Morton, IL 
Northwood Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #9 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 354ft.   3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Wonderful Design

2-4    4/18/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 60  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located close to the interstate, in a nearly dedicated park for disc golf. There are some playgrounds and pavilions near the start, but out the way. The only other conflicts are some hiking trails, some of which coincide with a few paths between holes.
- Two tees for most holes. Some of the long tees are dirt, however, marked with two blue pavers. They'd be pretty difficult though.
- Tee signs are minimal, but do the job. Just tee positions and arrows indicating the line.
- Wonderful elevation used on parts of the course. (3, 5, 9, 17, 18)
- #1, talk about a starting hole! Warm up putting, and then bring your A game right away. Very tight window from either tee.
- #3, a nice blind uphill. Just trying to get through the trees and up to the top of the little hill for a shot at the basket.
- #5 is one of the couple signature holes on the course. To be honest, it is probably one of the most memorable, signature holes on any course in central Illinois. It plays first across a small gully, which hosts an 8 ft wide gap on the other side, probably 60 feet in front of you. Clear that gap and get yourself on top of the next hill and into a clearing. From there, you shoot down into the ravine, hoping to land on the 15 foot deep peninsula that hosts the pin. I remember my first time ever playing this hole, and feeling it was too difficult and unfair. Years later, with a slightly more refined game, I partially recant that position. Difficult and a challenge, yes. Unfair, no.
- #8, just approaching this hole is chilling. It almost looks like a tunnel or portal to somewhere. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe type of stuff. 300 feet long, 20 feet wide the whole way. Blue paver-marked tee is another 100 feet back, making the hole even more difficult. Pretty demanding for just a straight hole.
- I had not yet played the course with some of the more recent changes. I'm a big fan of losing the old #16, and adding the new #17.
- #9, new to me, and a very nice addition to the course. Definitely an upgrade. Shoots over a small hollow, but a deceivingly long hole.
- #17, also new to me on this course. You just stand on the tee pad, wondering how in the heck you're going to make a three. Tight windows and some rolling hills with small watershed channels carved deep into the earth. Only 330 feet, but uphill, and ending in a relatively wide open clearing.
- #18, also a very memorable hole, from a bluff shooting through a window over a small creek, and out into a wide open fairway. Once you've landed in the fairway though, you've still got your work cut out for you, throwing a few more shots uphill to reach the pin. I think that window has gotten smaller since the last time I played, but still very manageable. (Which doesn't mean I still didn't hit a tree and have to retrieve a disc from the creek bank…because I did.)
Cons: - Underneath some of the baskets is worn down, especially on some hillsides.
- There is some graffiti on some of the baskets and signs.
- No benches on the course, although there are some stumps here and there. Doesn't bother me a ton, but I did notice a lack of them.
- Getting down into the ravine on #5 can be a little dicey, especially when wet. There is a long way around if you keep walking straight through the fairway, which isn't entirely obvious. At least, until you get to the bottom and realize, "Oh, well I could have just come down that way." Some recessed wooden stairs would certainly take this hole up a notch. There are some nice small foot bridges at the bottom.
- Did not locate the short tee that was listed on #6's sign, but it may have just been a paver-marked dirt tee that was covered in leaves.
Other Thoughts: - #10 through #14 are just fine holes, but not particularly memorable. They do require different shots, and vary in length, which keeps them viable. Some low ceilings increase their difficulty, for sure. Some of these are new, or have been revamped. All for the better. #13 is deceivingly long.
- This course is straight up fun to play. I did not score well on my most recent visit…and kind of hardly even noticed, if that's possible. Enjoyed the grandeur of the course that much.
- Some upkeep and additional amenities could really push this course to the absolute, ultimate level. My initial thought is to score this a 4.25. However, I find it a step above McNaughton and Lake Eureka which I rated 4.0. Also, two finishing holes like 17 and 18 really leave you with a good taste in your mouth, almost unlike any other course I've played. So a 4.5 it is!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Course in IL

5+    11/17/2013   11/22/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Teepads

- Fairly tight fairways on a majority of the holes

- Tunnel Shots Galore

- A very nice balance of tightly wooded and, open, and slightly wooded.

