Northampton, MA 
Northampton State Hospital Share
Uploaded By: DaKineSurfer32 Hole #14 (Taken 10/2009)
4 / 463ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    5/10/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: Basshunter
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: That it exists. That it plays well just after the snow melts. A variety of hole types.
Cons: There is little to no course maintenance. Disc golfers are regarded as a nuisance by the "dog walkers" who violate park rules by walking their dogs off leash (hey, i have dogs and walk them off leash all the time, but not in such public areas demanding leashing. DG players need to be respectful of the multi use facility but should he able to expect the same from other users of the space, which doesn't happen.
Other Thoughts: So much potential for a cool course, but needs maintenance and support from local players.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A fine fall day

2-4    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: gabereif
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It's free.
-It's easy to find.
-There's plenty of parking.
-Wide range of shots, including left to right, right to left, short, long, wooden, open, hilly, flat, etc. No water, for better or worse.
-Hole 13 used to be a tedious 720 foot hole. It's now about 450.
-A few ace runs and a few very hard shots make for a nice balance.
-No waiting for other players.
-Pins are easy to locate from every tee.

Cons: -Dogwalkers and dogs added about five minutes to my game time.
-Watch out for poo on your walk from the lot to the first tee
-Poor signage. Some tees (2 of 18) hard to find first time out.
-No holes with "wow" aesthetics.
-Some big hills lead to frustration for newbies.
Other Thoughts: -I've heard lots of things about the brush and grass on this course, but it mid-November, there's nothing of the sorts to contend with.
-I just moved to the area and will proudly call this my home course. It exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to master the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My Local Course

5+    12/4/2011   12/13/2011
Review By: Glenith
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Love this course. Chill and beautiful. Diverse course with steep terrain, tight woods, open fields...alternate baskets, tees and holes. Well maintained by the local league. Nicely designed so that you often have to use every shot in your bag.
Cons: - Can get very overgrown in the mid summer.
- First hole requires waiting for pedestrians.
- Easy to lose a disc in the underbrush
- College students leave beer cans and cig butts (grrrr)
- Watch out for dog poo (especially hole 1)
Other Thoughts: Please carry out what you carry in and do not leave butts on the ground. Thanks. :)

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nonotuck

5+    10/11/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: buzzzingross
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging holes through course balanced by easy birdie holes. Holes 8,9,10 are located in grass valley (disc golf heaven), and have just recently been mowed. Many places to sit and chill, after a few frustrating shots or putts (behind tee 9). Alternate baskets! Play to different holes or just take a few putts while you pass (holes 10,15).
Cons: Very easy to lose disc! I've lost more disc on this course than any other. Mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos.. Muddy but playable. Dogs and pedestrians everywhere, watch out
Other Thoughts: Over all, more pros than cons. Good course

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Will improve your game!

2-4    8/20/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: kskog
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Diverse. Tight woods and some open fields. Great practice course. Once you go off-line, you will work to find your disk. You will want to keep it in the fairway.
Cons: You will likely loose a disk if you don't have the patience to search for it. Narrow woods section with steep penalties if you miss your shot. Hole 2 and 3 require good control (not necessarliy a bad thing). Holes 13 and 14 get overgrown. There are alternates in the woods. Need a course map. Finding 2nd hole can be tough. Also, the alternate holes are useless if you can't find them.
Dog walkers leave poop. Hole one tends to smell because of it.
Not really what I'd call a beginers course.
Other Thoughts: My local course. I'm glad to have it. Everyone I've met is super friendly. If you're lost just ask anyone for help. Don't let the first few holes sour your day. From holes 5-18, this is a great course. Needs signs/course map for newbies. League play Saturdays at 10am and Mondays at 5pm.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/7/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: JB Brownstone
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to follow and navigate, self explanatory as to where the next hole is, except for maybe the first hole. Baskets are in great condition, rubber mats on all of the tee boxes, and all-round great course from beginner to pro. I believe there are pro tees but I don't know if they are throughout the whole course(1.because I don't play pro tees so I've never looked for them. 2. I have seen a few baskets that aren't apart of the usually 18 holes.)
Cons: It is located in a dog park so you most likely will encounter a few dogs throughout the course (some who may want to play with your disc). Also, there is no course map or pictures of the hole at the tee off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Not much better in the immediate area

2-4    10/7/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: burly369
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are rubber mats at most of the tees. They have a "disc return" thing at the end of the course, and every saturday people can go back and check if someone has returned your lost disc.

