North Augusta, SC 
Hippodrome Complex - Old Glory Share
Uploaded By: Killer B Disc Golf Hole #15 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 265ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Worth the trip

1    7/7/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Probably the most unique course most will play. Lots of variety including 3 tees for each hole that vary quite a bit in distance sometimes, and many unusual obstacles and targets including a few hanging baskets. The woods are very clear of underbrush and there is little risk of losing a disc here. The holes are very creative and will have you performing every type of shot. Very well maintained. The water hazards are clear and shallow so retrieving discs is usually easy. The location is easy to get to being right near the palmetto parkway. There is a lot of professionalism here since the course is the location for the National Collegiate Disc Golf Championships. The pro shop is great and there is even a driving range! There is also multiple courses here.
Cons: The really isn't much to complain about here. I would say that "pay to play" is a con but not here, its one of the few courses that's worth the fee. This is why it is the only 5 I have reviewed so far.
Other Thoughts: This is a unique course and worth going out of your way to play. The simplicity of it is what makes it universally fun for all players because new players can get through without holding everyone up, while professionals will enjoy the variety of shots the course demands to earn birdies. I actually prefer natural tees over the man-made ones so this is a pro for me, however I do realize that some prefer that but not to worry because there is also a variety of tee surfaces here as well.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hippo

1    4/29/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 65  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.2 Years
Pros: Variety is a term sometimes tossed around when a course has open and woods. This course has goonie golf mixed with disc golf to have a very unique d/golf experience. Each hole has a name and not just a number giving a memorable experience. There are also some woods that play like traditional d/golf to warm up for Hogback.
Cons: no
Other Thoughts: Open and windy. Can be very hot. We played on a cool day and had a great time. No trees on the open part means no shade & lots of wind adding challenge. Man made obstacles and out of bounds give you a real goonie golf feel.

Change of pace

1    1/1/2014   1/2/2014
Review By: hellbound
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I have to state that this course was a fun time by me and my doubles partner. I loved how the holes used rope to define o.b. giving you a feal that your playing something like the usdgc in some ways. Each hole seemed to make you think about your drive and even your putt. (couple of times putter rolled over 50 feet away)

The flow of the course was great with plenty of signs leading you to the next tee pad.
Cons: The paper signs could use something a little better. It was nices to see them describe the ob or mando's but some were starting to show a little weather wear.

A little less tall baskets would be great. Going from one goofey basket to another starts to get a little old by the end of the round. a good mix of one then the other would bring my vote up atleast another 1/2 point.
Other Thoughts: I do fully intend to come back and play again. Its a good change from the everyday type of rounds most people will incounter.

Don't forget to bring a camera many of the holes will leave you thinking man this is cool.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very creative

2-4    11/9/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Start with a mix of woods and wide open areas, big hills and completely flat land. Give the designer free reign with ropes, construction materials, and anything else he wants. What you get is a course with an unusual amount of man-made obstacles, and unique and cool shots.

This course gives you lots to think about. Much of it is a "ropes" course, straight or curving fairways with open air space but treacherous O.B. on either side. But it also has its share of tight wooded holes to thread. Sometimes level, but also with major elevation affecting your decisions. And high-risk basket locations.

All on top of the highest, most-windswept spot in the county.

The amenities are great. Signage is excellent, and navigation is easy. There's another course on the property (which I haven't played). And one of the most complete pro shop/disc golf stores you'll ever see in Killer B's, at the entrance.
Cons: Too much. A matter of taste, of course, but to my taste, too much gimmickry. Baskets way up in the air, on poles or mounds or barrels, or sunk in the ground, or hanging, and almost every basket is non-standard height. Constructed free-standing walls, ponds, a basket surrounded by a corral of metal gates, and such give the course a bit of a "goofy golf" feel.

While the layout is great, there are only a few multi-throw holes.
Other Thoughts: If the baskets were at normal heights and a few of the constructions toned down, I'd give this course a 4.5. Maybe a 4.25, if that were possible. Which is to say, if you're a person who finds this kind of thing cool, this could be a 4.5 course to you, too. On the other hand, if you don't like "man-made" O.B. and obstacles, be prepared to be annoyed.

It's different from anywhere else, so I recommend everyone in the area check it out, and see where it falls on your own taste meter.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    5/24/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: diehardgamecock
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - very original hole design. there are elevated baskets, baskets over water, hanging baskets, and a buried basket.

- a good challenge for intermediate and beginning players, but also not intimidating.

- nice variation in hole design: long, short, wooded, open, doglegs, etc.

- friendly staff

- nice "hole map" on every tee box
Cons: - some of the tee boxes are overgrown

- actually finding some of the tee boxes proved difficult, even with signs showing initial direction
Other Thoughts: it's a pay-to-play course, which i'm fine with, but others may not be. $5 gets you all the disc golf you can handle for the day.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.