Indianapolis, IN 
Northwestway Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #3 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 314ft.   3 / 411ft.   5 / 411ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Alt Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice effort, but very frustrating

5+    8/29/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: burdphil
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's in a part of town that doesn't have any other courses
- The grass is mowed reasonably often and the fairways are mostly clean
- It presents a solid challenge for average to above average players
- The concrete tees are good. Wide at the back and then narrower in the front so you can take different approaches. I like that.
Cons: - As many others have said, the fact that the course follows a pedestrian trail is explosively annoying. You will literally spend 5 minutes on every hole waiting for the walkers/joggers to pass through, even on days where the park isn't crowded.
- This course eats discs like mad if you're not insanely accurate and you don't want to dink and dunk on every hole. Holes 3 through 14 all run right along some extremely dense underbrush and/or woods, and if a disc goes in there, you'll spend forever trying to find it. I'm to the point now where I don't even try.
- The course isn't in the best area. I try to keep moving to avoid having crackheads come up to me asking me if I "get down." With the walking path it can be hard to keep moving however, and there have been several times where I've had to stop and patiently explain to some local why I'm throwing my "frisbee" around and that I don't have any money/drugs/whatever on me. Usually they're nice enough, but it can get a little weird.
- This is not an aesthetically pleasing course. You feel like your surviving it and/or battling your way around it rather than enjoying it.
Other Thoughts: I play this course 3 to 4 times a week because it's close to where I work. I can't tell you how much I dislike this course compared to George Washington, Brookside, or even Sahm. That said, I very much appreciate the fact that it exists, and I honestly think the creators did the best they could with what they had to work with. I don't know how I would improve this course... it is what it is I'm afraid. I would say it's worth visiting a time or two if you're not from the immediate area just to say you've played it, but try to do so in the late fall when the underbrush has died off.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 IndyDiscGolfers are scared of this course

5+    1/5/2011   1/6/2011
Review By: AceHole10000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A variety of shots. Some holes have alternate tees. I think that is one of indys best because if you don't hit the fairway on some holes your in trouble. Unlike all of the other indy courses.
Cons: I work thirds and play in the morning. There are alot of walkers during the afternoon and evening. Weekends are hard to get a round in.
Other Thoughts: If you talk to most people in indy they do not like this course. Its because they can't get there pars when they don't hit there fairways. You can miss the fairways at washington, brookside and sahm park and still get your pars.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/5/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: maansmit
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good variety of hole types requiring different shots
-Challenging
-Variety of hole lengths
Cons: -Heavy pedestrian traffic can be frustrating as you have to time your shots
-Easy to lose discs in the tall grass throughout the middle section of the course

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where is the next tee.

1    7/22/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: AirMcNair
Played: 81  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice pitch and putt with some tuff holes with a lot of dog legs. Nice tee pads and semi good baskets.
Cons: Took me forever to find #2 tee pad. Signs are not even worth the paper the scribbles that are on there.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of safety issues

1    11/23/2009   6/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large multi-use park with a mix of open grassy areas and some forested areas with fairways through the woods. A few of the open holes play near brush and woods on one side to make them a little less straightforward. There is a nice mix of short and long holes with some ace runs and a couple holes that let you really throw a drive.

There are nice concrete tee pads for all holes, many with dual concrete pads for some added variety and more of an opportunity for different levels of players to enjoy the course. There are basic signs, and the flow of the course is fine with no navigation issues.
Cons: This course is one giant safety hazard. Nearly every hole brings a walking path into play, with lots of pedestrian traffic. This is dangerous, and on a nice day means that you'll wait quite a bit to be able to throw, not as big a deal on a hole or two, but really annoying on nearly every hole. A few shots have long grass rough, my least favorite kind of punishment for a bad shot as it wastes time and plastic without adding strokes for an errant drive. There are a few too many open holes here, it could be more interesting and challenging with more of the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a mediocre course to begin with, and the walking path makes it unsafe and frustrating to play. If you can play at off times, it's not a terrible place to play, otherwise I'd play elsewhere with better courses available in the Indianapolis area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Water logged play

2-4    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Awesomedoc2008
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/24/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has some tricky holes that require some skilled throws, both long and short. The chains on the holes are quite soft.
Cons: Easy to lose discs (didn't, but it was close several times). Have to avoid runners/joggers/walkers as the course is associated with a path. Also, hole 17 is extremely long, which is fun, but is bordered by a street to the left and soccer fields to the right.
Other Thoughts: We were water logged for just about 2/3 of the holes... there was a lot of standing water. It's rained a lot in Indy but it hasn't rained in a few days. It was clear there isn't good drainage. The signage is adequate. The holes are lower than what we are used to seeing, not sure if that's good or bad, my girlfriend liked it, but she's shorter. Definitely would play again, but only after a dry spell and would prefer it if the grass was mowed more frequently.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 "new"course same as the old course