- An excellent use of the elevation where some of the pins are right before a drop off, on the side of hill, on the top of a hill and on #5 there is the steep cliffish hll halfway through the hole making it a challanging hole.

- A very nice mix of short medium and long holes with some nice must get holes and others you hope to get a 3 on.
Cons: - Not too much to complain about here.

- Some long teepads are grass

- Some direction from hole 3 to hole 4, hole 6 to 7, and hol 17 to 18 would be nice

- I was told that there was a redesign here a few years ago and because of this there a few random teepads that dont get used for anything and my first time I was clueless and played from them to random baskets because I had no clue.

- Signage to get into the park would be very helpful. I know I drove by it multiple times my first time here because I had no clue where the park was and gps didnt help at all. Its like a park within a park.
Other Thoughts: To me this is the #1 course in the Peoria IL area and is a must play in my mind and reeminds me a lot of the wooded courses in WI.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Play This Course!

5+    7/28/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: Westermann28
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great concrete tees
-Beautiful wooded front nine (with 7 being a tad out in the open)
-Excellent course flow between shorter holes and 3 600+ footers
-The course really makes you play many different shots and holes have a lot of lines you can try (but don't get in the woods on 5 or 9...trust me it isn't fun)
-Great baskets and basket placement.
-The back 9 is more open but there still manages to be trees everywhere so you will have to have skill to pick the correct line for your throw.
Cons: -No benches
-No trash cans on the holes(would be nice to not have to carry an empty water bottle 12 holes)
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course and I would say it is one of the best, if not the best, course in Illinois.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

5+    7/16/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: XxBenNastyxX
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of tress and very hilly in the front 9. Course very well laid out giving you lots of different shots to play. Baskets are in great shape. Nice restrooms available. Hole 5 is a lot of fun! Course just recently remodeled this summer. Love the new changes!
Cons: The back 9 is very "park like" it's not nearly as complicated as the front 9 and I prefer to play in the woods but that's just a personal preference. Still a good course. Beginners may not care too much for the front 9.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in the area. If you're going to come to Peoria, IL to throw our courses make sure this one is on your list!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One Of The VERY BEST In Illinois...

5+    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
**Northwood Park in Morton, IL. is a beautiful, secluded dual-use park with Disc Golf and walking trails which rarely if ever conflict with each other.
**The course flows well, even better since the recent (5/2012) redesign.
**You have to be able to throw straight and do some line shaping to score well here… there are quite a few straight shots, quite a few anhyzers to go along with a few hyzers.
**A good mix of wooded tight Holes, Open Holes and several in between
**Restrooms and a nice pavilion on site, always a plus…
**Close to Wal-Mart and fast food if you need it.

**HOLE #5…One of the crazy-toughest holes I've ever played. I've seen everything from deuces to Snowmen on this hole, there's really only 1 legitimate route to take if you're going to try to get all the way down to the basket (which is surrounded by an "unforgiving" 20ft island green with a creek around it) in 1 throw for a look at a deuce, miss that line and…there's some pretty brutal rough and gullies waiting if you get too far off of the fairway. Easily one of the most unique holes in the state…

**HOLE #17…Is a make or break hole in your round, hit the gap and you're looking at a 2 or 3. Miss the gap…an you're looking at a couple of extra strokes if not more…GOOD LUCK

**HOLE #18… is a GREAT finishing Hole…A 660ft dogleg right teeing from a 40ft elevated tee through an ample hole in the trees to a large fairway landing area. You've got to bomb that first shot out to 400+ to get a good look at an upshot to the basket.

**This has always been one of my favourite courses in the area.
The original course designer Greg Nettles just did some revamping. 4 brand new holes and a simple redesign of Hole 1…
**Hole 1 which is much improved from the Poke-And-Hope hole that it used to be…the tee has been pulled straight back 75-100ft from where it used to be. It is now a tight 300ish tunnel shot with the basket tucked off of the fairway to the right on the edge of the fairly steep hill that the basket used to be at the bottom of.
**Hole 9 is a tight 350ish anhyzer shot over a small gully.
**Hole 10 is a 300ish anhyzer shot full of trees to avoid.
**Hole 13 is a 603ft shot right down the middle of the orchard section with 2 large trees to avoid at about 250-300ft.
**Hole 17 is a tight, tough uphill 320ish straight shot over a 5-6ft deep creek and all kinds of trees to avoid.
Cons:
Really not very many…
Could use some wood chips around the practice Basket, and, most of the other baskets as well, gets pretty muddy after a rain.
Other Thoughts:
As far as OPs comments about the parking for winter play…
most people drive around to the back side of the course by turning right on Lakeland Avenue, the last right before you get to the course, follow the road around and turn left into the Hirstein Cemetary, there's a gate in the fence so that you can start on Hole #8 and finish right there on Hole #7.

