North Augusta, SC 
Hippodrome Complex - Old Glory Share
Uploaded By: Upshawt1979 Hole #3 (Taken 7/2016)
3 / 238ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 358ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
It's Glorious!

5+    7/28/2016   7/29/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 277  Reviewed: 173  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Old Glory has all geographic features that make disc golf great, and has continued to evolve and improve year after year. 20 holes that go from wide open, to wooded, then comes the great elevation changes into the mix, a little bit of water, funky mound pin positions and tall or hanging baskets. Benches are on most if not all holes. The tee pads are almost all good rubber mats, and Discatchers that are also fine. Multiple tees on all, black long, blue mid, and red short. The longs can be Very long, and blues are all manageable. Sometimes the variance isn't a lot, but they're usually very different. Grass fairways are well maintained, and many of the holes have O.B. roped off. Three mandos. The hole to hole variation of all of these elements is terrific.

Hole 1 is a wide open flat hole, with the basket at the center of a ringed landing zone that is small enough to be hard to hit, especially in the often blustery wind. Hole 2 is 90% flat dogleg right with a mando, and a line where a downhill slope starts about 20' in front of the very tall pin that keeps the rim of the basket visible from the tee. Hole three is flat and open center, but it has woods right, O.B. to the left and around the green, and and short mound and extended pin under the basket. Hole 4 is almost flat and wide open except for some power lines, with a fence blocking the front of the green and O.B. behind. Hole 5 enters the woods, but with a open fairway that allows access to the basket directly or via a big hyzer, one o'clock window. Hole 6 craziness includes a three sided mando doorway into the low ceiling, tree laced fairway, and leading to a basket which is buried to the rim of the bucket in the dirt. Then, on hole 7 the elevation changes really get serious, on a downhill drive that has tall fence running the left side, woods to the right side, and the green is behind a short stack of logs as the fairway begins to climb the next hill. Hole 8 is uphill hard dog leg right at the end, with thick tree coverage that can be punishing. Hole 9 is a tight and lengthy tunnel drive that is downhill all the way through heavy woods, and the basket is hanging between two trees at the bottom. 9 is one of my favorite holes. Hole 10 is uphill dogleg right again with very tough rough, similar in shape to hole 8. Hole 11 is another favorite of mine, an elevated tee, wide open downhill rip over a pit and flying to a basket sitting on top of two red barrels on the hillside, with a ring of trees defining the landing zone. Hole 12 is a nice uphill throw over a bunker with trees sprinkled along the fairway, and a taller than average pin atop the hill. Hole 13 is short, but some tight gaps in the trees running down the hill make it hard to avoid ricochets and knock downs. Hole 14 is another tight tunnel off the tee box that climbs a little near the basket, on a gradual downhill to the left slope. Hole 15 exits mature trees emerging to a fairway split by left side flat open and right side rolling down a grassy hill, and a 10' earthen cone that has the basket at its point and countless terrible rolls at its bottom. Hole 16 steps back onto the flat grassy area for a long hole with O.B. roping off the right of the fairway, a basket on a short berm that contains the pond directly behind it. Hole 17 tees under a couple of mature trees over a flat terrain that also has a pond, this time in front of the basket offering little solid ground in front of the pin, and a bumpy grass covered landing zone. Hole 18 is a short spike hyzer tee shot using the open space to the right of the large cluster of trees blocking the bullpen that contains the basket in the middle of it's ring. Hole 19 is slightly uphill, kind of long, with a couple of big trees on either side of the fairway mid point, and basket that hangs from the gallows, backed by several big evergreens. Hole 20 is a dogleg left with a mando to the right of a telephone pole, and green fronted with a ring of big concrete planters and backed by the same shallow pond from hole 16.
Cons: The wind is usually a significant factor in play for large sections of this course. There is some thick, thorny rough and thick woods in the other sections. Ravines, pitfalls, ponds can get unfriendly in a hurry. Cost of $5/player full day, but also includes 20 hole Hogback course that is very fun as well.
Other Thoughts: Old glory has become a truly great course over the years, and began with a landscape that is incredibly well suited for disc golf. Always very well maintained and clean. I like the elevation change, challenge of needing to execute multiple kinds of shots, and the risk/reward that takes the difficulty up a notch on every hole. The other course on site is equally wonderful, and there is a driving range/putting green. On the blue tees every hole is par 3, except for hole 16 (a par 4). There is so much variety and lots of strange obstacles to navigate. There is a pavilion near the parking lot, and one in between the two courses in the middle of the property. The Hippodrome complex is the site of the disc golf collegiate national championship each spring. Really high quality disc golf here for a reasonable price.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

1    4/28/2016   5/4/2016
Review By: Reb3times
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very unique basket positions make for an interesting round.

