Indianapolis, IN 
Northwestway Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #13 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 221ft.   3 / 221ft.   3 / 221ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A solid underrated course

5+    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 74  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees - all Tees are trapezoid shaped concrete tees. Most holes have 1 tee per hole but some: 1,3, 5, 12, 17, and 18 have shorter alternate tees. This course could use about 10-30 more trees on the open holes.

Baskets - very grippy baskets (I believe DGA baskets) that have minimal spit outs. They used to have hole numbers on them but stickers have either faded or fallen off.

Variety - lots of shot variety: short open, long open, open tunnels with woods on either side, open tunnels with tall grass on either side, some holes with blind baskets hidden in middle of brush in a cut green, some elevation. This course has some of the longest holes in the metro Indy area.

Easy to navigate (for the most part) - look at the map. If you follow the walking path this course is easy to navigate. Hole 3 is down the path from hole 2 (tee for 6 is much closer to hole 2 than tee 3). Hole 6 is across the field near the basket of hole 2 (if the tall grass is present follow the grassy path/opening). Hole 8 is around the trees to left past hole 7. Hole 12 is a little backtracking back to the path. For hole 16, follow the path that goes to the left after hole 15.

Multi-Use park - there are restrooms on site (waterpark and near shelters next to hole 8). There is a nice waterpark if you really need it after a round (course is very hot and mostly in open).

Trees - there have been several trees that were planted about 5 years ago. They are finally starting to grow to the point where they prove some shade and add obstacles to open holes.

Challenging - this course is much more challenging than some of the other courses in the city due to their clear cut fairways. On some holes it is hard to save par.

There are a few water hazards but it will not effect seasoned players. Hole 3 has pond 25 feet from basket to left. Holes 9-11 have creek next to drees on left. Holes 13 & 14 have same creek on other side of trees.s

This is a much needed course on a part of town with few courses. Closest one is Avon. Fills gap in empty area near Zionsville or Brownsburg.

Course is fairly easy to get to. From 465 on west side, get off at 71st street and turn right. Take right on Zionsville rd and left on 62nd. Park is on right. From inside 465: take Georgetown to 62nd street and go west. Park is on left.
Cons: Lack of shade. Young trees do not provide shade on most holes. Holes 4, 9, 10, 12, 13, and 14 have plenty of shade.

The walking path - the path isn't necessarily a con but the people walking or riding their bikes on it is. They take no consideration of the disc Golfers around them. In the spring and fall there are several walkers that can add wait time to the course. Overcast days and before 5 are the best times to play this course.

Only 1 basket location per hole. - pin placement never changes which may disappoint some. I feel it helps on some of the blind shots (holes 9 - 12).

All holes should have dual tees instead of just the long ones. It adds that much more variety to the holes.

Soccer: holes 16-18 border soccer fields. During the summer families of soccer players can sit in the fairways causing some of the holes to be unplayable. Some fairways border the fields which can add safety concerns.

Mostly flat - only holes 2, 3, 6, 10, and 15 have minor elevation. The rest is flat.

Lost disc factor - this course has several holes where losing a disc is possible (holes 4 - 15) due to tall grass, dark thick wooded areas, etc. time spent looking for discs can be a buzzkill to some.

Poison Ivy - this thick brush/wooded areas have poison ivy so be careful.x
Other Thoughts: This has always been one of my favorite courses in the city. It is unique and very challenging and it is hard to save par. Shot selection is key here. This course requires the best throws or careful throws.

Due to the lack of shade, bring liquids. If you don't bring a drink, you will probably regret it. this course can become very hot and humid. Bring some bug spray and possibly sanitizer (poison ivy) just to be safe. There is a marsh about 5 minutes from the course at 56th and Georgetown which usually has drinks on sale.

