Indianapolis, IN 
Northwestway Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: phish3460 Hole #17 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 646ft.   5 / 646ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
First Time Playing Here

1    2/24/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Super easy flow to follow the course, even for first time playing.
-Solid catching older baskets. Sturdy, unlike some other older baskets.
-Good variation in shot selection. Straight, hook left, some tough OB(sidewalks), some wide open holes,.short (150') long (650') I used a lot of discs from my bag, which is fun.
-No Water. I put this as a Pro because i'm tired of not being able to play a casual round without fear of losing a disc. I enjoy the difficulty of water on courses, but sometimes it's nice to come home with all your plastic, even after not playing that great.
-Wide open - Good for big arms to work on distance and big hyzer/anny lines. Good for beginners (no water, basically open)
Cons: - Uninformed walkers. I was followed the entire round by this couple and their dog, since the course follows the path, if you start when a walker does, you are gonna be with them, waiting, annoyed the entire round. Overall there were a BUNCH of walkers on not even a warm day. I was waiting for a good 10 minutes on a couple of holes for the walkers to clear out. I bet this could be trouble in the summer.
- Mismarked distances. It seemed like most holes felt 25' shorter than marked, but then the long ones felt longer than marked, so overall felt off to me.
-Basically wide open. only 4-5 holes really had trees as obstacles, This is the type of course I learned on, so it's fun to come back to one after the current trend of short/tight/technical courses going in. Let the big arms loose sometimes!
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course, can't believe I've never played it before. Played the Pro tees, shot well. Enjoyed the difficult OB on a few holes, and the wide openness of the 2 long holes, so I could grip it and rip it.

It does look like it could get crowded with Basketball, Pool, Soccer, etc all in the park.

I will definitely play it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for newbs and a quick bang

2-4    5/26/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: madcow
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for beginners
lots of straight shots
fewer tees by trees and roads than not
easily doable in a short period of time
Cons: the tree line is thick which makes it easy to lose discs once they penetrate it
you play along road ways
a few paths thru the course which means one may need to wait for runners to pass
too easy for average to advanced players
the pro and amature tees are not easily identifiable after the first few holes. Would be nice if they were marked like hole 1 as pro and am.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice pro and am teepads
-great use of the hills, surrounding woods, prairie grass, and the general topograhy
-decent baskets
-lay out makes a ton of sense
-hole 17 is 646 feet and 17 is 543 for your longer and more powerful arms
-lots of shot variety, as well as use of a good midrange game
Cons: the fitness trail running through the park can be very hazardous and flat out dangerous for the locals using it, pay a lot of attention to those on the trail as they seem oblivious to high speed discs as well as the disc golfers themselves.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun couse that a lot of the Indy disc golfers tend to avoid due to the walking trail running along most of the holes (all but 8 and 9), but with the recent clean up by the parks department, I know I'll be playing this course a lot more through the fall. Longer than both Brookside and Washington Park with more challenges in terms of thickness of vegetation on the back 10-16. If you have the time and the patience to wait on some walkers and joggers go play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Walkers' world

5+    3/26/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: phish3460
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/2/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course demands a wide variety of shots to score well -- mid-range accuracy, distance, disc control and of course, putting. There is a good amount of variability as half of the holes are fairly open and half are well guarded by woods and tall grasses, which make the course substantially more difficult in the summer. The course itself is never crowded, so you won't have to wait for other golfers (caveat below). It's quite easy to find your way around and parking will never be a problem. The alternate tees provide more scoring opportunity and variability.
Cons: The walkers, joggers and kids are within striking range on most holes, so expect to wait on sunny days. Also, be careful. Most of the bystanders have absolutely no idea that there might be objects flying through the air in their vicinity. There's plenty of trash on the course -- little-to-none of which can be attributed to disc golf traffic.

Although the course does demand several different shots, there's not much elevation change and ceiling is never an issue.
Other Thoughts: Overall, they've done a good job with the land allotted. I'm not sure how they could get more out of it, as there's a substantial amount of space taken up by trees, soccer fields and a public pool.

If you're in the area, definitely give this course a try. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions, as I'd dub this my "home" course for the time being.

As always, enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Decent

6/11/2008   6/20/2008
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual Tees on certain holes, some decent variety on holes, a few unique holes, and a few longer holes can make the difference in score.
Cons: Near walking paths so you might have to wait on people walking by. Not much elevation, can get pretty muddy. Really high fields in some areas make discs impossible to find. We lost two discs in three shots.
Other Thoughts: I play this course about 2-4 times a month during lunch at work. The first 8 holes are pretty standard, but the last 10 go through the woods and/or require long drives and can really alter your score. Not as good as Washington or Brookside, but better than Sahm.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.