**Lots of other great courses nearby:
1) Eureka Lake Park - Eureka, IL. Yet another GREAT Greg Nettles design (you won't be disappointed here either)
2) McNaughton Park - Pekin, IL. They call it McNasty for good reason. A tough championship level course with McNasty Rough ! ! !
3) Bradley Park - Peoria, IL. One of the old guard courses. Has stood the test of time…

**I can't give this course a 5 because, I don't think there is really a "perfect" course, but, this is about as close as it gets IMHO...

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in a Great Park

5+    7/19/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: DeertayD
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Nice concrete tees
* Great layout. This course flows very nicely, and combines wooded shots, open shots, elevation, and water.
* Very clean course
* Secluded area that makes you feel like you're "getting away to play"
* Holes 1-3 are a fun way to get the course started with elevation changes in the woods.
* Hole 5 is breathtaking! Getting a 3 on hole 5 is not an easy task.
* Hole 8 is a challenging 300ft. tunnel shot through the woods... very cool!
* Hole 17 is a bomb of a shot with the alternate pin placement on the back side of the large hill. Though a large fairway makes this hole manageable.
* Hole 18 is a stunner! 600+ft. shot from an elevated tee through a wooded area over a creek, opening up to a huge fairway! And you still ahve 2 shots before you're within putting distance!
Cons: * Parking in the winter monts is inconvenient. You have to park at the park entrance. This is where hole 18 is located, so we typically play 18 first and finish up on hole 17, thus reducing the walk from 18's basket all the way back to the parking lot.
* Some signs have damage/grafitti. I believe this is due to the fact that the park is secluded, and does not seem to have many park employees or police drive throughs.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course in the central Illinois area if not the entire state. The fact that there are at least 3 other escellent DGC's within a 30 min. (McNaughton, Bradley Park, and Eureka Lake) makes it very easy to play multiple great courses in one outing. This course is definitely worth playing. GREAT COURSE!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing!

2-4    8/18/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 98  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After playing this course twice, I've decided to make it my absolute favorite. I have about a bajillion reasons to justify this and here they are:

*Scenic. Absolutely beautiful park with all kinds of elevation and trees.
*Challenging. Every hole (yes even the meadow holes) require you to hit a line. Most of the holes punish bad drives and so disc choice and shot selection are crucial here.
*Hole 18. This is the most beautiful hole I have ever played. Roughly 650 foot bomb down a massive hill. First part of the fairway consists of about 100 ft of moderately wide, but scary tunnel going downhill, severely punishing griplocks and forcing an accurate shot (in my opinion a super mental challenge) Then the valley of the hill bends right up a smaller hill to the hole. OB on the right, trees on the left. Simply beautiful!
*I could write similar raving reviews of most of the holes on this course. Hole 5 is a beast of a hole that is super rewarding if you get a 3
*Although some people complain about the meadow holes, I actually find them some of the most enjoyable, and nervewracking on the course. In order to get a good score here, you MUST deuce these holes, which puts a lot of mental pressure on during the middle of the round.
Cons: *Signs are a bit underequipped, not giving a whole lot of information, which was frustrating when I realized there were huge dropoffs next to a few of the fairways.