Complete variety of shots that will test all skill levels.

Plenty of opportunity for low scores if you have the skill off the tee for an accurate shot.

Cool views of downtown Augusta from the first few holes.

Multiple tee boxes.
Cons: The pro shop does not stick to its hours. Your likely to go during advertised hours only to find it closed and having to drop an envelope with cash into the drop box. They say to write stuff on the envelope, but dont leave a pencil to write with.

Other Thoughts: Really cool course that you can totally enjoy. Will come back to this one often when I come back to town. This is just one of several courses at the facility, although some are closed except for tournament play. Maybe they would consider opening them for a higher fee or something, but it would be nice to have the extra courses for more variety.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Basket Placements

1    4/3/2015   4/3/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 164  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an interesting counterpoint to the adjacent Hogback course. While the Hogback course is short and very tight, the Old Glory Course is more open and longer. For many of the more open holes artificial OB is in place to restrict the landing areas for your drives. Even with the OB I found this course easier to score well on, as less accurate drives weren't as severely punished.

Perhaps the most interesting elements of this course were the various special basket placements. Hole 6 features a basket buried in the ground, Hole 9 has a hanging basket, Hole 11 has a basket set up on 55 gallon drums, Hole 15's basket is on a large earth mound, and Hole 18 has the basket inside of a cattle pen.On Hole 19 the basket is hanging in a gallows type structure. All make for more interesting play.

Other holes feature OB islands, and various ponds near the basket to make things a bit trickier.

From the Blue tees holes vary from 208' to 343', with a single par 4 hole at 431'. So while you don't need a big arm to play this course, with the wind you'll still have a chance to crank on your drivers some.

Good rubber tee pads, decent tee signs, and Innova baskets that are in good shape and catch well.
Cons: Many of the holes were quite open, with the only difficulty coming from artificial OB. With the artificial OB and the unusual basket placements, the course could be viewed as gimmicky. But I don't think that they've really crossed that line.

A few baskets had two numbers on them, perhaps from a recent redesign. I notice that the course doesn't match the map in the links section, and when I was there there were no scorecards or maps available for the Old Glory Course. That being said, navigation was not an issue.
Other Thoughts: After getting slapped around at IDGC for three days, the Hippodrome complex was a pleasant morning of not-as-tough disc golf. Still plenty of fun and challenge though.

The $5 fee for a day of golf is more than reasonable. Unfortunately the pro shop wasn't open the morning that I played.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

These colors don't run

2-4    1/10/2015   2/8/2015
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 192  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 24.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Old Glory is one of two courses on a private piece of land that has a pro shop and a driving range on site. This is even more imaginative than Hogsback (which is unique in itself). Old Glory adds water holes and several man-made elements to a wondrous mix. This would be considered the more open of the two, but the creator has added so many elements to make the open holes fun and unique.

Holes 2 & 3 have water bordering both greens. Both ponds are within a few feet of the pin - and they went to another level by also making #3 an island hole. This island hole theme persists through the course. Holes 1, 4, 5, 11, and 18 are all island-type holes. Islands are created sometimes by fencing (#11 "Old Glory"), or by a metal cage (#18 "Bull Pen"). Hole 5 is called "Dry Islands" because their are little islands in the fairway (long grass surrounded by drainage pipe) which are OB. The island holes are a great way of making wide open holes challenging. I did not find them gimmicky whatsoever. Two other open holes had a basket hanging high on a gallows-like platform, and another had the pin atop a 10' high hill that was next to a steep slope to boot. Really neat!

There's some really woodsy tunnel holes to balance things out - one even has a basket buried in the ground.

Long and short tee pads created some lovely variety too.

Nice elevation on half the course, the other half is dead flat.
Cons: You pretty much get either a wide open hole with a treacherous landing zone or a wooded tunnel hole, but not much in between. This kinda gives the course a sense of deją vu.
Other Thoughts: This course may feel gimmicky to some (like a giant putt putt golf course). I did not think so. I give props to the designer for making the most of the land, and for all the hard work - creating the ponds, burms, fences and all the things that made this special.

I was lucky to get in with a group playing night golf on a Saturday evening, and spend time with the friendly locals. I'm glad it was played on this course and not Hog's back (too many places on that course to fall in a ditch!). I was also lucky to get an ace on the "Bull Pen" hole (but it was before the night round, so no ace pot for me, waaaah!)

Be sure to check out the Killer B disc golf shop on site which has a massive selection of all things disc golf (and to pay the modest $5 greens fee).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

100th Course Played!