This course is underrated due to the people on the walking path and the young trees on the open holes. Try it for yourself if you are up for the challenge. If you come on a day with little activity at the park, you will more than likely enjoy this course. Once the trees grow more, they will be more of a factor as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 IndyDiscGolfers are scared of this course

5+    1/5/2011   1/6/2011
Review By: AceHole10000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A variety of shots. Some holes have alternate tees. I think that is one of indys best because if you don't hit the fairway on some holes your in trouble. Unlike all of the other indy courses.
Cons: I work thirds and play in the morning. There are alot of walkers during the afternoon and evening. Weekends are hard to get a round in.
Other Thoughts: If you talk to most people in indy they do not like this course. Its because they can't get there pars when they don't hit there fairways. You can miss the fairways at washington, brookside and sahm park and still get your pars.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Almost great

5+    4/25/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: jdonhardt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: the course is excellent. very challenging, lots of distance, the need for accuracy, elevation changes, obs... you wont need a map to find the next tee, but you will have to walk up a little to find the basket, as some of them are around corners.
the front nine is mostly open - the front 8, i should say. good distance on these holes. hole 7 is really tricky. the back 9 are real tight. plenty of foliage presents a real challenge. hole 11 (i believe its 11) you have to shoot into and then down a "hallway" of foliage. in the summer its probably 6 ft high. there are birdie ops, but you gotta be sharp.
Cons: as everyone has mentioned, the local walkers/joggers on the path. if you play this course at the wrong time of day, its not worth it at all. the path is in play on pretty much all holes. if you play during the afternoon mon-fri, it shouldnt be too much trouble. also, there are a couple of missing signs so you have to pick your own par...
Other Thoughts: if the place isnt crowded , this course is excellent. also, people play pick up ultimate frisbee on the fields almost every day around 4-5pm. there is no shortage of difficult shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential, but...

5+    7/17/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: bmeyaard
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros of this course are best seen in it's potential as a true high-level player's course:

Good mix of Long / Short holes. (ranging from 220ft to well over 600ft)

Out of Bounds (roads), woods, hazards are in play on almost every hole. The shape of each hole requires both length and shot making to stay out of the woods and/or tall grass.

Nice baskets, cement tees (pro & am on some holes), signage, etc.

Local park board willing to communicate about issues, improvements, mowing, etc.
Cons: The cons of this course are best seen today when people play an average unscheduled round.

Walking Path: The multi-use nature of this path absolutely kills this course. You *can not* play during peak hours, weekends, or other nice days because of the volume of people. The path is a 1.5mile walking/biking loop, which is literally in play on 17 of the 18 holes. We play at dawn, and find ourselves still waiting for clearings in traffic on 60% of our tee-shots.

Tall grass / dense woods: These hazards become an issue as you try so hard to stay away from the walking path... the edges of the woods are very dense with undergrowth, which makes errant shots hard to track down. The tall grass will eat discs that can get tucked down in vertically, which you won't see until standing right on top of them. Also, be aware that there are small amounts of poison ivy in both the woods and grass. Play cautiously, in the fairway, and you will have a great round.
Other Thoughts: This has the potential to be a great course. If the holes can be altered to avoid the walking path, or a single-use tournament day could be set aside... this would be my favorite course in Indy.

You may want to try this course out in the early-early spring or late-late fall, as that may clear out some of the foot-traffic. However, keep in mind that some of the beauty and challenge of the course is lost in off-season play due to the foliage not being grown in.

Next steps:
Ice-Bowl League and/or Bad-Weather Tournament.

Take the time to tromp through the woods to the left/right of each hole looking for an alternate route that will move this course away from the walking path.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety in a busy park

1    3/25/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: wi2ny05
Played: 193  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of variety in type of hole and length. It's starts off nice and open to help the beginner and then as we head off into the wooded area the more seasoned player is presented with challenges. The signage is good and fairly accurate. For those unfamiliar with the course, the addition of the "next tee" sticker on the sign is always a welcome sight.
Cons: While most of the front nine don't involve pedestrians in this multi-use park, beware as you head to the back nine as you'll be throwing across and next to walkways and eventually the road and soccer fields. As others have noted, those in the park seem pretty oblivious to the other uses going on and I found it to be busy enough on a spring week night.
Other Thoughts: There appears to be plenty of parking and the address was dead on -- put it in your GPS and go. When I went it was basically freshly mowed as I didn't encounter any of the disc-eating grass.

