdie holes. Holes 8,9,10 are located in grass valley (disc golf heaven), and have just recently been mowed. Many places to sit and chill, after a few frustrating shots or putts (behind tee 9). Alternate baskets! Play to different holes or just take a few putts while you pass (holes 10,15).
Cons: Very easy to lose disc! I've lost more disc on this course than any other. Mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos.. Muddy but playable. Dogs and pedestrians everywhere, watch out
Other Thoughts: Over all, more pros than cons. Good course

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Will improve your game!

2-4    8/20/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: kskog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Diverse. Tight woods and some open fields. Great practice course. Once you go off-line, you will work to find your disk. You will want to keep it in the fairway.
Cons: You will likely loose a disk if you don't have the patience to search for it. Narrow woods section with steep penalties if you miss your shot. Hole 2 and 3 require good control (not necessarliy a bad thing). Holes 13 and 14 get overgrown. There are alternates in the woods. Need a course map. Finding 2nd hole can be tough. Also, the alternate holes are useless if you can't find them.
Dog walkers leave poop. Hole one tends to smell because of it.
Not really what I'd call a beginers course.
Other Thoughts: My local course. I'm glad to have it. Everyone I've met is super friendly. If you're lost just ask anyone for help. Don't let the first few holes sour your day. From holes 5-18, this is a great course. Needs signs/course map for newbies. League play Saturdays at 10am and Mondays at 5pm.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Not much better in the immediate area

2-4    10/7/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: burly369
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are rubber mats at most of the tees. They have a "disc return" thing at the end of the course, and every saturday people can go back and check if someone has returned your lost disc.

There is a good variety of holes (a few really long ones in open areas, some really short ones with good elevation change, and a bunch in mildly wooded areas)

Cons: Watch for people walking dogs by first hole.

A map on the bulletin board would be nice.

Hole #14 is very easy to loose a disc in the tall/think grass. I lost a disc my first time there, and the next time I went I saw someone else in a different group do the same thing. Your best bet is to throw it, and chase after it haha.
Other Thoughts: If your from western mass like myself, there really aren't that many other courses in the immediate area that are much better.

Solid course, especially if you don't want to travel the extra hour 1/2 to go to Manchester CT.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/28/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: luvmyvalkerie
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Easy to find using the map provided by this site. Good use of elevation changes. Both short and long holes. Some holes are certainly ace-able. Fun course, not crowded, and most holes have nice rubber tees.
Cons: Dog and dog walker traffic. Dog poop on hole one. Hard to find tee #2 after Hole #1. Hard to find tee #18 after hole # 17.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/15/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fly18 tees in good condition, but some of them at the beginning are cut in half, so they're really short
- nice tables near a few holes, made from bottlecaps
- the course is mowed often because it is also used as a 5k cross country course every Tuesday night
- the wooded holes are tight and will teach you to hit your lines
- it's only an hour and a half from Maple Hill, Pyramids and Marshall Street
Cons: - the first half of the course is extremely short, the second half much longer. There is no balance to the course
- there isn't just one type of basket, there are multiple types and colors (red, blue, yellow, silver), so don't expect to know exactly what you're looking for when you step on a tee
- no tee signs
- MANY people walking their dogs in the park. You have to wait before throwing often, and dogs will sometimes go after your discs, so be careful when you throw.
- navigation isn't too bad, but can be a little tricky at some points because two paths look equally worn
Other Thoughts: I took pictures for this course which I will post in about a week, when I can get them off my camera.

The course starts near the picnic table and second billboard, across the field from where you park.

Some of the holes on the front are very short, but they're still fun and creative. I think that the short holes are much more fun and quality holes than the wide open, long ones on the back 9 where you just throw across a field.

I was extremely disappointed when I found out that most of the old Hospital buildings had been torn down. To me, that was the allure of this course, to be playing through the grounds of a super old mental institution. I'm from Traverse City, MI, and pushing to get a course put in at the old Traverse City State Hospital, to get a course with just that vibe. Something unique.

There is a shop called Village Ski & Sports on Main St in Northampton that sells discs, but they're all way overpriced ($20+ for star plastic, $13 for DX), so don't bother going there if you're not desperate.

There is a cafe in Northampton that's called Lhasa Cafe (it's Tibetan cuisine) that is amazing. It's exotic, inexpensive and really good. How many places do you know of where you can eat Yak?

Northampton is a neat little town and there are definitely some chicas to look at, at Smith College... but as for the course, it was actually unimpressive. It's a okay course, but the one thing that distinguished it from every other average course in that nation is no longer there (the old Hospital buildings). Worth a trip if you're in the area, or worth going to every once in a while if you live in New England, but not a course that will develop your game too much.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Don't Be Fooled By the Name

1    5/23/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty setting of woods and fields with elevation and variety of shots and length. Chances for a few aces as well. This course will force you to think on many holes, as the punishment for going OB can be harsh at times.
Cons: The teepads are mostly rubber but they are not very flat. Some are quite short in length. I wish they had gone to the full effort to make them proper while they were at it.

The course is a bit wild (plant growth) on the edges and some of the open fairways have tall grass that can make both good and errant drives difficult to find.

Hole #1 goes right along a popular walking path which can cause delays.
Other Thoughts: Overall, an enjoyable experience, but it would be helpful to have a spotter whenever you can.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Northampton State Hospital

5+    5/15/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: benlh15
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course with a good range of different style holes. Really a nice walk through the park with interesting holes that are also challenging.
Cons: Some of the fields are not mowed at all. You can spend hours looking for discs. I once lost three discs on one hole (true fact).
Other Thoughts: Real fun course. Beginner players with a lot of slice: probably not the best course to practice on. I've recently discovered there is an alternate hole 13 that saves a lot of time, discs, and strokes. After 12 there is a left turn through the woods. Follow this path about 100 yards of weaving through the woods and you will find the alternate hole with a basket made from a tire.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Play All Day

2-4    4/14/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: mackabean
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have never ever ever had to wait on a tee. Living as I do in the SF bay area, that is no small thing. There is a nice variety of holes, some tight and narrow, others super long and open. The back 9 is really great. Did I mention there is never anyone there?
Cons: The course is wet but I just played it in April, which is a wet time, and it was not too bad. There are way too many trees on the front nine -- lots of great drives get snatched up. And some of the holes are just kind of stupid.
Other Thoughts: I had a truly wonderful outing here last time I played. Me, my brother, and two of our best friends. Got there around 4pm and played 36 holes. Finished in the dark. A beautiful day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Northampton State Hospital

1    10/9/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: jdc03270
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2008
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of different elevations, and lots of different shots needed. Also this course varies in distance which makes it even more fun. (150ft - 720ft) Also a great lost disc registry at the end of the course!
Cons: Pretty confusing to find next tee, if I didn't have a map I would of spent days in there, but even with the map it was hard. Baskets are all different which isn't bad but some need to be replaced. Watch out for dog poop!
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to pick up a map halfway through hole one. They are in the mail box behind the wooden thing on the right! On the main street of northampton there is a great store called faces, which is filled with lots of "interesting" things! Enjoy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.