Northampton, MA 
Northampton State Hospital Share
Uploaded By: DaKineSurfer32 Hole #4 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Can differentiate l'hospital

1    3/18/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 176  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, this is one of the more confusing names for a course. I have no idea what hospital is being referenced. I can't even find one on a map nearby. It is huge piece of land with walking trails winding through the woods and fields. It looks like it's owned by Smith College, and it's super dog friendly (which may be redundant).

There is a nice mix of holes here. The first 6 holes or so are wooded and hilly, then three good meadow holes with a couple trees and bushes in play, then back up the hill for more woods.

Good mix of distances as well.

Hole 8 was one of the best, a steep downhill wooded shot that requires a careful line to get close to a birdie. Every hole from 6-12 felt pretty fun.
Cons: Navigation. Not great. There are two temp alternate holes (13 and 14) that look like they have been temporary for awhile. One of them is a 500-foot hole that throws along a walking trail, but I never found the basket. Looked all over. That really sucks the wind out of your round. I don't think I found hole 15, either. It took me a few minutes to figure out how to get from hole 8 to 9.

Oh, and the map on here is not helpful. I feel bad that someone spent so much time making a map with that level of detail...none of which is helpful.

Many of the tees are natural. I wasn't even sure where the tee pad was for hole 1.

I do wish there were a couple more meadow holes.
Other Thoughts: There is a really good course hiding in here. It just hasn't been built yet. A lot of the amenities, from the kiosk to the baskets, just look tired. The land is here for a 4-star course. As it is, the high points of this course were better than I expected, and I'm glad I came. But man, please fix the navigation issues.

Note: I came in March when grass and foliage were a non-issue. It looks like a lot of other reviewers ran into tall grass.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sticker bushes / more signs

1    3/6/2016   3/6/2016
Review By: CTPowell
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pretty park... Though a lot of dog walkers, all were friendly
Cons: Difficult finding way around course, no indication where to find next tee...
Many holes with sticker bushes lining fairway, those need to be cleared back...
Course layout needs some work, then tee boxes could be put in...
Young course...

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a Machete

1    8/31/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: TBabb
Played: 57  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is tucked away in the woods west of Smith College in what is the rather charming town of Northampton, MA. The course weaves through walking trails where locals bring their four-legged friends for some exercise. The basics of the course are all present and in workable condition. The baskets catch, the tee pads work, and there is some signage. There's a good mix of hole distances ranging from 150-463 feet. There's also a nice mix of tight wooded shots and more wide open field shots. The course is designed in a nice loop with 18 bringing you back to the trail head. I also like the contrast of a tight technical front 9 with the back 9 which emphasizes distance wide open shots more. The tight woods, tricky basket placements, variety of lines, and long distances make this course a challenging undertaking. Some very friendly locals helped me find a bad drive. There's plenty of parking , the area is beautiful, and it's very close to downtown Northampton where there are many places to grab a taste or a libation after a round. The course is also a good road trip stop being just a short jog off I-91.
Cons: The biggest problem here is foliage maintenance. The grass was so high at the head of the course that I didn't actually find the proper tee pad for the first hole. There was overgrowth throughout the course and if you land off the fairway, you're in for a task. There are prickly bushes and stinging nettles that will conspire against you in your hunt for an errant drive, and it's very possible to loose a disc. You'll also want to do a thorough tick check after around here, especially since the grass is so high. The pictures suggest that the weeds get cut back occasionally, but it clearly doesn't happen often enough.

Some tee pads could be longer. Maps on the tee signs would be a huge help, since several baskets are blind shots from the tee. Navigation can be tricky in a few spots, so some signage could help with that too.

I would have liked to see better use of the elevation here too, as only a couple holes really used it. Generally, the elevation is something to be avoided as a drop off from the fairway. There was little change in elevation on the fairways here, which is something that makes a course fun for me.

No holes really stood out as being particularly innovative. Mostly standard shots.
Other Thoughts: I've played in some thick woods before, but this course had beastly foliage. After the first few holes I got my wife to spot for me and that helped move things along much better. All in all it was an enjoyable round, but the heavy woods did put a damper on things. Come prepared with your most toxic bug spray and this will be a great place to play. Definitely worth a stop and the town is definitely worth hanging in for a while. I'll definitely be back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/10/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: Basshunter
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: That it exists. That it plays well just after the snow melts. A variety of hole types.
Cons: There is little to no course maintenance. Disc golfers are regarded as a nuisance by the "dog walkers" who violate park rules by walking their dogs off leash (hey, i have dogs and walk them off leash all the time, but not in such public areas demanding leashing. DG players need to be respectful of the multi use facility but should he able to expect the same from other users of the space, which doesn't happen.
Other Thoughts: So much potential for a cool course, but needs maintenance and support from local players.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid local course