*Man... this would be one epic course to play from the blue tee markers that they have in place, but I hate playing from natural tees, especially when some of them are covered or obstructed from allowing much of a run-up. If every hole had an awesome pro concrete teepad, it would definitely satisfy some of the reviewers who say that a few of the holes here aren't difficult enough.
Other Thoughts: This area is great for disc golf, but I find Northwood Park to be more enjoyable round than its neighbors Eurkea and McNaughton (though those are both great courses).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great design fun to play

5+    6/24/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: Aestheticflight
Played: 133  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well conceived and executed. FUN to play. Nice mix of woods and more open holes. Easy to find your way to the next tee pad, which are very good concrete ones for the short tees. Grass and dirt long tee's.Hole 5 is a world class hole. Several picturesque holes. High on the fun scale. Good for all skill levels.
Other Thoughts: This course is a jewel in the Peoria area. It offers interesting and challenging golf for any skill level.I love Mc Naughton but this is the course I usually want to play in the area. Great job on the design, some of the holes are not all that interesting but many are.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice wooded course

1    8/22/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly wooded park that has no real conflicts with other park uses. There is some nice elevation, nothing drastic but enough to make some really interesting holes and some cool tricky greens. A few less wooded holes are sprinkled in for variety, and the course finishes with a couple ripper holes that still make you place your shot to stay out of trouble but give you room to work some lines.

There are good concrete tees on the shorter set of tees, and basic signs that make the course pretty easy to follow. The long tees are natural, but not too difficult to find. The course felt pretty well maintained, the wooded holes are kept pretty clear and the grassy fairways were nicely mowed. The course has pretty good variety of lengths and hole shapes that keeps you guessing and makes you hit lots of different lines.
Cons: The course plays pretty short, with the notable exception of the last two holes. That makes it a bit of a deuce or die course, especially from the shorts (or from the longs for a better player). There are a couple stretches of holes that get a little repetitive. The middle of the course has some holes with long grass rough, not my favorite obstacle on a course at all. The long natural tees were a bit rutted out and not always the best tee surface, making the shorts a more attractive round despite the better challenge and variety from the longs.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice challenge, and has great variety of wooded and more open holes that make you hit some tight lines. Beginners might find even the short tees pretty challenging and punitive, with enough rough to make errant shots frustrating. More experienced players will find a fun round from the shorts and a slightly more challenging round from the longs, with great use of the terrain available. This one is definitely one to hit when you're in the Peoria area, pair it with McNaughton for an awesome day of tough golfing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

2-4    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a very diverse piece of land. It is roughly half forest, half prairie, with some wide open holes at the end. There is deep forest with lots of trees, grove forest with larger trees, a good mix throughout. Lot of different obstacles depending on the area of the park you are in.
- Holes in the deeper forest usually have pretty well defined fairways, in addition to larger trees to avoid. Combine that with significant elevation changes, and there are many different tricky shots to make. A few right, a few straight, a long tunnel, and a long left on hole #5. This is a great hole; low ceiling, over the dip in the fairway, to a big drop left down a hill and over a creek. Some slanted greens, as well.
- A few of the grove-like holes border the sloping forested area, so staying on the fairway is a must. Avoiding a bunch of wide trees is also key, of course, so there is some line shaping needed to navigate some parts.
- Holes in the prairie make good use of the various trees and shrubbery to force some lines as well. Larger obstacles definitely take out many routes, so some more line shaping is key to score low.
- The course finishes up with two bomber holes that demand distance. #17's tee is a shot out of/next to the forest, towards a very large hill. The basket is on the far side of the hill, close to the forest, and very blind. Choose your tee wisely. #18 has a huge elevated teebox over an upward sloping, right curving fairway with some trees on the right. Great bomber hole with a great view.
- Good baskets (except #1), good teepads, decent signs.
Cons: - This course has a ton of great holes, but it also has a ton of pretty bland ones. While the holes in the prairie do provide some challenge, they are all pretty short and very forgiving, with little to no rough. It might not seem so bad on its own, but they pale in comparison to the rest of the course.
- With a few exceptions, the course does play pretty short.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a very solid course with great variety throughout. There are some top notch holes that could be legitimate par 4's, as well as good risk/reward holes with lots of trees and other hazards. Elevation changes play a major role on many holes, in many different ways. Unfortunately, a good amount of short, easy holes water down the course on the whole. Still worth a trip for any player in my book.
- Concrete pads follow a few different tees; some alternates are hard to find, if they are there at all. Pro tees a little lengthier, nothing too crazy.
- Navigation is pretty easy thanks to some paint on the baskets and the occasional brick; a few tricky spots around 7/8 and 16/17. Map in front.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.