Indianapolis, IN 
Northwestway Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #5 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 353ft.   4 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Alt Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Where is the next tee.

1    7/22/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: AirMcNair
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice pitch and putt with some tuff holes with a lot of dog legs. Nice tee pads and semi good baskets.
Cons: Took me forever to find #2 tee pad. Signs are not even worth the paper the scribbles that are on there.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of safety issues

1    11/23/2009   6/23/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large multi-use park with a mix of open grassy areas and some forested areas with fairways through the woods. A few of the open holes play near brush and woods on one side to make them a little less straightforward. There is a nice mix of short and long holes with some ace runs and a couple holes that let you really throw a drive.

There are nice concrete tee pads for all holes, many with dual concrete pads for some added variety and more of an opportunity for different levels of players to enjoy the course. There are basic signs, and the flow of the course is fine with no navigation issues.
Cons: This course is one giant safety hazard. Nearly every hole brings a walking path into play, with lots of pedestrian traffic. This is dangerous, and on a nice day means that you'll wait quite a bit to be able to throw, not as big a deal on a hole or two, but really annoying on nearly every hole. A few shots have long grass rough, my least favorite kind of punishment for a bad shot as it wastes time and plastic without adding strokes for an errant drive. There are a few too many open holes here, it could be more interesting and challenging with more of the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a mediocre course to begin with, and the walking path makes it unsafe and frustrating to play. If you can play at off times, it's not a terrible place to play, otherwise I'd play elsewhere with better courses available in the Indianapolis area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Water logged play

2-4    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Awesomedoc2008
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/24/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has some tricky holes that require some skilled throws, both long and short. The chains on the holes are quite soft.
Cons: Easy to lose discs (didn't, but it was close several times). Have to avoid runners/joggers/walkers as the course is associated with a path. Also, hole 17 is extremely long, which is fun, but is bordered by a street to the left and soccer fields to the right.
Other Thoughts: We were water logged for just about 2/3 of the holes... there was a lot of standing water. It's rained a lot in Indy but it hasn't rained in a few days. It was clear there isn't good drainage. The signage is adequate. The holes are lower than what we are used to seeing, not sure if that's good or bad, my girlfriend liked it, but she's shorter. Definitely would play again, but only after a dry spell and would prefer it if the grass was mowed more frequently.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 "new"course same as the old course

5+    10/12/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 172  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A 18 hole course on that side of the city. Big concrete tees-am and pro,signs have needed info.,The recent improvements make this course a little better. The tall grass,on certain fairways,getting cut on a regular time frame, making it wider.
Cons: That damn paved trail! All but three fairways are to narrow,either by the trail or trees with very thick underbrush.The improvements on #9,I think/hope was a misunderstanding?the basket was behind a tree and a huge bush. The bush needed TRIMMING!...NOT CUT DOWN WITH THE TREE!? The tree and bush made the hole,now you have two holes back to back the same.
Other Thoughts: It's been 6 years since I've played this course,I heard that work has been done to improve it so I thought I would play it again.Let me tell you that first I'm an average player (my drives are +,- 250 ft). I've also did the following to improve the course 6 years ago. After the church took back their land,for more parking,they put up the fence. That made the #2 basket placement between the trail and fence,about 20 ft wide span. I moved it about 75 ft to the right between a circle of trees, now with one tree out it's an open shot. On #5,#6 I tried to have the grass cut for a wider fairway,they only did that a few times. I also moved #12 basket 30ft to the left,away from the trail behind some trees.#14 was moved 40ft left, a blind shot that was WAY to dangerous.#18 was moved closer to the tees about 100 ft. This park was NOT on the clubs "wish list" for a course,because of the trail. It was put in by a non-member club player that worked for a member of the city council,he wanted to be able to play closer to his house (it's always good to have connections). After all of the recent improvements I still think this course needs to be pulled out of the ground and moved to Eagle creek park,not far away. I only say that because beginners and average players,like me,should be able to play any course. With the trail and very thick underbush it's a course only high level players can enjoy.I gave this course a 1.5 (passable) because atleast some players can enjoy the course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Almost great

5+    4/25/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: jdonhardt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: the course is excellent. very challenging, lots of distance, the need for accuracy, elevation changes, obs... you wont need a map to find the next tee, but you will have to walk up a little to find the basket, as some of them are around corners.
the front nine is mostly open - the front 8, i should say. good distance on these holes. hole 7 is really tricky. the back 9 are real tight. plenty of foliage presents a real challenge. hole 11 (i believe its 11) you have to shoot into and then down a "hallway" of foliage. in the summer its probably 6 ft high. there are birdie ops, but you gotta be sharp.
Cons: as everyone has mentioned, the local walkers/joggers on the path. if you play this course at the wrong time of day, its not worth it at all. the path is in play on pretty much all holes. if you play during the afternoon mon-fri, it shouldnt be too much trouble. also, there are a couple of missing signs so you have to pick your own par...
Other Thoughts: if the place isnt crowded , this course is excellent. also, people play pick up ultimate frisbee on the fields almost every day around 4-5pm. there is no shortage of difficult shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice pro and am teepads
-great use of the hills, surrounding woods, prairie grass, and the general topograhy
-decent baskets
-lay out makes a ton of sense
-hole 17 is 646 feet and 17 is 543 for your longer and more powerful arms
-lots of shot variety, as well as use of a good midrange game
Cons: the fitness trail running through the park can be very hazardous and flat out dangerous for the locals using it, pay a lot of attention to those on the trail as they seem oblivious to high speed discs as well as the disc golfers themselves.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun couse that a lot of the Indy disc golfers tend to avoid due to the walking trail running along most of the holes (all but 8 and 9), but with the recent clean up by the parks department, I know I'll be playing this course a lot more through the fall. Longer than both Brookside and Washington Park with more challenges in terms of thickness of vegetation on the back 10-16. If you have the time and the patience to wait on some walkers and joggers go play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Potential, but...