5+    10/12/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 203  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 22.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A 18 hole course on that side of the city. Big concrete tees-am and pro,signs have needed info.,The recent improvements make this course a little better. The tall grass,on certain fairways,getting cut on a regular time frame, making it wider.
Cons: That damn paved trail! All but three fairways are to narrow,either by the trail or trees with very thick underbrush.The improvements on #9,I think/hope was a misunderstanding?the basket was behind a tree and a huge bush. The bush needed TRIMMING!...NOT CUT DOWN WITH THE TREE!? The tree and bush made the hole,now you have two holes back to back the same.
Other Thoughts: It's been 6 years since I've played this course,I heard that work has been done to improve it so I thought I would play it again.Let me tell you that first I'm an average player (my drives are +,- 250 ft). I've also did the following to improve the course 6 years ago. After the church took back their land,for more parking,they put up the fence. That made the #2 basket placement between the trail and fence,about 20 ft wide span. I moved it about 75 ft to the right between a circle of trees, now with one tree out it's an open shot. On #5,#6 I tried to have the grass cut for a wider fairway,they only did that a few times. I also moved #12 basket 30ft to the left,away from the trail behind some trees.#14 was moved 40ft left, a blind shot that was WAY to dangerous.#18 was moved closer to the tees about 100 ft. This park was NOT on the clubs "wish list" for a course,because of the trail. It was put in by a non-member club player that worked for a member of the city council,he wanted to be able to play closer to his house (it's always good to have connections). After all of the recent improvements I still think this course needs to be pulled out of the ground and moved to Eagle creek park,not far away. I only say that because beginners and average players,like me,should be able to play any course. With the trail and very thick underbush it's a course only high level players can enjoy.I gave this course a 1.5 (passable) because atleast some players can enjoy the course.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Almost great

5+    4/25/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: jdonhardt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: the course is excellent. very challenging, lots of distance, the need for accuracy, elevation changes, obs... you wont need a map to find the next tee, but you will have to walk up a little to find the basket, as some of them are around corners.
the front nine is mostly open - the front 8, i should say. good distance on these holes. hole 7 is really tricky. the back 9 are real tight. plenty of foliage presents a real challenge. hole 11 (i believe its 11) you have to shoot into and then down a "hallway" of foliage. in the summer its probably 6 ft high. there are birdie ops, but you gotta be sharp.
Cons: as everyone has mentioned, the local walkers/joggers on the path. if you play this course at the wrong time of day, its not worth it at all. the path is in play on pretty much all holes. if you play during the afternoon mon-fri, it shouldnt be too much trouble. also, there are a couple of missing signs so you have to pick your own par...
Other Thoughts: if the place isnt crowded , this course is excellent. also, people play pick up ultimate frisbee on the fields almost every day around 4-5pm. there is no shortage of difficult shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice pro and am teepads
-great use of the hills, surrounding woods, prairie grass, and the general topograhy
-decent baskets
-lay out makes a ton of sense
-hole 17 is 646 feet and 17 is 543 for your longer and more powerful arms
-lots of shot variety, as well as use of a good midrange game
Cons: the fitness trail running through the park can be very hazardous and flat out dangerous for the locals using it, pay a lot of attention to those on the trail as they seem oblivious to high speed discs as well as the disc golfers themselves.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun couse that a lot of the Indy disc golfers tend to avoid due to the walking trail running along most of the holes (all but 8 and 9), but with the recent clean up by the parks department, I know I'll be playing this course a lot more through the fall. Longer than both Brookside and Washington Park with more challenges in terms of thickness of vegetation on the back 10-16. If you have the time and the patience to wait on some walkers and joggers go play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential, but...

5+    7/17/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: bmeyaard
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros of this course are best seen in it's potential as a true high-level player's course:

Good mix of Long / Short holes. (ranging from 220ft to well over 600ft)

Out of Bounds (roads), woods, hazards are in play on almost every hole. The shape of each hole requires both length and shot making to stay out of the woods and/or tall grass.

Nice baskets, cement tees (pro & am on some holes), signage, etc.

Local park board willing to communicate about issues, improvements, mowing, etc.
Cons: The cons of this course are best seen today when people play an average unscheduled round.

Walking Path: The multi-use nature of this path absolutely kills this course. You *can not* play during peak hours, weekends, or other nice days because of the volume of people. The path is a 1.5mile walking/biking loop, which is literally in play on 17 of the 18 holes. We play at dawn, and find ourselves still waiting for clearings in traffic on 60% of our tee-shots.

Tall grass / dense woods: These hazards become an issue as you try so hard to stay away from the walking path... the edges of the woods are very dense with undergrowth, which makes errant shots hard to track down. The tall grass will eat discs that can get tucked down in vertically, which you won't see until standing right on top of them. Also, be aware that there are small amounts of poison ivy in both the woods and grass. Play cautiously, in the fairway, and you will have a great round.
Other Thoughts: This has the potential to be a great course. If the holes can be altered to avoid the walking path, or a single-use tournament day could be set aside... this would be my favorite course in Indy.

You may want to try this course out in the early-early spring or late-late fall, as that may clear out some of the foot-traffic. However, keep in mind that some of the beauty and challenge of the course is lost in off-season play due to the foliage not being grown in.

Next steps:
Ice-Bowl League and/or Bad-Weather Tournament.

Take the time to tromp through the woods to the left/right of each hole looking for an alternate route that will move this course away from the walking path.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center