1    1/18/2015   1/20/2015
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 137  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The sheer novelty of this course just draws you in. Of the 100+ courses I have played there really is nothing like it. Hanging baskets, tall baskets, and the basket at ground level are incredibly fun to play on.
-The tees were black mats that gripped surprisingly well. These are a solid alternative to concrete tees.
-This course is challenging for even the most experienced players, but doesn't beat you up. It really forces you to play smart.
-There is no repetitiveness here. No two holes are the same.
-Old Glory has the perfect balance of open and wooded and does a good job of keeping the more open holes interesting with unique basket placements, water features, etc.
Cons: -I really have no problem with the mounds, tall baskets, hanging baskets, etc., but I just could not get on board with all of the artificial OB, needless mandos, and an overuse of the Island hole. I'm in the camp that believes the land should dictate the course and you should not have to add pointless mandos and islands.
-When we played (01/18/15) the course layout had recently been changed. All the holes themselves were the same, but the order was different which was very confusing to both us and the locals. Supposedly the designer is pushing for it to go back the way it was, but it remains to be seen if that will the case.
-The highway is right there pretty much the whole time. You get a wicked cross wind on most holes and you just don't get that feeling of being out in wilderness. There is also a risk of the errant throw going over the fence or even in the highway if you really miss your line.
Other Thoughts: This is really just a unique place to play disc golf. I would recommend the trip to anyone just to have the experience of playing here.Between the pro shop on site, the driving range, Hogback, and the whole tract of land being disc golf only it really doesn't get much better than this.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Simply Awesome

1    10/5/2014   10/6/2014
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is an extremely enjoyable round where all 4 players in our group were wanting to play more. This course is well marked, signed, and padded. This course is a great mixture of fun and challenge. The variety of shots to this course is nearly complete. For the most part this course requires very accurate and technical shots with a lot of risk/reward. It combines plenty of open and wooded terrain very evenly with no hole or shot seeming the same. Great elevation changes. There are many signature holes to this course with great originality. To me the gimmicks (roped islands, hanging/underground/elevated baskets, man-made pool, mandos, etc.) of the course were enjoyable that added positively to the course rather than negatively.
Cons: I couldn't find very many cons to this course. I can see where people may dislike the gimmicks of the course as they detour from regulation. Also, as described by others the distances only once exceed past the 300's, so BIG arms will only get to bust out the driver once or twice most likely.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the Hippodrome Complex is a must play. Both courses are great with Old Glory as the crowned jewel. Also, the complex has a great on-site pro-shop. The lack of photos (on this site) for these courses is an injustice. There should be at least 80+ pics to show you the greatness of the Hippodrome Complex in all of its "Old" Glory! I know that I could not tell how great this place was and had some worries since there are only 3 photos per course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Old Glory. New Fun.