Overall they did pretty well with the use of the available space however if they could do anything to move some of the latter holes away from the pedestrians it would be an even more enjoyable course. Clearing some of the nearby brush and smaller trees to allow play through the more wooded sections would be excellent.

Well worth taking the time to explore if you find yourself in Indy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Looked Deceptively Easy

1    11/14/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: john campbell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first few holes seemed incredibly easy and unremarkable, but the course quickly became challenging and intricately designed with some really tight holes, a long, mean dog-leg, tall, disc-eating grasses, dense woods, and thick brush. I liked these features, the fun was in the challenge, even on the short holes. 17 and 18 were both really long. I think my first drive made it to the short tee on #17. haha. This was a really great course, well manicured and neatly designed.
Cons: Much of the course follows a walking/bike path and I did have to wait for people to clear on a few holes, but I really didn't mind. If I were in a hurry I might have been irritated, but I play disc golf - I'm never in a hurry.
Other Thoughts: I played here in November (the first and only time). Most of the tall grasses were dying out, but I still had a tough time finding my disc on a couple of holes (#14 in particular). I can't wait to play here again in the spring or summer when everything is in full growth. I'll bring extra discs!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    11/3/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: NSGDdoesdyes
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course offers a wide variety of shots, as well as pin placement. Now that its colder out, there aren't as many people out there, so dont let the other reviews talk you out of playing. The park is very peaceful. Holes 17 and 18 will test your skills, I believe 17 is around 665 feet. Long bomb down the soccer fields.
Cons: I loved the park. No cons. Also I didn't really see any trash around on this course.
Other Thoughts: Check it out. If you have never been, contact me and we can shoot a round.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Wooded Challenge

5+    9/8/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: NoChinDeluxe
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely wooded back nine. Variety throughout 18 holes. Good neighborhood.
Cons: Front nine take you over an open field. Close proximity to other people like walking path and athletic fields.
Other Thoughts: Although the front nine has you shooting over nothing but open grass, the back nine will give you some challenges with its tightly threaded shots through the woods. If you play during months where vegetation is thicker, be prepared to make accurate shots or spend lots of time looking for lost discs in the woods/tall grass. My favorite challenge as a LHBH player on this course is the hole that dog-legs to the left and gives you absolutely NO cusion on the right except for OB. I always have to practice throwing trick shots with weird discs to make it through this hole with a par.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge in Indy

1    8/26/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: theseus414
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) In a much Much MUCH better neighborhood then the other 18 hole Indy disc golf courses - I tried to go to Washington Park but the place was full of thugs so I turned around and left.

2) The course is easy to navigate

3) Not many other players that you would have to wait for

4) Ample parking
Cons: 1) At least 10 of the holes are crawling with dense forest just waiting to eat up your disc. (It took me half an hour to find my disc on hole 6, but it's my favorite disc and I wasn't leaving without it)

2) A lot of walkers, joggers, and soccer players. On some of the holes (and none more so then hole 18) I had a hard time concentrating on making a good shot b/c I was focused on not hitting someone. I came close once and when I yelled FORE!!! he didn't turn around or even flinch which did nothing except make me more nervous about nailing someone in the back of the head.
Other Thoughts: With a rating as low as this one has I was surprised how much I liked this course. No two holes are exactly alike demanding that the player learn multiple throwing styles. I met some people there who play it 3 times a week and the challenge must do wonders for their game b/c they are the best players I have ever seen and they claim to have just picked up the game this summer. This course had me wishing i was in Indy longer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.