Indianapolis, IN
Northwestway Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #12 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 286ft.   3 / 432ft.   5 / 432ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Alt Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Reminds me of Pleasant Run Golf Course

1    12/25/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My dad and I played this course Christmas day. With no people, the course is actually fun and a decently challenging layout where straight shots are definitely rewarded. I found myself working shots both ways to get to some of the baskets and a few were legitimate Pro Par 4's at least IMO.

Cons: We played the course in late December so finding discs in the bushes was quite easy. I could see how in the other seasons, finding discs could be very challenging.

Since we played the course in late December, we had the park to ourselves. Any other time, the course could literally be unplayable considering most of the holes were right along the walking trail throughout the park. Further, the last hole plays by a soccer field which, when occupied, would render this hole unplayable IMO.

I could easily rate this course a 3.5+ without the people trail factor, but given it's very much in play, I'm guessing you should avoid this course because long waits could be in order. According to my dad and brother-in law who played the course 1 prior fall afternoon, they had to wait several minutes on several holes to wait for walkers and joggers to clear.

Given the thick bushes and tight holes, this is not a beginner friendly course unless you play it in December like I did ;-)
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Pleasant run Golf Course ("real" golf) because it could be a safety hazard based on the course layout. Only, it's the walkers in danger, not the disc golfers in this case.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/18/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a large, multi-use park. The course starts out mostly open, the middle of the course is partly to mostly wooded and the last few holes end in more open spaces.

The course has trapezoidal concrete pads. Some of the longer holes have two tees and there are tee signs at every pad. The baskets are in good condition and catch well.

There is OB in play on nearly every hole if you play the walking path as OB and the OB road comes into play on a few holes as well. About one third of the course is wide open, one third has mature trees to navigate and one third has well defined and dense rough lining one or both sides of the fairway.

There's a good mix of hole length ranging from 150ft to 650ft. Many of the shorter holes have the mature trees or rough to deal, combine that will all the OB and it takes good accurate shots to score well here.

I particularly liked hole 12. From the long it's a tough turnover shot demanding accuracy to keep you out of the rough on the left, but you can't turn it over too much with the OB walking path on the right.
Cons: This is the most dangerous course I've played.

There is only one hole where the very popular walking path doesn't come into play. You are literally throwing over and adjacent to this walking path the entire round and it is an accident waiting to happen considering all the walkers present. I played here at 10:30am on a Monday morning and there were plenty of people already out walking.

Even if you're being careful and wait for all walkers to clear the area (which can take a while), they can still round a corner or emerge from behind tree lines as you throw on holes 7 and 11 putting them in danger.

To make matters worse, holes 16-18 play right next to a soccer field. Thankfully it was not in use when I was here on 6/18/12 but it was the previous time I played here and soccer fields were packed with kids. Due to the extremely close proximity of the fairways and baskets to the soccer field I was forced to skip these holes.

Many of the holes are wide open.

The rough looked quite thick.

The short variety here is lacking a little, holes 10 and 12 (long) are the only holes that force a RHBH turnover shot.
Other Thoughts: I really did enjoy playing this course, but I cannot ignore the dangers when rating it.

This is not a good place for less experienced golfers with the rough and dangers of the walking path. On the other hand, the only challenge for more advanced golfers is to stay in bounds.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice effort, but very frustrating

5+    8/29/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: burdphil
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's in a part of town that doesn't have any other courses
- The grass is mowed reasonably often and the fairways are mostly clean
- It presents a solid challenge for average to above average players
- The concrete tees are good. Wide at the back and then narrower in the front so you can take different approaches. I like that.
Cons: - As many others have said, the fact that the course follows a pedestrian trail is explosively annoying. You will literally spend 5 minutes on every hole waiting for the walkers/joggers to pass through, even on days where the park isn't crowded.
- This course eats discs like mad if you're not insanely accurate and you don't want to dink and dunk on every hole. Holes 3 through 14 all run right along some extremely dense underbrush and/or woods, and if a disc goes in there, you'll spend forever trying to find it. I'm to the point now where I don't even try.
- The course isn't in the best area. I try to keep moving to avoid having crackheads come up to me asking me if I "get down." With the walking path it can be hard to keep moving however, and there have been several times where I've had to stop and patiently explain to some local why I'm throwing my "frisbee" around and that I don't have any money/drugs/whatever on me. Usually they're nice enough, but it can get a little weird.
- This is not an aesthetically pleasing course. You feel like your surviving it and/or battling your way around it rather than enjoying it.
Other Thoughts: I play this course 3 to 4 times a week because it's close to where I work. I can't tell you how much I dislike this course compared to George Washington, Brookside, or even Sahm. That said, I very much appreciate the fact that it exists, and I honestly think the creators did the best they could with what they had to work with. I don't know how I would improve this course... it is what it is I'm afraid. I would say it's worth visiting a time or two if you're not from the immediate area just to say you've played it, but try to do so in the late fall when the underbrush has died off.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where is the next tee.

1    7/22/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: AirMcNair
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice pitch and putt with some tuff holes with a lot of dog legs. Nice tee pads and semi good baskets.
Cons: Took me forever to find #2 tee pad. Signs are not even worth the paper the scribbles that are on there.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of safety issues

1    11/23/2009   6/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large multi-use park with a mix of open grassy areas and some forested areas with fairways through the woods. A few of the open holes play near brush and woods on one side to make them a little less straightforward. There is a nice mix of short and long holes with some ace runs and a couple holes that let you really throw a drive.

There are nice concrete tee pads for all holes, many with dual concrete pads for some added variety and more of an opportunity for different levels of players to enjoy the course. There are basic signs, and the flow of the course is fine with no navigation issues.
Cons: This course is one giant safety hazard. Nearly every hole brings a walking path into play, with lots of pedestrian traffic. This is dangerous, and on a nice day means that you'll wait quite a bit to be able to throw, not as big a deal on a hole or two, but really annoying on nearly every hole. A few shots have long grass rough, my least favorite kind of punishment for a bad shot as it wastes time and plastic without adding strokes for an errant drive. There are a few too many open holes here, it could be more interesting and challenging with more of the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a mediocre course to begin with, and the walking path makes it unsafe and frustrating to play. If you can play at off times, it's not a terrible place to play, otherwise I'd play elsewhere with better courses available in the Indianapolis area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Water logged play

2-4    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Awesomedoc2008
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/24/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has some tricky holes that require some skilled throws, both long and short. The chains on the holes are quite soft.
Cons: Easy to lose discs (didn't, but it was close several times). Have to avoid runners/joggers/walkers as the course is associated with a path. Also, hole 17 is extremely long, which is fun, but is bordered by a street to the left and soccer fields to the right.
Other Thoughts: We were water logged for just about 2/3 of the holes... there was a lot of standing water. It's rained a lot in Indy but it hasn't rained in a few days. It was clear there isn't good drainage. The signage is adequate. The holes are lower than what we are used to seeing, not sure if that's good or bad, my girlfriend liked it, but she's shorter. Definitely would play again, but only after a dry spell and would prefer it if the grass was mowed more frequently.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Northwestway Park

2-4    1/1/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: ZipperBlueZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Convenient location, not crowded
Cons: Dense, dense vegetation in the summer. Very easy to lose a disc (and I did, almost immediately). Not the most creative use of land I've seen, particularly two of the later holes that are simply 500 + ft throws over open soccer fields. High wild grass in and around another couple holes makes a misthrow a nightmare.
Other Thoughts: I need to go back and give this course another chance, but my first impression of it was pretty poor.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.