2-4    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: gabereif
Played: 38  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It's free.
-It's easy to find.
-There's plenty of parking.
-Wide range of shots, including left to right, right to left, short, long, wooden, open, hilly, flat, etc. No water, for better or worse.
-Hole 13 used to be a tedious 720 foot hole. It's now about 450.
-A few ace runs and a few very hard shots make for a nice balance.
-No waiting for other players.
-Pins are easy to locate from every tee.
-Every hole is a legit disc golf hole with a fairway.
-Tees are rubber and good.
-A great resource for the community

Cons: -Dogwalkers and dogs added about five minutes to my game time.
-Watch out for poo on your walk from the lot to the first tee
-Poor signage. Some tees (2 of 18) hard to find first time out.
-No holes with "wow" aesthetics. 14 and 15 are somewhat scenic.
-More mosquitos than the other courses I've played in the region.
Other Thoughts: -I've now played this course in spring, summer, and fall. Summer can get a little gnarly with thick rough, but there aren't too many thorns or poison ivy. Still when 13 or 14 haven't been mowed in too long, it's too hard to find a well-thrown disc. Fall and spring are better.
-I just moved to the area and will proudly call this my home course. It exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to master the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My Local Course

5+    12/4/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: Glenith
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Love this course. Chill and beautiful. Diverse course with steep terrain, tight woods, open fields...alternate baskets, tees and holes. Well maintained by the local league. Nicely designed so that you often have to use every shot in your bag.
Cons: - Can get very overgrown in the mid summer.
- First hole requires waiting for pedestrians.
- Easy to lose a disc in the underbrush
- College students leave beer cans and cig butts (grrrr)
- Watch out for dog poo (especially hole 1)
Other Thoughts: Please carry out what you carry in and do not leave butts on the ground. Thanks. :)

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nonotuck

5+    10/11/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: buzzzingross
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging holes through course balanced by easy birdie holes. Holes 8,9,10 are located in grass valley (disc golf heaven), and have just recently been mowed. Many places to sit and chill, after a few frustrating shots or putts (behind tee 9). Alternate baskets! Play to different holes or just take a few putts while you pass (holes 10,15).
Cons: Very easy to lose disc! I've lost more disc on this course than any other. Mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos.. Muddy but playable. Dogs and pedestrians everywhere, watch out
Other Thoughts: Over all, more pros than cons. Good course

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Will improve your game!

2-4    8/20/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: kskog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Diverse. Tight woods and some open fields. Great practice course. Once you go off-line, you will work to find your disk. You will want to keep it in the fairway.
Cons: You will likely loose a disk if you don't have the patience to search for it. Narrow woods section with steep penalties if you miss your shot. Hole 2 and 3 require good control (not necessarliy a bad thing). Holes 13 and 14 get overgrown. There are alternates in the woods. Need a course map. Finding 2nd hole can be tough. Also, the alternate holes are useless if you can't find them.
Dog walkers leave poop. Hole one tends to smell because of it.
Not really what I'd call a beginers course.
Other Thoughts: My local course. I'm glad to have it. Everyone I've met is super friendly. If you're lost just ask anyone for help. Don't let the first few holes sour your day. From holes 5-18, this is a great course. Needs signs/course map for newbies. League play Saturdays at 10am and Mondays at 5pm.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/7/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: JB Brownstone
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to follow and navigate, self explanatory as to where the next hole is, except for maybe the first hole. Baskets are in great condition, rubber mats on all of the tee boxes, and all-round great course from beginner to pro. I believe there are pro tees but I don't know if they are throughout the whole course(1.because I don't play pro tees so I've never looked for them. 2. I have seen a few baskets that aren't apart of the usually 18 holes.)
Cons: It is located in a dog park so you most likely will encounter a few dogs throughout the course (some who may want to play with your disc). Also, there is no course map or pictures of the hole at the tee off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Not much better in the immediate area

2-4    10/7/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: burly369
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are rubber mats at most of the tees. They have a "disc return" thing at the end of the course, and every saturday people can go back and check if someone has returned your lost disc.

There is a good variety of holes (a few really long ones in open areas, some really short ones with good elevation change, and a bunch in mildly wooded areas)

Cons: Watch for people walking dogs by first hole.

A map on the bulletin board would be nice.

Hole #14 is very easy to loose a disc in the tall/think grass. I lost a disc my first time there, and the next time I went I saw someone else in a different group do the same thing. Your best bet is to throw it, and chase after it haha.
Other Thoughts: If your from western mass like myself, there really aren't that many other courses in the immediate area that are much better.

Solid course, especially if you don't want to travel the extra hour 1/2 to go to Manchester CT.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.