5+    7/17/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: bmeyaard
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The pros of this course are best seen in it's potential as a true high-level player's course:

Good mix of Long / Short holes. (ranging from 220ft to well over 600ft)

Out of Bounds (roads), woods, hazards are in play on almost every hole. The shape of each hole requires both length and shot making to stay out of the woods and/or tall grass.

Nice baskets, cement tees (pro & am on some holes), signage, etc.

Local park board willing to communicate about issues, improvements, mowing, etc.
Cons: The cons of this course are best seen today when people play an average unscheduled round.

Walking Path: The multi-use nature of this path absolutely kills this course. You *can not* play during peak hours, weekends, or other nice days because of the volume of people. The path is a 1.5mile walking/biking loop, which is literally in play on 17 of the 18 holes. We play at dawn, and find ourselves still waiting for clearings in traffic on 60% of our tee-shots.

Tall grass / dense woods: These hazards become an issue as you try so hard to stay away from the walking path... the edges of the woods are very dense with undergrowth, which makes errant shots hard to track down. The tall grass will eat discs that can get tucked down in vertically, which you won't see until standing right on top of them. Also, be aware that there are small amounts of poison ivy in both the woods and grass. Play cautiously, in the fairway, and you will have a great round.
Other Thoughts: This has the potential to be a great course. If the holes can be altered to avoid the walking path, or a single-use tournament day could be set aside... this would be my favorite course in Indy.

You may want to try this course out in the early-early spring or late-late fall, as that may clear out some of the foot-traffic. However, keep in mind that some of the beauty and challenge of the course is lost in off-season play due to the foliage not being grown in.

Next steps:
Ice-Bowl League and/or Bad-Weather Tournament.

Take the time to tromp through the woods to the left/right of each hole looking for an alternate route that will move this course away from the walking path.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety in a busy park

1    3/25/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: wi2ny05
Played: 193  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of variety in type of hole and length. It's starts off nice and open to help the beginner and then as we head off into the wooded area the more seasoned player is presented with challenges. The signage is good and fairly accurate. For those unfamiliar with the course, the addition of the "next tee" sticker on the sign is always a welcome sight.
Cons: While most of the front nine don't involve pedestrians in this multi-use park, beware as you head to the back nine as you'll be throwing across and next to walkways and eventually the road and soccer fields. As others have noted, those in the park seem pretty oblivious to the other uses going on and I found it to be busy enough on a spring week night.
Other Thoughts: There appears to be plenty of parking and the address was dead on -- put it in your GPS and go. When I went it was basically freshly mowed as I didn't encounter any of the disc-eating grass.

Overall they did pretty well with the use of the available space however if they could do anything to move some of the latter holes away from the pedestrians it would be an even more enjoyable course. Clearing some of the nearby brush and smaller trees to allow play through the more wooded sections would be excellent.

Well worth taking the time to explore if you find yourself in Indy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Walkers' world

5+    3/26/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: phish3460
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/2/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course demands a wide variety of shots to score well -- mid-range accuracy, distance, disc control and of course, putting. There is a good amount of variability as half of the holes are fairly open and half are well guarded by woods and tall grasses, which make the course substantially more difficult in the summer. The course itself is never crowded, so you won't have to wait for other golfers (caveat below). It's quite easy to find your way around and parking will never be a problem. The alternate tees provide more scoring opportunity and variability.
Cons: The walkers, joggers and kids are within striking range on most holes, so expect to wait on sunny days. Also, be careful. Most of the bystanders have absolutely no idea that there might be objects flying through the air in their vicinity. There's plenty of trash on the course -- little-to-none of which can be attributed to disc golf traffic.

Although the course does demand several different shots, there's not much elevation change and ceiling is never an issue.
Other Thoughts: Overall, they've done a good job with the land allotted. I'm not sure how they could get more out of it, as there's a substantial amount of space taken up by trees, soccer fields and a public pool.

If you're in the area, definitely give this course a try. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions, as I'd dub this my "home" course for the time being.

As always, enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Looked Deceptively Easy

1    11/14/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: john campbell
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first few holes seemed incredibly easy and unremarkable, but the course quickly became challenging and intricately designed with some really tight holes, a long, mean dog-leg, tall, disc-eating grasses, dense woods, and thick brush. I liked these features, the fun was in the challenge, even on the short holes. 17 and 18 were both really long. I think my first drive made it to the short tee on #17. haha. This was a really great course, well manicured and neatly designed.
Cons: Much of the course follows a walking/bike path and I did have to wait for people to clear on a few holes, but I really didn't mind. If I were in a hurry I might have been irritated, but I play disc golf - I'm never in a hurry.
Other Thoughts: I played here in November (the first and only time). Most of the tall grasses were dying out, but I still had a tough time finding my disc on a couple of holes (#14 in particular). I can't wait to play here again in the spring or summer when everything is in full growth. I'll bring extra discs!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.