Northampton, MA 
Northampton State Hospital Share
Uploaded By: DaKineSurfer32 Hole #15 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 415ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    10/15/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fly18 tees in good condition, but some of them at the beginning are cut in half, so they're really short
- nice tables near a few holes, made from bottlecaps
- the course is mowed often because it is also used as a 5k cross country course every Tuesday night
- the wooded holes are tight and will teach you to hit your lines
- it's only an hour and a half from Maple Hill, Pyramids and Marshall Street
Cons: - the first half of the course is extremely short, the second half much longer. There is no balance to the course
- there isn't just one type of basket, there are multiple types and colors (red, blue, yellow, silver), so don't expect to know exactly what you're looking for when you step on a tee
- no tee signs
- MANY people walking their dogs in the park. You have to wait before throwing often, and dogs will sometimes go after your discs, so be careful when you throw.
- navigation isn't too bad, but can be a little tricky at some points because two paths look equally worn
Other Thoughts: I took pictures for this course which I will post in about a week, when I can get them off my camera.

The course starts near the picnic table and second billboard, across the field from where you park.

Some of the holes on the front are very short, but they're still fun and creative. I think that the short holes are much more fun and quality holes than the wide open, long ones on the back 9 where you just throw across a field.

I was extremely disappointed when I found out that most of the old Hospital buildings had been torn down. To me, that was the allure of this course, to be playing through the grounds of a super old mental institution. I'm from Traverse City, MI, and pushing to get a course put in at the old Traverse City State Hospital, to get a course with just that vibe. Something unique.

There is a shop called Village Ski & Sports on Main St in Northampton that sells discs, but they're all way overpriced ($20+ for star plastic, $13 for DX), so don't bother going there if you're not desperate.

There is a cafe in Northampton that's called Lhasa Cafe (it's Tibetan cuisine) that is amazing. It's exotic, inexpensive and really good. How many places do you know of where you can eat Yak?

Northampton is a neat little town and there are definitely some chicas to look at, at Smith College... but as for the course, it was actually unimpressive. It's a okay course, but the one thing that distinguished it from every other average course in that nation is no longer there (the old Hospital buildings). Worth a trip if you're in the area, or worth going to every once in a while if you live in New England, but not a course that will develop your game too much.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Look out for the dog walkers

2-4    9/22/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: sikaranmonkey
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice terrain. Starts out with some very interesting gully shots on 2 and three. The first half of the course seems to be a bit more technical. The woods are beautiful. Giant grape vines. Second half of the course opens up for the arm a bit more.
Cons: Way too much brush. The shots are nice but mess up and your spending time hunting for the disc. Even on the shorter holes its really thick just outside the shot zone. Get spotters for the field shots and some dog legd, especially hole 13. A lot of dog walkers, I mean a lot. The smell is there but I haven't stepped in any there. There is almost a kennel aroma from the parking lot until hole 2, you'll smell it. The owners do a pretty good job of cleaning up after their dogs, though.
Other Thoughts: Overall I like the course. Hole 2 and 3 can be hell. The angle is steep enough that rollers seem to be common. The course seems to favor the flick but very playable for backhanders. It needs some brushing work and maintanance in some critical areas. I'll go back but far from my favorite.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't Be Fooled By the Name

1    5/23/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty setting of woods and fields with elevation and variety of shots and length. Chances for a few aces as well. This course will force you to think on many holes, as the punishment for going OB can be harsh at times.
Cons: The teepads are mostly rubber but they are not very flat. Some are quite short in length. I wish they had gone to the full effort to make them proper while they were at it.

The course is a bit wild (plant growth) on the edges and some of the open fairways have tall grass that can make both good and errant drives difficult to find.

Hole #1 goes right along a popular walking path which can cause delays.
Other Thoughts: Overall, an enjoyable experience, but it would be helpful to have a spotter whenever you can.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Northampton State Hospital

5+    5/15/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: benlh15
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course with a good range of different style holes. Really a nice walk through the park with interesting holes that are also challenging.
Cons: Some of the fields are not mowed at all. You can spend hours looking for discs. I once lost three discs on one hole (true fact).
Other Thoughts: Real fun course. Beginner players with a lot of slice: probably not the best course to practice on. I've recently discovered there is an alternate hole 13 that saves a lot of time, discs, and strokes. After 12 there is a left turn through the woods. Follow this path about 100 yards of weaving through the woods and you will find the alternate hole with a basket made from a tire.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs a little more up keep, but good.