1    8/6/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 223  Reviewed: 217  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/7/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hippodrome is solid, two course, 40-hole complex. Old Glory is the signature layout, offering plenty of excitement.
- There is a lot to like at this course. Plenty of challenge. Plenty of fun. Plenty of great layouts and creativity. All that said, this course offers up plenty of chances for low scores if you're on your game.
- Solid variety of hole layouts. The first four holes are all open with different challenges: #1 has an island green, without everything outside the circle OB. #2 has a large mando marker (the Totem Pole hole), which you have to stay left of. #3 has a basket on a slight mound. And #4 has OB along the left side of the fairway and around the green area.
- From there, you start getting into the woods, more elevations, three holes with water in play (#16, 17 & 20), along with more returns out in the open.
- There are some holes that really test your nerves and mettle. If you're a gambler, you're going for the pin. If you're cautious, you're playing the hole for a safe par.
- #7 is one of the best layouts on the course. It's a 309 foot, downhill, dogleg right to a basket at the edge of the trees. Oh yeah, and the best angle to the basket requires you starting your disc over, or beyond, the tall OB fence, to get a sweeping shot to turn back towards the basket. At least the wind should usually be working in your favor.
- #16 & 20 have a pond right behind both baskets. How aggressive do you want to be with your approach shot on #16 (the only par 4 at the complex) or your tee shot #20, an otherwise very birdie-able hole?
- The course is actually very easy to navigate. Make sure you get a map from the shop because the one online on this site is outdated. The way the course winds back and forth you feel like your shuttling through a maze. Yet, somehow it all makes sense.
- There are a couple of interesting props/gimmicks on the course, but they all seem to fit. I already mentioned the totem pole on #2. I like the sign markers to random locales on hole #4. There's a fence on #18 (the Bull Pen hole) and a bell tower on #19, yes, the Bell Tower hole. And next to #20 is the giant Innova scoreboard. And, did I mention there's a driving range on the grounds?
Cons: Some people may feel this course gets a little too 'gimmicky' at times. There are a lot of artificial mandos throughout the course - island greens on #1 & 11, along with a basket in the ground (#6) and a hanging basket (#8). Plus the designs I mentioned above, especially the bull pen and bell tower.
- For as solid as this course is, there aren't any long, brutal holes. #16 is the only par 4, and it's very manageable at 432 feet. Besides that, there's nothing longer than 350 feet. So yes, this course is all about accuracy and making your birdie putts. The long, black tees had recently been removed prior to my visit here. I don't know if that's permanent, temporary or whether they'll be reinstalled for tourneys.
- The course does play next to I-520. Because of that, you don't get the seclusion feel much. The bigger issue, however, is that you're hearing the sounds of cars flying by almost the entire round.
- I'll list this as a con, even though it's not necessarily a negative for everyone. When I played, and what John, the owner of Killer B Golf Shop says, there's very often a cross breeze playing from I-520. That does add an extra challenge, but could get frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Hippodrome has two solid courses. I did like enjoy Old Glory much more simply because it's more of a complete course with much more variety.
- I have no idea how this property ever had additional courses on this land. 40 holes seemed pretty packed in, and part of the reason there aren't any big layouts. So how they ever squeezed in 54 (or more) holes is beyond me.
- The Killer B shop has an awesome selection of discs. They're almost all Innova, but there is a huge selection of that make. The disc shop is a very impressive place to check. If you're not a local, the shop alone would be worth ensuring that you visit while it's open.
- Without much distance, it is nice knowing you can leave some of your longer discs in the car. I played with a packed bag, but really ended up throwing mostly mid-ranges off the tee.
- I could easily see spending all day at Hippodrome. Play both courses, head out for some food, and come back for two more rounds in the afternoon. For $5, it's well worth the cost.
- This is a solid course. It's very comparable in terms of overall quality to Hogback, which is why I've given both 3.5 ratings. Both are worth checking out for a quality afternoon of disc golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    7/7/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Probably the most unique course most will play. Lots of variety including 3 tees for each hole that vary quite a bit in distance sometimes, and many unusual obstacles and targets including a few hanging baskets. The woods are very clear of underbrush and there is little risk of losing a disc here. The holes are very creative and will have you performing every type of shot. Very well maintained. The water hazards are clear and shallow so retrieving discs is usually easy. The location is easy to get to being right near the palmetto parkway. There is a lot of professionalism here since the course is the location for the National Collegiate Disc Golf Championships. The pro shop is great and there is even a driving range! There is also multiple courses here.
Cons: The really isn't much to complain about here. I would say that "pay to play" is a con but not here, its one of the few courses that's worth the fee. This is why it is the only 5 I have reviewed so far.
Other Thoughts: This is a unique course and worth going out of your way to play. The simplicity of it is what makes it universally fun for all players because new players can get through without holding everyone up, while professionals will enjoy the variety of shots the course demands to earn birdies. I actually prefer natural tees over the man-made ones so this is a pro for me, however I do realize that some prefer that but not to worry because there is also a variety of tee surfaces here as well.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hippo

1    4/29/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 124  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 22.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety is a term sometimes tossed around when a course has open and woods. This course has goonie golf mixed with disc golf to have a very unique d/golf experience. Each hole has a name and not just a number giving a memorable experience. There are also some woods that play like traditional d/golf to warm up for Hogback.
Cons: no
Other Thoughts: Open and windy. Can be very hot. We played on a cool day and had a great time. No trees on the open part means no shade & lots of wind adding challenge. Man made obstacles and out of bounds give you a real goonie golf feel.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Change of pace

1    1/1/2014   1/2/2014
Review By: hellbound
Played: 59  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I have to state that this course was a fun time by me and my doubles partner. I loved how the holes used rope to define o.b. giving you a feal that your playing something like the usdgc in some ways. Each hole seemed to make you think about your drive and even your putt. (couple of times putter rolled over 50 feet away)

The flow of the course was great with plenty of signs leading you to the next tee pad.
Cons: The paper signs could use something a little better. It was nices to see them describe the ob or mando's but some were starting to show a little weather wear.

A little less tall baskets would be great. Going from one goofey basket to another starts to get a little old by the end of the round. a good mix of one then the other would bring my vote up atleast another 1/2 point.
Other Thoughts: I do fully intend to come back and play again. Its a good change from the everyday type of rounds most people will incounter.

Don't forget to bring a camera many of the holes will leave you thinking man this is cool.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.