There is a good variety of holes (a few really long ones in open areas, some really short ones with good elevation change, and a bunch in mildly wooded areas)

Cons: Watch for people walking dogs by first hole.

A map on the bulletin board would be nice.

Hole #14 is very easy to loose a disc in the tall/think grass. I lost a disc my first time there, and the next time I went I saw someone else in a different group do the same thing. Your best bet is to throw it, and chase after it haha.
Other Thoughts: If your from western mass like myself, there really aren't that many other courses in the immediate area that are much better.

Solid course, especially if you don't want to travel the extra hour 1/2 to go to Manchester CT.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/28/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: luvmyvalkerie
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Easy to find using the map provided by this site. Good use of elevation changes. Both short and long holes. Some holes are certainly ace-able. Fun course, not crowded, and most holes have nice rubber tees.
Cons: Dog and dog walker traffic. Dog poop on hole one. Hard to find tee #2 after Hole #1. Hard to find tee #18 after hole # 17.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite what I expected

1    11/13/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is lots of elevation change throughout the course. This also makes the risk/reward pretty amazing on several holes. There is a great mix of holes: wooded, open, uphill, downhill, dogleg right, dogleg left and a mixture of all. The fairways are clearly defined which helps you in the woods immensely. The open fields have recently been mowed so it's almost impossible to lose your disc. It also makes for some nice approach shots. This course if great to work on your all around game; most notably your mid-range. Most holes have assorted sized rubber tee pads. The holes in the woods have brooms on the tee pads to clear the leaves. Porta-potties are also located in the large parking lot.
Cons: There are tee signs, but they don't show the fairways: only the hole number and distance is labeled. There are several steep holes and none of them have steps to help you descend or ascend the hills which make for some super slippery footing. There is a dog walking trail and a separate cross country trail that intersect the fairways and make it crowded at times. It also makes an errant throw that much more dangerous. All of the next tee signs are laying on top of the baskets not pointing anywhere in particular. This makes navigation complicated.
Other Thoughts: The underbrush on the course is full of vines and thorns which cut me up pretty good. So make sure to wear pants. There is four different kinds of baskets so you can practice on multiples. It looks like there was a dumping ground for scrap metal between holes 3 and 4 so be extra careful to not step on any loose metal.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/15/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fly18 tees in good condition, but some of them at the beginning are cut in half, so they're really short
- nice tables near a few holes, made from bottlecaps
- the course is mowed often because it is also used as a 5k cross country course every Tuesday night
- the wooded holes are tight and will teach you to hit your lines
- it's only an hour and a half from Maple Hill, Pyramids and Marshall Street
Cons: - the first half of the course is extremely short, the second half much longer. There is no balance to the course
- there isn't just one type of basket, there are multiple types and colors (red, blue, yellow, silver), so don't expect to know exactly what you're looking for when you step on a tee
- no tee signs
- MANY people walking their dogs in the park. You have to wait before throwing often, and dogs will sometimes go after your discs, so be careful when you throw.
- navigation isn't too bad, but can be a little tricky at some points because two paths look equally worn
Other Thoughts: I took pictures for this course which I will post in about a week, when I can get them off my camera.

The course starts near the picnic table and second billboard, across the field from where you park.

Some of the holes on the front are very short, but they're still fun and creative. I think that the short holes are much more fun and quality holes than the wide open, long ones on the back 9 where you just throw across a field.

I was extremely disappointed when I found out that most of the old Hospital buildings had been torn down. To me, that was the allure of this course, to be playing through the grounds of a super old mental institution. I'm from Traverse City, MI, and pushing to get a course put in at the old Traverse City State Hospital, to get a course with just that vibe. Something unique.

There is a shop called Village Ski & Sports on Main St in Northampton that sells discs, but they're all way overpriced ($20+ for star plastic, $13 for DX), so don't bother going there if you're not desperate.

There is a cafe in Northampton that's called Lhasa Cafe (it's Tibetan cuisine) that is amazing. It's exotic, inexpensive and really good. How many places do you know of where you can eat Yak?

Northampton is a neat little town and there are definitely some chicas to look at, at Smith College... but as for the course, it was actually unimpressive. It's a okay course, but the one thing that distinguished it from every other average course in that nation is no longer there (the old Hospital buildings). Worth a trip if you're in the area, or worth going to every once in a while if you live in New England, but not a course that will develop your game too much.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.