1    7/15/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2009
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course has a lot to offer any player! The baskets are wide open and are well marked, pointers to the next tee box are out there and help find the next tee. The lay out is nice, open fields, tight woods and a few elevation shots.
Cons: I found the fields to be a little over grown and the woods need to be cleared a little more. Walking around there are stumps, branches and tall grass everywhere. Some times it made it hard to find a disc. But not everyone can work on these courses all the time. It is a large course and I can see how hard it is to keep it up. It would also cost a bit too.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course for the area, could use a little up keep but its good. In the fall I bet it is wonderful! I really enjoyed hole one, To start off it has great dynamics, you need to be on top of your throws to get what you want for a score. No lucky shots in this course! The maps/score cards are a great addition! This makes for a great keepsake and helps you find where you are going. I like the rubber mats at the tee's and there are brooms around too. Chairs at most of the tee boxes to sit and rest and at the end a lost disc box! I placed two that i found looking for my lost one! Again a great course in the works it looks like, I think it would just need two or three people to really up keep this course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Northampton

1    6/12/2007   6/14/2009
Review By: GTdisc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Very diverse with variable terrain, tight woods to open fields. Optional tees and baskets to add difficulty. Challenging on many levels. Free to play.
Cons: It does get overgrown in the summer, but is maintained by local league players and others. A little buggy, but could be worse.
Other Thoughts: Many baskets are updated and new now. Dog poop is only a problem on 1st hole. The folks that play here are often friendly and respectful.

 Overgrown at times

5+    5/15/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: jkalish
Played: 116  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free, nice elevation changes and mix of long and short holes. Recently, each tee pad has a garbage and a broom. nice serene environment
Cons: Overgrown at times, not maintained well, not mowed frequently. Watch out for dog poop! Buggy! 720 ft hole is annoyingly long!
Other Thoughts: when mowed its a nice course, when overgrown you spend too much time looking for discs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Play All Day

2-4    4/14/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: mackabean
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have never ever ever had to wait on a tee. Living as I do in the SF bay area, that is no small thing. There is a nice variety of holes, some tight and narrow, others super long and open. The back 9 is really great. Did I mention there is never anyone there?
Cons: The course is wet but I just played it in April, which is a wet time, and it was not too bad. There are way too many trees on the front nine -- lots of great drives get snatched up. And some of the holes are just kind of stupid.
Other Thoughts: I had a truly wonderful outing here last time I played. Me, my brother, and two of our best friends. Got there around 4pm and played 36 holes. Finished in the dark. A beautiful day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Second best free course

5+    12/6/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: sumner420
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free, Good mix of holes- Long 720 and short 150, Mostly wooded but a few wide open spaces to rip 'em in. Pretty technical overall, requires a little more finese than you might first think, Nice tee pads(black rubber), Best free course lost disc set up ever! (Its the little shed after 18)
Update- the 720 is shorter now, and the brush has recently been beaten, the dog walkers seem to be better but I still avoided a few landmines, the maps and scorecards are free and available at the bulletin board halfway along the first fairway-not the one in the parking lot.
Cons: Can be muddy or even flat out flooded when it rains, Dog poops abound on the first few holes (near the walking path), When the weather is nice can be hard to throw first tee and thirteen for the sake of not hitting a dog walker or starting a game of dog grabs disc, Tees are hard to find first time out, handwritten signs on wood fall down and such...A few holes feel a bit ghetto- #3 and the dead fridge spring to mind , found the basket on #13 "unstable"
Other Thoughts: Good free course, When dry a lot of fun, but as has been said lot of potential here. There is a leauge there too I think, info on the bulletin board
Update- much brush clearing has taken place this spring, The course is in good shape, 15 was still a little wet, but thats the woods! glad to be back!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Northampton State Hospital

1    10/9/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: jdc03270
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2008
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of different elevations, and lots of different shots needed. Also this course varies in distance which makes it even more fun. (150ft - 720ft) Also a great lost disc registry at the end of the course!
Cons: Pretty confusing to find next tee, if I didn't have a map I would of spent days in there, but even with the map it was hard. Baskets are all different which isn't bad but some need to be replaced. Watch out for dog poop!
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to pick up a map halfway through hole one. They are in the mail box behind the wooden thing on the right! On the main street of northampton there is a great store called faces, which is filled with lots of "interesting" things! Enjoy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.